Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bright Construction Stone Inc

Founded 2010 • With Angi since October 2011

4.9

(30) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

637 Commerce St

Thornwood, NY 10594

Description

Meticulous. Responsible. Respectful. Affordable. These are the words that most of customers use when describing Bright Construction Stone. Attention to detail, quality work, and a dedication to meeting customers' needs in other words, good, old fashioned quality service are what have helped this business grow. To us, positive recommendations from our customers are everything. We work very hard to earn them. A job is not finished until the customer is completely satisfied. Bright Construction Stone who makes sure that every job is supervised by us or a manager....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/19/2021


JOSEPH M.

Outstanding it was great and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
put a front torch

Category remodeling

5.0

08/06/2021


LORIE D.

It was excellent. They were on time, on budget, and they stood behind their work.

Description of Work
Renovated kitchen, 3 bathrooms and put in a new deck.

Category decks, home remodeling

5.0

08/06/2021


Lori L.

Bright Construction replaced our old deck and railing with composite decking and aluminum railing. Fernando and his crew did an amazing job and they were a pleasure to work with during our project. Fernando was very responsive to our questions and made sure we were happy with the end result. I will definitely hire Bright Construction for additional projects on our home!

Description of Work
deck

Category decks, remodeling

5.0

08/06/2021


ANTHONY P.

They were all-around gentlemen, very good with explaining things. Quality is very high end and they did everything right.

Description of Work
Full renovation of house.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/06/2021


Patrick L.

High quality work, good communication, and a solid crew. The whole project went off without a hitch and was very professionally handled. I will definitely use Bright Construction again.

Description of Work
porch addition

Category decks, picture framing, remodeling, roofing

5.0

08/06/2021


Erik K.

BCS - Fernando and Francisco’s team were professional, detail oriented, patient, on-time and friendly. Followed the architect’s plans. Explained the work during the process. Consulted us before any additional work was started. All around terrific company! Would use them again

Description of Work
Addition

Category concrete repair, drywall, picture framing, masonry, remodeling, roofing, siding, pavers, gravel, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, fireplaces, home builders, woodworking, interior painters, doors, sunrooms, hardscaping

5.0

04/24/2019


Patty S.

Excellent. Fernando and his team did a great job and were very efficient.

Description of Work
I needed 2 temporary lally beams removed and 2 permanent lally beams installed in their place. Also, needed a sill plate in the basement to be replaced that had been damaged by termites.

Category concrete repair, masonry, remodeling

5.0

03/27/2019


Robert I.

Quality of work was excellent. Workers were very efficient, courteous and prompt. I was very happy with their work.

Description of Work
Build rear deck ,eliminate stairs from kitchen to yard and lower level,install egress windows.

Category concrete repair, decks, drywall, masonry, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

5.0

04/11/2018


Chi & Adim O.

We purchased an older home, and had various repairs/updates to do. Fernando was very knowledgeable about the work we needed and offered us cost-effective solutions. He picked up everything for us from the hardware store AND from a friend of ours who gifted us with some of the materials. He also removed and returned a defective storm door after he had install it, and never complained or asked for additional compensation for the extra work. He made changes when asked in order to do the work to our satisfaction. We will certainly use Bright Construction again.

Description of Work
Installed exterior doors and storm door; installed crown molding and baseboard molding; refitting old interior doors that did not close

Category contractors, remodeling, doors

5.0

02/23/2018


Stephen K.

