Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ZeroDraft

Founded 2004 • With Angi since July 2008

4.3

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2824 Lemoyne Avenue

Syracuse, NY 13211

Description

Additional address - 20 Petra Lane, Sec 6, Albany, NY 12205. Additional phones - (518) 456-9376....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

10/02/2020


arlene P.

Job was done well. Happy with the work. BUT although I asked workers to wear masks while in my home, I had to mention it three times during their eight hours in my home. Because of Covid, that upset me enough to write this review and I will be sending a letter to the CEO to complain.

Description of Work
Cellulose insulation blown in attic, South wall of home insulated inside wall, basement spray foamed along outside walls at sill plate

Category insulation

4.0

09/20/2016


Ben T.

All in all the project went okay. However, There is a serious lack of communication from the company to the customer. No communication from the company regarding scheduling of any work UNLESS I called them to find out the status of the scheduling then work was scheduled. Foam Insulation Before the first employee was on the job I stated I was not available on a certain date so no work could be done. The employee showed up on that date and was a little perturbed because my DISABLED wife would not let him in. Prep mans part of work. Part of the job was to move a bathroom vent exhaust that vented into attic outside. The outside wall was 1 foot away from the vent. Instead of running direct to exterior with no turns 5 to 6 feet of flexible pipe was installed running over floor with 2-3 turns to a different exterior wall. As we will eventually be finishing the attic this will need to be moved again in a few years. INSULATION itself is great with a good job done by those installers. Windows. Again had to call to get them scheduled. 2 men showed up did a great job and left. Energy audit after work done. Again had to call to get work scheduled. The key words to listen for when you call after you contract with them are "OH, we were just about to call you. Seems almost every time that is the excuse I heard. Another complaint is that if I called even early in the day I may not receive a return call the same day. In my ratings I have a problem with the punctuality and professionalism parts. The employees where all punctual on the job. The office part not so much. Calls not returned in a timely manner. Professionalism I rated lower because of one employee, except for him all employees where professional.

Description of Work
Energy audit, Windows and Spray foam insulation

Category insulation,replacement windows,energy audit

1.0

09/02/2016


Debra D.

It was terrible I will never buy another one of those again. The guy came in and he, all I wanted was to have someone inspect my furnace that's why I did it to begin with but he did that you know the sand in the door touch thingy and looked at insulation in my basement and then like they ask you to have a utility bill but he didn't even really looked at it in fact I had to say are you gonna look at my utility bill but my biggest you wanna know my complaint is, my complaint is after I made the appointment them they sent me an email saying that, well it was before I made the appointment when I called them to make they sent me an email about my free home assessment and I said call the lady and I said I paid twenty nine dollars what do you mean the email says free and she said oh we just send out that to everyone but it turns out I can see your not in New York State right will in New York State this organization state organization called nycerda does these things for free and the state reimburses the company two hundred and fifty dollars to do it so the guy did it he came and did it I had to sign a paper saying he did it and that my income was under a hundred and thirty five thousand because if your income is below that the state reimburses ZeroDraft two hundred and fifty dollars for doing an inspection so I paid them twenty nine dollars for something that my tax money well actually it's not my tax money it's what withheld from utility bills that I've already paid for so I was really mad. The guy lied to me then he got the two fifty plus the twenty nine and when I call and complain the guy who actually did the test I liked him he was really nice guy he did a good job I brought it up with him when I had to sign for two hundred and fifty dollars I go but I already paid for this and blah blah blah and he gave me a number to call at Zerodraft and that guy awed stammered and he insisted he didn't have my money and then he said all he could do is send you a gift certificate to a restaurant to make it up to you which of course wasn't sent.

Description of Work
I used ZeroDraft for Energy Efficiency Auditing.

Category energy audit

5.0

04/07/2016


Suzi G.

