Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

William & Hugh Roofing

Founded 1992 • With Angi since March 2014

4.8

(80) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

45-06 Queens Blvd # 311

SUNNYSIDE, NY 11104

Description

Family owned and operated accredited A+ with BBB with over 20 years experience if you're looking for a roofer go no further I will personally come out and inspect your roof give you an estimate on necessary repairs go over all your options flat roofs skylights roofing gutters shingles you name it we do it....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/27/2020


Karen P.

William and Hugh roofing came 1st for a free estimate, then within about 2 days, they were fixing my house roof and my garage roof. They put a silver heat deflecting finish over. ...it looked beautiful. Very well done. Then 2 top it off I was not home, he actually came 2 my job so that I could pay him, which I thought was super convenient because I'm a nurse and was very difficult 4 me 2 leave. I would hire again and definitely recommend. JOB VERY WELL DONE..AND QUITE PERSONABLE 😁😁

Description of Work
The tar in my roof had worn away, so everytime it rained outside, it rained inside.

Category roofing

5.0

05/27/2019


Minha K.

My roof only leaked when it snowed. I got a roofer to come out and he patched it, but the roof started leaking after it rained too. I started calling companies to get quotes on a new roof. After getting three quotes, I went with Hugh because he took the time to explain things in detail and wasn't dismissive (I'm a woman and have dealt with some contractors who act that way). He didn't try to scare or pressure me into a more expensive option. He was able to schedule me in couple of days later and the roof was redone. It was perfect timing because it rained a lot the next day and days after that. It's been two months and I've had no leaks since then.

Description of Work
Flat Roof Installed

Category roofing

5.0

02/04/2019


Maria A.

It went very well and Hugh took time to show what was done in detail and professionalism. Hugh was very punctual, professional, personable, patient and used quality products to repair and install new roof. I will refer and use them again.

Description of Work
Needed to repair and correct a past job that used inferior product and workmanship.

Category roofing

4.0

10/15/2018


Steven W.

Results are excellent as there are no more leaks in upstairs bedrooms. Neighbors were quite impressed and as a result they also used William & Hugh Roofers.

Description of Work
Not the cheapest roofer in Queens, NY however they perform excellent work, provide a contract for work to be performed, very punctual. Work is quite good as it has been some 10 months after work has been completed and the roof is repaired and ready many seasonal weather changes.

Category roofing

5.0

07/29/2018


Kestryl L.

I originally contacted Hugh to do what I thought would be minor maintenance on the roof, but he found a few spots that were leaky, even though the damage wasn't yet apparent inside the house. He presented the options for fixing and had a good warranty. His crew was fast and professional and finished the work the next day. We've had a few big rainstorms since the new roof was installed, and so far, so good! No one likes finding out that they need a new roof when they think they're just due for maintenance, but Hugh made the experience as smooth and reasonable as could be hoped. I would hire again if I had other roofing needs.

Description of Work
Flat Roof Replacement

Category roofing

5.0

07/25/2018


Krishna K.

Hugh is very responsive, honest and professional. Our roof had begun leaking, and we were concerned about the extent of the damage. He was able to inspect it within 48 hours and install the new roof within a week. He also installed a new hatch that gives us access to the roof from the interior of the house. (The original hatch had been closed off years before.) Hugh presented our options clearly and thoroughly, including costs and benefits of each. He is sensitive to budget and doesn't push the expensive option if you don't need it. After working with Hugh, I understand why this family business has been around so long.

Description of Work
New roof and roof hatch

Category roofing

5.0

07/03/2018


Angela T.

Hugh was very professional, knowledgeable and pleasant. He explained what repairs need to be done in detailed diagrams. His price and warranty were extremely reasonable. Added a new layer of “firestone" rubber on whole flat roof and built a slope for water drainage. A slope will prevent water from accumulating on rooftop, mitigating water damage to roofing materials: Applied new "Timberline" shingles on front roof; Installed a new roofing gutter at back of roof. Hugh and his teams did a great job by handling all the needed roofing tasks very efficiently. The workmanship was impeccable. Came early finished by the end of the day with high quality installation and cleanup. It’s been a few weeks and we have had a lot of heavy rainfalls with NO standing water on roof. I'd highly recommend Hugh for any flat roofing & gutter projects.

Description of Work
Add a new layer of rubber on flat roof, put shingle on front & New roofing gutters

Category gutter repair,roofing

5.0

06/25/2018


Gerry S.

Got a response to my email on the same day. Got an estimate the next and work completed the next day. Fastest response time from my initial inquiry to work being completed. Crew was efficient did the entire job in one day. Very satisfied with the quality of the work. Left my premises in excellent order and condition after work finished. Prompt, dependable, reliable, courteous. Very impressed with the work habits of the crew. Thorough and did an excellent job.

