Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation

Founded 1979 • With Angi since August 2010

Family owned & operated.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(26) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
James F.
1.0
04/07/2022
Ghosted! Kyle came to inspect the job and provide a quote. NO quote was ever produced. Scheduled him anyway because we needed our toilet repaired. I took a day off of work... Kyle never showed. He rescheduled for the following week and my wife took a day off work to stay home for the job... you guessed it, another no show. After that he stopped returning all calls and texts... never an explanation. Please save yourselves and don't even start down a path with M.T. Simoncavage plumbing.
Description of Work
Soil pipe replacement
Category
plumbing
Jerald V.
5.0
11/19/2018
I called Kyle on a Sun. afternoon. He said he would come over early on Mon. morning. He was here at 7:00. It took him an hour or two to troubleshoot the problems. He found and corrected problems inside with a valve and a gauge. He found that the outside casing had a hole in a pipe and was leaking. This was the source of the problem; it was causing the indoor problems, too. He said he would be back at noon with Mike and an excavator to correct the pipe issue. He came back as he said he would. It must have taken about three hours for them to excavate and repair the pipe, complicated by the excessive water at the site due the leak from the pipe and high water table. They were able to repair it so we had water again. Hurray! They backfilled and cleaned up the site as best they could given the wet and muddy conditions. They gave us very prompt, polite, and skilled service. My wife and I are very well pleased. We will use them again.
Description of Work
Water not coming from well
Category
excavators, plumbing, wells
Terri B.
5.0
12/06/2017
He always responds quickly and is professional, thorough and honest.
Description of Work
We have used Mike multiple times over the years. This time was for a burst pipe, he responded quickly.
Category
plumbing
Blair R.
1.0
03/30/2016
Similar to the experience of another reviewer, an appointment was made for this plumber to come to my house to give an estimate. He seemed very nice in that he agreed to meet me at my friend's house when I got home at 6 PM so that I didn't miss work. The plumber never showed and never called. Skip this plumber and go to another one in the list.
Description of Work
No service performed.
Category
plumbing
Barbara P.
5.0
01/22/2016
unknown
Description of Work
New drainage pipe had to be installed for a sink through our front wall, under the ground and into sewer line. They worked very fast and did an amazing job cleaning up and grading the front yard.
Category
plumbing, drain pipe, sewer cleaning
elizabeth V.
5.0
10/27/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I used his service a long time ago I would use him again
Category
plumbing
Kara P.
2.0
03/21/2015
Our well pump suddenly stopped working in subzero weather. Although he was very busy, I was initially impressed that Kyle showed up at 7 pm. He determined that the line from the well had frozen, and promised to return the next morning to thaw it. When he didn't show, I called around noon and he said he'd had an emergency (I'm not sure what constitutes more of an emergency than no water for 2.5 days in midwinter, the house waterlines frozen solid, and 2 horses on the property, who drink 50 gallons of water daily). He showed up late that day an attempted to thaw (nonexistent) ice in the line for an hour before deciding it was actually a dead electric line, and gave an estimate of $2-3,000 to replace the line in frozen ground. $350 for his time. After 3 tentative promises to do the work, with no shows and no calls initiated by him, I called another company. Here's the kicker. The other co. found that electric line was (very obviously) damaged right at the well cap.
Description of Work
I called Kyle to diagnose and fix a well pump that stopped working.
Category
plumbing, wells
Joan D.
1.0
10/14/2014
Spoke to Kyle Simoncavage directly and he told me he'd be at my house on Monday at 3:15 to work on my pluming issue (relatively minor for sure). Well, 3:15 came and went and he never showed up, nor did he call at all. By 5:15, I gave up and went to the soccer game I was missing so he could work on my issue. He had the nerve to call and leave me a voicemail the next day asking if it would be okay if he could come several days later. Needless to say, I never returned his call. Fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice, shame on me. I never gave him the chance to screw me again. I would definitely not recommend this guy/company as he is totally non-dependable. What is it with so many service related people being untrue to their word?
Description of Work
Kyle Simoncavage provided nothing. What he did do was set an appointment to meet me at my home on a specific day and time and did not show up, nor did he call to tell me he wasn't coming.
Category
plumbing
Joan T.
5.0
09/29/2014
I was totally impressed that I received a call back less than an hour after I left him a message. Kyle said he was able to come out the same day but since it was not an emergency we agreed for him to come the next day. He showed up a few minutes late but called first to say he had an emergency. He was very pleasant, competent and dependable. I will definitely use him for any future plumbing needs.
Description of Work
Replaced well pressure switch
Category
plumbing
Susanne S.
5.0
08/12/2014
I have hired Mike before for other fixes in my home. I called him on a Sunday morning explain there was a leak in my tenants bath leaking water to my bathroom. He was away for the weekend but assured me he would be there on Monday. The leak was a small drip type so it was not a huge major emergency. We spoke again on Monday and he said he would be there at 4. Mike was on time and ready to get started. He replaced the ring on a 1960s pink toilet, no problem. He was very neat and clean. Mike is a friendly, knowledgable man.
Description of Work
Replaced a worn toilet ring in bathroom.
Category
plumbing
Hector G.
5.0
06/03/2014
I was so happy to know that it happened to be a minor fix, the temporary fix allowed me to use the bath tub again, and once they got the part, they came over again, installed it, and it is working fine now. I believe the price was very reasonable when they had to pay 2 visits.
Description of Work
The hot water knob in the bath tub broke and it was spilling water inside the walls and down to the lower floor, so I had to shut the hot water down and called the plumber for kind of an emergency situation. They showed up in the afternoon, as expected, and made a temporary fix so it could be used again the same day.
Category
plumbing
Rajalakshmi V.
3.0
04/07/2014
C
Description of Work
Fixed a faucet leak and replaced safety valve cap on the driveway
Category
plumbing
Donavon P.
5.0
12/16/2013
