Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Larry's Landscaping

Founded 2009 • With Angi since May 2011

4.9

(89) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2155 Helderberg Ave

Schenectady, NY 12306

Description

Larry's Landscaping offers professional landscape design and installation to the Capital District. We pride ourselves on providing you personal service and the utmost attention to detail in creating or enhancing your landscape. With more than 30 years of experience, we would like to be your

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/10/2021


Douglas S.

As always, Larry and Patty were a pleasure to work with. The past 6 years and nothing but the very best customer service in design, quality, and on time on budget. We would not consider anyone other than Larry's Landscaping to do our home. Many compliments after work completion year after year.

Description of Work
Tree installed, plants installed, sod installed, mulch installed, plantings trimmed.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

5.0

06/19/2020


Robert I.

Larry, Patty, Josh and the "guys" did an awesome job, that included initial design, planting of shrubs, perennials, and trees, as well as placement of rock, stone and mulch around our home and rear deck. Great design ideas and selection of plants for our home. They were meticulous with the job, and became more like family during the process. Nobody works any harder than Larry does to make a customer happy. We started last year and finished this year. We will no doubt find more to do for them in the future. Thank you for all of your input, ideas and hard work. Have a great summer!

Description of Work
Landscaping of new home and deck

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

5.0

05/06/2020


Douglas S.

Have dealt with a Larry, Patty and Josh for the past 5 plus years. Would never consider anyone else. They are the most honest, hardworking, and responsible people we have had the pleasure to work with. Always on time, on budget and go above and beyond for your satisfaction. They are the most humble and honorable people we have ever dealt with. They always exceed our expectations. God Bless them and may they have many more years of success. We will never use another company.

Description of Work
Yearly maintenance on landscape

Category landscaping, mulch, hardscaping

1.0

05/02/2019


James P.

Initially, Larry and Patty were extremely responsive. A date was set up for an estimate (4/6/19) and Larry and Patty showed up exactly on the time planned. During the consultation, both were very pleasant to talk to and understand the work that was to be needed. They told me to give them a week to write up an estimate and they would get back to me. As of 4/15/19, I still had not heard anything from Larry or Patty, so I messaged them asking if an estimate was completed. They apologized and stated that due to the busy season, they were running behind and an estimate would be completed shortly. That was understandable due to the seasonal type of business. However, it is now 5/1/19 and NO further communication has been received from Larry or Patty. No actual estimate and not even an update to state any estimate was being worked on. It appears to me that my job seemed to be second fiddle to any other job that may have been received. I even gave their number to a friend who called for an estimate and they never heard back from either Larry or Patty either. It would be a company I couldn't trust to get the job done on time, especially if I was to provide cash for any job.

Description of Work
No work was done

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Sorry we failed to get you an estimate in an timely matter . Hope you find a company that can.
5.0

10/01/2018


BRUCE J.

Portions of lawn had to be reseeded due to grubs. Turned out to be more work than anticipated and they were here most of day with extra trips for top soil and seed. Great job. Will definitely have Larry back for some much needed landscaping next year!

Description of Work
Reseed Lawn

Category landscaping

5.0

08/21/2018


Nick D.

Absolutely fantastic job! From the estimate to the completion of the work, it was a pleasure working with Joshua and Larry. We had an above ground pool removed. The pool was partially underground, so there was a large hole to fill. The job, which I thought would take two days, was done in less than one. The work included moving pebbles that surrounded the pool into the hole, adding about 18 yards of soil, and planting grass. Not only was the estimate of the job much better that others, Joshua and Larry added, at no extra charge, flattening a nearby hill so that we would have more usable lawn and seeding another area of our lawn that was bare. Throughout the work, Joshua or Larry, or both, were present. I really like that. I had a good feeling about Larry's Landscaping from the beginning, when Joshua came by to evaluate the work involved. When the work was done, my feeling was completely vindicated. Larry's Landscaping will be my first choice for any future landscaping needs.

Description of Work
Landscaping where a pool was removed.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/28/2017


Joseph S.

Fabulous job and done on time when we were told it was going to be done.

Description of Work
Our front yard was redone as well as moving several existing plantings, Everything is beautifully placed and vibrant even for this time of the year. We also had some previous edging, installed by another landscaper incorrectly, repaired and it looks great. Looking forward to having additional work done next year.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/19/2017


Mary Ann F.

Once again, they surpassed all my expectations. They are very personable and professional -- and so easy to work with. Larry attends to every small detail as if the property were his own and he was the one who would be enjoying it everyday. I highly recommend them!!!