We are absolutely thrilled with the quality of service and way we were treated by Zerodraft from our very first phone call to my final call to pay our final bill. I had seen a Zerodraft advertisement on TV that really intrigued me about insulating brick walls and our house which is brick has always been cold and drafty so my husband and I wondered what could be done. So when I called to arrange an appointment for a free estimate the woman who answered the phone was very friendly and actually took the time to ask me questions about my house and what my concerns were... She also mentioned that Zerodraft helps their customers by offering programs through NYSERDA and that they try to reduce my out of pocket costs whenever possible.. The salesman, Joe, who showed up to check out our house actually found that our furnace was producing too much Carbon Monoxide and that this was a safety concern..It was also not running very efficiently and had been costing us money. We ultimately ended up replacing our furnace as well as having our basement insulated, one wall and part of an attic that had been left uninsulated after some remodeling years ago.I am really happy with Zerodraft because they showed up on time each day and actually cleaned up at the end of each day.. There were some unexpected things, like a tripped circuit breaker, but they jumped right on that and made sure everything was fine each day before leaving.. They explained the entire project to me and my husband (who was able to work in his home office around the project) they were even courteous to our cats and helped us make sure they didnt get outside while the work was going on... I am very glad to have had Zerodraft do this work on our house... and my only regret is not doing it a long time ago... Thanks Zerodraft.

Description of Work
Free Energy Assessment, Insulation services, air sealing, Heating and Cooling

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your experience with Zerodraft. Your feedback is important since we are constantly striving to meet or exceed the expectations of our customers, the information you provided will help us to continually improve. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
5.0

04/05/2016


Dee D.

I am very happy with the work Zerodraft did for me on my house. They insulated my crawl space and my attic and air-sealed several areas of my home. I did not even know what air sealing was before this...My floors always felt cold before this but now, the family room that is above the crawl space is the warmest room in the house, my grand children actually lay on the floor to play and watch TV now... and that never happened before because it was always so cold... My upstairs guest rooms are warm now too.. Now that I have the proper amount of insulation in my attic, I am hopeful that my bedroom will stay cooler in the summer because it has been always too hot up there in July and August... I really appreciate the way Zerodraft not only fixed my problems but explained it all each step of the way.. and they were clean and courteous too; from my sales guy Jim to the workers and the staff at the office. They were all very respectful and helpful whenever I called. Thank you Zerodraft!

Description of Work
Zerodraft performed a FREE energy audit for me at my house. The consultant who arrived and conducted the audit was neat, clean and seemed prepared. He explained the entire process to me of what he would be doing and took the time to understand the problems I have been having with the ice dams and cold floors over my crawl space. They laid out a plan for addressing these issues after completing the blower door test and using his infra-red camera to show me where I had no insulation.

Category insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your experience with Zerodraft. Your feedback is important since we are constantly striving to meet or exceed the expectations of our customers, the information you provided will help us to continually improve. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
5.0

04/05/2016


edwin R.

I didn't know what to expect when I arranged to have Zerodraft come to my house to perform and insulation inspection but it turned out to be the best thing I ever did for my house. I had to convince my wife that we should spend the money we had on improving our insulation because that would pay benefits down the road- and so far it has. After having the free energy audit, the Zerodraft sales consultant explained to me that my house (a typical Cape Cod style) was lacking insulation in certain key areas including around the foundation/sill plates, upstairs in the knee walls and side walls.. Our house has always been drafty and we could feel cold air coming in but we never knew exactly where or how it was coming in.. we could feel it coming through light switches and outlets though and in the summer our bedroom is always sweltering hot... so much so that we sleep downstairs in july and august.... Even though this was a mild winter, we could feel the difference right away... our house is warm now... and when we set the thermostat to 70, it gets to 70...we dont have to set it at 80 to have the room be 70 degrees... Also, our house is quieter now... we dont hear the noise from the street like we used to.... are so happy with Zerodraft's work and with how they treated us... I just wanted to share this... They cleaned up everyday..They worked quickly and didnt mind it when we asked questions about the spray foam ... My wife and I could not be happier with Zerodraft.. we will definitely call them when its time to replace our furnace too.

Description of Work
Complete energy assessment of my house; insulation and air sealing of walls, knee walls and basement

Category insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your experience with Zerodraft. Your feedback is important since we are constantly striving to meet or exceed the expectations of our customers, the information you provided will help us to continually improve. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
5.0

08/12/2015


Michelle B.

Overall, we are happy with the work. The windows, doors, and siding were delayed due to the departure of the salesman handling our order. The siding ordered was also incorrect as a result. Other than that, Zero Draft has been very helpful and professional.

Description of Work
Installed windows, installed insulation, doors, furnace, heat pump, air conditioning, replaced some siding, closed up/removed a window

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,siding,replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your experience with Zerodraft. Your feedback is important since we are constantly striving to meet or exceed the expectations of our customers, the information you provided will help us to continually improve. We appreciate your comments and look forward to assisting you in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
1.0

07/14/2015


Greg R.

