Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS

Founded 1959 • With Angi since October 2008

DBA: PATIO ROOMS CORP. ADDITIONAL PHONE: (330)494-2385.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(13) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews
Anthony K.
2.0
07/04/2016
I have never felt compelled to write a bad review before. I have always been happy with the contractors that I have selected based on Angie's List's ratings. I chose this contractor in no small measure because it had high ratings on Angie's list. Unfortunately, my experience was not at all positive. The materials for the new room were of good quality and the price was fair--no complaints. However, I did encounter the following issues: 1. I asked the owner, Bob Round, to give me a few days notice before they started work so that I would have time to remove items of furniture, etc. from the existing room. Despite this specific request, he called me at 7:30 PM on a Sunday evening and told me they would be there at 9AM the next day. This caused me to have to do a "fire drill" to get the existing room emptied out that night. This is a fairly small point, but annoying. 2. On a more serious note, when they poured the concrete for the new footer that would serve as the base for the walls of the new patio room, I noticed that along one course, the footer was not perpendicular to the back of the house, meaning that the wall would not be either, and that the room would not be "square." I called Bob Round of APR to discuss this with him and was told they would be able to "adjust" for this and make the room square. Yet when the room was constructed, it was not square--it was off by between 1.5 and 2 inches, which is discernable to the naked eye--you do not need a measuring tape to see it. By this point, the room was finished. When I called them on it, they did agree to lower the price by $1,000, since there was no real way to fix the problem. While it is nice that they did something to adjust the price, the fact is that the room is not square. 3. The biggest issue, which I did not discover until more than a month after they finished the work, is that the concrete subcontractor/employee for APR took all of the surplus wet concrete and dumped it on the backside of a compost pile that I maintain at the back of my property. This was done without my knowledge or permission, and while I was at work. The wet concrete was dumped on the back side of the compost pile and then covered with material from the compost pile so that I would not see it. When it dried, it dried to from a more or less continuous slab that was as much as four inches thick in some places. I stumbled onto it on Saturday, July 2. As a result, I got to spend several hours of my Fourth of July Weekend breaking this mass of now hardened concrete up with a sledge hammer and dragging it to the top of my driveway. I now have a pile of concrete rubble that weighs at least 350 pounds sitting on my driveway, which I must find a way to dispose of. I will be calling APR to ask them to take it away, but if they don't, I will have an expense. Even if they make the matter right, I still am highly offended by this practice. They obviously knew it was wrong--that is why they covered it up. I cannot even be certain that I have discovered all of it yet. As a result of the foregoing issues, I cannot at all recommend this contractor. I wonder how many members have given APR a high rating but haven't found some dumped concrete somewhere on their property?
Description of Work
I engaged American Patio Rooms to tear down an old patio enclosure and replace it with a new patio room. This work included putting in a new concrete footer for the new room. The work began in early May, 2016 and ended around the end of May.
Category
sunrooms
David M.
5.0
01/22/2016
unknown
Description of Work
These folks were great. They lived up to all their promises and we love the results. During construction, both owners showed up to make sure things went well. We highly recommend them.
Category
sunrooms
Ron B.
5.0
09/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Since it was a repair and not a new install it was a more difficult job.
Category
sunrooms
Dorothy A.
5.0
03/26/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Provided us with two estimates. Easy to work with and very professional. The owner of the company came to our home twice in one day to follow through; however at this point, we have decided to use our savings to do needed work inside our house. We would use in the future.
Category
sunrooms
John D.
5.0
10/17/2014
unknown
Description of Work
My wife and I were very pleased with American Patio Rooms. This was a large project and they made it very easy. Their attention to detail was tremendous and it was very obvious that they took pride in their craft and ultimately the finished project. |Based on our experience I would highly recommend them.
Category
sunrooms
John F.
5.0
06/05/2014
.
Description of Work
.
Category
patios
John F.
5.0
03/13/2014
They insulated the floor and put new windows in that were double paned with nitrogen. They put in window unit a/c and a heater. The whole process was excellent. They know what they are doing and get it done in a timely manner. I would recommend them to anyone.
Description of Work
They converted my sunroom from a two season to a yearround.
Category
decks, sunrooms
Joan L.
5.0
04/03/2013
The sales man was great and so were the installers. They did excellent work, personable and cleaned up very well. They did the work in a timely fashion.
Description of Work
They closed in a back porch with both screen and glass sliders
Category
decks
William J.
5.0
06/11/2012
It went very well. They had some problems removing the old roof sections but once that was done they completed the job in good order. They did not construct the original patio room, I used them because they were much more reasonable price wise than the other patio enclosure company. They were $5000 less costly than the original installer. I would use them again. However, if you are planning on an aluminum patio enclosure keep in mind the cost of replacing damaged sections. It is much more costly than a conventional wood structure to repair.
Description of Work
Replaced roof and sky lights due to hail storm damage last year.
Category
sunrooms
Nicole M.
5.0
04/01/2012
American Patio Rooms replced the walls only. We had an exising cement foundation and roof that were good. They replaced 3 "walls". 2 of the walls were replced with 20" knee walls and the third wa replaced with a sliding glass door. They were the cleanest company that I've ever had perfom work at my home. They were very polite, professional and did exactly what they said they would. When it was discovered that the header was not a true header, they replaced that as well. We are very pleased with the room and lik that the windowas are able to slide in both directions. The widows are double pane, easy to clean and the screens are also easy to put in and take out. The only complaint that I have is that I received a call on Tuesda night to inform me that work would begin on Wednesday. I work and would have liked more notice but with this type of work you are at the mercy of the weather and the days they did the job were scheduled to be beautiful so I made it work. I also like to be onsite when work is being done at my home.
Description of Work
We had an existing room replaced. The old room had wood walls and old single pane storm windows that you could replace with screens in warmer weather and an aluminum door.
Category
sunrooms
TOM E.
5.0
08/03/2011
It was a wonderful job. I had no problems with it whatsoever.
Description of Work
They built a patio for me.
Category
sunrooms
Donna J.
5.0
10/16/2008
It went very well. I had several estimates, and they were not the lowest, but they did give me a sense of confidence. They answered all my questions without being condescending, and they were pleasant and professional. They handled the permits, the zoning board, inspections - everything. When they went to put in the footers, they discovered that for some unknown reason, footers were already in place for the existing patio (which was the same size) and they actually reduced the cost from the original estimate. They completed the work in the time they had said, and they were extremely conscientious about cleaning up the mess, sweeping the area with a magnet to get any missed nails, etc. When they left, we had a beautiful sunroom and no mess - and all for less than they had originally estimated.
Description of Work
Build a sunroom on our house, replacing an outdoor patio.
Category
sunrooms
LINDA J H.
1.0
10/09/2008
Bob Brown came out and he wrote up an estimate to have 4 strips fixed. I've tried to call them several times to have the work done. Last Tuesday I got a call saying it was the first chance he's had to fix it. I did not bother to call them back, because I made it clear that they had to be out by the end of the previous week, if they couldn't be out, I would just call someone else.
Description of Work
Last June we had two hail storms. Some of the hail has punched through the stripping on the windows. I called American Patios, right away they wanted to send out an insurance adjuster. I told them no, because I didn't want to file a claim. I called back at the end of July to make sure I was still on the schedule, and they informed me that they wanted to send out an insurance adjuster. I told them I just wanted to be put on the service schedule.
Category
sunrooms