Description of Work
Larry and his crew replaced my foundation plantings last year. I was thrilled with the quality of their work and had them back this year to replace some additional plants, extend the stone mulch I had done last year and do the annual edging and mulching.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/24/2017


Frank P.

Awesome family-run group that landscaped very professionally with great attention to detail. Very timely and easy to deal with. This family run business takes care of your property like it is their own. You will not be disappointed.

Description of Work
Full property landscaping, removal and replacement of dead shrubbery, addition of new plantings.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

5.0

06/15/2017


Domingo A.

The quality of their work was superb. In addition to installing the evergreen garden we wanted they went in to manicure the existing landscaping to ensure everything blend in beautifully!

Description of Work
Larry and his crew are one of the most attentive and friendly people to work with. Josh will work with you until every little detail has been addressed. No only they were responsive to my needs but also very flexible to the constant adjustments that needed to be made for our project to become a reality.

Category landscaping, mulch, tree service

5.0

06/07/2017


Jeffrey H.

Perfect. The job was incredibly well done and on schedule. They were great to work with and we can definitely highly recommend them.

Description of Work
landscaping to front and back of the house. Trees, bushes and flowers.

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

05/13/2017


Venkat C.

The initial estimate took some time to come. However Larry and Patty came by to look around and find out what we wanted. so they could provide us with an estimate. I was very impressed by their punctuality and attention to detail. They listened patiently to understand what we were looking for and gave us their recommendations and suggestions. Patty took some pictures, I am guessing to help put together an estimate. They said they would email us the estimate and we could go from there. It took a little while for them to get back to us with an estimate. The estimate was not unreasonable and the work was mostly done on time as scheduled.

Description of Work
Install plants and bushes in the front of the house.

Category landscaping

5.0

05/02/2017


Susan H.

EXCELLENT! The area looks beautiful now, and ready for the little shed I have. The plants were quite the touch. And bringing the river rock around the back of the house and around the corner, really finishes off the look.

Description of Work
I had at least a 12x20 area where my pool pump, pool heater and air conditioner were located. Larry and Patty suggested river rock and ornamental grass along the path. They also suggested taking the river rock along the back of my house.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/30/2017


John N.

They did a great job. The property looks great and they cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Landscape large area -- front, sides, backyard and around shed. Installed new shrubs, bushes, flowers and a large Cleveland pear tree; edged all beds, put in 13 yards of brown mulch. They had to remove a lot of old shrubbery that was overgrown.

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

01/24/2017


Mary Ann F.

It is superior to all other landscapers that I've used. Larry and his group are far and away better than anyone else I've used. Larry has an excellent eye and he is a perfectionist. All of his staff is very easy to work with, very personable and they all want everything to turn right.

Description of Work
They took out old shrubbery and replaced it and foundation plantings.

Category landscaping

5.0

09/10/2016


Carolyn D.

Absolutely wonderful job. Our arborvitae are 40 years old and give us wonderful privacy around our pool. Larry and his crew came in and trimmed using hand clippers. When they were finished the arborvitae looked fabulous! Other landscapers that we had used electric trimmers leaving bare spots and they would look horrible, I dreaded having them trimmed every year because those bare spots would take forever to come back. When Larry was finished, NO BARE SPOTS, just trimmed and healthy looking. We will definitely hire back! He even did a couple of extra shrubs for us that we're not included in the estimate and didn't charge us. I was also extremely impressed when I saw Larry tying up branches that were loose. Larry is extremely knowledge about all shrubs and plants and will discuss any problems and give solutions. Awesome landscaper. Great crew also. Friendly and courteous. Great cleanup. Also quick response. I called for an estimate, they were there the next day. Four days after the estimate they were here trimming the shrubs. We couldn't be happier!!!!

Description of Work
¨Trimmed approximately 50 arborvitae shrubs around our pool, plus two in the front of our home and a Japanese maple tree.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/29/2016


Carl D.

Wonderful, excellent and caring service. This is a local family run business. Larry,s wife and daughter returned my call, set up an appointment promptly and kept the appointment. Friendly, warm, and professional service. Many suggestions followed by a sketch, pictures of the shrubs with flexible option for change. On the day of the job, Larry and his crew worked with respect to our property as well as our neighbors. The finished job was beautiful. Larry actually finished spreading the mulch by hand. Perfection! Love our landscaping.

Description of Work
Complete landscaping and design of the side of our townhouse. Removal of dead shrubs and replacement in the front of our townhouse.

