Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J&K Contracting

Founded 1985 • With Angi since November 2011

3.3

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5253 Washington Rd

Albany, OH 45710

Description

Established in 1985, J & K Contracting provides detail-oriented, customer-friendly services you can count on. We are licensed and fully insured general contractors. All of our of craftsmen are professional and experienced. We have an idea-filled showroom that allows you to get a good idea of the

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

12/24/2016


Lisa F.

Contractor gave us a written estimate - after work was done came back and said too much gravel was ordered and wanted me to pay an additional 400 dollars for the excess. I asked him what was the point of having a written estimate if the price went up due to their mistake. Paid the additional 400 dollars and he gave me back 200 dollars. Worker used grease gun that was hanging on pole barn wall and left it outside. Also, workers threw cigarette butts and pop cans all over the place. The concrete floor is nice though.

Description of Work
Had a pole barn back filled with gravel and a concrete floor poured.

Category concrete repair, remodeling

2.0

09/11/2015


mj R.

Description of Work
I would never hire them again. When I complained about their amateurish work, they made an honest effort to make thing right, but in many cases they don't know how to fix things properly. For example, they made 3 or 4 attempts to fix an improperly installed shower door, but none was successful. Their paint job was sloppy for a professional, and I found myself arguing with them about my desire to have our brand new shower fixtures match after they disposed of a piece of the set; they thought I should be happy with a piece that almost matched. In that case, they did cover the cost of a new set of fixtures, but having to argue to make my point is a very bad sign. Be prepared to hear "that's not in your contract" and "I'm not a mind reader." Lack of communication was a big problem, and I will take part of the blame for that, but I was not the one being paid to meet the client's expectations. The owner is difficult to deal with, but there are other employees who are much more cooperative. A lot of the work they did was under the house, and I hope that will be solid; I have no way of knowing that for a while. Plus: I felt it was safe to have them in the house, and they did correct some problems well and promptly. To repeat: I think they simply don't know what expectations a client has of a professional contractor (e.g., not painting over nails and nail holes without spackling them, and not dripping paint on carpet). Discuss in very great detail your expectations and get it all in writing and you will probably be much more satisfied with their work than I.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/05/2015


Mary H.

.....

Description of Work
...

Category concrete repair, remodeling, siding

3.0

12/26/2013


Sue S.

We signed the contract in September, which gave him up to 4 months to get the job done. Finally after several phone calls, and me getting very upset the job got started in November. 50% of the job had to be given to him before the job and the rest upon the finish of the job. We were told that he would give us the warranty on the materials. It ended up we have to go to the supplier ourselves to get the warranty. Totally lied to our faces. We think , after the fact, that it was ever expensive.

Description of Work
Put metal roof and vinyl siding on. Contract he has you sign gives him up to 4 months to get the job done. Does not get messages.

Category roofing, siding

5.0

09/30/2013


Daniel S.

The owner of J&K Contracting is very professional. He returned my initial inquiry e-mail with a phone call within a couple hours. His staff called the very next day to schedule an estimate, then he personally came out to finish the estimate. We signed the contract and made a down payment in his office. The paperwork was professionally done. He has insurance, is bonded, and insists on doing all the work up to code to protect his reputation. He is very knowledgeable and will answer questions and give advice. The cost of service (above) was labor only. The cost of materials was our responsibility, so we could choose the items we wanted, as cheap or as expensive as we wanted. His workers arrived punctually each day, protected my carpets as they worked, and cleaned up each evening before they left. Before the final payment was made, the owner inspected his crew's work and made a "punch list" of items to finish. I was very pleased with the work.

Description of Work
Remodeled bathroom. They completely gutted the fixtures and old drywall, installed all new drywall, tub/shower, toilet, vanity/sink, plumbing, and improved the electrical outlet (brought it up to code), and painted.

Category remodeling

3.0

04/07/2012


Ruth W.

The owner who came out and quoted us was nice. He was around when all the work was being done. After they completed the job it took 9 calls and 7 months later for them to come out and finish what they started by putting the covers on the gutters. Which ended up costing us more money.

Description of Work
They came out to put a metal red roof on our house and garage. We also agreed on gutters and the covers. They came out and put the roof on and the gutters. But they never put the covers on the gutters. All of this was included in the 8,000.00 price I was quoted.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

sorry to hear this review. but at the time this roofing project was being done the gutter covers were not discussed or wanted and i did offer to install them at a reduced price but it was several months before the home owner contacted me and said yes to the price and that was the timing we installed the covers withen 5 days of her call saying they would pay for thim.
2.0

11/06/2011


Nikhil S.

