Sagona Contracting, LLC

About

Founded 1978 • With Angi since January 2006

Since 1978, we have proven responsive, dependable and honest to all of our customers. Each project deserves a magnitude of professionalism that Sagona Contracting is prepared to deliver. A supervisor will always be at the job to answer any questions you may have and strive to complete the job in a safe and timely manner. Book a free consultation today....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+53 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(110) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

106

4

0

3

0

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (88)hardscaping (43)concrete repair (38)masonry (28)Patios (21)concrete driveways (20)drain pipe installation (16)stone & gravel (26)lawn care (26)irrigation system (20)mulch delivering (16)excavating (12)
Showing 1-25 of 110 reviews
5.0

06/27/2022


Francine H.

Can't say enough about Sagona Contracting. The office personnel and the crews in the field executing the designs were professional, respectful of us and the house/property, very knowledgeable and friendly. From the design to the finished product the experience was exceptionally positive. They were great at putting their knowledge to use in solving issues and problems, about what we wanted and what was feasible. Even suggesting options that might be less costly and still have the same effect at the end of the project. The Family Business Treats their Clients as just that, wanting to have the end product exceed your expectations. Tom and Kevin were on site throughout the project and the crews (too many to name) were very skilled at executing a great finished product with attention to the smallest detail. The combined experience and skill of the whole team was a very welcome aspect of the project, and we were very satisfied with the final outcome. JOB WELL DONE.

Description of Work
Repaired, both driveways, front steps, graded front and side yards, laid concrete, pavers, grass, installed irrigation system, as well as planter beds with plants

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2022

5.0

07/29/2020


Mikel A.

Jose and his crew are marvelous During our first meeting he pointed out things to be done at appropriate times, such as fertilizer the plants and pruning He is what a gardener should be. "There to take care of the plants!" Not just mow now and go! Thank you. Jose

Description of Work
Landscapes

Category landscaping

Cost $990

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2020

5.0

06/25/2020


Will A.

Given the quarantine, I embarked on a mission to update the curb appeal of my house...as soon as the landscaping sector reopened I solicited estimates for the removal of my existing lawn and replacement with new sod as well as extending the drainage from a dead leader at the front of my house to the street. Sagona has done both cement (sidewalks, apron and a wall) and sod work for me in the past; so, of course, I included them. Most of the estimates came in around $2400-2500...he was a little higher than that but he ended up working with me on the pricing. One of the points that bothered me about the other estimates was that every one said that they would not be responsible for any damage done to the less than one year old sidewalks Sagona had installed for me. I knew, just based upon their past work and ethos, that regardless of who had installed them or how old they were, they would take care to not damage them. That might be a hint to some contractorss, btw, that you don't tell a homeowner there's a good chance you're going to damage something but "So what?" They showed up on time on the appointed day and went right to work...the old lawn was removed in good order...the trench was dug for the drain...the remaining soil was turned....mega amounts of top soil was wheel barrowed in, contoured and then made ready for the sod which was then laid perfectly...there at 8...gone by 5...beautiful new lawn installed with care... Again, they won't be the lowest estimate but I have yet to choose a lowest estimate and not gotten burned by it...as it is with anything...you get what you pay for and when it comes to Sagano...their work is worth every penny and more...

Description of Work
New Sod Laid in Front of House & Drain Installed From to Street from Leader

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $2,850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2020

5.0

03/02/2020


Justin F.

Excellent. Sagona did a fast, neat, and beautiful job transforming my front yard landscaping. They installed a sprinkler system with a digital controller that worked perfectly. They also replaced my lawn and it looks amazing. Tom was also available to answer every question I had about plant and lawn maintenance, even months after the job had been completed. That goes a long way in my book. Worth every penny. THANKYOU.

Description of Work
Front yard landscaping, new lawn, sprinkler system

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2019

5.0

02/29/2020


John F.

Tom and his team’s craftsmanship, attention to detail, and professionalism are first class. Tom’s experience and ideas made my backyard and kitchen come out great- well beyond expectations!

Description of Work
landscaping pavers kitchen concrete patio irrigation lighting

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, landscaping, masonry, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/29/2020

5.0

02/29/2020


James M.

Total professional company...Tom was thorough from inception...Sagona provided me with a proposal that was detailed and all inclusive, they did not low ball me and try to make it up with additional charges. Tom understood the scope of work and included everything up front. The construction phase was quick, clean and professional. They worked in a way to not disturb our daily routines and cleaned up every night as if they weren't there. They were also extremely respectful to my neighbors and made sure my project would not interfere with thier property. The end result was beautiful and beyond what I expected. I would never use any other company for my outdoor construction needs. Sagona is the best around, no comparison!!!!