Fernando Ortiz and The Bright Construction Stone team are the best in the business! From start to finish it was an absolute pleasurable experience and my wife and I even gained a new friend in Fernando. We hired BCS for an apartment conversion (2 side by side apartments into 1) and COMPLETE remodel. This was our first renovation and being “newbies” as well as hearing horror stories we were nervous, fearful, and anxious about the road ahead. From the first time we met Fernando he was professional, understanding, and put us both at ease with the whole renovation. He answered any and all questions, gave personal as well as EXPERT input, and always made sure we were comfortable before going forward with any part of the project. Fernando answered the phone personally and was easy to contact throughout our 4 month renovation. He met us before work, after work, and even on weekends. He answered our nervous phone calls at 9 or 10pm when we were unsure about the correct tile to choose for the bathrooms or kitchen. BCS is extremely punctual and a time line was created and given to us before the start of the project. Being that this was an apartment they had to deal with shared plumbing lines and electric wiring but ALWAYS had a plan as well as backup plan. They demo’d and opened up all walls in both apartments, updated all electricity, updated and rerouted all plumbing to new kitchen location, updated plumbing and gutted 2 bathrooms, patched and installed new wood floors, painted, tiled, stained, installed all fixtures, and scheduled all inspections as well as final C/O. Fernando nearly guaranteed a date of completion and we finished RIGHT ON SCHEDULE! We had a vision for how we wanted our finished home to look and Fernando and The Bright Construction Stone team exceeded our expectations. We HIGHLY recommend BCS for any and all renovations. We now have our dream home but if we ever need any work in the future we will be using Fernando and The Bright Construction Stone team.

Description of Work
Apartment Conversion and Complete Renovation

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, picture framing, remodeling, home builders, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you Sthepen was an extremely pleasure to work with you and reach the final product that you were expecting.

5.0

05/26/2017


MITCHELL R.

We had to get approval from the city. Even though we said July, we had to start a year before that. I recommended to him to get on Angie?s List. The owners name is Fernando. They are very good. We have quite a few not so happy experiences with other contractors. When Bright Construction came around I was like, "Wow". They were a highly rated on Angie's List. I would never have someone working at my home without a proper license. That is for the safety of not only the worker, but the homeowner. I would rather have things done right. We always make sure they have a license without any marks against it. They showed up everyday. They did their work. They weren't playing the radio all day and weren't chattering to each other.

Description of Work
They are general contractors. They razed the old garage that we had that was falling off it's peers. They re-constructed a brand, new, two car garage. They also did the driveway with new pavers, a patio. and irrigation system.

Category garage builders, hardscaping

5.0

02/04/2017


Hillary J.

They did an excellent job. We want to have more work done to our house and we worked out a plan in phases. He didn't over charge and finished in a timely manner. They are great to work with and we will be calling them again.

Description of Work
Fireplace resurface, lighting, new doors and frames, new flooring

Category remodeling

5.0

02/03/2017


Salvatore G.

From the first time I contacted Fernando he was extremely prompt in his replies, always showed up when he said he would and did NOT cut any corners. I priced the job out with several other contractors and couldn't find anyone else willing to tackle the entire job, whether it was masonry, carpentry, architecture, electrical and even asphalting Fernando coordinated the whole thing. He listened to our feedback and made it seem like nothing was impossible. This was a huge job and we changed our mind a couple times regarding some details, however, Fernando was always patient and understanding. He also had several different crews who specialized in their specific craft, all his guys were skilled, hard workers, respectful, and organized. We are extremely satisfied with the result and will be using him again in the future.

Description of Work
Demolition of existing decking floor, under deck facias, trim from columns and railings from the porch. Installed new Azek deck floor in an area of 315 sq ft, install all the handrails and fascias. Custom framed a new set stairs in a half moon curve design. Installation of new floor, risers, fascias and handrails. Deck and new stairs all have LED lights in the posts and on the stair risers controlled by a timed switch. Replace existing driveway of 1300sf. Removed existing asphalt. Installed new base in gravel. Installed new binder. Used 2 inches of asphalt in a smooth finish. Expanded the driveway an additional 180 sf. Removed 45’ x 4’ of grass to provide additional extension for parking. Raised asphalt driveway to provide a gentle slope in the entire driveway, also we will be widen out at the entrance to be able to obtain a better grading. Built a new apron walkway at the middle of the driveway. Installed new Belgian blocks along the driveway to provide a curb for the driveway Built 2 new stone walls on each side of the driveway, stone walls were built in granite to match the existing walls and have dry joints. Build new stone stairs entrance on one side of the driving guiding towards to the path in the driveway; steps were built using blue stone. Relocated 2 medium size trees to accommodate new driveway plans and removed several bushes to allow for the driveway to be expanded Installed new lattice fence under the deck.

