Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

McConnell Basement Waterproofing

Founded 1960 • With Angi since May 2007

4.2

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

550 S Avery Ave

Syracuse, NY 13219

Description

Basement Waterprofing

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Tanya L.
1.0
05/09/2017
I just wanted to warn all of my friends and family not to use a business named McConnell Basement Waterproofing for anything. I hired them after doing some research thinking they would be a reputable company to go through. The business used to be run very well from what local basement waterproofing places have told me who are amazed at what a terrible job McConnell's did when they come in to give me a quote on how much it will cost to have my basement actually waterproofed. Now a different family member runs the business and does the work.....it is absolutely terrible. $4600 later and I am left with a basement that is still completely flooding, stairs cut in half (which I did not give them permission to cut) and them not returning any phone calls or emails. They basically said their truck broke down, he has a bad back, then just never shows up.....etc etc. I have not gotten a response from them yet and it has been over 2 months.
Description of Work
We live in a home that was build 90 years ago and the basement was flooding so we wanted to hire someone to take care of this problem and make the basement waterproofed
Category
concrete repair, masonry, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, basement remodeling
Anne B.
5.0
12/05/2014
Mr. McConnell responded to my voice mail quickly. He was punctual arriving to assess the problem and when he returned to do the work. He was extremely knowledgeable. He and his hard-working crew completed this job in just a few hours and left the area in good shape. His price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend McConnell Basement Waterproofing to anyone in need of this service..
Description of Work
Resolved problem with intermittent flooding in basement. Assessed situation and installed new drain tile and second sump in addition to correcting problems related to faulty installation of a drainage system by previous contractor.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe
Rosemary S.
5.0
08/26/2014
Workers were efficient, Boss came in several times to check work and direct the process. Once completed, we have never had a drop of water in our basement since. Wish we had done this job earlier as we had many years of leaky basement during rain storms and wet springs.
Description of Work
They made a trench around the perimeter of our basement, put in stone and drainage piping, covered area w/ cement. Installed sump pump.
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe
Jane C.
5.0
06/24/2014
It went very well except that they worked off of my brooms. They're very professional, very efficient and it was a totally routine for them. They were done much more quickly than I expected and the place was clean.
Description of Work
They stopped a leak in my brother's basement.
Category
basement waterproofing
Allison M.
5.0
06/03/2014
He was honest with me, gave me a good price and the system has worked well, no more standing water and a fairly dry basement now! The concrete details aren't super smooth but no one notices unless they are looking for it.
Description of Work
McConnell installed a french drain in my basement and a sump pump.
Category
basement waterproofing
Jennifer T.
1.0
04/17/2014
The warranty came with the home. We originally called him a year after we moved in which was about 7 or 8 years ago. He agreed to come out and honor the warranty and fix the problem. He dug everything up and put concrete up. The basement would stay dry for a little bit and then water would come in. This process went on for several years. He came back one other time since we have been here and removed the stone from around the foundation and "fixed the drain". We continued to have issues even after that. He came out most recently and told us he was done with the job and would not come back ever again. We told him the warrant is still good and he had to come repair it. He was unresponsive so we sent a certified letter to try and get him to come and fix the water problem (once again). He responded and told us it wasn't his responsibility and gave us excuses on why he shouldn't have to fix it.
Description of Work
The previous homeowners contracted him out to do basement waterproofing. The waterproofing came with what was described as a "Lifetime Warranty", which in the fine print said 10 years from the time the work was done. The work was originally done 8 or 9 years ago.
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing
Marguerite M.
5.0
10/29/2013
They did an excellent job. really understands how to remedy water problems, very professional
Description of Work
fixed where water was coming in
Category
basement waterproofing
Robert T.
5.0
05/06/2013
James McConnell and Sons were at my home last Thursday. It cost $3500. He is friendly. He is really professional. Got it done, got the whole thing done in a day which is really good.
Description of Work
James McConnell & Sons waterproofed my basement.
Category
basement waterproofing
Kirk M.
2.0
03/27/2013
McConnell Basement Waterproofing first gave me a rate and then later on brought it down by a lot. They use sodium bentonite injections around the outside of the house and there is no real way to know if they got the spots where they are trying to get the water at. It is kind of blindly injecting so if you can't see it, how are you fixing it. I later found out that this is not approved by HUD. They guy stayed here for 2 hours arguing about the thing and I didn't like that. I was really unusure about the procedure and called and cancelled it and then he showed up to try and and push it. I had paid them USD 100 which I haven't gotten back yet. I don't think the price is worth it for what you are getting.
Description of Work
McConnell Basement Waterproofing gave me an estimate for waterproofing.
Category
basement waterproofing
Bonnie B.
5.0
02/19/2013
As mentioned I feel it went very well.
Description of Work
When my basement developed a leak last December for the first time since I have owned the house (20+) years I didn't know who to call so I signed up for Angie's list and read the reviews for McConnell Basement Waterproofing. I called, they setup and appointment within a couple of days and Mr McConnell (Sr.) arrived promptly. He was very honest about the work that might be involved and warned me that until you work on the "wall" there was no real way to determine how extensive the repair would be. He told be an approximate cost of $1200 unless the leaks we not confined to the wall. I was very impressed when I asked if he needed a downpayment and he responded that I shouldn't pay anything until the work was done to my satisfaction. An appt. was setup for the next week, they arrived promptly, were very careful to keep the area clean, completed the job very much to my satisfaction. It is now February and so far no new leaks. Mr McConnell warned me that with water another leak may appear in the spring and that I should give a call if this happens. I certainly will!
Category
basement waterproofing
Gregory H.
4.0
05/08/2012
Apart from putting in a sump pump, they replaced the drain along the exterior of the basement all the way around. I would tell others that they were very good and very knowledgeable. They have been doing this for a long time and they came recommended from someone I knew. They knew their stuff and explained everything before they did anything. I would use them again if needed.
Description of Work
I used McConnell Basement Waterproofing because I had a backup in the basement and the whole thing came out, so they put in a sump pump, waterproofing, and a drainage system.