Description of Work
masonry, pavers, sod, concrete, landscaping, sprinklers, drainage

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, pavers, gravel, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/03/2020

5.0

02/29/2020


Vin R.

Sagona Contracting did an outstanding job, transforming our home. Super professional, honest, very knowledgeable and informative, and super reliable. We are so happy with the amazing work Tom and his team provided. They work courteously, respectably, and cleaned up at the end of each day. They gave us everything we asked for and more!! We will definitely be working with them again.

Description of Work
retaining wall masonry steps pavers sod drainage

Category concrete repair, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/29/2020

5.0

02/29/2020


Lana R.

Thomas and his crew did an amazing job in a timely fashion. They were honest and didn't try to push unnecessary work on us. They transformed the front of our home with their landscaping design and new sod! We were completely satisfied with the work that Sagona did and would highly recommend them! They did work on our neighbors home as well including pavers and it looks amazing!!

Description of Work
landscaping and sod

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/29/2020

5.0

02/29/2020


Michelle M.

Our yard looks amazing! Sagona gave it a total makeover. Tom was always stopping by and checking on things. He went above and beyond our expectations. His team is professional and courteous. We can’t wait to use them for our next project.

Description of Work
pavers, masonry, steps, concrete

Category concrete repair, landscaping, masonry, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2019

5.0

02/29/2020


Paul V.

I have been burned in the past with contractors working on my drainage nightmare in my backyard with promises and a lot of money given with temporary if not 0 results and wasted money. When Tom came to my house I told him this and he assured me that his company was different and they would solve my 5 year drainages issue. He was right and I can’t believe how my backyard looks and drains without any issues. Tom and his team were amazing, professional, thorough and unbelievably fast. After they finished I would check my backyard during a rainstorm and look in amazement that it finally happened! No more water issues. Also Tom kept checking as well and made sure even a month after they completed the job that I was happy and that no issues came up. I would recommend this company all day every day.

Description of Work
Sod, drainage and gravel

Category pavers, gravel, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2020

5.0

02/28/2020


Celia M.

It went very well. Tom was great to work with. The crew was professional and meticulous, and the results look fantastic!

Description of Work
We needed a complete yard overhaul. We had a patio with pavers installed, back stairs removed and replaced with new stone steps, as well as new landscape planted and a beautiful fence for privacy.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, irrigation systems, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2019

5.0

02/28/2020


John T.

I have used Sagona for two projects now. The first time I used Sagona, I wanted my driveway and some walkways redone with pavers. Like most people, I went through the process of getting multiple quotes. Some of those other guys didn't even bother showing up. Some did, but did not inspire confidence. Tom's price was not the cheapest, but after going over the work and how they would do it I was confident that the job would be done right. Tom and his team were completely professional, always showed up on time, cleaned up after themselves and did an AMAZING job. I was thrilled. That's why when the time came to redo my entire back yard, I only made one phone call. I called Tom and went over what I wanted done. I wanted a the old concrete patio removed, some trees removed, and a new, much larger patio that incorporated a pergola. Tom not only listened to my plans, but had some additional suggestions that improved the overall usefulness and aesthetics of the yard. He then went off and did some 3-D renderings to help visualize everything. When we agreed on the work, once again it was done in a very professional manner. I enjoyed watching these guys work. Each person has their own specialty that they're responsible for, and everything comes together. When finished, the work came out stunning. The large patio incorporates a large and beautiful inlay section under the pergola, solid footings for the pergola's posts, a seat wall for additional seating and a large hidden concrete foundation that will support a future built in kitchen. They even laid some electrical conduit under the patio for me so I could run power to the pergola and other areas for low voltage lights. I can't say enough good things about these guys. They are head and shoulders above the rest.

Description of Work
pavers, retaining wall, concrete, sod, lighting, pergola

Category concrete repair, landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2019

5.0

09/18/2019


Will A.

I had used Tom Sagona previously and was very happy with the decision. I had a couple new projects arise - new sidewalks, walkway and curbs as well as a small sod job - and so I gave them a shot at the work. His estimate was on the higher side of the 6 I got...IIRC, he was the second most expensive but I was well aware of the quality of his work versus the quality of the work of the other estimates I had gotten and there was value in paying the extra. He arrived on time...his work crew was clean and efficient. After a week, I had a new lawn in the back and new sidewalks, curbs and walkway. I couldn't be happier with the outcome. I would hire again.