Category decks, masonry, remodeling, pavers, gravel, woodworking

5.0

01/31/2017


Andrew O.

Good quality work. Timely. Upfront. Professional company.

Description of Work
Enclosed second floor porch, built a Spanish tile roof. Stucco, window install, taping.

Category contractors, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, stucco, house painters, mudjacking

5.0

01/31/2017


Andrew O.

Quality work done on time. Crew was on the job whenever weather permitted. Quoted competitive price. Additional work was priced too high and therefore refused. Looking to hire again for another project if the pricing remains competitive. Very responsive text/phone/email. The owner easy to get alone with.

Description of Work
Built a second floor porch with Spanish tile roof. New exterior walls finished in stucco.

Category picture framing, masonry, remodeling, roofing, stucco, house painters

2.0

08/28/2016


brian C.

Looked at the job never returned calls or emails

Description of Work
Looked at the job never returned calls or emails

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

proposal Email was send to the cliet never heard back from the client.

5.0

05/12/2016


Peter D.

The job was completed on original schedule. Contractor was very responsive cared about their work and quality.

Description of Work
Interior remodeling andmasonary work

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, picture framing, masonry, basement waterproofing, fireplaces, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great comments.

5.0

04/18/2016


Matthew K.

After a lot of research we chose Bright Construction Stone and we couldn't have been happier. Fernando always got back to us promptly and was very patient with all of our questions and concerns. We are very pleased with the craftsmanship especially since they were dealing with an old (and crooked) house. Even before Fernando and his crew were finished with this job we were discussing the next few projects we could have him complete.

Description of Work
Enlarged a basement doorway.

Category remodeling, pavers, gravel, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments well appreciated!

5.0

04/02/2016


Joe D.

They were punctual and extremely proffessional! They provided a detailed estimate and delivered as mentioned. We had one minor difference and once we mentioned it they came right back and corrected it. We are extremely happy with the work and would recommend them to everyone we know looking to complete a project in a timely and professional manner.

Description of Work
Cleared an area of concreat and sand, build a wall and stair case.

Category remodeling, pavers, gravel

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comment!

5.0

08/10/2015


Loretta L.

I have to say that I called 23 contractors before I got to this one. All were no answer, no show or unreliable. In one case the contractor could not add the handrail. I was in no mood for fooling around by the time I interviewed the BCS representative. He reassured me that his was a reliable company and gave me a handwritten estimate which was very clear and attentive to detail. When the crew arrived to begin the work, the boss provided a copy of his license and insurance before beginning and gave me the formal contract. It outlined the job accurately, gave a rough timeline for the work and a guarantee of materials for a year. It included my right as a consumer to cancel within the stipulated amount of time in my state. This contractor used his own crew and no subcontractors were hired. He did purchase the handrail from a fabricator. The BCS crew was courteous and worked through some bad weather. The owner and son-in-law were friendly and courteous as well. The new stoop looks better than the rest of my house! I definitely plan to use this contractor again.

Description of Work
Demolish front stoop, remove red brick and concrete, install Belgian block and blue stone stoop with handrails

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the comment!

5.0

08/10/2015


David A.

It was a great experience, Francesco was great to deal with I will use him again

Description of Work
Everything he said he would Concrete Steps, Refinished conrete patuio

Category remodeling

5.0

07/15/2015


David M.

Fernando and his crew got the job done when they said they would. He always got back to me quickly if I had any questions. Very professional and honest. I highly recommend BCS.

Description of Work
Installed fascia trim all around Deck and lattice under deck.

Category decks, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review!

5.0

06/13/2015


Jason M.

Fernando is extremely professional and a pleasure to work with. He answered the phone personally the first time I called and was in easy contact throughout the entire project. There were no surprise costs and I was always pleasantly surprised at how well they cleaned up before they left each day. We can't wait to work with Fernando again.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

was never present at any of the house cleanings. They were for her son. A list was left each time and each time it was completed, but would call and say her son complained that something wasn't done. The son was married and lived in his mothers home but never paid or supervised the cleaning. She was never satisfied once she did not have the cleaner she wanted. I could not book this cleaner on a three week rotation.

