Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services

Founded 1985 • With Angi since October 2011

4.3

(76) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2363 James St Unit # 103

Syracuse, NY 13206

Description

His and Hers Fix-Its is ( A Division of Reno Build Services) Syracuse-based, small business run by a husband and wife team with 40+ years combined experience in home remodels, repairs and overall home maintenance. Serving Onondaga County, all work is completed by the contractor and as jobs require

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

04/25/2020


Kelly D C.

They were nice, but the husband was telling me that I was being too picky wanting things fixed (that a relative who did the work, did not do or do right). If he would have said it once or twice ok, but if i'm willing to pay for something to be done, I want it done right. I asked for a quote on kitchen remodel and they never got back to me. I wouldn't hire him if you want things fixed up.

Description of Work
fixing of some items in backroom and getting a quote on kitchen remodel

Category basement waterproofing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for anything pointed out that didn't seem correct if it reflected badly on a relative and didn't serve a purpose. We believe this was a,few years ago as I check my back records and at this time we sent an email to the address Given to us with quote ranges on the kitchen project. We never heard back and I apologize for not calling. At time we had a death in the family, and my follow up should have happened in the normal process. I see that we were punctual , in responding as fast as we could. And this was quite a while ago. I hope since way back then, you found someone to help you with any projects who were more to your liking. Diane Bostick General Manager HIS AND HERS FIX ITS A DIVISION OF RENO BUILD SERVICES
5.0

03/25/2019


Lori W.

Services were scheduled and completed quickly and efficiently. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
His & Hers Fix-Its replaced our closet doors.

Category handyman service

5.0

11/18/2017


Michael D.

Diane and Magic were wonderful to work with. They laid out the entire project, showed us a time frame and accomplished all tasks before deadlines far exceed our exceptions. They are both excellent workers and will help you plan for one project or, as in our case, prepare an entire home for an immaculate display. I highly recommend them for any future work with you, your family and friends!

Description of Work
Replace Windows, Open and Replace Doors and Door Locks, Repaired Shower, Improve Lighting, Organize home to prepare for AirBnB showcase

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, locksmith, plumbing, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] and to think we found you right down the street, needing us! You were a very interesting and engaging customer, so what pleasure to work there. Call us for anything! Diane, GM
5.0

09/26/2017


Lisa L.

Diane got right back to me to discuss a few projects that I had. She was very responsive and they were there when they said they would be. Finished the work quickly and efficiently. I have several more projects that I'll be working with Diane and Magic on.

Description of Work
Hanging and wiring new chandelier and pendant lights.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]. Loved coming out to your area and helping get the project rolling to make the house suited to you. We await your next project with great pleasure. Diane Bostick, GM
3.0

09/21/2017


Cheryl B.

Not thrilled with services. Both individuals were very friendly which made it more difficult to try to get things done right. Always felt like it was a 'do it the cheapest & quickest way possible.' Didn't balance ceiling fans; Cobb job replacing heat grate. Wanted to do only 1 coat of paint instead of 2. Never knew if they were being honest about the work being done or making up "alternative facts."

Description of Work
a few yrs. ago - waterproofing basement, fixing front steps, stripping wallpaper and painting, installing ceiling fans; also owner assisted with some work.

Category handyman service, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, pressure washing, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Hello. We are quite surprised after several trips and an open policy to return through difficult work that we see these words from you. Items were mutually agreed and signed upon. Adjustments were made to work due to issues you outlined and this is a review that has come after 4 attempts to follow up with you. We even recommended to you a Fix on your storm door in front saving the cost of a new door that didn't fit and wasn't as strong as the first one. If you had any dissatisfactions you never indicated them the few years ago we did the work. My apologies , however my records and pictures indicate the work and my phone is the same. You are welcome to call. Diane Bostick General Manager His and Hers Fix Its A Division of Reno Build Services
5.0

08/01/2017


Joe G.

Arrived promptly, completed work accurately, left areas clean. Will use them again.