Category
basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe
Barbara K.
5.0
02/29/2012
t
Description of Work
Mr. McConnell is the partiarch of the family's concrete business and he's a really enjoyable character to deal with! It was a rare pleasure to find a business person who was so honest and straight forward in his dealings with me. When I called for an estimate he came out to our house within 24 hours. No pressure, just a plain english description of what he thought was causing the water problems in our basement and a plain english description of what he proposed to do to fix it. His estimate was the lowest of the 3 that we obtained, but please don't fear that. This man simply gave us amble value for our money. He showed up on the day of the work ... in fact, the crew was even a little early! The jack hammer was going in the basement within 10 minutes of arriving and his men displayed a great work ethic! They were polite, efficient and FAST. Once our basement floor was opened up the problems were less extensive than Mr. McConnell had thought ... so the job went faster than expected and the final cost was LESS than the estimate ... when's the last time that happened ????? I whole heartedly recommend Jim McConnell and his basement waterproofing crew. They did a good job for us, left our home clean and our basement repaired ... all at a low price with honest business practices. I wish that all businesses were like this to deal with!
Category
basement waterproofing, basement remodeling
Joseph E.
5.0
01/06/2012
Everything went very well, work was done well, employees were very professional.
Description of Work
We had water leaking into the basement through the concrete blocks due to improper masonry work. They jackhammered up the floor to expose the drain tiles, drilled weep holes, put in stone to allow the water to flow into the drain tile and patched up the concrete basement floor. Appears to have solved the problem.
Category
basement waterproofing
Derek H.
2.0
11/07/2011
He seemed like he wasn't interested in the job. He said he didn't know what the problem was.
Description of Work
We had to call him three times before he called us back. He came out to look at our basement.
Category
basement waterproofing
Allison M.
4.0
10/10/2011
The quality seems pretty good, though some of it was a little sloppy on the edges.
Description of Work
I have a very damp basement and had to have interior drainage and a sump pump installed. McConnell was very upfront, had the best price and didn't try to persuade me to get extras.
Category
basement waterproofing
Judith F.
5.0
10/03/2011
He determined that the problem was not water leakage but due to the type of stone on the basement walls. No further contact or service was needed. Due to Mr. McConnell's honesty and experience, there would be no hesitation in seeking his services in the future. It should be noted that other individuals also looked at the wall and may have tried to take advantage of my sister-in-law's age, in that they recommended expensive water-proofing services.
Description of Work
Mr. McConnell drove to my 80 year old sister-in-law's home in Auburn, NY to look at her basement. He was prompt, professional and very knowledgeable.
Category
basement waterproofing
Alice M.
1.0
09/09/2011
They like to do work for the City.
Description of Work
They are very busy and did not answer a phone call. Thanks ACM
Category
masonry
Nettie G.
1.0
09/08/2011
I called him and he told me that he would call me back. I had not heard from him yet. I told him how important the issue was and no contact still. I have even left him a few voice mails.
Description of Work
Called him to do work on my garage
Category
basement waterproofing
Gail R.
5.0
05/23/2011
One phone call made an appoint to access. Quote that day. 10 days later done in two days. Wonderful experience.
Description of Work
Jack hammered a trench like water system around the entire perameter of basement and installed sump pump and recemented.
Category
basement waterproofing, basement remodeling
Cheryl P.
5.0
05/04/2011
It went very well - quick and efficient. It took a while for him to initially come out however.
Description of Work
There were cracks in the foundation and we were concerned about our very damp basement wall. James McConnell, the father, responded and said he could fix it quickly and inexpensively. He drilled holes in the foundation wall so the water would escape into the drainage tiles. We have had record rain since and have had absolutely no issues. Very honest person. I was anticipating much more work at a higher price and he gave us quality work at more than a fair price.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing
Jane C.
5.0
03/12/2011
The owner came out to give me the quote which was much lower that the competition's. The team set up the work within a week and showed up on time. They spread drop clothes along the path they were to use to haul the equipment and products in and out. They had to carry the stones and cement by bucket from the ground floor to the basement after hauling all the broken concrete out. It was impressive and they cleaned up after themselves. I was very pleased and haven't seen the slightest hint of a leak from that wall since. It did take a long time to get the warranty in writing, but the owner was ill and his son was not willing to step up.
Description of Work
Jackhammered a deep 12 inch trench along basement wall and corner. Inserted drainage pipe to carry ground water to sump pump and poured new cement to close the trench to within a couple inches from the wall. The remaining opening was filled with small stones. They guarantee that water on this wall will never be a problem again, ever.
Category
basement waterproofing
Carl R.
5.0
12/14/2009
Mr. McConnell returned all of my calls promptly, was able to do an estimate almost immediately. I've been researching this for 5 years and had 4 other estimates. He was so down to earth and honest, didn't give me any slick hard sell, just told it like it was. He did the work within 2 weeks of estimate. It was done in one day, taking about 8 hours with a full crew. They worked hard and were polite and cleaned up amazingly after themselves. Mr. McConnell then took the time to show and explain everything and guarantee his work. He took payment only after the work was completed. I am thrilled with the results.
Description of Work
Installed interior (French?) drains along perimeter of basement and installed a sump pump
Category
basement waterproofing
raymond P.
5.0
08/18/2008
It was all done in about 4 hours including cleanup and haul away.
Description of Work
Approximately 75 feet of drainage along basement wall with new sump hole and pump installed.
Category
basement waterproofing
Barb & Jim A.
4.0
07/31/2007
James McConnell was personable. He was prompt and gave us a detailed explanation of the job he was to perform. He and his workers were on time friendly and clean. He was here the whole time the job was being done to personally supervise. He explained how the waterproofing system would work and why others wouldn't. When the job was done all materials were cleaned up from the area and leftover stone was left in our driveway and raked level. However, we will have to wait until spring, when the rains come back to see if the system is really reliable and we can wholeheartedly recommend the company.
Description of Work
Trench dug around inside perimeter of basement. Lined trench with tile and stone. Installed sump pump and set pipe to drain to outdoors. Covered trench with concrete. We had been having water leak into our cellar from heavy rains in the fall and spring. He explained why his system would work as opposed to an outdoor waterproofing system. His estimate was less expensive and made more sense.
Category
basement waterproofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    EMR Lot Clearing LLC