Kyle was very responsive in terms of responding to voicemail and picking up the phone. He was very nice, knowledgeable, and willing to refuse something that didn't really need to be fixed. I called him and he came out the same day to take a look, then gave an estimate and scheduled the work to be done. My only concern is that he was late to the job (he was running late from another job) and didn't call to let me know. Not a huge deal, but that's why punctuality was a little lower. When I had an unrelated issue with the dishwasher that I thought may have been caused by his work, he came right over, took a look, and showed me that it was actually the dishwasher that was faulty. Kyle was friendly and accommodating, and I definitely would use him in the future.
Description of Work
Corrected a dishwasher drain line so that it would flow properly
Category
plumbing
Helen K.
5.0
09/16/2013
He has done work for me twice so far and would call him again. He repaired an outdoor spicket and of course it was cenented into the brick wall but he was able to replace it. The second time he came to look at my garbage disposal and it was just clogged so it took no time at all and he was able to take care of a leaky faucet (that another plumber told me he couldn't fix because he couldn't get the piece off.) He also gave me recommendations on maintaining my disposal and getting a larger one when this one does wear out.
Description of Work
Prompt and professional. He fixed a leaky outdoor faucet and garbage disposal and indoor leaky faucet.
Category
plumbing
Edward C W.
5.0
08/17/2013
They arrived exactly at the time scheduled-- to the minute. From start to finish they were professional, friendly, and communicative. Their work was Performed both very well and quickly. Not unexpectedly, poor venting design in the house keeps the toilet from performing @100%. Kyle took the time after the fact to explain to me how it might be fixed. But this toilet @90% efficiency is a 500% improvement over the previous toilet and it has worked flawlessly for two weeks. We could not be more satisfied.
Description of Work
Installed new toilet and new vanity/sink in powder room. The toilet was a straight replacement no complications. The sink Had been leaking from both waterlines and P-trap in Drain. Both tasks were completed quickly and precisely -- E. G., Close attention to making sure the sink was Level.
Category
plumbing
Tom S.
3.0
03/11/2013
It started well in October 2012. Kyle said the job would take 2-3 weeks, not including placement of the baseboard heaters, which would happen much later, and he started right away, but before long was prioritizing other jobs ahead of ours. To some degree, this wasn't initially a major problem since the contractors still had a few months of work ahead of them. However, weeks would pass with no sign of him, and throughout that time, there was no running water to the building, which hampered the ability of the general contractor to do his work. Calls to Kyle went either unanswered or answered a few days later, and on a few ocassions, his promises to be there on certain dates and times came and went with him not showing up and not calling to let us know he wouldn't be there. By January, his not being there was getting old and was seriously interfering with the others getting their work done. A few times when we did speak, he vented at me and at the other tenant, blaming the general contractor for poor communication and for "not keeping me [him] in the loop". The contractor would report numerous attempts to contact Kyle to no avail. I have no access to evidence that would allow me to see where on the spectrum of blame the truth lies, but based on some of his broken promises directly to the tenant and/or I, and the sheer fact that the contractors were present and working and Kyle wasn't, I have no choice but to defer to the general contractor's version of events. In the end, all of the work got done, but he was having to scramble to do at the tail end in late February what could and should have been done in mid December. He was NOT done by the drop dead date he had been told some time earlier, which was based on the end of our month to month lease at a temporary apartment, and the tenant and I ended up in a hotel for one night, so Kyle and his assistant could work into the night. For the most part, the work itself seems to be of very good quality. The glaring exception was the placement of the base boards and there were two problems here. First, they're further off the floor than their design requires, thus allowing me to see under them. Second, by keeping them level, it calls attention to the floor itself NOT being level. Both of these problems will be minimized once rooms are decorated and view of the heaters is obscured. (I debated giving him a B for quality because of this, but given the size of the job, this problem alone isn't enough to drop him a grade, and A- isn't a choice.) Payments to him will be via the general contractor after insurance numbers are finalized, so I have no knowledge at this time of the quality of his prices or of my cost. Face to face, Kyle is a very nice person and the quality of his work and his answers to questions show a definite expertise and a strong knowledge base. My recommendation to not use him is based on the excessive amount of time it took to complete the job and the bad rapport he had with the other contractors. In a different type situation, I would possibly use him again.
Description of Work
I didn't hire Kyle. He was hired as a subcontractor by the primary contractor for all plumbing aspects of a fire restoration at a two family townhouse, which had subsequently been slightly vandalized by copper thieves, and had had the century old inefficient oil burners compromised by an asbestos abatement paid for by insurance. Basic services included running all new water and drain lines throughout the building, to and from two kitchens (sink and dishwasher), two bathrooms (tub/shower, sink and toilet) and the basement (laundry machines and a utility sink), and the installation of all faucets, shut offs, etc. in all of those places. Two additional services directly tied into this, the smaller being the transition from traditional water heaters to on demands with all the water and vent lines those entailed. The larger additional service was the transition from oil to natural gas heat and from radiators to baseboard heating in the residential units (kickstep heaters in the kitchens). Specific tasks included the removal of old piping, (the compromised oil burners and the radiators has been removed previously by other contractors; I don't recall if Kyle removed the oil drums or if another contractor did that), and the installation of the new boilers and baseboard heaters, with all the water and gas lines those entailed. The project was derailed slightly by a previously unknown leak in the roof, but that was corrected by Kyle and the general contractor fairly quickly. Of minor mention in the scheme of things was installation of a new building water meter and connecting a gas oven in one of the residential units.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

