Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Above Grade Home Inspections Inc

Founded 1998 • With Angi since October 2008

5.0

(288) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

25 Glenwood Dr

Wallkill, NY 12589

Description

***2018 & 2019 Super Service Winner*** For over 21 years Above Grade has been providing New York State with the highest quality residential home inspections available. We don’t stop at a clip board and industry certifications, we combine our extensive knowledge of the inspection industry with the latest technology to create inspections with unsurpassed thoroughness and accuracy. Above Grade is Veteran owned and operated.Call us at 845-527-0111...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/09/2020


Paul P.

Todd did an excellent job of going over every part of the house and made me feel comfortable that he found items that needed fixing. He was able to identify numerous water leaks, pests, potential septic issues, water drainage issues, plumbing issues and potential issues. He has good technology at his disposal and attention to detail. He found parts of the house that the owner didn't even know about. I'd recommend him highly.

Description of Work
Full inspection of a multi family unit

Category home inspection

5.0

09/23/2020


LINDA F.

The inspection went great and he was very professional!! Great, friendly and knows his way around! Couldn’t have asked from better service!

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, mold removal

5.0

07/18/2020


Jennifer K.

I was very happy with the home inspection that Chuck did. He arrived early for the appointment and was very thorough. He brought us along with him as he did the inspection, explained everything well, answered all our questions, and provided practical insights and tips. You can immediately tell he knows what he is doing and he is honest. We also got a good sense of what were more major issues vs minor ones which was really helpful. He also sent a good quality report within 24 hours. I would definitely recommend Chuck!

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

06/23/2020


Phebe C.

Chuck Sweed of Above Grade Home Inspection was a 10/10. Experienced, super efficient and professional. From call to completed Inspection reports in less than 1 week. I feel so lucky to have found the right company for the job in this already challenging process. Look no further for a quality inspection and great-fair price!

Description of Work
Home Inspection Mid Hudson Region- Excellent

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

02/07/2020


Miranda H.

Chuck was absolutely phenomenal to work with. He is quick, knowledgeable, and dedicated to his work. He came highly recommended and I am glad we went with him! His communication is amazing, friendly, attentive, and caring. You can tell that he truly cares for what he is doing and what he is looking for, verses a quick walk through and a paycheck. We will ALWAYS recommend Above Grade Home Inspections because of how positive our experience was.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, septic tank, wells

5.0

08/03/2019


tenille P.

Chuck is fantastic! We spoke to a handful of home inspectors for a new home purchase (we are first time home buyers) and felt the most comfortable with Chuck. He is extremely knowledgable, was patient with our (many) questions, professional and provided us a thorough and detailed report the next day. We feel confident purchasing our new home after his thoughtful inspection.

Description of Work
New Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, wells

5.0

03/13/2019


Dara W.

STOP LOOKING! CHUCK IS YOUR MAN! We are first time home buyers and I decided to use Angie's List to look for a home inspector. After reading all of the reviews I was sold on Above Grade. Chuck is awesome and very knowledgeable. He was willing to explain everything so we could easily understand and offered his ideas and opinions on repairs. I didnt feel like he rushed through anything and he was very thorough. Our appointment was at 3:30 and we had our report via email when we woke up in the morning. I will definitely be referring him out to anyone I know looking for an inspector!

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, mold removal

5.0

02/13/2019


Chanel C.

Chuck is amazing and we consider ourselves truly lucky to have found him. After being pressured by our realtor to use his recommended home inspector, I did my research and decided to call Chuck based on his glowing reviews here and on Angies List. After my first conversation with Chuck I felt 1000 times more at ease moving forward with the entire process of purchasing my first home. He's one of the few people I have spoken to who have gone out of his way to explain things to me fully and empower me by sharing his knowledge and making recommendations. His full report complete with HD pics was given to us within 24 hours of our initial inspection and was detailed and thorough. I hope we are able to finalize the purchase of this house but if not I will definitely be calling Chuck to inspect the next one and recommending him to my friends and family!

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

01/16/2019


carl F.

All went as hoped. Inspector was great source of information during the inspection.

Description of Work
Pre-sale inspection to find defects before offering for sale.

Category home inspection

5.0

01/13/2019


Ryne K.

