Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1999 • With Angi since January 2006

4.4

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1912 RICHMOND TERRACE

Staten Island, NY 10302

Description

Home improvments...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/30/2019


Kayla C.

My grandparents hired tri star to redo our only bathroom in our house. The job cost thousands and thousands of dollars as the whole bathroom was gutted and completely redone. After they took almost two weeks to redo the bathroom while my grandparents paid to stay in a hotel, being that this is our only bathroom, the job was finally done and we were mostly happy with the results. A few months after installing the new bathtub, it began to crack on the bottom. My grandparents had to continuously call to get in touch with max who finally sent his men to repair the tub. Several months after the first repair, the tub began to crack again. This time, they needed to drill a whole in the walls of the adjacent bedrooms. The bathtub company came and examined the tub and said that the cracks were a result of the tub not being installed properly. After over two years of back and forth with tri Star, they finally agreed to install a new tub. Where as the tub has not cracked and it has been about two months, the job they did when installing the new tub was sloppy to say the least. Leaving the space between the floor and the tub uneven and the wall of the adjacent bedroom uneven as well with cracks at the bottom. Tri Star has done other work on our house which we were definitely happy with but as far as the bathroom, it’s been a nightmare over the past two years.

Description of Work
Redo Bathroom

Category home remodeling

5.0

05/22/2019


William I.

After being disappointed with other construction companies for years it was time for a change. I had enough of companies who are more concerned about the next job then the one they are doing. Companies that once they have a portion of your money they either no longer show up or under cut the job and don’t finish without wanting more money. No return calls and act as if they are doing you a favor. The list goes on and on. After being soured with contractors a friend recommended Tri-Star. Wow, what a difference. Professional, on time everyday and the quality of work was outstanding. Any questions or issues that I had were immediately addressed and corrected. The owner Max is a complete gentleman. I can see why they have been in business for 20 years. I would highly recommended them.

Description of Work
Roof/Siding and doors

Category roofing, siding, doors

1.0

01/02/2019


Daniel H C.

I met with Gerry Grimando of Tri-Star on 10-16-17 to discuss the replacement of 3 windows in my townhouse. Although Mr. Grimando was pleasant enough he did not appear to be all that knowledgeable about the windows he sells. I did a lot of research on the company that manufactures the windows and quite honestly I think I knew more about the windows he sells than he did. I went over the specific type of window that I wanted along with all of my desired options. I showed him things in the brochure and asked him if he had ever seen these options that and he replied no. He even stated at one point: “I've gone through this brochure a million times” yet he was unfamiliar with many of the options in the brochure. I asked him questions such as what is the difference between the different types of spacers that were offered and he replied: “I have no idea.” When he couldn't answer a lot of my questions he said: “I’m a little embarrassed, I've been doing this thirty five years” and ”I’m not a novice at this.” Later on in the conversation he said: “I should know this stuff.” He then stated: “I’m going to have to go back to the vendor and go over all of these questions with him. However, he didn't even know the name of the sales rep of the company that he buys the windows from. Gerry finally stated I've noted all of the options you want; give me a few days to get back to you with a quote. I said fine. I never heard from Gerry again. I called on three separate occasions (10-18-17, 10-24-17 and 10-26-17) and spoke to people at Tri-Star who all stated Gerry was not in the office and they also made excuses as to why he failed to get back to me. I finally had to choose a different company for the installation. I feel Tri-Star is very unprofessional and perhaps Gerry was intimidated by the fact that I was more knowledgeable than he was but that is still no excuse for failing to follow up. I would never use Tri-Star for any type of work.

Description of Work
Replacement Windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/07/2017


John F.

Tri Star is a very easy company to work with. They are prompt and courteous and the workmanship was really outstanding. I would gladly hire them again if I have a similar project.

Description of Work
Tri Star replaced all the windows and one sliding glass door in my home. The work was very well done and we are completely happy with the end results. The quality of the Windows installed is outstanding.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

04/27/2016


Joseph T.

Only problem for got to do front roof – came back was done.

Description of Work
Roof – airing clank.

Category roofing

3.0

03/28/2016


Michele M.