Category landscaping, mulch

1.0

08/04/2016


kathleen S.

He did not provide me with the promised estimate. His wife and daughter showed up on 7/15, took pictures and spent about an hour discussing what I wanted done. They said that an estimate would be e-mailed to me in a week. It was never sent so I followed up with an e-mail on 7/23 and this was also ignored. I waited a few days and then called only to be reassured that they were behind and I could expect the estimate later that day. And no, there was no estimate sent out. Once again I waited a few days giving the benefit of the doubt but got nothing so I called them again. I told them my time was also important and that if they couldn't do it to just say so. There was a comment that Larry did not know if he could do the ground cover plantings on the slope in the yard. BUT that the estimate would be done and sent out to me by the next day. I even asked if it was because there were no time slots left and I was assured that there were openings on August 8. Of course there was no estimate sent to me. So far I have waited since July 15 for this estimate or at least an honest answer as to whether or not the work could be completed. There was not a miscommunication or a lost telephone number or email address. It was a fairly sizeable job and not a waste of their time either. I would have been willing to have them do part of the work if the company had limitations as to their ability to accomplish everything requested.

Description of Work
landscaping and yard work

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

5.0

07/22/2016


C H.

Larry's and Josh and their family of workers worked hard through some very hot days to really deliver results that were better than we had imagined. We will only use Larry's for any future landscaping needs. Actually we have already asked them to create a wild flower bed in our back yard in the coming weeks.

Description of Work
Larry's created several mulched beds for trees and plants around our house. They were even able to transplant some plants to save us money. They helped us design the layout of the beds and choose proper plants for the different areas. They were very flexible to some additions that we had when they came.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/25/2016


Patricia K.

Larry's Landscaping is a local, family run business...and believe me...they treat you like you are a part of the family! "You want it where?...No problem!" Even if you change your mind and want it moved another foot over (after it's in the ground!) They even go the extra mile and take care of little things you didn't think of doing. And they are perfectionists! We received numerous compliments on the work they did in our front and back yards. Polite, experienced, great planting advice, punctual, and worth every dollar spent. Recommend them without any hesitation for big or small jobs.

Description of Work
Cleaned up garden area from winter, put in new landscape cloth when necessary, moved plants, put in new top soil, buried pots for new rock garden, brought in rocks for the rock garden, put down mulch for all areas, cut out new area n lawn around fence for lilac bush, cut clean edge around all garden/plant areas, and so much more.... basically anything we asked and we implemented the original plan.

Category landscaping, mulch

5.0

05/08/2016


Randy M.

Larry and his wife first came out and looked at the property with us and discussed how best to accomplish the changes we were looking for in our yard. We did this last year but started a bit late, and Larry's calendar was pretty booked. We didn't want to do the work in July-- not great for new plants-- so agreed we'd contact him again in the spring. We did so and he and his wife came out again. After this second consultation we visited a nursery to view some of the options for planting and Larry also sent us some pictures to help us. Once we had decided we were able to have them come within a month to do the work. Larry showed up as promised (i.e. on time) with his two sons. The three of them worked hard for two full days (about 18 hours total) and also had an additional helper for some of the second day. They were extremely professional; attentive to detail, asking and listening to our questions about various small details, and making sure the work was exactly as we wanted it. Larry and his sons are also pleasant and down to earth, and good communicators. We are very pleased with the results and would definitely highly recommend Larry's Landscaping.

Description of Work
Larry and his team removed two overgrown junipers, planted three Canadian hemlocks at our backyard border and a set of yews to replace one of the junipers. They seeded the extra area left barren after removal of one of the junipers and placed mulch in the other (all accordng to our directions in consultation with Larry). They also made a stone and mulch border around most of the house and trimmed a few low-hanging tree branches.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/18/2016


Thomas M.

We decided to take advantage of the early spring and put our home on the market much earlier than we had expected to. Larry and his wife responded immediately to our request for a bid to clean up our yard, and started to do the work immediately after we agreed on a price. Larry made several suggestions on things that would improve the overall appearance of our yard, but not require a lot of effort to maintain. They completed the job quickly and professionally, and did an excellent job of cleaning up after they were done. This is the second time we've gotten help from this firm, and my only regret is that we didn't discover them years ago so that they could have done a lot of regular lawn maintenance. This is a family-owned business, and all of their work is either done or supervised by a family member. Larry is extremely proud of the work that he does, and he has absolutely earned the excellent reputation he has. I recommend his work without hesitation, he provides exceptional service at a very competitive price.