House: Mid 1800s farmhouse, approximately 4000 square feet Inspection Components: General home inspection, plus termite, radon, well water, and septic tests Time to complete: approximately 3 hours. Inspection report was provided the same day and other tests came in a week and a half later. Inspector (Chuck): Was responsive and and accommodating for scheduling the inspection. He arrived early on the day of inspection to begin his prep work. Chuck took his time to explain the inspection process and walk us through each part of the home. He gave us detailed overviews of similar homes and potential issues, then explained how this home compared. He also helped explain how the mechanics of the house work and how to operate components of it effectively. Quality: As far as we can tell, Chuck's inspection was very thorough. He pointed out a number of issues and look his time to triage and assess potential problems. His equipment is top notch, and includes a drone for roof shots and a thermal camera for assessing the heating system and finding heat leaks. He collaborated well with a second septic inspector we had on site and even found a minor plumbing leak in the basement that had previously been undetected. Value: For the size of this home and quality of his service, Chuck was a great value. His price includes a discount for finding him via Angie's List. Summary: I recommend Chuck based on his service. Chuck arrived early, was detail oriented, and provided a high quality report. Other reviews on Angie's List seem to be accurate reflections of his work. I did have to send him a reminder e-mail to get our well and radon results although Chuck responded back with the results very quickly. This was around the holidays so, considering, that minor delay was understandable and not a big deal.

Description of Work
Home Inspection including termite, radon, well water, and septic tests

Category home inspection, radon testing, septic tank, wells

5.0

12/18/2018


Delia M.

Excellent, he arrived early due to the weather and literally crawled under the home to inspect it for damage. He found and took numerous photos and videos of what was under the home. Explaining to us in detail of what exactly is wrong with the support beams in the home. I am so grateful that I choose Above Grade. Will definitely reccomed him and choose again n cut time.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

11/27/2018


Ranu R.

Chuck was very knowledgeable and friendly. He walked the property with us and pointed out issues thoroughly, and gave us insight into what we should be worried about vs. what wasn't a big deal. He has an honest and no-nonsense approach while keeping things light and fun. The inspection lasted a little over 2 hours and Chuck was prepared with the right tools. He gave us a great referral for a septic inspection too. We received our report within 48 hours and it was very thorough. Would definitely hire Chuck again!

Description of Work
Home Inspection for Home Purchase

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

11/23/2018


Julie B.

Excellent and fast with inspection report. Friendly and prompt. Report was detailed and comprehensive. I would recommend him to anyone who needs a home inspection.

Description of Work
Pre-purchase Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

09/04/2018


Michelle M.

Chuck was GREAT. we greatly appreciate all the time and effort he put into the house. He was early, He took his time. He explains everything to you and answers any question you may have. it's like your having a lesson on your house while hes doing the job. I appreciate all his knowledge and recommendations. I would recommend him to anyone. you wont be disappointed. He even checks the roof. He is very thorough. Doesnt care if your realtor is there he gonna tell you the truth.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, septic tank

5.0

06/11/2018


Colleen P.

I have had a totally of 5 home inspections in the last 6 years for a wide range of inspections. Chuck was the best inspector I have used to date. He was very thorough and very informative with suggestions and ideas about the house. EXCELLENT experience .

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

05/09/2018


Trevor M.

Used twice for different properties. Amazing service both times - extremely thorough and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

04/29/2018


Russ D.

I have used Chuck from Above Grade Home Inspections TWICE and he will be the only one I use from now on. He went completely out of his way for a days notice inspection appointment, twice. He spent 3 hours each inspection telling me what was wrong, what will go wrong, and what caused each issue. This helped me keep an informed decision and kept me from buying a disaster house. Chuck found subtle evidence of septic backup stains and recommended an awesome company who checked it out. Chuck saved me from this diagnosis, a failed septic.

Description of Work
Two home inspections

Category home inspection

5.0

04/07/2018


Dee A.

Chuck was very thorough. He explained and gave valuable insight. As first time buyers, his honesty was refreshing and very welcomed. His suggestions, tips and pointers as to what to look for during final walk through as well as a very detailed report qualifies him above all else as "Above Grade"(I know cheesy). I do have to say his knowledge of the 80's was hilarious and don't believe him for a minute when he claimed he didn't wear a G... Tee while driving his I-Roc Z no matter how much he denies it! LOL

Description of Work
House Inspection with Radon Detection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

03/23/2018


Katherine T.

Chuck is the quintessential Home Inspector because he is very thorough, meticulous and knowledgeable due to his many years of experience. Thanks to Chuck, I was able to avoid a huge money pit scenario for myself. The house he inspected, from my point of view had great qualities like location, kitchen, layout, etc.; nonetheless, Chuck uncovered structural damage (house leaning) that I didn't pick up on that would've created a home owners insurance issue and even a resale problem for me. Thanks Chuck!!! I will definitely call you soon again when I find a better house.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

03/12/2018


jennifer L.

