Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GRAF GROWERS

Founded 1981 • With Angi since November 2007

We are a full service landscape design and installation company in addition to our retail storefront that hosts a garden center, summer farmer's market, and holiday live greens and tree store in the winter.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(46) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 46 reviews
MARY L.
5.0
11/05/2018
It went very well. Tom who came out and did the estimate/plans was very professional, helpful, and punctual. The installers were also very professional and friendly. The job went very well. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
They built a arber structure.
Category
landscaping
Cathy N.
5.0
09/13/2017
This was a smaller job so they had to fit it in between larger jobs. Emily did a great job with the scheduling and ordering. Tom came out and measured the area and recommended the best plants for the project. They did the project over 2 days. It is beautiful ! There are 3 areas that were landscaped. The plants are nice quality as is the soil and mulch that was added.
Description of Work
Landscaping
Category
landscaping
Mark P.
5.0
05/22/2017
Everything done to expectations and beyond.
Description of Work
install patio with pergola
Category
hardscaping, patios
Lisa S.
3.0
11/12/2015
Summary: We received three estimates from various contractors and chose Graf because they included a detailed description with a drawing of what they would do. It was the most expensive bid. We were really interested in having it done right. Well -- it looks just OK. It looked better the day they did it for about two weeks. It never really looked great. Frankly, one big part -- the bushes/hedges -- look kind of crappy. We had to have them come back to deal with some weeds but they didn't follow through well with that and left most of the weeds (We think this one was a communication issue on their end -- we tell someone, they agree, they tell some people to do it, and something gets missed). Ended up hiring someone else to help us fix issues. Graf Pluses: Everyone at Graf was very polite. They worked quickly and were not in the way. Did the job on the days they said they would. Estimate was very detailed. Some major work was needed in our yard that was done well. Problems on my job: 1. WEEDS everywhere! Every single planting bed (that we paid to have weeded) and all of the grass they planted was covered in giant weeds within a couple of weeks. It was as if weeds were planted along with the mulch and grass seed. 2. PUSHED TO BUY HIDEOUS BUSHES. I was sold some crappy looking bushes that look like giant weeds or straw that I specifically said I did not like. I was given two choices -- ugly and uglier. I did not like either and was talked into the ugly one with the promise that it would fill out and look better once it grew a little -- OK. Still waiting on that. We watered it, fed it, looked it up on google to read about it -- we hate it and I feel like we were just ripped off because we were told "this is what I have in stock" Probably what they were trying get rid of. I thought we had killed it during the first week because we didn't water it but lucky us -- it lives. We tried feeding and watering it and it looks just like it did when we thought it died. Maybe next year? 3. Customer Service - polite, efforts to rectify but possibly somewhat dishonest and no follow through to the end. I am open to the idea that there is some miscommunication and not just flat out lying but some of it feels like - well .... lying? - I wrote, in detail, my concern on their customer survey. I expected that someone might contact me -- nope . - When I called Graf I got a little run around but they did offer to come and pull weeds and put the weed killer down for no charge which was great. A team of workers were in my yard hand pulling weeds from the planting beds but they forgot or were not instructed to use the weed killer that was agreed to on the phone AND -- no weeds were pulled from the grass they planted (I think this could be a miscommunication-- stuff happens when you have a lot of people involved). - The WORST PART - the guy that managed the job (yes I know his name) tried to tell me that he responded with a phone call to my survey complaints. He never called. Never left a message. He's not in the call log Nothing. He tried to convince me that maybe he dialed the wrong number and left the message on the wrong answering service. Guess what? Graf never contacted me in any way shape or form after they came back the second time. I was also never talked to about the ugly bushes they pushed on us that look like, well, WEEDS. After submitting two complaints, one written and one verbal, it would be great if someone would call at the very end and say "how does it look now?" "Is there anything else we can do?" -- Regardless of whether there was going to be an additional charge or not -- just tell me what I need to fix this. If they had offered to replace these bush/weeds for a fee -- I would have gladly paid it. I should never have let that guy push me into saying yes to these (I own that). Did I mention they look like dead weeds? Resolution: We just hired someone else to fix the few issues we had left from Graf. I would not recommend Graf. For me the absolute worst part was the lack of follow through, possibly lying, and the weeds were just crazy. Its only going to cost us a few hundred bucks for weed killing and a possible save/replace on the bushes -- after spending $3,600 this is a drop in the bucket. Graf was very quick to respond after I talked to an owner. Just no follow-through on some things that I think could have easily been resolved. I was really hoping to be one of the customers with an A+ review. I was so looking forward to a great job and willing to work through a couple of rough spots.
Description of Work
Landscaping of the front yard. Remove weeds, some plants and overgrown areas. Replace plantings around the perimeter of the house with grass. Remove and replace overgrown hedges/weeds on one side of the house.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], I appreciate your evaluation. It's important that i get this type of feedback, even when it's difficult to read. This is disappointing to me on many levels. At the core of it all instead of enhancing our clients life we have evoked anger and frustration. We clearly failed you in many ways. I cant offer excuses but i would like to briefly address a few of your concerns. After speaking with the designer i learned that the Physocarpus 'Little devil' were chosen because they offer contrasting color and texture as well as a summer flower. We by no means would want you to have any plant selections that you didn't like and I'm extremely disappointed to know that you felt pressured into buying them. Weed control is a multi-faceted problem. In short we either spray weeds or pull them. A post emergent herbicide will have no effect if sprayed on bare ground. We can apply a pre-emergent herbicide which will prevent seeds from germinating, however, late in the season seeds are typically done germinating and the ones that we see are growing back from the root. I believe that in the long run it would be best to apply a pre-emergent herbicide early in the spring. (This is what i was expecting to do at no charge.) The biggest and most troubling problem is the lack of follow up communication. There really is no excuse for your concerns not to be addressed. In the end this is my responsibility and I have failed you. I have discussed this among our salespeople as an example of the damage we cause by not following through. Most importantly we are taking steps to prevent this type of problem in the future. Beginning in 2016 all installation clients will receive a follow up call or walk through after their job is complete. Again, thank you for your candid feedback and please accept my sincere apologies. -Craig Graf
Robert M.
5.0
11/08/2015
The crew spent the day working on the yard and did a beautiful job. They also cleaned up and hauled away debris. They were very careful not to trample or cover up the plants.
Description of Work
Cleaned out and weeded several garden areas around house and spread mulch.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, greenhouses
Suzanne S.
5.0
09/03/2015
I am very happy with the work that Graf Growers completed. My contact person was Jeff-and he was excellent! He was kind, punctual and is the type of person that you feel a sense of trust toward. I would recommend them to anyone and I plan to have Graf Growers back out in the spring to landscaping.