Description of Work
Replaced water valve toilet and flush master, replaced electrical outlets

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Our thanks for your finding us through Angie's list, and receiving us in your home for service. It was a pleasure to work with your good attitude , down to earth demeanor and all with a smile. We are looking forward to future projects as you need them !
1.0

03/27/2017


Dale B.

terrible. paint peeled within two months

Description of Work
paint repair deck

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

We informed you right away of the problems with the drier vent emptying onto the porch before the deck was sealed. The pressure wash and sealant was applied with that condition . A re configuration of the venting system would be required to avert peeling of paint or sealant.
5.0

03/26/2017


Dale A.

Punctual, friendly, gave lots of advice about my old house. May use again for other projects. I thought the price for each blind of $25.00 each was a little high, only took 15 minutes once they figured out how to put them up. But I didn't negotiate....

Description of Work
Tinstalled a ceiling fan and two window blinds.

Category handyman service

5.0

02/12/2017


Carole T.

Very well, efficient, friendly. All good

Description of Work
Change dead bolt

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for letting us help you with your home repairs. It was a pleasure !
5.0

11/28/2016


Cheryl E.

I was very happy with their service. They came over right away, on a Friday afternoon, and replaced a door for me. The price was reasonable.

Description of Work
They replaced the back door, on my house, for me. It was during the first snowfall and a stray cat came in to the basement via the open door. I wanted to make sure that wildlife would be kept out.

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to be able to respond quickly in securing your back door security and assuring wildlife was not trapped in your building. We look forward to your further tasks when you are ready and wish you the best! Diane Bostick General Manager His and Hers Fix Its A Division of Reno Build Services
1.0

10/02/2016


Susan J.

I hired these two to finish a ceramic tile floor for me. At first they were fine, then they apparently got tired of the job. The last time they were here, they put adhesive down and immediately grouted the tile. Of course, it fell apart. They asked for payment for services, and I only had one check left. I asked how much it would be to finish the rest of the job, and paid them for previous work and future work. Bad idea. They refused to come back to finish the job unless I'd commit to having them do other work. Very dishonest people, and Magic has a terrible temper. Don't hire them.

Description of Work
Finish ceramic tile floor.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

This job I believe streams back to about two years ago. We are sorry for your dissatisfaction however my file from the day seems to indicate that the enthusiasm and knowledge we showed on the job was interpreted as bad temper. We've never displayed anger misdirected at any customer and in this case I still apologize if you felt that. We attempted to contact you after the work and had not been successful. I would be happy to talk with you and offer a rebate if you have any priority work still at your home after all this time. Diane Bostick His and Hers Fix Its General Manager A Division of Reno Build Services
1.0

09/21/2016


Donna M.

They took a long time to respond back to me once I called. Then when they called she ask a few questions and said she'll get back to me. Area days later she texted me a plumber phone number for me to call because they were going to be busy with another job... I just think they didn't want to do it........ would never work with them again...

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling.......

Category handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that it was a while to get in touch with you. On occasion we are slammed with work and yet we do have a system to let people know we might be delayed in site survey. We also extend a courtesy that if we do observe a job - though rare- that requires time or skill we don't have available , we recommend a trusted private contractor that will help. I have never seen a case where this was not appreciated, however there's always a first. We wish you well in the resolution of your issue and again, I apologize for any delay in getting out to you. Diane Bostick General Manager His and Hers Fix Its A Division of Reno Build Services
5.0

08/12/2016


Sarah S.

Majic and Diane did a great job and were very personable, they were responsive and completed the work within a few days of my initial call. I am a new homeowner and don't know much about home repairs so they took the time to explain what they were doing and why. I would definitely recommend them to someone looking for a handyman/woman service and I plan on using them again in the future.

Description of Work
Repair existing toilet - replace flange and wax ring

Category handyman service, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for your great review. We look forward to helping you with you future lists when you are ready! Diane Bostick His and Hers Fix Its A Division of Reno Build Services
2.0

06/11/2016


Ben T.