4.0

07/21/2014


John H.

We worked with, there are 2 parts to their company, and Bright Home Energy Solutions did work for us which was fantastic. Bright Home Construction we just got an estimate about our kitchen renovation. The professionalism was very exceptional.

Description of Work
Bright Home gave us an estimate, we did not use them.

Category home remodeling

2.0

06/17/2014


Janet H.

Initially they started off well. Unfortunately as the job progressed we started to encounter problems with the major one being the plumber they brought on the job who was sloppy and in our opinion completely unprofessional. After several issues they eventually fired him. Unfortunately that was not the end of it. Our pipes froze. When we complained Fernando said that it was very cold and that 's why they had frozen. He didn't think it was an emergency until our designer called him herself. Only then did he send another plumber. We had put in all new plumbing to the tune of 22,000. and he tell us our pipes froze because it was cold? It turned out they hadn't insulated them properly and they had left a hole in the outside wall. Then the dishwasher overflowed for the first time (hint there was a second, which occurred after we took them off the job). As we came to the punch list and the final accounting they charged us for work not done and not approved; work done but not approved by us as a change order and work not done that was part of the original contract. After paying them a total of 122k (which was 6k over the contract amount) we terminated our relationship with them. We have subsequently discovered major issues which we have had to deal with including the overflowing of the dishwasher which leaked into our ceiling in the basement. They will not honor the warranty for the work they did and which we paid for.

Description of Work
We hired them to renovate our house basically from top to bottom.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Aguirres Home Improvement

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Rolling Stone Masonry Ltd

    Rolling Stone Masonry, Ltd. in White Plains, New York, provides old world style custom stonework through our residential stone masonry services. We specialize in continuing the look and feel of classical older houses. Charlie Vaccaro established Rolling Stone Masonry, Ltd. in August 2005. Having grown up in a family of skilled construction laborers, Charlie knew that he could utilize his strong business sense in a practical way as a business owner. He began an apprenticeship in Canada in 2003 where he learned and later perfected his masonry skill. There is no one that appreciates the beauty of stonework more than this creative, artistic, and innovative businessperson does! Rolling Stone Masonry, Ltd. is knowledgeable and passionate about their service and their commitment to their customers is unsurpassed. Our honesty and integrity distinguish us from our competitors. Rolling Stone Masonry, Ltd. treats all of our clients with the respect and loyalty we feel they deserve. We handle all client inquiries and questions as if they are our own personal homework assignment. We cater to all your masonry needs including bluestone, limestone, natural stone, pavers, driveways, fireplaces, patios, staircases, walls, walkways, and all masonry repairs. We recycle our demo waste with licensed NY state recycling companies. Additional email - rollingstoneltd@optonline.net. Additional DBA - Rolling Stone Masonry.  

    Zeno Property Services

    With over 20+ years of experience, we are here to address all your paver and retaining wall needs and dreams. We also do tuck pointing, patios, concrete, stone veneers and more. In addition to our stone work we also do interior and exterior painting, build decks and so much more.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    HIC.0637110
    Trade License Locale
    CT
    Trade License Authority
    Connecticut
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Full-Service Contracting, New Additions, Complete Renovations, Stone and Granite work ask well as Tile, Carpentry. Basement Waterproofing. Paint. Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling

    Services Not Offered

    HVAC system

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bright Construction Stone Inc

    How is Bright Construction Stone Inc overall rated?

    Bright Construction Stone Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bright Construction Stone Inc open?

    Bright Construction Stone Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Bright Construction Stone Inc provide

    Bright Construction Stone Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Bright Construction Stone Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bright Construction Stone Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Bright Construction Stone Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bright Construction Stone Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bright Construction Stone Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bright Construction Stone Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bright Construction Stone Inc?

    Yes, Bright Construction Stone Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Bright Construction Stone Inc offer?

    Bright Construction Stone Inc offers the following services: Full-Service Contracting, New Additions, Complete Renovations, Stone and Granite work ask well as Tile, Carpentry. Basement Waterproofing. Paint. Kitchen and Bathroom Remodeling

    Are there any services Bright Construction Stone Inc does not offer?

    HVAC system