Description of Work
New flat roof, new shingles, new gutter and caulking of windows.

Category gutter repair,roofing

5.0

06/08/2018


Jimmy K.

Hugh did a great job, was punctual and answered all my questions. My mom's flat roof has been leaking on and off for some time now, but this year it was extraordinarily bad. Hugh gave me two prices depending on what I wanted to do, 1 was to completely tear down my old flat roof and drop on a new layer or just throw a layer on top. He was the 3rd person I Requested a quote from and they were all within the same range. Hugh also helped me with repairing my gutters and the roofing gutter in the back which was causing me extensive problems on the past. He always picked up my calls, quick to respond and answer questions, he was on time to all meetings and his guys were punctual and clean. I would definitely hire Hugh and his crew again.

Description of Work
Flat Roof repair/replacement

Category roofing

2.0

05/03/2018


Mike C.

Had a flat roof leak, where a re-application of asphalt membrane was advised to stop the leak. Price quote was one of the more expensive one, but also used better material (white coated asphalt as opposed to usual black asphalt). The work was done quickly, seemingly well, with a large crew. However, the leak persisted (per the tenant, it was "worse", though that may be some hyperbole), about 3 - 4 calls to the company to uphold their guarantee lead to no on-site visits, and then a suggestion that the roof need to be completely replaced without an actual visit to inspect the roof. Frustrating, especially since they're so highly reviewed and talked such a good game.

Description of Work
Flat roof repair

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] this is hugh i’m sorry but I have no knowledge of your complaint your review is the first that I’ve heard of this If I did your work please contact me at (718)954-0542 that is my direct number and I can assure you it will be taken care of immediately
5.0

04/07/2018


Gina F.

I took the angie deal yesterday with hugh and within about 1 hour he called me. We set up appointment for the next day at 8:30. He got there 1 /2 hour early. He gave me 3 options for my roof and was very even handed with how he presented them, not pressuring me to get the most expensive one. Did the job in a few hours, took before and after pictures and provided a warranty. I waited to write the review to make sure the repair was good. there have been a few heavy rains and i did not have any leaks. Very happy with his work.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category roofing

5.0

03/02/2018


Steven W.

Our upstairs bedroom started exhibiting one water stain where the ceiling meets the wall. This was our initial head's up our 20+ year old flat roof was on the cusp of repairs or replacment and required at minimum a inspection for possible repairs. When a second stain appeared on our second bedroom we knew it would be best to put serious thought into getting our roof repaired. Downside it was in the middle of Winter hence foolhardy to consider as projects such as this are better undertaken when the weather would be consistently better. Researched and started reading reviews both on Yelp, BBB, RateaBiz, and AngiesList paying particular attention to all the rated roofers in our area. Called a few and had one particular roofer (with average reviews and not even listed on AngiesList which should have been a tipoff to me!) schedule a visit and inspection. Scheduled date came then went and I was upset when this particular roofer failed to show. Many hours after the agreed upon time and date he eventually called making really absurd excuses so I politely told him to forget about coming or rescheduling. Went back to researching this time using only the highest ratedroofers reviewed on AngiesList. Filled out the online request for into and I was contacted by 2 AngiesList roofers ...amazing and quick responses one locally (Sunnyside Queens) and other in Brooklyn. First roofer was located in Brooklyn while William& Hugh Roofing was located just down the boulevard in Sunnyside. Spoke with Hugh (Sr) from William & Hugh Roofing requesting a inspection and bid. Hugh it appears had projects pending but promised he would call the following week after he freed up to perform our inspection. As promised he did call, inspected our roof, queried us on other issues and what we desired and needed. Pictures were taken by Hugh identifying immediate emergency items, other abnormalities requiring attention, and finally minor issues which he could address and resolve. Before I continue let me state William and Hugh Roofing is definitely NOT the cheapest roofer out there as I am sure if you shop around you can get prices a bit less expensive. Most roofers are 2-person operations which means a project might take days or more. Hugh and I talked at length and I decided to give them a try .... worse case I would post a less than flattering review followed by complaints to the BBB and YELP. If you research reviews on William and Hugh Roofing, there simply are no negative or unflattering reviews currently about these guys. Work would encompass installation of a new torched flat roof, teardown of all our weather worn slate shingles and replaced with a 30+ year warranteed Asphalt shingle, and replacement of a few section of leaders and gutters. Day before work was started Hugh personally called asking if tomorrow, a Saturday would be a convenient time to start work. Bright and early Saturday Hugh Sr and Hugh Jr along with a crew of 4 arrive at the designated time and work began. Whole job took 8+ hours , pictures taken by me to insure "no shortcuts or corners" were cut. Work areas were policed up after work was completed leaving minor cleaning of walkways, driveways, and front of home. Workcrew was extremely professional, polite, and knew what they were doing. If you are in the market for roofing work consider William&Hugh Roofing .... you can always get it done cheaper but for me who performed my own roofing repairs when I was 35+ years younger I'd rather pay a little more up front knowing these roofers complete repairs in a reasonable amount of time, warranty their work, and will be around. Update: It's been almost 2 weeks since work was completed and we have gone through two 2018 Nor'easter's and we currently have no leaks whatsoever. Busy shopping around for a quart of Kilz and a few gallons of ceiling paint for the next project. Shame I cannot post pictures however you can take it from me, William & Hugh Roofers are competent and reputable to do business with.