When I called on Wednesday there was no answer. Left message. A few minutes later got a call from a woman wanting to know if I called her phone. After I figured out who the lady was I told her my needs. She promised a call back after talking to her partner. Got call today. She wants $45.00 to come see if the can do the job. If I choose not to use them the money is NOT REFUNDABLE.

Description of Work
I needed 9 windows installed

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Appreciate your comments but what I explained was the $45.00 was going into the work. once you approved the estimate and since I was hung up on, I didn't have time to explain. Also since we never made a site survey it would be impossible to give an estimate of $2500.00. Because we Never got that far. Once you said you liked hiring local contractors and thought we might have tried to converse civilly . As far as the first call , it was a bad reception. The older lady we were helping was having a flood in her basement And it was difficult to hear. That's why I called back to confirm the missed call . May I suggest that a two way conversation and a little bit of patience makes for a better experience all around. Diane His and Hers Fix Its
5.0

05/13/2016


Jennifer S.

His and Hers Fix-Its were very professional. They contacted me promptly and gave me a quote within a couple of days. They were able to schedule the work within a week. They came on time and had my job done within the time they promised- even with a few unanticipated snags along the way. I will definitely be using them again!

Description of Work
Installed a previously purchased microwave/ hood. This project involved cutting out a piece of a shelf as well as running a new outlet.

Category handyman service

5.0

05/13/2016


Jennifer S.

His and Hers Fix-Its were very professional. They contacted me promptly and gave me a quote within a couple of days. They were able to schedule the work within a week. They came on time and had my job done within the time they promised- even with a few unanticipated snags along the way. I will definitely be using them again!

Description of Work
Installed a previously purchased microwave/ hood. This project involved cutting out a piece of a shelf as well as running a new outlet.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for giving the chance to work In your beautiful home. We look forward eagerly to your next request. Thanks fir the wonderful review! Diane Bostick His and Hers Fix Its A Division of Reno Build Services
1.0

04/26/2016


Deborah T.

We had a leaking drain that we contacted His & Hers Fix-Its to repair. They diagnosed that we had a "slipped pipe" and they said then put in a sealant to solve that problem. They advised us to not use that particular shower for 2 days, which we complied. After 2 days, the ceiling looked to be even worse than before. I contacted them about the problem and they asked to send pictures. They came back out to check the ceiling and they claimed it was dry & that we could continue using the shower. They were completely wrong about that. And all the while when this was occurring, the wife was always coming along during the service calls and the husband would constantly trying to suggest more work around my house. They made me very uncomfortable by going through my home and "suggesting" different projects, all while they were still incorrectly solving the existing problem. A

Description of Work
Supposed to fix a leak in shower drain that was leaking down into the kitchen

Category contractors, drywall, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, however, as stated on our signed contract the visit stated that in fact, we could not guarantee a fix of the problem and that you had agreed to the process, being potentially a few steps from solved. You said you had suspected your drain to be the problem, and we went in and reported what we saw, and did re seal the drain area. We followed up as we say we did, we came out and saw that the ceiling was dry. We did not charge for an additional visit. I told you also that we had found that the shower kit was rusted in place and hard to remove without completely cutting it and getting into a big repair. We suggested, we send you a report,in fact I called and said, if you wished another company to see what we took pictures of and did, it would help them for a deeper probe into pipe and bigger repair. You said it wasn't necessary, and "I will give a good reference." Sort of surprised, when this review came out. We suggested a ramp for your stairs because it would make things easier for your family up and down the stairs, missing that item. You said not right now, and I replied, "don;t worry, when you are ready, if you want you will let us know". We never pushed anything. You hired us for an investigation to a leak that would take a few procedures to narrow down. This was understood at hire. And we went over our service to try and help and where, we we both felt you needed more, offered the full report. Diane Bostick General Manager His and Hers Fix Its
5.0

04/21/2016


Emily G.