As far as this job had gone there were a number of delays on job including the customer ordering fixtures that were on order for weeks and also that the customer could not make decisions on time meaning that the job was prolonged while waiting for them to decide on equipment or placement of new equipment to be installed. Also My work was held up by the general contractor who would only notify me at last minute when I was not available to get there right away, or would promise the home owner that I would be there on nights and weekends when no arrangement were even spoken to me or planned with me. All complaints with job are from general contractor playing games and not informing all trades on job site of scheduling. I was actually the first trade out and finished with job completely before painters were out, electricians had any panels put together in basement or all light fixtures hung, and general contractor had table saws and equipment all still set up in house same day I finished on job. Ive never had a problem with any customers ever and blame the turn out on job on general contractor.
Peter M.
5.0
02/01/2013
Mike and his assistant arrived right on-time as promised. Everything was completed as we had talked when I meet with him before that day. They were very careful to keep everything as clean as possible which was not easy as they removed some very old cast iron septic lines. I had a little problem with a water valve and Mike came back the next day to fix my problem. I would definitely hire him again.
Description of Work
Very satisfied
Category
plumbing, septic tank, water heater repair
William J.
5.0
12/27/2012
They arrived the same day, fixed the problem with a minimum of fuss. Thanks!
Description of Work
We had an emergency caused by a failed backcheck valve, leaking water back into the well and causing the pump to run every few minutes. We chose Simoncavage based on their willingness to work on 'wells', although this repair wasn't really a well, but other plumbers seemed to not want to tackle it.
Category
plumbing
Daniel B.
5.0
10/12/2012
See the "Description of Services Performed".
Description of Work
The pipe to my drywell was restricted. Kyle Simoncavage" jetted" the line from the basement to the tank. Unfortunately, that didn't entirely solve the problem. I had another contractor dig up the tank. Kyle came back and "jetted the pipe from the tank to the basement. This was a lengthy and difficult process (which he performed in the rain). This eventually worked. The cleanliness and condition of the entire length of pipe was confirmed with a tv camera. Kyle and his helper were very professional and friendly. They were punctual and the price was a bargain.
Category
plumbing, sewer cleaning
William O.
5.0
07/13/2012
Things went very well. Kyle Simoncavage came exactly at the time he said he would. He looked into the problem and quickly and very accurately figured out the issue. He ran a new drain pipe from upstairs to downstairs, solved the problem, cleaned up perfectly and charged an extremely reasonable price. We highly recommend doing business!!
Description of Work
We had a leak from our kitchen sink that dripped down into the basement. We had 2 other plumbers look and one replaced the faucet and charged $400 and the other didnt charge but didnt fix. The drip continued and we looked at Angie's list and my wife saw a name locally she recognized.
Category
plumbing
Kathleen & Stuart P.
5.0
07/05/2012
When he saw I had one original brass type drain unit the bathroom was built around upstairs and a PVC type drain downstairs that must have been replaced because it can be accessed from the basement, Kyle very expertly suggested the type of drain you see in hotels that you work with your toes and can be easily replaced in the future. Since we had no "leaks", only non functioning tub stoppers, the solid brass drain units I was sold would require cutting a hole in the first floor ceiling to access in the 2nd floor bathroom tub drain besides the other issues with metal. I also discussed with him in passing our low water pressure and he also suggested a digital well pump switch I had no knowledge of. I asked him to order two tub drains, two overflow covers and one of those programmable switches that can go up to 100lbs max and swap that as well when he came back to finish the tub drains. He came back as promised the following Monday, finished the work started, did the additional pressure control switch upgrade with some other work that was not anticipated like having to replace the water drain valve that did not