Description of Work
I had s septic system replaced last March and both the front yard and the back yard of my one acre lot was torn up. I was advised by the excavating company to wait to do the yard after they come back out and regraded the yard. They said the area that was torn up needed to settle and this would take two or three months. As it turned out, they did not come back out until August but Graf Growers was patient and as soon as the yard was regraded they came right out and completed their work. They did more regrading with a large piece of equipment, they did a yard clean up, laid down top soil and raked the yard smooth and level. They seeded, fertilized and laid down water retaining pellets.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Augusta F.
5.0
07/13/2015
I am satisfied with their services. They are timely and polite and they do an excellent job.
Description of Work
They come and treat my lawn every three months for a yearly rate of $200.
Category
lawn service
Julia B.
5.0
06/02/2015
Very pleased with working with Graf - mulch excellent quality. Will use them again.
Description of Work
I ordered mulch via an order form online - they were prompt in calling to set up delivery time. Actual delivery was on time - very nice to deal with.
Category
landscaping
joanne B.
5.0
05/11/2015
excellent service, very friendly crew, the estimator was very helpful and accommodating.
Description of Work
Took out a few dead shrubs, pruned and mulched beds around house
Category
landscaping, mulch
Lisa N.
5.0
05/02/2015
Service from this company was excellent. We had a man come out to the house to look at the area we were looking to landscape, he asked questions to get an idea of what we wanted and he was also very knowledgeable and provided suggestions to us when/if we were unsure of exactly what we wanted. They were prompt in providing a sketch of the work with an estimate for labor and the cost of the plants. They also made changes to the original work outline as requested and sent over revisions right away. The plants were planted at the end of the season so we were a little scared when the following year we didn't see any blooms on a tree that was planted. We simply called and left a message, then within a day a representative was out to look at the plants and reassured us that everything was still alive and doing well. It has been a while since this project has been completed and the work looks great!
Description of Work
Designed landscaping area based on our needs (low maintenance, full/partial sun, and a variety of plants that bloom throughout Spring, Summer and Fall), removed existing plants, edged, mulched and planted new plants.
Category
landscaping
Raymond V.
5.0
01/15/2015
They were great. When they finished, there was something I didn't like and they came out and re-did it the way I like it so I'm very happy with them. They did what they said they were gonna do and I didn't like something and they came out and fixed it. They made me happy so I'd definitely use them again. They kept me informed by e-mail about what their schedule was. They were there when they said they'd be there. They were good guys. My wife felt comfortable with them working at the house.
Description of Work
I used Graf for my personal patio.
Category
hardscaping, patios
Linda B.
5.0
06/05/2014
We selected Graf Growers and were very pleased with them. They showed up on time, worked efficiently and professionally, asked questions and made suggestions, and clean up very well when finished. The work came in under the estimate and we were charged the lesser amount. We would definitely recommend them and plan on using them again this year.
Description of Work
We called Graf Growers for an estimate to do some clean up around our property such as clearing overgrowth under our pine trees, cleaning out flower beds, removing dead shrubs, pruning branches of trees, trimming hedges, and some edging.
Category
landscaping
beth R.
4.0
04/18/2014
Their pricing is competitive. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
Graf Growers Garden Center, Farm Market & Landscape did an upgrade on retaining walls and landscape pavers for us. They also did some vegetation landscaping. A good part of our backyard is all patio, swimming pool and cabana.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Elaine W.
5.0
10/03/2013
They were on time. They did a very good job and did exactly what I wanted them to do. They asked questions to make sure they were meeting my requirements. They also had me double check before they left and they even answered questions about plants that had .
Description of Work
They came put stone around the pathways of my gardens and pond.
Category
landscaping
Laura F.
5.0
08/14/2013
I really want them well. They were very professional, and the reviews on them online was good. They called right away, and came out when they said they were going to come out. Also, their price seemed to be within the right ballpark.
Description of Work
I got an initial estimate from Graf Growers for some basic landscaping trees and some drainage work. And then, I hired them.
Category
landscaping
nancy L.
5.0
08/05/2013
Jim came out and viewed the property, sought our need and wants and came up with a plan. He also broke the over all design down into phases that can be done over time. The price was reasonable for all the work that was to be done. We still have to get back one for estimate before we choose a landscaper.
Description of Work
came up with a landscape design for the front and the back of our yard, With estimate.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Deanna F.
4.0
05/07/2013
They started coming in the summer 2009. They have a one year guarantee. There was no problem. In the summer of 2011, I called them to let them know things were dying. I left multiple messages and they never called me back. They took out yuws and put in huge bushes that are growing wildly which is not what I asked for.
Description of Work
They replaced trees and bushes that had died.
Category
landscaping
michelle R.
5.0
05/07/2013
I have used them for about 15 years. My experience has been great. Their estimates are always fair and reasonable. They come on time for their appointments and work is spectacular.
Description of Work
They did some flower baskets and window boxes and general landscaping.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
richard A.
4.0
05/06/2013
It was pretty good. I would recommend them to others
Description of Work
They put in 3 holly plants.
Category
landscaping
Ryan S.
5.0
05/06/2013
They did a great job. We were happy with the decisions they made. They were very helpful. The job was done in a timely manner.
Description of Work
They did some landscaping and planting in the front yard.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Thomas G.
5.0
05/06/2013
They did a very good job. I would highly recommend them to others. They were very responsive
Description of Work
They did some landscaping work. Planted some trees, bushes, and flowers.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
THELMA E.
5.0
05/02/2013
They did a good job. I was pleased with what they did and they did a nice job.
Description of Work
They did some pruning.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
ERIC H.
5.0
05/02/2013
We have worked with Graf Growers several years in row and have been completely happy with their work. Craig Graf is wonderful to work with! He comes to the house, walks around the yard with us and gives us advice and recommendations on what plants or trees would work best incorporating our preferences for maintenance and aesthetics. He even tells us how to take care of the plants, when and how much to prune, what products to use, when to fertilize, etc. Their pricing is extremely fair and Craig has even replaced plants free of charge that have not done well. Their store/nursery is also fantastic with very knowledgeable staff. I highly recommend Graf Growers!
Description of Work
They improved a garden bed as well as pruned, edged, and mulched the entire yard.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Sandra F.
5.0
05/02/2013
In reference to everything from the qualities of the materials that they used to the staff, everything was excellent!
Description of Work
They put in barnstone and landscaping ties. They also did a lot of plantings.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Holland H.
4.0
05/01/2013
They did a great job. I would recommend them others.
Description of Work
The designed my landscaping and installed it.
Category
landscaping