Terrible still waiting for references

Description of Work
Nothing

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

According to our records Zerodraft has not performed any work for [removed member's name]. Beyond providing him with a free estimate in October 2013 our company has had no interaction with him. Perhaps he has confused Zerodraft with another company? Zerodraft has made several attempts to contact [removed member's name] about his review to understand why he posted such a negative comment and score about our company. His only response has been a voicemail indicating that "the work was done, I'm not happy with it and there is nothing (Zerodraft) can do to change his opinion". This message is distressing because as his review clearly indicates we have not performed any work for him. This instance points out the vulnerability of companies like Zerodraft, who endeavor to exceed each customer's expectations while building and maintaining a reputation for quality and value, and how a single person who is not even a customer can publish negative comments or reviews even if those have absolutely no basis in reality. Zerodraft attempted to contact [removed member's name] several times and so far has been unable to establish a dialogue to understand what is really going on and get to the facts. It leaves us wondering why would someone we have not contacted since 2013, and for whom we did not perform any work, enter a negative review and comment almost two years after our last contact? Objectively, what is going on here? We don't know. How much value do such comments really have? Again, we do not know but we hope that his negative review and score will be weighted and considered appropriately by Angieslist and by our past and future customers - who know how hard Zerodraft strives to meet or exceed their expectations.
5.0

05/13/2015


terry O.

Excellent job with great installers, I used them twice Feb and April. I would use them again if I had another project. Also had them do an insulation job in my basement a few years ago, did a great job then.

Description of Work
INSTALLED NEW WINDOWS

Category insulation,replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with Zerodraft. We are constantly striving for improvement to continue to meet or exceed the expectations of our customers. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to assisting you again in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
2.0

05/07/2015


Ben T.

Did not use them as they refused to come quote Called Zerodraft for an estimate on spray closed cell insulation as they were recommended by the roofing contractor I plan to use for my roof. (Tear off and rebuild) Zerodraft stated they would not waste there time coming unless I already owned the property. Trouble is the contractors are to start as soon as I closed.

Description of Work
Called Zerodraft for an estimate on spray closed cell insulation as they were recommended by the roofing contractor I plan to use for my roof. (Tear off and rebuild) Zerodraft stated they would not waste there time coming unless I already owned the property. Trouble is the contractors are to start as soon as I closed. She was snotty too

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

At Zerodraft we aim to surpass our customer's expectations at every opportunity. We have completed thousands of energy efficient home improvement projects during the past twelve years, receiving high marks from NYSERDA and high ratings from our customers for all sorts of work including spray foam and cellulose insulation, air sealing and HVAC. We strive to make every customer happy, including prospective customers. There is a reason that Zerodraft has maintained its position among the leading home performance contractors in Upstate NY and grown from a single original location in Syracuse to Albany and Buffalo - because of our thousands of satisfied customers! However, occasionally we encounter someone who we simply are unable to please despite our best efforts. We hope other Angieslist members will take this into consideration. Thank you.
5.0

04/27/2015


Brian C.

The inspector showed up as scheduled. He took the time to understand what my concerns were and what I was the results I was hoping for. After a visual inspection of the house, basement, and attic, he made several recommendations to resolve issues with ice build up in the winter and high heating bills. He provided a rough estimate for the services and explained how the NYSERDA program works. After just a few hours we made the determination to move forward with the recommended services and hope that everything goes as smooth as the initial contact.

Description of Work
Home Energy Audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with Zerodraft. We are constantly striving for improvement and we will use your comments to achieve that. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to assisting you again in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
3.0

02/19/2015


mohammad S.

They didn't provide any report for the energy audit. They tune up was good. I had to call too many times for the service as well.

Description of Work
They provided a tune up for our furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with Zerodraft and that your rated the quality of our work and our prices as A. We are constantly striving for improvement and we will use your comments to achieve that. We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to assisting you again in the future with any of your insulation, heating-cooling or other matters relating to your home's comfort or energy performance. Zerodraft Customer Service
5.0

06/27/2014


Margaret M.

I was very pleased with ZeroDraft's service. The technician arrived punctually on time and spent a long time inspecting my unit inside and outside. He pointed out that the outside unit was tilting and asked me if I wanted him to attempt to straighten it. He warned me something could break as the unit is quite old. He was able to successfully fix it. He also showed me where my I needed to make repairs & where my unit was not energy efficient. He did everything he could to make the unit work optimally but this unit is 28 years old so a new unit is surely the best solution. I was very impressed with the care and concern he took and the advice I received. I would definitely consider going to ZeroDraft for my new unit when I am ready to purchase it.