function when he tried to shut the water off from the well and relieve the pressure from the well plumbing. Always very professional, Kyle dealt with all the problems that can arise like the home owner not buying the correct parts. The money I saved when I returned the two brass drain hardware kits paid for the much simpler and smarter one piece drain units (why do you think hotels use them), the chrome overflow covers that replaced my corroded drain flipper and half of the cost of the expensive but trick digital well pump pressure switch, not to mention sawing a hole in my ceiling. Kyle tested and reset my air pressure bladder and showed me how it needs to be correctly set for your minimum pressure "cut on" setting at 2 lbs less. I now have a 40lb cut on and a 70lb "cut off" and we have normal shower pressure. I can't believe we were in this house for 12 years, messing with those lame 45lbs standard switches, about 2 of them since the contacts would burn out and drift off of adjustment constantly so we never had dependable water pressure people on city water take for granted. He kept to the estimate on the bathroom estimates, only charging me for the additional parts he ordered, not for a return visit even though it was not his fault he had to come back. He charged me for only one hour to replace the pump switch which he spent more than an hour swapping it, dealing with a busted drain valve he did not charge me to replace as well as training me how to set my well system air bladder properly ( you have to drain all water in the system and then set your air pressure to "cut on" minus 2 lbs ). The smile on the wife after her first shower upstairs with the new Kohler hardware and enough pressure to make her pulse shower head actually do something other than dribbling out was worth every penny I spent.
Description of Work
Got an estimate from Mike the owner to replace all the bathroom fixtures in two bathrooms when he installed a grey water separation system in January. Finally saved enough to purchase quality Kohler bathroom sink and shower fixtures and replacement valve bodies at the end of June and scheduled his son Kyle to install them 6/25. The drain units I got from Capitol Supply were all wrong so he could only do part of the job that Monday so he agreed to come back the following Monday, a day we had already scheduled off from work to finish the bathroom upgrades. I also had him install a programmable digital well pump pressure switch when he returned, replacing that very clunky mechanical, sparky electric contact type with two stupid springs and a maximum pressure around 45lbs. We have a treatment and filtration system for our water so they made that 45lb max in the basement about 30lb on the 2nd floor after being pushed thru a filter and two settling tanks.
Category
plumbing
PRISCILLA O.
5.0
06/29/2012
I couldn't have ask for a better experience. Mike returned my call the same day and was able to help me out right away. Him and his co-worker came out late in the afternoon and finished up before dinner time. They went above and beyond what I was expecting. They were friendly and professional. I would reccomend them highly for any job!!! Thank you thank you thank you to Mike and his team!
Description of Work
The pipe leaving the house to the main line was cracked and needed to be replaced. MT Simomcavage dug up the pipe, removed the damage part & replaced it.
Category
drain pipe
Barbara M.
5.0
02/24/2012
He was good. He was professional and friendly. He was on time and knowledgable. They know what they are doing.
Description of Work
They cleaned my sewer and checked what was going on.
Category
plumbing, sewer cleaning
Kathleen & Stuart P.
5.0
02/09/2012
Mike did a great job, a clean job and was done in a couple hours and did the entire job for the amount he estimated. I will use him again in the future, very satisfied!
Description of Work
The grey water from the washer drain and water filter return was separated into a separate system to remove that water from the septic system. The separation from the existing system was then capped off.
Category
plumbing
FRED D.
5.0
06/26/2007
Mike did a beautiful job and is very reasonably priced. I would give him all A+'s if I could. He also does service work and excavating in the Clifton Springs/Saratoga areas. I have used him in the past and will continue to do so. He is dependable and reliable and I would highly recommend him to anyone in need of these kinds of services.
Description of Work
They installed new water lines and a new sink in our kitchen.
Category
plumbing