His & Hers were very punctual, represented a much needed handyman/woman sort of service that we sometimes need. Motivated to do thorough and budget conscious work. Instead of just replacing the fan, they discovered that it was just the fan part that was defective - the motor was fine. This was accomplished in a very timely manner and solved the problem much to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
Repair of a bathroom ceiling fan

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, ceiling fans, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are so happy to see your repairs we to your expectations. Thanks for the great review. We look forward to your call on any future need! Diane Bostick His and Hers Fix Its Reno Build Services
3.0

04/07/2016


Jackie S.

He gave me flac about 2 of them, one he wouldn't put up, said it was warped?? and said one very heavy picture only needed one molly. After I told him it needed 2. They didn't have all the hangers that they needed and used some of mine. I only had them because I saved some from my other apartment. They said they would be back around the 1st of April and it would be another $2-300 for the rest of them. They were nice people, not very professional. Jackie Soliongco

Description of Work
He put up approx.15 pictures.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

It was nice to have the opportunity, however, we put up over 26 pieces. There was not complete organization as to where they were put from your point.So this took the extra time. Because of the state of pictures in boxes when we first made our site survey, there were some damaged as you remarked, we took extra time to make sure the pictures were.where you wanted them. Warped pieces as we explained would not hang straight on the wall. A mutual decision was to not put them up. Also due to none of the pictures being able to be seen front and back at the site survey, it would impossible to assess all the hardware, but we brought two full boxes and the discount to you included using hardware you offered to us.MY second helper logged everything done and, at end of visit you were appearing pleased. I explained that $15 per piece hung is fair, but as time went on, we accommodated extra items you wanted hung while we were there. The total cost of $390 was discounted to $300.00. And the $300.00 charged was for the originally intended hanging of the 15 pieces, including some sensitive artwork, and shelving and art pieces.. A recorded message our phone a week or so after the work, included your testimony to "excellent work" so, : Also our management followed up offering a cash rebate because we were not able to hang the remainder (which was a huge task) in the first work visit. We wish you well in future, but if you sign off on a repair, at the site and leave a recorded message which I retain in record complimenting us for our professionalism and work, it is no doubt curious that you leave a review to the opposite on Angie's List. If you care to discuss this with me, which I attempted to initiate the last time after called and left the very complimentary message, and reconsider your thinking, a rebate may still be salvageable. But , at this juncture, may I just say, Good Luck in future, and when sometime tried hard to help, help them by being open and honest, about what the work really requires and the true efforts that went in. Diane Bostick General Manager His and Hers Fix Its a division of Reno-Build Services 315/406-0484 .
5.0

11/05/2015


Kathy G.

They were great as far as responsiveness, efficiency, politeness & quality!

Description of Work
Provider removed & installed doorknob & also purchased item for me to save me time & energy!

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member name removed], we pride ourselves on all the qualities you mention and shown in many other customer reviews on this site. I guess that's why we're busy, and with such pleasant and easy to work with customers like you and your daughter, we will be happy to come back as you need us! We'll always find the time.
5.0

11/05/2015


Smita K.

Did all the work as promised and more .

Description of Work
Repair doors, bathrooms etc

Category handyman service, doors

Service Provider Response

We were pleased to have customer like you too! We look forward to offering services in future that will continue to make your life easier. Diane Bostick General Manager, His and Hers Fix Its A Division of Reno-Build Services
1.0

10/16/2015


Lynn R.

Didn't go well at all, however they reimbursed us the full amount of our payment.

Description of Work
Hired to remove front door and install new one.

Category handyman service

2.0

09/01/2015


Kathleen B.

They came out and gave me an estimate. They installed a cheap blue hose. All of my water lines are copper and they had not told me that they weren't using copper until they had arrived. I wanted all of the piping to be the same.

