Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

G & A Custom Homes

Founded 2004 • With Angi since April 2011

4.5

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

424 Third St

Schenectady, NY 12306

Description

Open since 2004, we are a family run business that takes pride in our work, and also gives you a great price with a quality job done. We are not happy untill you're happy.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/21/2016


Marlene D.

He never showed up and never called on the day of the appointment to let me know he wouldn't be coming. He called within 24 hours of the appointment time, but by then, I had taken a day off from work and waited for him the entire day. I had to get a refund from Angie's List.

Description of Work
I bought a deal for $190 for a gutter cleaning and roof tune-up.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

5.0

03/05/2015


Cynthia S.

Professsional guy on the phone and honest about not being able to do the service in the time frame I needed.

Description of Work
Ending Soon: $99 for Spring Roof Maintenance

Category roofing

5.0

11/12/2014


tricia T.

Removal and installation of new roof went fine. The problem is I have cedar shakes on house and some of them came off during demolition of old roof. I called G & A to see if they could come out and replace them. After two calls they replied and said yes. They would be out in a couple of days. After waiting a week, I called again and left a message. I never heard from them again. I have no problem with their work . Just the lack of response. Geno came out on a Sunday and did the repairs on the cedar shakes. He cut, replaced, and painted all missing shakes. I am very pleased and happy. I will definitely be using G&A again in the spring to fix my chimney.

Description of Work
Remove three layers of old roof and install new roof

Category roofing

2.0

10/20/2014


Marilyn H.

This Remodel was assessed and written out by a Licensed Architect (I will attach it below) This job was supposed to be completed in anticipation of an expected newborn in June. That was made quite clear and re-emphasized. Throughout the contract I failed to be able to contact the contractor and/or receive a response in a timely fashion. The following are the points on which I have issue. 1. We had a contract and agreement that was set in motion in person, onsite and agreed upon that he would Start on Sat. May 24th 2014 with Tues. May 27th as an alternate date in the event they time needed to finish a prior job. That start date did not occur. Instead they began work nearly 1 week and a half after the agreed upon date without notice that there would be a delay. (I called three times to inquire; twice without success) 2. He gave me a definitive time frame of 1 week to complete the job from the start date. I conservatively factored in 10 days at the time of our shaking hands and discussing the job at length and in writing with my family member present. It took approx. 49 days to complete a job that takes 7 days according to his own words. 3. Throughout the time it took to complete the job their were multiple days during which no work was performed (not due to normal waiting i.e. -drying times, setting etc.). In fact most days no one or only one person showed up. 4. Several aspects of the agreed upon job were not completed and others not completed to satisfaction. I canceled the installing of the carpet because the services had been lacking at best and It had been taking too long . -We had agreed on three recessed areas for storage during two of our discussions and only one was completed with the reason given that it had been an oversight and unfortunately the wall was made already. -The south facing window had been agreed to be enlarged and it was not. In fact it is extremely lax and It appears I will have to have someone else fix that issue. -There were uneven cuts on the Sheetrock he installed on the ceiling with no reasonable explanation given for why. 5. On July 15th I received a call at work to inform me that the job was finished after having not been present at the site nor in contact for well over a week. I inspected the 'finished job' that weekend and found that the base boards were not in place, paint cans still open and present, still no railing had been installed (however he did mention that needed to go up still during our last conversation) and more. 6. I did receive 2 personal reasons why there was a delay of a few days. i did not then nor, at any point, harass or pressure him. As I understand things happen. However The remaining time was completely devoid of communication and progress 7. Prior to the call on the 15th I had planned to terminate their employ and have someone else come and finish the job. Again Please keep in mind that this job was planned out by a licensed and sealed architect with over 12 years experience. It became clear this was taking way to long to complete. I was only so patient because my mother seemed to like him and the fact that they were a small family owned business. I do not agree with the assessment of positive business qualities that were reviewed on Angie's list's with the exception of them being polite in person. The contractor then contacted me to request I pay the remainder of the balance despite the aforementioned issues. He then tried to go back on the coupon listed in the booklet that was present at the initial walk through prior to work beginning as agreed. the coupon clearly states in the Angie's list booklet 10%off for Angie's list members on: General Remodeling, New Roofs, Repairs, Additions, Siding, Masonry. I called Angie's list and spoke with a representative (Zack) to clear up the dispute and even sent a photo of said coupon in. My request for an itemized bill and invoice from the beginning went unanswered. Items sat in storage for an additional two months. No Carpet was installed, only one cubby, painting unfinished (and I provided paint myself) the work was left unfinished as described before. I have photo and video Showing the progress or lack thereof from May to June. I even have photos to show the work done after that. This Summary of events was presented to the contractor months ago and went unanswered If he had any reason to dispute the events that have been written here as not accurate he had ample time to discuss them with me and I have not heard from him since then.