Labor only estimate was very high for what I would be getting. Add materials and I'd be looking at a 25,000 bathroom. I didn't care for the way they do business. Run a tight, strict schedule with estimating. Very independent as far as following up. Never called back. Didn't reply to my email and avoided giving me measurements for my materials. Not sure why. I did call back nine months later or so to see if I could get a lower estimate since I as changing the scale of the project. It was obvious that they did not want to come back again unless they "talked" to me first. Not sure why. You feel like they don't want to waste their time on you.

Description of Work
Give estimate on bathroom remodel. Very high in comparisoin to others I had recieved. The highest actually.

Category roofing

5.0

01/19/2016


Gregory F.

My wife and I have used Tri-Star on several occasions since purchasing our home in 2001. I initially contacted them because of the wonderful job they did on a couple of my neighbors' homes with workers that were courteous and considerate. Max Mannino, the owner, came to give me a quote for my roof and vinyl siding. He was extremely knowledgeable and a true professional so I signed the contract. Not only was I happy with the job but since then whenever I call Tri-Star he takes the time to give me sound advice even if it means not doing unnecessary work. When my father needed a roof a few years ago I told him that Max Mannino is the only contractor that has always been exactly on target with his advice so he went with Tri-Star and was quite pleased. Just this past October, my wife and I walked into Tri-Star to look at windows for our basement. Even though we didn't have an appointment Jerry Grimando, the General Manager, took the time to help us. This winter my basement is much warmer than in the past and the windows Tri-Star installed look great. I will be contacting Tri-Star again for a storm door and possibly a deck in 2016. With all of the empty promises, shoddy workmanship, and deceptive practices out there today it is gives me peace of mind to know that there is a company that knows how to do a job right and does so with integrity.

Description of Work
Tri-Star helped us select five replacement windows for our basement when we visited their showroom in mid-October2015. They were very accommodating and gave us an appointment to measure later that week. The windows came in two weeks later and we agreed on a date for installation (beginning of November). The workers were skilled and did a wonderful job. During the entire process Tri-Star quickly answered any of my questions and acted as true professionals. I have been dealing with them for over fifteen years and wouldn't call anyone else.

Category remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, basement remodeling

5.0

06/24/2015


Eileen M.

Got estimate on day of appointment Woram arrived On appointed day performed work and left site clean

Description of Work
Replaced flashing and caulked 6 windows, repaired soffit aluminum under eaves

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

04/30/2015


Joseph I.

The last rain we had was really bad and NO leaks. They did a great job, just a little expensive.

Description of Work
Gutters, fix chimney

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

11/05/2014


Eileen M.

Came to look at the job, gave an estimate. Called 3 days prior to performing work to finalize date of service. Completed work and cleaned up very well.

Description of Work
Repaired gutter. Removed aluminum casing and replaced on 7 windows.

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows

1.0

09/22/2014


Robert L.

Tri-Star came to our house to estimate a basement renovation to include replacing heating & A/C units, 1/2 bathroom, kitchenette, walls, ceiling and floor in approximately 1200 sq ft. The estimator left us with an assurance that we would receive the estimate in about a week. After 2 weeks, I called them back twice and did not receive a call-back. We never heard from them again. Maybe 1200 square feet of renovation was too large of a project for them. If they couldn't handle or schedule it, a return call would have been appreciated.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category remodeling, roofing, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

We would like to thank you for considering Tristar for your home repairs and we would also like to offer our sincerest apologies. Your paperwork was misplaced due to the high volume of work we handle. No job is too big or too small but every job is important to us because it is important to our customers.
5.0

09/03/2014


John A.

Very well. team was prompt, professional and cleaned up after themselves. Job was complete and very well done.

Description of Work
Thoro-seal chimney and seal all roof penetrations, cleaned gutters, fixed leaking roof above side entrance door

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing

1.0

08/10/2014


BARBARA F.