Description of Work
I wanted a faucet put in my garage.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

I am sorry for your experience and want to just remind you that a follow up call was made to you right after the work was done. The call was in response to your concern. The reason for the blue piping was explained and checked by you and accepted by our discussion at the time of the work. As promised I followed up and agreed to meet with you, and we did check back to make sure there were no leaks. (there were none) You were not well and did not want to meet with me and told me things were "okay". Also we stayed within your budget, a great concern of yours, with industry standard piping used in these situations. Should you still feel there is a resolution needed, I would like to put you in contact with the person now handling customer concerns in our company. A letter with be sent, offering you to be in touch or allowing him to be in touch with you on this issue. It was a pleasure having you as a customer, and we hope you can be feeling good about the issue soon. Sincerely, Diane Bostick, General Manager His and Hers Fix Its
5.0

06/20/2015


Eric S.

Excellent response to what we asked for and found other little things that needed fixing. Not afraid of the little stuff and focused on quality while remaining inexpensive. Would recommend again and anticipate seeing the team quite often at my house!

Description of Work
Various odds and ends we've neglected for some time :)

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Odd jobs and neglected tasks fit us to the T! Thanks for calling us. You and your wife are so pleasant to work with and so direct about what you need, that we look forward to all opportunities to help you in your home. Diane Bostick His and Hers Fix Its 315/406-0484 [hyperlink removed]
5.0

06/17/2015


Kathleen T.

They were very dependable and eager to please. Very friendly, punctual and trustworthy. They wanted to make sure the popcorn ceiling came out right so they actually did it about three times with different materials. He also tried it out on the ceiling in the garage as to not mess up the living room ceiling. They also did some drywall, insulation replacement and painting in the upstairs. It looks pretty good. They were very helpful and had plenty of suggestions. They were very neat and clean. They also took my old screens (which are an odd size) to have them replaced for me. They had a roofer come out to reseal around my skylights to make sure that it was taken care of properly. Their rates were very reasonable. We're actually going to have them come out and do two other projects for us as well. I will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They repaired storm damage. They fixed a crack on a popcorn ceiling and painted two large rooms, changed three light fixtures.

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, insulation, lighting, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Free bottles of cold water, and a group of challenging tasks, with your strong detailed requests, helped us fly through the first list. We look forward to seeing you again soon and meeting your further challenges! Diane Bostick His and Hers Fix Its www.hisandhersfixits.net 315/406-0484

    Other local Pros in your area

    CNY PowerWashing

    CNY PowerWashing is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers' interests and make their concerns the basis of our business. We use only top of line equipment and products. Working with just about any surface no job it too big or too small for CNY PowerWashing!  

    Race Pro Paintning

    RACE PRO Painting is a highly skilled husband and wife owned and operated company. We have been in business for 3 years with a combined 20 years of experience. We take an extreme amount of pride in our work and never leave a job until the customer is 100 percent satisfied. Please call our office today to schedule your free estimate! 315-908-0140.  

    Revs Power Washing

    I specialize in power washing sidewalks, driveways, decks, and house siding. I also clean gutters, removing all debris that build up in them. I am an army veteran so I support the military with military discounts. Estimates vary depending on size and how much you want cleaned. For additional information, please reach me anytime at 315-506-8157  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Minor & Moderate Interior Home Repairs, Maintenance Plans, Presentations, & Project Coaching.

    Services Not Offered

    Roofing, Major Electric, Siding, & New Additions, Outside Work - Major Foundation Sealing, Tree Removal

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services

    How is His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services overall rated?

    His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services provide

    His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offer free estimates?

    No, His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offer a senior discount?

    No, His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services does not offer a senior discount.

    Does His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services?

    No, His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services does not offer warranties.

    What services does His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offer?

    His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services offers the following services: Minor & Moderate Interior Home Repairs, Maintenance Plans, Presentations, & Project Coaching.

    Are there any services His and Hers Fix Its, A Division of Reno-Build Services does not offer?

    Roofing, Major Electric, Siding, & New Additions, Outside Work - Major Foundation Sealing, Tree Removal