Description of Work
Inspected and tuned-up Air Conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], Thank you for your review of the services we provided recently. At Zerodraft, we strive to exceed our customer's expectations and we are glad you were pleased with us. We hope you will consider us in the future for any home improvement needs you may have whether it be insulation, windows, doors, siding or more HVAC services. Of course we also look forward to assisting any friends, family or neighbors you may have that express interest in our services. Thank you again and be sure to call us at 800 455 9376 if we can be of any further assistance, Russ Hearton, Director of Marketing Zerodraft
1.0

06/16/2014


sonia S.

They covered our soffits with the cellulose (have photos to prove this) which created mold which has eaten away the wood . Because of what they did, we have to replace all the delaminated wood and install a new roof. They said that they "stand behind their work, but they don"t!!"

Description of Work
weatherized our attic covered the attic floor with cellulose built stairwell cover baffles

Category insulation,siding

Service Provider Response

Zerodraft was not contracted by the homeowner directly but through a local weatherization agency. The work Zerodraft performed was completed faithfully as specified by the weatherization agency.
5.0

06/10/2014


Susan J.

Very friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Furnace tune up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of the services we provided recently. At Zerodraft, we strive to exceed our customer's expectations and we are glad you were pleased with us. We hope you will consider us in the future for any home improvement needs you may have whether it be insulation, windows, doors, siding or more HVAC services. We can also assist you with remodeling or construction through our MAG Construction Services division. Of course we also look forward to assisting any friends, family or neighbors you may have that express interest in our services. Thank you again and be sure to call us at 455 9376 if we can be of any further assistance, Russ Hearton, Director of Marketing Zerodraft
5.0

06/09/2014


Jennifer E.

As part of our NYSERDA certification, a close out home inspection was required to test ZeroDraft's work on better insulating our home. I can tell you that shortly after the insulation work was performed we noticed at least a 10 degree difference in our home temps. Cold rooms were suddenly much warmer and the furnace wasn't running as often. On this day, the young man showed up on time, and quickly set about testing our home. In total he was here for about an hour and initial results are that we'll see a 36% efficiency gain in our homes airflow. We can't wait to start seeing our energy bills drop during times when we run the furnace or AC.

Description of Work
Close out inspection of work for home insulation project

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of the services we provided recently. At Zerodraft, we strive to exceed our customer's expectations and we are glad you were pleased with us. We hope you will consider us in the future for any home improvement needs you may have whether it be insulation, windows, doors, siding or more HVAC services. We can also assist you with remodeling or construction through our MAG Construction Services division. Of course we also look forward to assisting any friends, family or neighbors you may have that express interest in our services. Thank you again and be sure to call us at 455 9376 if we can be of any further assistance, Russ Hearton, Director of Marketing Zerodraft
4.0

06/09/2014


Jennifer E.

The crew showed up on time and were very efficient and neat. They laid down protective plastic on all or floors and asked before entering other rooms or spaces, other than where the attic access was located. Our only issue with them was that on day one the supervisor had to leave at lunchtime due to a fire at his home. A back-up supervisor was sent over who compelted the day one job. During their work on Day 1, the glass globe on the closet light fixture next to the attic access was broken by a crew member. The supervisor promsied me they'd bring a replacement on day 2. On Day 2, a new supervisor appeared late in the day to close out the job, but did not go up in the attic to see everything. At times I heard him asking the crew if they did something specific instead of seeing for himself. This was also a different supervisor than the two we'd seen on Day 1. When I asked him about my broken light fixture he had no knowledge of it. Overall the crew was prompt, efficient and quiet. A few days after the work was completed I found some spray foam had come up their first floor air vents from the basement and peppered by curtains with flecks of foam. We called and they quickly sent someone out to reinspect all my vents and remove any foam. Nothing was damaged permanently. They also replaced our broken light fixture at that time. Follow-up is our only real complaint about the entire process. I've had to call them about the broken fixture and then a month later had to call them to schedule the close out test. Without this test, we can't apply for the NYSERDA rebate. But every time I call, they promtly get back to me, follow up and close out my issue, so again, not a big deal. If they can fix that process, I'd give them higher ratings.

Description of Work
Insulated attic and basement over 2 days

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

At Zerodraft, we are focused on continuous improvement in everything we do and specific customer feedback helps us to accomplish our goal of total customer satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to provide these comments on the recent work we performed for you.
3.0

02/28/2014


Daniel S.