Terribly! I have a small, stand-alone building that had been vacant since I evicted the prior tenant in early January. The city marshal and I saw frozen water at the rear of the building. As Tri-Star had handled all repairs on this building for several years, I immediately called upon them. They, as usual, responded promptly and shortly thereafter made all necessary repairs including water shut-off, replacing the burst pipe, insulation, and sheetrock, and installing a new heating vent to the rear bathroom for a, total of $1,625. Max had told me that installing this vent would prevent the pipe in that bathroom from freezing. The building was vacant from January through May. (The winter months had been extremely cold, but the heat was on continuously at 62 degrees.) Sometime at the end of last April, I was check-listing the building when I discovered the water was turned off.. A tenant and I had just signed a lease to start May 1st. I then called upon Tri-Star to turn the water back on, for I feared another water spout and would need immediate repair if that happened. However, Tri-Star said that there was no need to worry about that because they had checked everything out at the end of the early January repairs - before they turned the water off as is their procedure. Also, they would have to charge me to come out. Not re-assured at all, I called my plumber just in case, and, sure enough, when he turned the water on, it started spewing at the same spot that had been repaired by Tri-Star in January. When I again called Tri-Star to come out to make the consequent repairs right away because the tenant was taking occupancy, I was told they were very busy and MAYBE, could come in several days. I was quite upset at this development. Fortunately, my plumber agreed to come the following day to repair the burst pipe. And the tenant, who is a builder and who had come by after I told him of this development, made the repairs. For this service and inconvenience, I rolled back the start-date of the lease and paid May's utilities. To say I'm disappointed with Tri-Star is putting it mildly. I am most upset that they blew me off in an emergency, time-sensitive situation. To a lesser extent, I am bothered that they never informed me that they had turned the water off, that it may have been their fault, and that this problem cost me an additional $1,350. And over the years, I gave them many jobs, coming to over $50,000., and wrote a glowing "A" review on Angieslist. REBUTTAL TO PROVIDER RESPONSE: Well - Okay! Tri-Star's reply tries to deflect focus away from their responsibility and conduct and is chock full of self-serving narration and distortions to justify their inaction, so I won't waste anyone's time responding to those extraneous details. Regarding their mantra about my negligence for not keeping the building heated: I ensured that the building would be heated ever since the new furnace was installed in December, 2012, when I put the gas service in my name. I paid $1,400 for gas heat for the vacant 1,100 sq ft-building from 12/13-4/14, the approximate time from the January '14 repair to the time the break was discovered the following May, the six National Grid gas bills are "attached." (By comparison, it cost slightly more than $1,100 for gas service for my 1500 sq ft-home during that same period. The building's heating bills for the prior Winter 12/12-4/13, a warmer season, added up to $1,100.) I don't think that the amounts of these 6 attached bills indicate that the building wasn't heated or that it was under-heated. They further explain their May conduct saying that I "dismissed all" of their suggestions. If that claim is true, why did I pay Tri-Star about $9,000 for their suggestions which included $5,000 for a new roof, sump pump, and heating vent and $4,000 in additional repairs which were not included in the insured reimbursement of $39,500? (That $9,000 figure does not include the repairs to the rear bathroom which totaled $2,600.) Because of desperate financial reasons at the time of the restoration, I did "'dismiss" their suggestion for totally replacing the building's siding. Tri-Star, perhaps too busy justifying themselves, also never responded to what kind of documentation they wanted beyond photos which I don't have. I had offered to supply the heating bills and can give them proofs of the plumbing and other repairs - if that's what they wanted. I, too, have wondered how that last event could have happened if the heat was on, the door to that bath room was kept open, and a heating vent was installed. I repeat myself here when I say we maybe would've found out the reason if Tri-Star had come out on any one of the several days from the discovery to the completion of the repairs. Moreover, for whatever caused the situation, preventative steps could be taken to avert a recurrence. As a multiple property owner, I've dealt with many contractors over 35 years, and I've established long-standing business relationships for 25- and 10-plus years with some, for the respect is mutual. I need and rely on their expertise, advice, and suggestions to avoid potential problems and to enhance my properties. I thought using the "Complaint Resolution" process would elicit some form of amends or even an explanation from Tri-Star, but they just used this system to pull out every trick in their bag. I don"t want their money, nor do I wish or have the time to pursue this matter through other avenues. I don't know at this point if I will ever again use the "lists" Complaint Resolution for dealing with this kind of patronizing provider. I am satisfied that my review can be seen on Angieslist, so that others may be prepared if they choose to deal with Tri-Star.

Description of Work
In a word - NOTHING!