Description of Work
Flat roof inspection and new asphalt shingle installation

Category gutter repair,roofing

4.0

01/23/2018


vito D.

I STARTED DOING MY ROOF A WEEK BEFORE THANKSGIVING OF 2017. AFTER BEING LEFT HIGH AND DRY FROM MY OTHER ROOFING CONTRACTOR (INTERSTATE ROOFING out of new jersey, OWNER: SANTINO COSTELLO) AND LEAVING MY ROOF INCOMPLETE AND OPEN TO THE ELEMENTS. I SPOKE TO HUGH FROM WILLIAM AND HUGH ROOFING AND EXPLAINED WHAT MY SITUATION WAS. HUGH AGREED TO HELP ME OUT. SO, THE WEEK OF THANKSGIVING 2017 HUGH AND HIS CREW CAME OVER BIRHGT AND EARLY THE NEXT MORNING AND DID EXACTLY WHAT THEY SAID THEY WERE GOING TO DO. THEY RIPPED OFF THE REMAINING ROOF THAT WAS LEFT UNDONE FROM THE PREVIOUS CONTRACTOR, INSTALLED 3/4 INCH PLYWOOD THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE ROOF. THEN INSTALLED THE TORUCH DOWN FIRESTONE RUBBER ROOF. THEY ARE NOT MASTER CARPENTERS, BY ALL MEANS. BUY, THEY GOT THE JOB DONE WITHIN 2 DAYS. THE PRICE WAS A LITTLE HIGH. BUT, I WAS IN DESPERATE NEED. I WOULD DEFIANTLY RECOMMEND TO ALL NEEDING A ROOFER.

Description of Work
NEW FLAT ROOF

Category roofing

5.0

11/17/2017


Sydney B.

Was prompt. Arrived at agreed upon time. Did an inspection, and recommended a roof refinishing for an additional price.

Description of Work
Tar flat roof where cracked; silver reflective paint sprayed over entire roof.

Category roofing

5.0

11/14/2017


Joaquin P.

It was very good. I would say all the way is A. They were very pleasant and they did a good job. That was a good value for the Deal. They met all the expectations. They did exactly what was part of the Deal.

Description of Work
This was an Angie's List Big Deal for $89 for one hour of roof and gutter maintenance. They checked the roof and the fixed some patches that were blown away.

Category roofing

5.0

10/31/2017


MaryEllen S.

Everything went well Family business They showed up when they said & price was right

Description of Work
Had a new roof put on

Category roofing

5.0

10/30/2017


Mark L.

Very well though the price was a little higher than we expected and the workmen had to return to deal with some things which were missed, On the whole they were responsive and easy to deal with.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning and roof repair

Category gutter cleaning,roofing

5.0

09/29/2017


Despina M.

Excellent! Reached out to many roofers who were not willing to do repairs, just replace entire roofs. Shocking how one company wanted to give an estimate to replace the entire roof just by looking on google maps! These gentlemen were from the beginning willing to come see the roof and repair without replacing completely. Came, examined entire roof, saw where the problem was right away from when roof was originally installed and pointed out that there were still many years for the remaining roof. Honest individuals from a family run business whom I would highly recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
There was a persistent leak that no one seemed able to repair.

Category roofing

5.0

09/26/2017


Karen Z.

I called for a roof inspection and also because 3 year-old shingles were falling and 3 year-old garage roof was leaking. Hugh came within hours. To my relief. the garage and shingles were minor fixes. He did discover that our house roof was bubbling and needed to be repaired and a new roof installed on top. He then recommended the soffits be replaced and the chimney wrapped. The eaves were coated and painted. He also cleaned out the gutters. The came early the next day and the work was completed the same day. Everyone was professional and pleasant.

