Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Woods Lock & Door

Founded 1950 • With Angi since May 2010

4.9

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

110 Rockaway Ave

Valley Stream, NY 11580

Description

Installation of doors and Hardware...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/12/2020


raymond B.

Very Good looking forward to using him again

Description of Work
New Lock installed

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

10/02/2019


Tetsuo K.

I called Jeff at Woods Lock and Door and he promptly came over to give me an estimate. I appreciated receiving a confirmation email and a call that he was on his way. He patiently explained in detail the options and associated costs of all the door related work I needed done. After he gave me a detailed written estimate we scheduled the work. He sent over Don on the scheduled date and time. Don did a fantastic job over two days! He was very courteous and professional, and it was evident from the quality of his work that he takes great pride in his work. Once everything was completed he carefully cleaned up all work areas. He also did a couple of extra things that were not on the original work order "on the house" (pun intended). I'm definitely calling them again once my basement gets refinished to get some new doors installed. Thank you Angie's List for helping me find these guys!

Description of Work
(1) Install exterior door and storm door (2) Install interior door (3) Replace a couple of faulty door knobs (4) Misc repairs on existing doors

Category doors

3.0

09/23/2018


John B.

The company responded via Email that they did not do this type of work. From their website it seemed to me that they did.

Description of Work
Repairing a front door that was sticking and not locking

Category doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations of what type of work we do. But in all fairness to give us a poor review seems a bit harsh for just responding to you honestly that we do not do this type of work. Again I apologize. Jeff
5.0

09/17/2018


Joseph S.

The project went very well. Woods lock and door are consummate professionals. The project was very challenging but they completed it within the timeline specified. I would certainly use them again for other door and lock related projects. They really know their craft.

Description of Work
We had a custom storm door installed, a premium mortised lock set installed on our old door and weather stripping installed.

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

02/07/2018


Elliot E.

Jeff came and surveyed what needed to be done and gave me a quote which I accepted and he told me it would take a bit of time to get the order (I had custom doors). Once they came in, I got a call and scheduled a day and time for it to be installed. I got a call on that date from the installer (a super great guy who has worked there for a long time) saying that he would be an hour late due to the bad weather we had, I appreciated that and he ended up being only about 30 minutes late. He took off the alarm I had on my door carefully, put everything together in a few hours, put the alarm pieces back on, cleaned up and made sure I looked at everything and was happy. The installer was amazing and Jeff was great through the whole process. Update: About 2 months after the installation, we had a terrible rainstorm and water leaked in through the doors. The reason we replaced the original doors was because of rain and we thought we fixed the issue from the roof. The installer came over a day later to take a look and fixed the doors again since they shifted slightly. He also put a rain cap on top of the molding outside and put extra caulking all around the outside where I had some gaps. Though this was not his issue, he did it anyway. He also showed me where he thought the water may also be coming in and told me to get a roofer to cap a different section (which I did). These guys went above and beyond for me and I thought they were great.

Description of Work
Replace two doors (including molding) and fix bottom of one door with a new sweeper

Category doors

5.0

11/27/2017


BettyAnn J.

They were very dedicated. They came and did an architectural drawing. They were very business like. The door is beautiful. The price seemed a little expensive. In all fairness to them though the door is a special order door.

Description of Work
I purchased a door from them and they installed it. They also installed the frame, molding, and the door lock.

Category doors

5.0

05/15/2017


Lisa-Marie H.

Excellent workmanship & quality. I'm very impressed. Will be replacing my side door sooner than originally planed. Love this company!!!

Description of Work
A new front door and storm door. New wood work placed & new frames

Category doors

5.0

03/23/2017


PATRICIA C.

Excellent. I have his card and I'll definitely call him again.

Description of Work
Spoke to Jeff at 8:30 AM, he was here at 10:00AM. Our exterior wood door was sagging, wouldn't lock and we couldn't easily open the door. When Jeff got here, he looked at the door said he thought it was a hinge problem (which he said would be much less expensive then removing the door and plaining it) well it was the hinge. Well he fixed in in no time, opens, closes and locks beautifully and I no longer see daylight around the edges.