I scheduled a home energy evaluation at a home show in Albany. The branch manager set up my appointment, as I watched him put it in his calendar. He gave me a reminder card with the time and the date on it. When that day came around I did not hear from them nor did they show up. When I finally called them, the lady on the phone informed me that there was no appointment for my name nor my address. I gave her the name of the person I spoke to. She said she would try to get ahold of him and call me back with more details. After a few minutes she called back and said that she could not contact anyone in the albany office. She asked if I wanted to set up a future appointment. I reluctantly agreed to set up a tentative appointment for a different date. After 10 minutes or so, I was contacted again and asked if I would be available for the following day for an appointment. Although they tried hard and apologized, I still am upset with the unorganization of the company. Although the home evaluation has no financial cost, I had to take time off of work and sit home all day waiting for them to show up. I do commend them for their responsiveness in trying to make things right, but I wish they didnt waste an entire day for me. If they ever do end up doing the evaluation, and possibly eventually do some work, I will update this review and give them a more applicable rating. Update: After finally contacting the branch manager in Albany, he sent 2 guys that evening to my house to perform the audit. I appreciated him going out of his way to make sure i didnt have to wait another day. The first man that showed up was a younger guy and I walked him around talking about things. He had some good tips for me. Then the older guy (John) showed up. He didnt talk to me as much about the house, but was more intersted in making sure I filled out all the paperwork. They walked around my house looking at everything. They asked for my recent energy bills. They went into my attic to look at the insulation. Once they did this, they talked to me about what I was hoping to accomplish with this visit. They told me that my electric bill was quite low for having it as my form of heating. They informed me that they werent sure if they could save me money since my bills were so low to begin with. They then hooked up a blower door to one of the outside doors. This depressurized the house and you could feel where the drafts in the house were. They told me that my best options were to seal the attic from the rest of the house. Since I use the attic for storage I told them that wasnt an option. They then said that I should seal the roof off, making the attic part of the house. When I asked how that would save me money, they said it probably wouldnt because its more square footage to heat and cool. I didnt know what to expect from the Energy Audit. I was told it would take about 3 hrs to complete this. The whole audit including 20 minutes of filling out paperwork and talking to my electric company on the phone took 90 minutes. They finished it off with giving me a quote to seal off my roof ($7500) and make the attic part of my house, even after he said it probably wouldnt save me money. The guys who showed up seemed rushed to leave and uninterested once they saw that my electric bills were not excessively high. I expected more out of the audit instead of being told i need to seal off my attic. Maybe my expectations were too high. I can only base what I expected off of what I was told at the home show when I first saw the company. I was informed that I will be getting a fill report within 2 weeks. I hope that report gives me more useful information towards making me home more efficient.

Description of Work
Home energy Audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

We apologize for the mishap in scheduling Mr. [member name removed] February 28th energy assessment. This occurred because another customer from the same Albany home show with a very similar name ([member name removed]) was scheduled, and it was thought that the appointment was previously conducted. Upon discovering this mix up/mistake when Mr. [member name removed] called on Friday, Feb 28th, we immediately attempted to correct the situation by scheduling another appointment to his liking. The customer obliged, and we were able to conduct the energy assessment at 3:30PM that very same day. We acknowledge that this was an inconvenience for Mr. [member name removed], and do apologize for any disruption. However, we do look forward to sharing the audit report with Mr. [member name removed] and advising him on ways to improve the comfort and energy efficiency of his home.
3.0

01/07/2014


James W.

I don't think they know what to do with a 135 year old home. They did not use a heat sensor from the outside of the house. But they suggested removing all bat insulation in the attic, and spraying in foam. They also recommended spray insulation in the crawl space under the family room. The price would be about $10,000. My total gas bill is $1500 for the year, if I saved 20% - $300, the payback would be 33 years, I am 70, so this doesn't make sense

Description of Work
Zero draft did an energy evaluation on my home.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Zerodraft adheres to Home Energy Auditing practices proscribed by BPI standards (Building Performance Institute) which involves examining the home as a system, from the basement/foundation through the attic. We make recommendations for energy savings that are based on data collected from visual inspections, infra-red imaging, blower-door testing and other means. Our recommendations regarding measures to be taken are focused on estimated energy savings for the structure and presented in a prioritized list to help customers identify which measure will achieve the maximum energy savings. Whether an application of foam, air sealing or blown-cellulose is made is based on the conditions specific to that home. It is a customer's prerogative to evaluate our recommendations and select the options that they think make the most sense for them.
5.0

02/07/2012


Cynthia D.