    We offer land clearing and site preparation for new homes. We also offer utilty trenches,excavation, brush hogging and brush removal. We are a women owned business with 12 years experience in excavation.  

    Angi Certified

    Jmj7 LLC

    General contractor with over 30 plus years of experience.  

    Angi Certified

    Woodford Bros Inc

    Water in your basement? Cracks in your foundation? Leaky foundation walls? Call Woodford - we can help! Woodford Bros., Inc. specializes in basement waterproofing, foundation repair, concrete leveling, Barn Restoration, and radon mitigation. Founded in 1962, Woodford's original focus was foundations and barns. Now, we also do basement waterproofing, concrete leveling and radon mitigation. That's why Tom and Mike got the name "Basement Brothers." Honesty and hard work are at the heart of what we do, as modeled by our owners Tom and Mike Woodford. Our headquarters is in Apulia Station, outside of Tully, NY. We serve all of Central New York, including Syracuse, Rochester, Binghamton, Oswego, Ithaca, and Auburn.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No

    Services Offered

    Basement Waterproofing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about McConnell Basement Waterproofing

    How is McConnell Basement Waterproofing overall rated?

    McConnell Basement Waterproofing is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    Does McConnell Basement Waterproofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, McConnell Basement Waterproofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    What services does McConnell Basement Waterproofing offer?

    McConnell Basement Waterproofing offers the following services: Basement Waterproofing