Description of Work
Installed new roof over old roof, patched skylight, patched shingles, patched and coated garage roof, coated and painted eaves, replaced wooden soffits with aluminum, wrapped chimney.

Category roofing

3.0

09/19/2017


Blanca B.

He decide without even touching the area to say that it was old leakage, and gave me an estimate for roof sealant at the eaves and chimney work. So, I paid 100 dollars for an estimate. I thought that at least I would get some caulking around the flashing area. Not satisfied at all, and in order to put sealant, i will have to add chimney work to make it worth it for them to come to do the work.

Description of Work
My closet in the front entrance has a wet looking appearance in the ceiling at the corner with painting falling off. I thought that the flashing of the roof needed some caulking at least. I have a 3 year old roof replacement..

Category roofing

5.0

09/11/2017


morris T.

Very very very well. Punctual, efficient, friendly competent service.

Description of Work
Repair roof

Category roofing

5.0

08/04/2017


Marion K.

Very efficient keeping to the plan we had following through with excellent work. I would recommend him and use him, again.

Description of Work
Replaced All Shielded Gutter Guards with Lifetime Guarantee

Category gutter repair

5.0

06/25/2017


Richard S.

Did a nice job. Sealed Around a new skylight and vent pipes.

Description of Work
Installed a new rubber flat roof on a mix use bldg. he sealed around all vent lines and pipes well.

Category roofing

5.0

05/16/2017


Carmeleta C.

They were excellent. He was very honest and advised an option that cost less than what we were wanting to do. They chopped the tree over the house and cleaned up everything very well. They came out faster than I expected and were very professional. I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
They installed a new flat roof, new gutters and repaired wood rot. They also replaced the roof over the porch as well.

Category roofing

5.0

05/10/2017


Susan S.

Job well done. Working with Hugh n Billy is a pleasure. They are professional, prompt, polite and respectful. Their employees had a little difficulty understanding me as they spoke Spanish and my Spanish is limited. Any issues they called Billy or Hugh. Left my place clean. No leaks.

Description of Work
Had gutters n leaders done last June. At that time informed me roof - old shake - really needed to be done. I had to put it off. They came in February (?) this year to flash chimney n work on that side of the roof to stop leak

Category roofing,chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Skyline Maintenance Inc. (Chimneys)

    From oil, gas, fireplace or wood burning stove chimney cleaning to liners, rebuilds, caps and dampers. We provide everything you need to keep your chimney and furnace safe and operating efficiently. Proper care and maintenance aid in preventing unnecessary fires and carbon monoxide poisonings. We take pride in offering a broad range of services which extend the life of your chimney and furnace. Our Services Include: ◾Chimney liners/ Furnace Duct Cleaning/Masonry Rebuilds ◾Flue Pipe Installation ◾Chimney Cap Installation ◾Chimney Flashing Installation ◾Chimney Repair / Emergency Chimney Repair ◾Chimney Restoration ◾Chimney Cleaning ◾Furnace Installation ◾Furnace Repair / Emergency Furnace Repair ◾Furnace Maintenance ◾Chimney Animal Removal ◾Fireplace Restoration ◾Pavers/Gutter Cleaning/Brick Work  

    Precision Painting Plus

    Precision Painting Plus is a well-established painting company serving the NYC area. The Precision Difference upholds ourselves to the highest standards to deliver premium quality, honest pricing, and on-time project completion work for every customer. We only work with skilled, trained professionals that use premium paint for their project. We deliver honest pricing with no vague or hidden fees. With on-time scheduling and daily communication, we reassure customers a worry-free experience. You can count on us to deliver the best project experience for you.  

    Offers by Precision Painting Plus on Angi
    A 1 CHIMNEY INC

    With over 30 years of experience A 1 Chimney Inc is an expert in Chimney Cleaning and Repair serving the five boroughs. We take pride in our work and treat all our customers with honesty and respect. Contact us today for Chimney Cleaning, Chimney Repair and everything else chimney! We offer senior discounts and accept all major credit cards, cash and checks. https://www.a1chimneyinc.net/  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Roofing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about William & Hugh Roofing

    How is William & Hugh Roofing overall rated?

    William & Hugh Roofing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are William & Hugh Roofing open?

    William & Hugh Roofing is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does William & Hugh Roofing provide

    William & Hugh Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does William & Hugh Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, William & Hugh Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does William & Hugh Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, William & Hugh Roofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does William & Hugh Roofing offer a senior discount?

    No, William & Hugh Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by William & Hugh Roofing?

    No, William & Hugh Roofing does not offer warranties.

    What services does William & Hugh Roofing offer?

    William & Hugh Roofing offers the following services: Roofing