My experience was wonderful. The work was done in a very timely manner, installing 22 windows in the middle of winter was not an easy task but they arrived on time and covered everything to avoid damage. Discussed with me the benefits of cleaning and tuning my furnace and a/c before every season. Insulation in the attic made a world of difference in the temperature in the upstairs part of the house. I recommend highly.

Description of Work
Had 22 new windows installed in my home and had my attic insulated. I also had my furnace cleaned and tuned.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation

5.0

02/07/2012


Cynthia D.

We recently had your company do a NYSERDA, Empower insulation job on our house. I would like to thank you and your crew for doing a excellent job. The insulation crew did the job like it was their own home, heat and clean. They worked like a team. They even wiped finger prints off the siding. What more can I say, your crew are #1 in my book.

Description of Work
Insulation

Category insulation

5.0

02/01/2012


Eileen A.

ZeroDraft did an excellent job. They were very professional and responsive. I will definitely give them an "A+" on everything.

Description of Work
I used ZeroDraft to complete a test of the house for draft air leakage. Afterwards they installed insulation sheets in the rafters of the attic and 18inches of cellulose foam.

Category insulation

5.0

01/18/2012


Gail R.

They were very reasonably priced. They were very neat and clean. They were there when they said they would be. They did not perform one thing they said they would do, but did come the same day and fix that problem. Hopefully I won't need to use them again but I will if need be. I would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They came in and done blown-in insulation.

Category insulation

4.0

12/07/2011


Robert S.

I guess it was a positive experience with them. We called them because we had some ice dams. They came in and did some additional insulation in some parts. But we still have ice dams. The house is now more insulated but they did not get rid of the original problem that we called them for in particular. We have a one storey house and so they insulated a small attic portion. They filled that portion with insulation material. They filled that in between the walls and about the roof. They insulated all the spaces that they could. We chose ZeroDraft because of their reputation and they were BPI certified specialist, dealing with something to do with the environment. They had the qualification to do it. We did not want anyone to come in and do it. We wanted someone who is their profession to do it. They were efficient. We had a guy come out first to look at the situation, and decide what the cost would be. We had some softwood areas in the house, in the kitchen and in the family room. When the guys came to do the work he had not included these areas in the estimate. He had come in, looked at everything, measured, did what he had to do. We were not going to pay the extra cost. It was not something that was hidden. It was in plain view. So they did the softwood areas. They went up on the roof and go down in and they made it good. The only thing I want to say is, if you have ice dams and they say that you won’t don’t listen to them. Quality wise I am just looking at what work they did. I have to forget about the part that they did not clear which we really wanted cleared. As for them being responsive to my concerns, those concerns are still my concerns. We will not use them in the future.

Description of Work
A year ago we have had ZeroDraft to do insulation. I think we spent $8000 for this job.

Category insulation

2.0

11/26/2011


Keith G.

hen I received the quote for the fan, and installs, I was given an inflated price for each bath fan, I called this out and gave the retail prices for each item. Being that they should have a contractor account with HD, they should have gotten the fans at less than retail. After some back and forth, we agreed on a lower price and the work was set to begin. I did not hear from ZD, so I called to see when they were coming for the install, and found out that they forgot to order my window. They promised to order immediately, did, and called to install the window. The window install went well. They encountered a situation where an electrical line passed through the wall opening where the new window was to go. They called a supervisor who came out and rewired the outlet away from the window opening, and completed the install. The window installation itself was an A+, the chasing before it was a "C". I was told that the insulating would start in a couple of weeks, after not hearing, I again played schedule tag with ZD. We set a date for the insulation, and all should have been good, but I had to cancel the install date due to Hurricane Irene canceling my flight back home from vacation. I called the salesperson to convey the message and reschedule. When I arrived home, and had not heard from ZD, I called to see when my new date was. I was told that the salesperson was no longer employed but that they would work to set a new date. The continual theme is not the contractor being proactive and calling the customer, but instead the customer chasing the contractor to schedule the work, It seems like they were quite content to tell me that they would do the work, but equally content to wait months before getting around to scheduling the work, and considering that maybe they should call me. Because ZeroDraft does not work Friday through Sunday, it took longer to schedule the work by trying to fit into their M-Th work schedule. We finally agreed on a Thursday & Friday install where two work crews would come in to get the 3 days of work done in 2 days. On the day of the insulation and bath fan install, three crews showed up to complete the job in 1 work day. They never told me this change, I only learned at 5 pm when they told me they were done, and not returning Friday, because that was their day off. They seem highly motivated to rush through my job and have Friday off, than take heir time and d a quality job. During the bath fan installs, the electrician asked where we wanted switches and if we wanted fans separately switched from lights. We asked for separate and he proceeded to forget our asks, and wire them the way he wanted to. The installers broke 2 front walk steps, did not close all insulation holes, left some cracks in my ceiling, and the electrician left a dirty sweatshirt on a door know to my child's room. They are finally fixing the cracks in my ceiling, but again the same theme, I call and chase, chase, chase until they show. They show for day 1 of the work, but need to be chased for day 2 of the patch and sand work on my ceilings. I am still waiting. Bottom line: Had I only wanted the window, A+ for install, C for communication. Overall, F for communication; D for diligence in caring for the customer; D for insulation install experience. I have more work to be done in my home. Had ZeroDraft cared for me as a customer, I would have likely had them do the work, but now I will NEVER use them again. I will choose another vendor to continue my insulation and improvement work!