Description of Work
The Assignment was for a Remodel of our 28 x 14 attic.

Category masonry, remodeling, siding

5.0

07/28/2014


Stefanie P.

Repairs were made to the window frames, the surrounding siding and to a supporting roof column. The work was completed quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
We purchased a Siding and Window Maintenance Package. Geno inspected the windows, frames and siding and made repairs.

Category contractors, siding

5.0

06/16/2014


Josephine M.

Awesome. Besides having the lowest estimate, G&A was always professional, respectful, and nice. Geno was the first to arrive to look at the roof for the estimate, the first to submit one, followed up with me, and offered the most information about the process. Their team was amazing and so hard-working. We will be hiring them again in the near future to work on our chimney will be sure to give them a call whenever we have any general contracting needs! With service and prices like this, why would anyone choose a different contractor?

Description of Work
New roof on house, applied protective coating on detached garage, and fixed a door frame.

Category roofing, doors

1.0

06/04/2014


Beverly L.

I never received a response from the provider.

Description of Work
I purchased the Big Deal for a gutter cleaning and roof tune-up.

Category gutter cleaning, roofing

5.0

05/20/2014


JAMES L.

Amazing! Gino and staff were on time all the time. Their work ethic was wonderful. Gino was always on site when any work was done. There were no excuses, even when the gutter people cut one of the gutters 3 inches too short, Gino brought it to my attention, called the gutter folks in front of me, went himself and picked up a brand new gutter and had it installed all in less than 2 hours. The 6 people he had on the job could not have been more courteous to both my wife and myself, any time they entered our home it was shoes off, yes Sir, no Sir, yes Ma'am. I know for sure that Gino had on his staff both his Mother and Father, and the three other men as mentioned above, just simply could not have been nicer. I had requested specific materials be used and when they were delivered I was brought out to inspect and sure enough everything I wanted was there. I saw that G+A has a B rating with Angies List, all I can say is, from my point of view, they are A+. One final thought, we have recommeded G+A 5 times in the short time since they completed all our work, and I know they have booked my Son's home, are doing this very day a home of one of our Church Parishoners, and as soon as they finish that home they are moving across the street to his neighbor. Well done G+A, you quoted a price and stuck to it, did not try to pull the wool over our eyes at all, and have acted like ladies and gentlemen at all times. It was a pleasure doing business with your Company.

Description of Work
Roof, shingles and gutters on home. Shingles and gutters on Garage

Category gutter repair, roofing

2.0

05/02/2014


Donald H.

I called twice requesting someone to call for repairing a roof leak. This apparently does generate interest in roof repairs. This ad should be changed to eliminate repairs. I wasted a week of waiting for a response.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category roofing

5.0

04/29/2014


Ken J.

Gino responded immediately to call for estimate. He was very friendly and professional. His estimate was significantly less expensive than several other roofers. He did the work when promised ( a couple of weeks later). He and his crew did an excellent job.

Description of Work
New roof on garage. Pointed chimney on house. Sealed around and Painted already existing flashing.

Category roofing, chimney repair

1.0

04/24/2014


Emily S.