Phone

Address

17 Park Ave

Stillwater, NY 12170

Other Information

Services offered

Water heaters, well pumps, septics, faucets, boiler installation, water and sewer mains, softeners, sewer and water camera inspections and locations, excavation, sewer jetting & maintenance.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

No, MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation does not offer free project estimates.

No, MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation offers emergency services.

Yes, MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation offers warranties.

MT Simoncavage Plumbing & Excavation offers the following services: Water heaters, well pumps, septics, faucets, boiler installation, water and sewer mains, softeners, sewer and water camera inspections and locations, excavation, sewer jetting & maintenance.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Excellent Exterior and Deck Company, Inc.

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Excellent Exterior and Deck Company, Inc.

We are a small construction company who's business model is focused on both customer service and the quality of our work. The owner, Joseph Vitale, is present on all job sites to ensure that the level of craftsmanship is held to the highest standard. We are a Trex Pro Platinum installer that specializes in composite decking and backyard transformations! Additionally we offer excavation services, foundation's dug, trenching, clearing, grading, waterproofing and drainage. PLEASE CONTACT US BY PHONE OR TEXT, 518-466-4011. THANK YOU! ***Due to our current work load we are not doing repairs at this time***  

Rooter Man Plumbing & Drain

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Rooter Man Plumbing & Drain

Rooter-Man of the Capital District has won Angie's List Super Service Award the last eight of the last nine years (2019,2017,2016,2015,2014,2013,2012,2011). That can only happen when you take customer service and technical expertise very seriously, like we do. If you need a sewer line snaked, a new faucet installed, a new water heater and most any other plumbing job tackled give us a call. We would be honored to provide you with the same high level of service that we have built a reputation for displaying. For friendly and professional plumbing service you can trust, call us at Rooter Man Plumbing and Drain. Call us today at 518-925-5490 to make an appointment.  

Drain-Away Sewer and Drain Service

5.0

(82)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Drain-Away Sewer and Drain Service

Meet the Business Owner: In 1973 I helped out a friend to operate a Roto-Rooter in the greater Albany area. As the year progressed, I learned how much I enjoyed the challenge of diagnosing and solving customer's problems. I became a service technician for Roto-Rooter in 1974, then opened a Roto-Rooter franchise in Berkshire County, MA in 1979. In 1982 I then moved to Rensselaer County, NY to operate a 2nd franchise in the Troy and surrounding areas. In 1989 I took over the Roto-Rooter operation in Nashville, TN. But I realized how much I missed the Northeast, so I decided to move back in 1991 to NY and Drain-Away Sewer & Drain Service was opened. History: Established in 1991. With experience dating back to 1974, Richard J. Blanchard opened Drain-Away Sewer & Drain Service in 1991. Through dedication and hard work, the business has grown to service both residential & commercial customers. Drain-Away's highest priority is fast and quality service thanks to our expert technicians and courteous office staff. SPECIALTIES: We specialize in sewer and drain cleaning for both residential and commercial customers, as well as plumbing repairs, video inspecting, water jetting, excavating, internal commercial grease tanks and sewer line repairs. Contact us to discuss your plumbing and drain needs. Albany NY area; 438-9646 Troy NY area; 274-0065 Schenectady NY area; 355-9755 Amsterdam NY area; 843-0515