Description of Work
Engaged ZeroDraft for a free home energy audit. Audit went well. Received detailed estimate of services. Had estimates from 2 competitors, and ZeroDraft beat the estimates. Signed contract for Insulation and bath fan installations. Awaited contact for install services, was told I would be scheduled in 2-3 weeks. Never heard back, had to chase down salesperson to get an answer. While awaiting insulation and bath fan, added a change order to install a new window. Selected window and I was scheduled for all 3 services, ZeroDraft planned to insulate attic, one side wall, and place in bath fans, then window. Oddly, I had to suggest that the window should go in first, before they insulated the same wall that the window would go in. As the "experienced" contractor, I expected them to apply the window before the all installation common sense approach, not me, the customer having to point this out. The bath fans I selected were chosen from Home Depot, not the models that ZeroDraft preferred to install in their package. I priced the fans and gave the salesman the model numbers. W

Category insulation,replacement windows,energy audit

    Other local Pros in your area

    MIST Insulation

    We specialize in spray foam insulation in new or existing homes, pole barns, commercial buildings and more. We hold ourselves to a higher standard by strictly following building codes and staying up to date with new industry standards. We are an owner-operated company having been in the insulation industry since 2015. Anyone working on the project has been properly trained and strives towards customer satisfaction and safe practices.  

    Insulation Solutions

    You never stop paying for your insulation choice. Our green solutions can reduce your heating and cooling cost by 25-50 %. See what we can do for you today  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Airco Witz HVAC Inc

    INTRO. Offer... 10% off... on all service work and installs....Airco witz hvac, plbg....is a 50 year established heating cooling and water heating and related products servicer, ....providing repairs and installations...previously owned for 20 years, ...and now for a 70yr. Total..... our objective is to provide quick , efficient , and quality products and service to all customers ....when you call ...Airco witz hvac inc. ... you will be satisfied with our accurate , quick ,personalized services....Home advisor rates our company at 4.47 out of 5.0 rating ....the owner,...al lisi... is a senior master hvac, plbg. Technician ....who will take your call , and diagnose and satisfy your needs....  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial insulation & product specs, home assessments, infrared imaging, replacement windows & doors, heating & hot water systems, lighting, air sealing, ventilation analysis & HVAC.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ZeroDraft

    How is ZeroDraft overall rated?

    ZeroDraft is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are ZeroDraft open?

    ZeroDraft is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does ZeroDraft provide

    ZeroDraft accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does ZeroDraft offer free estimates?

    Yes, ZeroDraft offers free project estimates.

    Does ZeroDraft offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ZeroDraft offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ZeroDraft offer a senior discount?

    No, ZeroDraft does not offer a senior discount.

    Does ZeroDraft offer emergency services?

    Yes, ZeroDraft offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ZeroDraft?

    Yes, ZeroDraft offers warranties.

    What services does ZeroDraft offer?

    ZeroDraft offers the following services: Residential and commercial insulation & product specs, home assessments, infrared imaging, replacement windows & doors, heating & hot water systems, lighting, air sealing, ventilation analysis & HVAC.

    Are there any services ZeroDraft does not offer?

    ask for details