Never submitted a quote. Nothing is more frustrating than having someone come out to say they will get you a quote and never do. I followed up with a message, no response. However, he never even told us what the problem was while other contractors found the issue right away so wouldn't have hired them anyway.

Description of Work
Never submitted a quote.

Category roofing

5.0

01/06/2014


judith C.

GREAT! Vey happy with the service!

Description of Work
cleared roof of moss

Category roofing

4.0

01/01/2014


Theresa M.

Gino was very personable and we felt he was honest. He offered us the best price with the longest guarantee on labor. The project took longer than expected but I was surprised they were able to complete it with the snow and cold.

Description of Work
Replace half of roof

Category roofing

5.0

12/26/2013


Karen N.

We couldn't be happier with the work Geno and his crew performed in the removal and replacement of our hail damaged roof. Geno fully explained every step and outlined what we could expect of him and his crew throughout the entire process. The work was performed neatly, the clean-up was thorough each day, and everyone was prompt, on-time and totally professional. My brother-in-law was especially impressed with the attention to detail that was evident throughout the job. Everyone in the crew was respectful of us and our property. Overall, we are extremely pleased and we would be unable to think of a single negative thing to say about our experience with G&A Custom Homes. They started the job when Geno said they would and came on time each day until completing the job. The work was performed on time, on budget, in a thoroughly professional manner and exactly as promised. Integrity and professionalism are two words that best describe G&A Custom Homes.

Description of Work
G&A Custom Homes tore off our old, hail damaged architectural shingle roof and completely replaced it with a new one. Geno thoroughly explained every step of the process and showed us samples of the materials he would be using for the job, including the new felt underlayment material he recommended using. In addition, he came up with a solution for resolving a problem we've had with a leak in one area that was not adequately sloped during the original design and construction of the home. This fix was simple yet effective and was not as creatively or adequately addressed by any of the other companies that inspected and estimated the replacement of our roof.

Category roofing

5.0

12/22/2013


Adam M.

His crew did an excellent job with the installation of the two roofs. They were punctual, quick, yet did a very thorough job. This is a family owned business and they are very nice and friendly people to do business with. Gino was honest and fair with the estimate, which we greatly appreciate. He also went out of his way to do the minor things that make a customer happy. From start to finish, everything was complete in 2 days. They cleaned up very well. I'd highly recommend them for all your roofing needs.

Description of Work
He installed two new roofs. One roof was on a small shed and the other was on a modular style house. He put new architectural shingles on the house roof and he installed rolled roofing on the small shed.

Category roofing

3.0

12/20/2013


Brandon W.

The one window attempted resulted in a getting caulk |all down the rest of the siding. One piece of siding was replaced. My extra siding was used and had to be cut twice due to being cut too short. Afterwards he gave me a quote to replace the rest of the siding.

Description of Work
Provider took a look at windows and said it would be a waste of time to seal them after attempting to seal one.

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/05/2013


John O.

The G & A Team included the individual who I negotiated the contract with, and he had a full crew of regular staff perform the work over 3 days. They did a thorough job in all of its components: removing the old shingles, repairing some minor underlayment issue; installing new flashing, installing the new shingles, and remove all debris and ensuring the lawn and driveway were left brush clean. The crew was courteous, and clearly hard-working.

Description of Work
Remove old roof, repair underlayment and flashing, and install new roof, and remove all discarded materials

Category roofing

5.0

12/03/2013


kathleen M.

Everything went as anticipated. Very professional. Would have hired for more services but my distance to provider made it cost prohibitive.

Description of Work
Checked all windows for proper sealing. Checked all siding and fixed minor adjustments where necessary.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

2.0

12/02/2013


Lesley .