J &K were punctual in giving me an estimate and a design (which clearly planned for 2 gates and the removal of the old deck and attached walkway). Only a few days after receiving the estimate, however, I received a high-pressure call to commit, since other orders were pending. I did it, and J&K promised to start in 30days of signing. 30 days passed and not a word from J&K. I called to complain and was told that I was being unreasonable for expecting them to honor their contract when bad weather had pushed them off schedule. They agreed to a slight reduction in price (500). When they started, nearly 2 weeks later than the final possible start date (thus nearly 6 weeks after I signed to get on the alleged priority list), they removed part of the deck and were seriously planning on simply building over the old, rotting deck. I complained, and they said this was not in the contract. They agreed, reluctantly, to remove it at no cost. They built the deck and when I said that there needed to be a second gate, they again told me that this was not in the contract, but I discussed this with the manager and drew a very clear picture of what I wanted. They then charged me an additional fee for the second gate, almost eliminating my reduction. They completed the deck fairly quickly and for the most part did a fine job. When I asked about the staining of the deck, the workers seemed surprised that this was part of the job because the deck was built from pressure-treated lumber and was still too moist to paint. Why was this not taken into consideration when I was give the estimate? I agreed to wait a few months to have the deck painted. When the time had come (Feb.) , there had been a lot of rain and I was going to be out of the house for business for several months and I agreed to have the deck painted when I return (July). I called J&K in early August to set up a date to get the deck painted. This was the start of a long list of excuses and "I'm sorry's" from the company secretary. They continually neglected to contact me and continually neglected to put my job on their list (I had made full payment when the deck construction was completed, which, now , I realize was a mistake. Never pay until all the work has been completed!). After the initial call in August, the deck was finally painted in November. The paint job was very sloppy. There were huge gaps of unfinished paint in between the board on the deck . The sides of the deck were minimally painted. I strongly recommend against using this company's services. My beef here is particuarly directed at the management, who seem to operate under the principle of "get as many contracts as possible" without worrying whether they have the manpower and time to complete them. If you do use this company, be sure to go over every detail and very clearly specify what you want in the initial contract. Also, do not pay the full amount until ALL the work is done.

Description of Work
=design of a new, larger deck to replace an existing, smaller one =removal of old deck =construction of new deck =painting of new deck

Category contractors, decks, handyman service, house painters

Service Provider Response

as far as the complaint i would like to say this was a job taken that i made if very clear that you cannot stain a pressured treated deck until all the moisture is out of it as for the design it was a clear breakdown between my self and my crew leader but there was no additional money paid for the second gate or was the paint job sloppy. it is not paint it is stain and it does run in the hot weather but i drive buy to look at this deck recently and it looks perfect pictures are available upon request.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Ohio Basement Authority

    Ohio Basement Authority, founded in 2009, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Cincinnati and Columbus. Ohio Basement Authority is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Ohio Basement Authority on Angi
    A Brush Away Painting

    *Starting March 1st, for every exterior paint job, get a free power wash! Book now and get 10% off! And veterans get 15% off!* We specialize in exterior and interior painting. We also power wash exterior homes and businesses. We have been in business since 1997. Licensed and insured we stand by our work and customer service. 15% off for veterans.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by A Brush Away Painting  on Angi
    New Vision Painting

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Construction Services, Home Additions, Concrete, Sidewalks, Driveways, Debris Removal, Foundations Repair, Pads, Deck, Patios, Install Garage Doors, Drywall, Hanging, Finishing, Painting, Electrical, Handyman, Excavating, Hardwood Flooring Replacement, Carpet, Ceramic Tile, Framing, Basement Finishing, Siding, Vinyl, Sheet Metal, & Windows.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J&K Contracting

    How is J&K Contracting overall rated?

    J&K Contracting is currently rated 3.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are J&K Contracting open?

    J&K Contracting is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does J&K Contracting provide

    J&K Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does J&K Contracting offer free estimates?

    Yes, J&K Contracting offers free project estimates.

    Does J&K Contracting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J&K Contracting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by J&K Contracting?

    Yes, J&K Contracting offers warranties.

    What services does J&K Contracting offer?

    J&K Contracting offers the following services: Construction Services, Home Additions, Concrete, Sidewalks, Driveways, Debris Removal, Foundations Repair, Pads, Deck, Patios, Install Garage Doors, Drywall, Hanging, Finishing, Painting, Electrical, Handyman, Excavating, Hardwood Flooring Replacement, Carpet, Ceramic Tile, Framing, Basement Finishing, Siding, Vinyl, Sheet Metal, & Windows.