Description of Work
Sidewalks, curb, walkway, sod, drain...

Category concrete repair, lawn service

Cost $8,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2019

5.0

04/10/2019


Steven M.

They built me a backyard oasis that is very impressive

Description of Work
Needed Yard to be completed after having a inground pool installed

Category excavators, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2019

5.0

03/12/2019


donald S.

It went exceptionally well! A storm damaged our tree and the team quickly responded, and staked the tree upright. This is a great company and I appreciate that they stand by their good work. I will definitely recommend them and hire them again!!!

Description of Work
Fix tree in yard

Category landscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2019

5.0

12/15/2018


Linda S.

Excellent. Scheduled promptly. Did great work. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Remove and replace broken slate near front door

Category masonry, pavers, gravel

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2018

5.0

11/27/2018


Ingar A.

I couldn't be happier with the work that Sagona Contracting did on my driveway and sidewalk. The entire project went like clockwork, from the demolition and removal of my old driveway, to the concrete work, to the paver installation. They even took care of a couple of small tasks that weren't included in the original proposal. The project was managed by Thomas Sagona and he did a great job keeping the work on schedule and ensuring the quality was excellent. His professionalism, job knowledge and communication skills were also top-notch. I would highly recommend Sagona Contracting to others needing similar work done.

Description of Work
Install pavers in driveway and along side of house. Install new sidewalk.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2018

Images

Review for Sagona Contracting, LLC - 30 Sagona Ct, Staten Island, NY - 37573652

+1 More

5.0

10/18/2018


Danielle J.

I reached out to Sagona Contracting after waiting months for our contractor to complete work on our sidewalk and driveway. I asked for a rough estimate of the cost and timeframe it would take to finish the job that our contractor had started months earlier. Tom responded to me almost immediately, with a very kind and sympathetic message and a few questions about my project. We communicated several times, well into the evening, going over measurements and other details. Tom offered to stop by whenever we were available, to look at the job and give an exact quote, but was able to provide a preliminary quote and time frame based on the information and photos that I sent to him. The price was very reasonable and I was so happy with the expected time needed to complete the job, I was ready to move forward right away. My husband felt we had to give our original contractor one more chance to come through. He did in the end, but I would have preferred that Sagona Contracting completed the job. I would hire Sagona Contracting for future projects and will highly recommend to others.

Description of Work
New concrete sidewalk and apron; Pavers in driveway

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, hardscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2018

5.0

10/11/2018


Will A.

Estimate was fair. Not cheapest not most expensive. What sold me was that Tom Sagona followed up directly, via text and in person, on both the project and any questions or concerns that I had. When I got into my major concern, he offered an immediate solution and explained in detail what he planned to do (which, btw, wasn't part of the initial job and so it added to the cost and which when I researched it, the increase was reasonable). He came the day before he was to start and explained to me exactly what he was going to do. He also brought his workers with him and, in my presence, explained to them what needed to be done. They showed up the next day did the demolition and began the project which was completed the next day. Workers were efficient. They worked cleanly...there was no sign of the demolition otr work by product left behind. I give this company AAA+++ rating and plan on using them again next Spring..

Description of Work
Rebuilt retaining wall/installed exterior drain in driveway

Category concrete repair, drain pipe

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2018

5.0

09/26/2018


Carl V.

It went amazingly well. Tom was a consummate professional. The Sagona team performed a complete transformation of the front landscaping in one day! This included ripping out existing overgrown landscaping and creating a neat inviting look with hardy shrubs and an appropriate amount of color. I would highly recommend them in the future.

Description of Work
Transforming the landscaping for the front of my house on Staten Island

Category landscaping

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2018

5.0

06/15/2018


Diane S.

Thomas Sagona was very professional and understanding to our needs. The workers were punctual and hard working. They finished the job in a timely manner and we are very satisfied with their work. They provided excellent service and I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Remodeled the backyard with stone pavers and rubber mulch

Category excavators, landscaping, pavers, gravel, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2018

5.0

06/10/2018


Edward S.

Sagona Contracting exceeded all of my expectations. The workers were polite and professional. The owners were on site every day and addressed any questions or concerns I had. Their professionalism and attention to detail is second to none. They are without a doubt the best company I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. If you're looking to get work done,look no further and call Sagona Contracting.

Description of Work
Concrete removal,concrete installation,yard leveling,sod,gravel and sprinkler system installed.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2018