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Ms [member name removed] first contacted us in the beginning of 2012 she had a broken pipe and extensive damage to the building due to lack of heating and a bad tenant, after helping her negotiate with the insurance company which enabled her to receive a much larger amount than previously awarded she signed a contract with us to restore the building due to the water damage. In august of 2012 we started the renovation and advised Ms. [member name removed] of the following: a) Have the heating unit removed from the crawl space due to constant water, dampness and relocated to the first floor b) Add a vent in the bathroom area that keeps freezing c) Remove the door in the foyer that was stopping the heat flow in the unheated area that keeps freezing. All of our suggestions were dismissed by her, we were told by Ms. [member name removed] she would have her own heating/ plumbing company take care of it. The second pipe burst issue was in February 2013 after the renovation was complete, Ms. Fischer called us again stating that a pipe had frozen in the same bathroom which was due to lack of heat in that area. We came out right after her plumber did the necessary repairs to the pipes and advised her to make sure she keeps the heat on during the winter months and she should do the repairs we previously recommended. Once again our suggestions were dismissed by her. January 9, 2014 Ms. [member name removed] contacted us again stating that the pipe had frozen in the same bathroom area that was not heated and she could not get her plumber to come out right away, so we came out on an emergency call to do the following: Replace insulation on bathroom wall. Replace missing sheetrock, tape, compound and paint. Re-install vanity and sink. Replace damaged ceiling tiles. Cost: $ 975.00 Install new heating vent from main duct to bathroom (work that should had been done from her heating contractor and was never done as we advised her) Cost 375.00 Replace broken pipe with new (work that should had been done by her plumber but he could not come out) Cost 275.00 Total cost 1,625.00 invoice dated 1/9/2014 On 5/6/2014 Ms. [member name removed] contacted us stating the water was off and she needed us to come out on the same day to turn it on. After the office advised her that we were extremely busy on that day and could not accommodated her for same day service, she got very upset and demanded that we did. After we agreed to come out the following day 5/7 and asked her to leave the keys in the mail box so we could assess the situation, she called back and, canceled the appointment stating she would have her plumber come out to do the repairs and have someone else do the interior repairs. We have all of the bills and proper paper work to substantiate the above stated. Ms. [member name removed] is stating that she is upset that we shut the water off and did not tell her…. Let’s look at the facts, it was the first week of January the building was empty, and as you can see from the history the pipes were continuously freezing. When the building was unoccupied the logical thing to do would be to shut the water to prevent any damage to her building. Ms. [member name removed] also stated she felt as if we blew her off. We are sorry she feels that way but we explained to her that we were extremely busy on that day and could not accommodated her for same day service to open the water. We gave her an appointment for the following day which was not acceptable to her standards. Again, sorry she felt that way but we do our best to get to our customers as quickly as possible. In her case that was 24 hours after the call, which is definitely an understandable time frame. In regards to the tenant compensation: She called us on May 6th, not the end of April, which was pasted the start date of her new lease, she might want to check her dates on that. When her plumber repaired the pipe she did not call us to inform us that our work was leaking, or show any proof that it was the same section we had repaired, so how can she say it was our work? She mentioned that it may have been our fault on the review? So she is not sure… but just annoyed that things weren’t taken care of the moment she called. How could pipes freeze if the water is turned off and the building is properly heated as she stated? We added a vent to help heat the bathroom, we don’t control her thermostat, ironically her pipes haven’t frozen when the building was occupied only when it was empty due lack of heat. Ms. [member name removed] has stated she was so happy with all of the work and services we had done for her over the years that she had given us a glowing A rating on Angie’s list which we are grateful for and appreciate. Now, because of one instance that we were not able to give her the same day service we have become a bad contractor and should reimburse her for damages, embarrassment and stress caused by the lack of keeping the building properly heated? We find it unfair to say the least, if the building was kept heated as she states there would not be any frozen pipes. If she can provide us pictures and documentation that the repair we did was not done properly and leaked we would be more than happy to reimburse her for that. We don’t feel responsible for any frozen pipe in the building since she manages and controls the heating. Thank your for the time in this matter and we hope we can resolve this matter amicably.
3.0

06/20/2014


Anil D.

They're good in the beginning to get you in the business. They're okay at the time. They do stand behind their work. They're expensive. They came right on time.

Description of Work
We used them. They corrected the water leak and installed windows in my house.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/17/2014


Orlando B.

They did a great job installing the windows. I followed up a few times about some minor issues. They have a great customer service (shout out to Maria) and take pride in their work. They are highly responsive and my windows look great compared to other recently done windows in the area. They do cost more but you also are getting better than average work.