Description of Work
Larry's Landscaping redefined all of our flower beds by edging them, and then applied a fresh layer of mulch. They trimmed multiple shrubs to make them look better (and encourage new growth), and generally improved the "curb appeal" of our home as we prepared to put it on the market.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

5.0

11/01/2015


daniel B.

We have been piling compost material, leaves mostly, onto a low area of our backyard in hopes of one day leveling it off, seeding and making it a usable space. This low area has always remained wet and unusable with weeds of every variety growing freely so we just added our annual accumulation of leaf, lawn cuttings, etc on top so that one day we could have a higher and better drained property. We hired Larry's Landscaping to convert this area into a better place and he did! Larry was very professional, easy to work with, on time (actually a few days early...but that was a good thing), hard workers and quick! No complaints, excellent choice. We had three bidders, all Angie's Listed...Larry's was the best, thank you for all the good company's to choose from. Dan

Description of Work
Leveled off my large compost pile, raked and seeded the entire area.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

5.0

10/28/2015


Thomas M.

This firm is fantastic. They returned my initial phone call the same day, arrived on time to prepare an estimate, made several suggestions on the best way to meet my objectives (including a couple that actually saved me money) and gave me a detailed quote. When they came to do the work they were on-time again, did a fantastic job and then completely cleaned up the work site of all the clippings from the shrubs. The gentleman who prepared the estimate also worked on the job, so there was absolutely no question about what was to be done. This is a small firm, but they completed the job far quicker than I imagined possible. As an added plus, two of the three men who did the work are recent military veterans. I have already booked them to help with some more landscaping work in the spring, and I look forward to working with them again.

Description of Work
Trimmed and shaped a number of large shrubs and small trees, reshaped a large bed that was filled with stone and added a truckload of additional decorative rock to the bed. They rearranged several large, decorative rocks that are in the bed to make a more balanced look, and reseated a large (3' by 4') square of concrete that is part of a walkway.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

10/24/2015


William S.

Larry, his son and his son's best friend did an outstanding job successfully completing a three day landscaping job. They worked all day each day rarely taking a break. They worked as an experienced team knowing what each other had to do. They were professional at all time and were courteous to me and my wife. They worked hard from the time they arrived until they left at the end of each work day. My wife and I are extremely pleased with the outcome of the project. We will not hesitate to recommend them to family and friends. In fact the next door neighbor is going to hire Larry next year for a major landscaping project.

Description of Work
Larry and his family designed and completed a large landscaping project

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Henry Montgomery Tree Service

    Please call us directly at 518-456-2494 for fastest response times. We are very interested in satisfying the customer. we will not take any payment until the job is done and to the customers satisfaction. We offer full service stump grinding which includes cleanup, topsoil, seed and straw. we also offer sod as an up charge.  

    Angi Certified

    Staats Masonry

    Staats Masonry is a small family owned business (Howard and Serena Staats). Over 30 years experience in Masonry and Construction services, with 2 years vocational schooling. Formally trained and certified by well known industry leaders such as Increte, Colormaker and Engrave-a-crete. We repair and replace foundation walls, install drainage systems, catch basins We build retaining walls, install bluestone patios/sidewalks, we also install concrete patios/sidewalk. Rebuild/repair porches/steps. Parge foundation walls. There’s no jobs too small.  

    Angi Certified

    Saul's Paving

    The Fifth Generation Of Quality Paving At Reasonable Rates Driveways & Parking Lots, Paving Repairs & Patching Tar & Stone Driveways Paving Bricks & Excavating Fully Insured, Free Estimates, Member of BBB One Call Does It All... SAUL'S PAVING Paving Your Road To Success!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential landscape installation. Edging. Mulch. Decorative stone. Trimming & corrective pruning. Spring & fall cleanup.

    Services Not Offered

    Hardscape walls and patios, residential and commercial mowing, large tree removal

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Larry's Landscaping

    How is Larry's Landscaping overall rated?

    Larry's Landscaping is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Larry's Landscaping open?

    Larry's Landscaping is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Larry's Landscaping provide

    Larry's Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Larry's Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Larry's Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Larry's Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Larry's Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Larry's Landscaping?

    Yes, Larry's Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Larry's Landscaping offer?

    Larry's Landscaping offers the following services: Residential landscape installation. Edging. Mulch. Decorative stone. Trimming & corrective pruning. Spring & fall cleanup.

    Are there any services Larry's Landscaping does not offer?

    Hardscape walls and patios, residential and commercial mowing, large tree removal