Category doors

5.0

03/01/2017


Christopher S.

The whole experience was extremly enjoyable. They explained what they were going to do and adjusted the doors so they close properly. He also pointed out that my door might be in early stages of warping and that i should call the manugacturer.

Description of Work
I needed my doors to be realigned. It had been almost 5 years since the doors were installed and the bottom latch was not closing properly.

Category doors

5.0

08/09/2016


george G.

It went very well. Jeff was very helpful and patient in providing product information and options. Came to the house to take measurements and provide suggestions about installation and colors. Jeff's installer, Don, did a very professional job. All work was performed on tome and budget.

Description of Work
New backdoor and screen/storm door

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

10/21/2015


Donna P.

They showed up on time, quickly identified the fix needed, took care of it, and were on their way. Totally refreshing after the con men who had charged us $200 for doing nothing on the same door and accomplishing nothing.

Description of Work
Fixed door that previous locksmith screwed up.

Category locksmith,doors

Service Provider Response

When we spoke on the phone setting up the appointment we were upfront and honest in telling you that the service call is $125 which you agreed to. We charged you no more than the quoted service call. I am truely sorry that you are not happy with our price.
5.0

10/15/2015


Al T.

I spoke with Jeff and the appointment was quick and easy to make. John arrived the next day within the appointment window. I explained the issue and he got right to work. Very nice guy and very professional. The job was finished in little over an hour. Already plan on using this company again for future needs. Thanks again Grace

Description of Work
Re keyed the locks on two doors

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

10/04/2015


MICHAEL P.

john came on time and was very professional and knowledgeable. he took his time and was able to clean and replace inner parts to the lock. john even helped realign the door. service call was $125 plus parts and tax.

Description of Work
Repaired baldwin front door lock.

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

08/27/2015


Tara L.

Very quick and friendly. Made sure to explain all the different options and price points for getting new locks.

Description of Work
Installed new deadbolt and doorknob locks on all exterior doors.

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

07/21/2015


Chudi E.

Excellent materials, excellent workmanship. True professionals. The workmanship was so good the cost did not matter. I am extremely happy with my door and the finishings.

Description of Work
Replaced an indoor sliding barn door

Category doors

5.0

07/18/2015


Thomas P.

Excellent and professional advice. Will use Woods Lock and Door in the future.

Description of Work
Gave advice on lock installation and weatherstripping of door.

Category doors

5.0

06/27/2015


steve C.

While they were here they fixed lock and reviewed other potential jobs. We also used them for door replacement.

Description of Work
Lock repair.

Category doors

5.0

06/24/2015


wendy B.

They did a fantastic job!! The doors look like pieces of furniture on the front and rear of my house. Jeff the owner was great and his workers were polite and clean and did a superb job. I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Installed a new front door and new rear door

Category doors

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure dealing with you and your husband. If your have any concerns ever please call us and we will resolve any problems for the life of the doors no charge. Thanks again!
5.0

05/20/2015


Arthur W.

Arrived about an hour after I called. Removed old lock. Put 2 new locks in the front door. No problems with the job. Gave me 2 keys. I needed a third key. Went to the store the next day. Made a third key, no charge.

Description of Work
Replaced locks on front door.

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

12/09/2014


Louise M.

Outstanding. Service was performed with warmth, and great efficiency.

Description of Work
Fixed our front door which would not open, and replaced doorknob/lock.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

When we spoke to you on the phone we were up front and honest in informing you that the service call was $125 plus whatever we need to to to repair your lock.. When we arrived we supplied and installed a new door knob which we did not charge you for. We are sorry that you were not happy with our price but we are not sure what we could have done to make you completely satisfied.
5.0

11/12/2014


Andrew C.