Description of Work
Install new windows.

Category replacement windows

3.0

06/04/2014


Rami D.

The floor measured about 700 square feet and their estimate was the most expensive one I've ever got. The gentleman was nice and he showed up on time; however, he wasn't motivated enough to give me a written estimate.

Description of Work
Tri-Star Construction gave me a verbal estimate for a first-floor apartment renovation.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/15/2014


David H.

They were excellent. They gave us excellent work and they came within 24 hours. They were very courteous, very professional. They were very much on time. I definitely would recommend them and I have, to friends and family who use them and they were very happy. I would use them again. They were definitely worth on Angie's List.

Description of Work
Tri Star Construction rewired my electricity in the house.

Category electrician

5.0

04/03/2014


Michael L.

Installed shutters ,they came measured ordered the product ,installed neat and straight cleaned up aftrr work was done no problemd at all

Description of Work
Installed shutters

Category electrician

2.0

03/19/2014


Ferdinand B.

They were very professional. They were very prompt when I tried to make appointments with them. They were just okay. I probably wouldn't use them because when I was trying to talk to them about doing another estimate, they didn't look like they were looking for business or anything like that. I just got the impression that they could do without me. The first estimate was around $10000. They didn't even bother coming when I made the second appointment. I had to call them up and remind them about the appointment.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Tri Star Construction for renovation of the basement.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

03/08/2014


GEORGE B.

Very happy with the job. Workers came on time or called if they were not coming because of bad weather. Got everything that could be done in one day then came back and finished ASAP.

Description of Work
Put siding on house, fixed roof, and repaired and cleaned gutters.

Category gutter cleaning, gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

01/31/2014


Michael L.

Worked with 2 different workers for sizing and expertise overall excellent work. Workers showed up on time with quality equipment. Finished in 2 hours.

Description of Work
Added shutters to new construction.

Category replacement windows

5.0

01/24/2014


Maureen S.

It went exactly as described. On time and on budget. Wayne was very easy to work with.

Description of Work
New shingle roof tear off old shingles and replace with lifetime shingles. Rebuild yankee gutters and reline with copper. Reflash chimney.

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

01/22/2014


David M.

They arrived on time and installed the 3 windows first - quickly. the door was next - it's a very old house but they were able to install & level everything in the one day.

Description of Work
1. Removed existing front doorway & installed new Provia door with molding & sill. 2. Removed old windows 3. and installed 3 Great Lakes windows.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

01/21/2014


Richard H.

Company was very professional. Gave us estimates in writing. Very prompt. Very good at clean up. Answered all questions and suggested help. Everything was written down with prices. Came to home everyday to monitor work. Assistant was very good.

Description of Work
Change doors in home. Re do bathroom. New floor and shower tiles. New vanity, new medicine cabinet, new jacuzzi bath tub, new lighting and vent. Repaired and replaced other items in house.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

12/10/2013


MICHELE N.

Prompt estimate and scheduling of work. Appreciate-told did not need to do soffits. Work done quickly, efficiently and neat job.

Description of Work
Requested replacement of aluminum trim, soffits on garage. Install leaders & gutters on garage. Replace rotten wood trim front entrance.

Category gutter repair, remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Express Construction

    Brownstone, roofing, waterproofing, steam cleaning, brick pointing, print stripping, siding, stucco, gutters, painting, bathroom, kitchen, basement, carpentry, sidewalk, all kinds of cement work.  

    Mr Brickman Inc

    All estimates are free. Owner operated. We are licensed and insured.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    KITCHENS, BATHROOMS, ROOFING, GUTTERS, SIDING, WINDOWS, DOORS, STUCCO, FENCES/RAILINGS, ELECTRICAL, AWNINGS, MAILBOXES, DECKS/PORCHES,

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION

    How is TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION open?

    TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION provide

    TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available

    Does TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Ask TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION for details on free project estimates.

    Does TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offer emergency services?

    Yes, TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION?

    Yes, TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offers warranties.

    What services does TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offer?

    TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: KITCHENS, BATHROOMS, ROOFING, GUTTERS, SIDING, WINDOWS, DOORS, STUCCO, FENCES/RAILINGS, ELECTRICAL, AWNINGS, MAILBOXES, DECKS/PORCHES,

    Are there any services TRI STAR CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    Ask for details.