Chuck was professional, thorough and entertaining. He took his time and checked every corner. His Inspection report was detailed and complete.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

02/28/2018


Steven B.

Chuck performed a very thorough inspection, providing extra insight along the way. Additionally, the inspection write up summarized all observations and concerns.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

02/05/2018


Richard G.

Great service, top notch work, chuck definitely went way beyond expected. Thank you, will definitely be referring this business

Description of Work
House inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing, mold removal

5.0

01/16/2018


Camille R.

As first time home-buyers, Chuck made the inspection process a pleasant one. I'm a bit of an anxious person who asks a gazillion questions in one breath. Chuck dealt with that better than most, he took the time to inform me of what he saw every step of the way. He arrived early, worked on the outside while we waited for the agent to open the house. He checked every room thoroughly, top to bottom, I mean this guy was like looking for any possible thing that could be wrong. This made me feel very secure of my investment in him and his time. The best part is he used the device to check for any signs of water leaks!!! my biggest fear is a water issue and mold, so this certainly put me at ease. I especially loved his reaction when he saw the foam insulated attic! he was so proud - and having an A Grade home inspector that proud meant everything to us!! he also set up the radon testing all reasonably priced. The report arrived within 24 hours, clear, coherent and professional. This guy is awesome, knowledgeable and we especially appreciated his fantastic sense of humor through the process. He is well-rounded and knows more than just home inspections, he knows the market and he brings all the right connections in Orange County, NY. Thank you Chuck!

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

12/14/2017


Damian S.

Chuck is the best home inspector that money can buy. I never write reviews but needed to share my experience because this guy was incredible. I worked with a few highly regarded inspectors before finding Chuck and the experience with him was night and day better. He inspected two houses for me. I called him the "house whisper" during the inspection of the second house because he can walk into a room and diagnose a problem immediately and work back to the root cause of the issue. For example, the first house had a mold problem. I'm sure most inspectors would have caught that. But Chuck dug in further found that there was an ongoing water issue (water flow underneath the house) that couldn't be fixed easily. Saved me from making a huge mistake. He went out of his way to work with a difficult seller's schedule. I won't use another inspector after working with Chuck.

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection, radon testing

5.0

11/13/2017


Jolene A.

Chuck Sweed has performed 2 house inspections for me. He does a thorough and professional job. His detailed reports with photos are invaluable. He’s got a great sense of humor and made the stressful task of inspecting my prospective home very enjoyable. His eagle eye caught everything important. He educated me about the realities of buying a 200 year old house and that ultimately gave me confidence to move forward with my purchase. I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Home Inspection

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Ridgeline New York Home Inspections, LLC

    With Ridgeline New York Home Inspections, you can rest easy knowing that you've chosen the right home inspector. We work exclusively for you, to serve your best interests and to arm you with the information you need. We hold ourselves to a high standard of ethics and professionalism to provide you with a comprehensive, unbiased report on the condition of your home.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    ADU Water - Fire - Mold - Storm

    Since 2011, ADU specializes in water, fire, mold, and storm remediation and restoration. Our goal is to provide prompt and professional solutions emphasizing customer service. We provide 24-hour seven days a week service, our certified and licensed technicians will be glad to assist you.  

    Check B 4 Home Inspections, LLC

    Check B 4 Home Inspections, LLC provides quality home inspection services to New York's Hudson Valley and surrounding areas. Purchasing a home is one of the largest investments of most people's lives. You need a professional service that you can count on. Do you need a detailed, quality home inspection, a radon test, or a well water quality test? Check B 4 Home Inspections, LLC has you covered. Call Today!  

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    100%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Home inspections, radon testing, water testing, wood destroying insect inspections, septic dye analysis,Open pit septic inspection with high definition cameras, high resolutions thermography, radon mitigation, reports delivered with high definition digital images, mold & air quality testing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Above Grade Home Inspections Inc

    How is Above Grade Home Inspections Inc overall rated?

    Above Grade Home Inspections Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Above Grade Home Inspections Inc open?

    Above Grade Home Inspections Inc is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

    What payment options does Above Grade Home Inspections Inc provide

    Above Grade Home Inspections Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offers a 100% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Above Grade Home Inspections Inc?

    No, Above Grade Home Inspections Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offer?

    Above Grade Home Inspections Inc offers the following services: Home inspections, radon testing, water testing, wood destroying insect inspections, septic dye analysis,Open pit septic inspection with high definition cameras, high resolutions thermography, radon mitigation, reports delivered with high definition digital images, mold & air quality testing.