Other local Pros in your area

Home Exteriors Roofing, Siding and Windows

Fast, Affordable, & Dependable. Over 35 years in business, Family Owned and operated. We specialize in the complete exterior envelope, Windows, Siding, Roofing, Gutters and Doors. What's in your future? Maybe a new roof for your home or possibly a complete exterior makeover? Talk with one of our roofing, window or siding professionals to find the action that best fits your needs. We're happy to make some repairs to buy you some time, or make a replacement if it is needed. You want a contractor you can trust, and one who has the experience to help you make some major decisions. We will listen to your goals, desires, and help alleviate any concerns. We will walk you through the process like you were one of our family.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Dutch Signature Windows

At Dutch Signature Windows, we are your premier choice for professional window installs and repairs. We have provided high quality work and friendly customer service for years.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Edwards Construction

At Edwards Construction we specialize in wood framing Decks Metal framing Interior systems Drop ceilings Drywall Trim Tile Cabinets Doors interior and exterior Replacement windows There will never be any crazy gimmicks to get your business Whatever your job is rest assured that it will be done at an honest price and a timely manner. All estimates are obviously FREE.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1690 E WATERLOO RD

Akron, OH 44306

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Yes, AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS offers free project estimates.

No, AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS does not offer warranties.

AMERICAN PATIO ROOMS offers the following services: AWNINGS, PATIO ROOM ENCLOSURES, DECKS, DOORS & WINDOWS.