Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE

Founded 1990 • With Angi since February 2003

3.0

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2297 EDMUND AVE

Akron, OH 44312

Description

DC Home Inspection Service with 3 full time inspectors. In-Door Air Quality Consultants (a sister company) employes Forensic Environmental Specialists with 3 full time remediation crews....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/16/2015


kirk H.

These guys are a scam. They performed a home inspection and then offer their mold remediation services for thousand s of dollars that you can do for the price of a gallon of bleach.

Description of Work
Conducted a home inspection that they advertise they are ASHI certified/endorsed. THIS IS FRAUD!!! I contacted ASHI and this compnay no longer is ASHI approved althought they advertise they are on there website!!!

Category home inspection, mold removal

5.0

07/09/2015


Roy A.

Category home inspection

1.0

05/07/2014


Dawn M.

TERRIBLE. After moving in to my new home in August 2012 -- two days after to be exact -- leaks started to pop up in the bathrooms. It was terrible. To make a very long and arduous story short, Chuck, the owner came out several times and failed to find where the leaks were coming from. He said it was most likely nails popping through the roof and this was leading to the leaks. This happened several time and his only solution was to caulk the nail holes in the roof. It was a JOKE!! I then began to get cost estimates for a new roof. Each estimator said that the roof was in terrible shape and needed replaced prior to the winter. It was terribly upsetting considering the cost estimates ranged from $12k to $18k. They also informed me that there was also mold on the wood and a ton of water damage that Chuck NEVER mentioned. They also took several photos to prove that the roof needed attention ASAP. I decided to move forward with purchasing a new roof, since I could not live with the worry of it leaking and ruining the inside of my home each time it rained. This would have been unnecessary if Chuck would have taken the time to see the big picture of the roof and understand that there were no "quick fixes" on this job. At a time when moving in to a new home should be fun and exciting, I was filled with dread it time it was forecast to rain...until I got a new roof, that is. After a couple of months of the run-around from him, I hired an attorney, but his contract is bogus and he was held responsible for absolutely NOTHING. Do yourself a HUGE favor and DO NOT use this company. This guy is clueless and does not stand behind their contract or their services.

Description of Work
Came out for a roof inspection and offered a three year warranty if anything needed repaired. The service was paid for by the realtor who sold me the home. I said the roof was questionable, but they said that this company would take care of it if anything happened.

Category home inspection

1.0

04/05/2013


Greg B.

We recently purchased a home in Hudson, OH. The seller provided what looked to be a thorough home inspection by DC Home Inspection Services (report #: 011512-5). The initial inspection was paid for and conducted by a previous potential buyer. The report was less than 30 days old when presented to us by the seller. Upon move-in to the home there are numerous items that were blatantly missed by the inspection. 1) The reserve tank off of the hot water heater was clearly rusted and dripping. Corrosion that causes a hot water tank to drip should be noticed by an inspection. 2) Water damage to basement drop ceiling 3) Wall separation from the basement floor that lead to shifting/cracks. 4) A completely dead bee hive (250+ bees) in a basement window that had a crack/opening not noted in the report. I realize we relied on a seller supplied report. I get "buyer beware." You should be very, very aware of using DC Home Inspection to inspect your property. At best, their service was average. At worst, their service was highly negligent. Missing items in an inspection such as a basement window crack with a dead bee hive shows that the inspector did a sub par job. Furthermore, it appears that the hot water heater and basement foundation were incorrectly inspected and reported.

Description of Work
Seller provided home inspection. Inspection completed within 30 days of offer and 60 days of close.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/07/2012


Leslie S.

He showed up on time, really 5 minutes early. Before he started he told us what he would be doing and that it would take about 90 minutes. He was more than accomodating when one of us was right on his heels or up the ladder right behind him. He pointed out things I wouldn't expect someone to find in an inspection, like some windows that were painted shut, a ceiling fan with a slight wobble. He also pointed out things that were okay currently but that we should watch for in the future. He left a book with a sample report so we could get familiar with the codes we would see on our report. For any perceived issues that he found, he noted them at the time. He even showed us how to operate all of the appliances and made sure we knew what switches what to what outlet/light fixture. He asked about any changes we thought we would be making & what impact those changes would have. After his inspection he sat down with me, my husband and the realtor and talked about each issue he had found, which needed fixed immediately, which could wait a few months, and what to watch for down the road with other issues. He said he would email the final report the next day. About an hour after we returned home I received his email with the report AND a "tip sheet" for each issue he found. The tip sheets had helpful things you can do yourself and WHY the issue is important. He even coded things we could fix ourselves and things we should really get a certified contractor to do. This inspection was well worth every penny spent. He found that we had an electical panel that was part of a safety recall. It is such a danger that no licensed electrician will even work on them. It will have to be replaced before we can purchase the home. We are just glad we knew right from the beginning so we still have time to have it replaced before the bank does their inspection.

Description of Work
He did a complete home inspection from the driveway to the roof to the appliances in the basement. I have been through a few home inspections in the past but have NEVER seen anything this detailed.

Category home inspection

5.0

02/20/2003


AMY C.

Description of Work
HAD HOME INSPECTION BEFORE CLOSING ON BUYING A HOME.

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Salvatore Excavating

    We specialize in excavating services, lot clearing, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Wise Waterproofing

    A Team of Local Waterproofing Specialists With 10 years of experience in basement waterproofing services, our team is here to help keep your basement dry. Wise Waterproofing is Northeast Ohio’s go-to waterproofing contractor. Providing professional basement waterproofing systems, sump pumps, downspout lines & more. Serving Akron, Canton, Cleveland and the surrounding area. **Get $500 Off Waterproofing System**Contact us today!  

    B-DRY SYSTEM CLEVELAND

    We are by far the most experienced Basement Waterproofing Company in the area. The average B-Dry Cleveland employee has over 19 years of installation experience. We have been in the same location serving Cleveland, Ohio and the counties of Cuyahoga, Lorain, Lake, Geauga, Summit, Portage, Stark, Medina and Erie for over 39 years.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential inspection services including FHA/VA roof and structural certifications, pest inspections, well/septic inspections, mold, and radon testing. In-door air quality testing including mold, VOC's, asbestos, formaldehyde, radon, and for the sick home syndrome. Services are offered to residential, businesses, schools, doctors offices, and public venues.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE

    How is DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE overall rated?

    DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE is currently rated 3 overall out of 5.

    What days are DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE open?

    DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE provide

    DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE offer free estimates?

    Ask DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE for details on free project estimates.

    Does DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE offer a senior discount?

    No, DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE?

    No, DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE does not offer warranties.

    What services does DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE offer?

    DC HOME INSPECTION SERVICE offers the following services: Residential inspection services including FHA/VA roof and structural certifications, pest inspections, well/septic inspections, mold, and radon testing. In-door air quality testing including mold, VOC's, asbestos, formaldehyde, radon, and for the sick home syndrome. Services are offered to residential, businesses, schools, doctors offices, and public venues.