Other local Pros in your area

Double H Lawn Care

Specialize in mowing, mulching and cleanups. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Costello Landscaping

At Costello Landscaping we understand that your landscaping does more than add beauty and value to your home or property -- it is a reflection of your style or image, as well as a functional part of your everyday life.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Marrone Land Development

Marrone Land Development has been serving the Northeast Ohio market for over 30 years with outstanding quality & a thorough approach to every project. Our team will assess your property with an eye for detail and present a landscape solution that will ensure the exterior of your home or business is beautiful & appealing all year long. Always expect the best from our outstanding technicians & customer support squad! Call today for a free estimate.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1015 WHITE POND DR.

Akron, OH 44320

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

GRAF GROWERS is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

GRAF GROWERS is open:

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

GRAF GROWERS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Ask GRAF GROWERS for details on free project estimates.

No, GRAF GROWERS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, GRAF GROWERS does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, GRAF GROWERS offers warranties.

GRAF GROWERS offers the following services: At Graf's Landscape & Design, we welcome projects of all sizes. No matter if your needs are big or small, we are happy to help. Services we offer include landscape installation projects such as patios, outdoor kitchens, fire pits, walkways, garden walls, privacy plantings, water features, outdoor lighting, bed creation, foundation plantings, seasonal plantings, and holiday lighting. We also have a retail storefront, summer farmer's market, farm, and firewood services.