Showed up on time. Took down and trimmed two ill fitting doors. Worked quickly and cleaned up. The serviceman was polite and professional. A bit more costly than expected, but felt I got my moneys worth.

Description of Work
Trimmed two ill fitting doors

Category doors

5.0

09/02/2014


Stephanie T.

I called in the morning and they were there the same day by early afternoon. The job took about a half hour and he was thorough. He looked at the door lock and was able to unjam the door with a screwdriver. Since he was able to re-install the original lock, I did not have to buy or replace the lock. Separately, he checked the security door lock and adjusted the metal plate. Once adjusted, the door locked with no problem. I thought they did a good job, professional and friendly. I would recommend them to others. I chose them based on ratings from this site. The feedback was onpoint and accurate. Thanks Angie!!!

Description of Work
Exterior door lock was jammed and could not open door to exit. Also, security gate door would not lock.

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

08/06/2014


ARI K.

Went very well. Jeff was polite, cleaned up, and explained the problem clearly. I also asked Jeff for his opinion on how the right way to move forward should the lock break given it was a customized lock. His suggestions were reasonable and helpful. Jeff clearly knows locks, doors, etc and I'll use them going forward for all jobs specific to my doors/locks rather than a handyman who isn't a specialist

Description of Work
My door lock mechanism jammed. Jeff came and opened up the hardware finding a broken screw which he replaced. The door now opens and closes with no issues.

Category locksmith,doors

5.0

07/22/2014


Margaret K.

Both Jon and Jeff (the owner) were impeccably professional, informing me of all the possibilities for repair and installation, very responsive by phone, and performed the work efficiently and neatly. I would certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Repaired a storm-door installation (done badly by someone else); weatherstripped an old wooden door (improperly installed by someone else); replaced a mortise on a 100-year-old interior door; removed old front door handle, plate, and deadbolt lock, replacing with new Baldwin handle and keyless deadbolt.

Category doors

5.0

07/02/2014


Ray T.

So far, the work they have done has been great, and done in a timely manner.

Description of Work
I hired them to replace a door knob and lock. I am still waiting to hear back from them on one piece of the job.

Category locksmith

    Other local Pros in your area

    Urgent Locksmith LLC

    Urgent Locksmith, LLC was established in New York. The company holds a Locksmith license from New York City Department Consumer Affairs, and specializes in locks, safes, vehicles, and security. ​ We consistently offer reputable security systems to all of our valued customers. High quality locksmith service has been our top priority from the moment we opened our location.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Urgent Locksmith LLC on Angi
    Pro Lift Garage Doors

    Repair and install garage doors, at fair rates. Service liftmaster, genie, chamberlain, and other brand openers. Ask about free tune ups.  

    Precision Overhead Garage Door Service

    Offices in Northern NJ, Westchester, Nassau, Suffolk, Orange, Rockland, Putnam, Ulster, and Dutchess Counties in New York and Fairfield County, CT. We provide garage door service when it’s convenient for you. Angie's List Super Service Award Winners 10 Consecutive years. All phone calls answered 24/7. Weekends available at no extra charge. All technicians are drug and background checked. Cost is determined by the job. FREE estimates on new garage doors. Service fees may apply. No extra charge for after-hours service.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Precision Overhead Garage Door Service on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Installation of doors and hardware

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Woods Lock & Door

    How is Woods Lock & Door overall rated?

    Woods Lock & Door is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Woods Lock & Door open?

    Woods Lock & Door is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does Woods Lock & Door provide

    Woods Lock & Door accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Woods Lock & Door offer free estimates?

    Yes, Woods Lock & Door offers free project estimates.

    Does Woods Lock & Door offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Woods Lock & Door does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Woods Lock & Door offer a senior discount?

    No, Woods Lock & Door does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Woods Lock & Door?

    No, Woods Lock & Door does not offer warranties.

    What services does Woods Lock & Door offer?

    Woods Lock & Door offers the following services: Installation of doors and hardware