Gino gave me the best price of the estimates I received and went out of his way to get certified to install the material I wanted (Enviroshake) on the roof. They removed the slate roofing, replaced quite a bit of decking, and installed the new product. The roof on the addition had to be done in rubber. There were some road bumps there with repeated leaking, but it got fixed, though there was water damage inside. I think the job took quite a bit longer than expected, but it seems like they did quality work. I guess only time will tell, but no problems so far. Gino communicated with me pretty well throughout the roof project. The problem came in with finishing the work. The contract also included replacing gutters; this was mostly done, but the end caps weren't put on and one of the pieces of gutter that diverts the rain away from the house was never installed, rendering the gutters mostly useless. I contacted him to let him know that these details weren't taken care of and that a shovel and rake of mine were also missing (they were in the garage where Gino's materials and equipment were being stored - I think his crew might have just picked them up by mistake when they were cleaning up). He got back to me after two phone calls about this to say he'd be by to fix the issues. Never showed. Three or four more phone calls later, there has been no response/call back. I won't use him again because the job still isn't done and my shovel and rake have not been returned. It seems like he does good work, but we paid him in full before ensuring that all the details were taken care of and he apparently has no incentive to finish the job - so I can't recommend him. Update: 6/18/14 - The roof job got finished after intervention from Angie's list. However, the porch roof still leaked. After multiple calls and texts, he finally responded and came by to add more sealant. He then called to check in with us to see if the roof was still leaking, but we hadn't seen it in rain at that time - it seemed ok. Unfortunately, the next time it rained the porch roof leaked again. Again, we have been unable to get Gino to respond to messages.

Description of Work
Took off old roof (slate), replaced decking, applied new roofing (EnviroShake & rubber in one spot). Job contract also included gutters.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Let me state that I'm very sorry for the inconvenience to (member name removed.) I did get her message but I lost my phone with my reminder app. I will bring her shovel and rake with me because my worker did take it thinking it was mine. Very deeply sorry as (member name removed) is a wonderful person to work with.
5.0

11/24/2013


Anthony S.

They replaced our roof. Did a good job. They were here when they said they would be. Worked very hard and did a great job cleaning up debris.

Description of Work
They replaced our roof. Did a good job. They were here when they said they would be. Worked very hard and did a great job cleaning up debris.

Category roofing

5.0

11/16/2013


Jacquelyn H.

After a couple of times not being able to reach the provider, the provider showed up on time, was very professional and went beyond the call of duty. For example, he took pictures of areas on my roof and chimney that needed repairs and indicated suggested time frames for taking care of them. He didn't have to do this, but while he was repairing the siding and had to go up on the roof he made these inspections and suggestions. I was impressed with knowledgeableness and thoroughness.

Description of Work
The provider repaired siding where needed; inspected windows for leaks and made a minor repair; and inspected my roof and chimney.

Category siding, replacement windows

4.0

10/28/2013


Rana D.

We had our roof replaced by G&A Custom Homes last week. It looks like they have done a decent job. Only time will tell about the longevity of the materials and workmanship. They have used Owens Corning material and took 3 days to complete. There's a 50 years warranty for the materials and and a 1 time new owner transfer warranty. They looked sincere, and new their job.

Description of Work
Replace our roof

Category roofing

1.0

09/12/2013


Rhea T.

He walked around the house. I went inside. Other than telling me that one of our gutters wasn't sufficiently angled to drain properly, he did nothing. He didn't even clean the gutters which is what he was supposed to do.

Description of Work
As far as I can tell he did absolutely nothing. I think his only purpose in coming out was to see if he could sell us more services, which were not needed.

Category roofing

4.0

09/11/2013


KATHLEEN P.

Wasn't his fault that there wasn't that much he could do, except nail some pieces. He admitted he didn't like doing things that way. So, my fault, that I spent too much money for the time and work done.

Description of Work
Nailed loose siding.

Category siding

4.0

09/08/2013


joanne B.

They responded promptly and showed up promptly the first time. Then I would come home from work and see they had been there to do one area, then another.

Description of Work
Replaced some cracked vinyl siding

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fridholm Painting

    Our core group of workers have an average tenure of 10+ years with our company. The painters have both interior and exterior painting expertise. We generally require a 30-50% deposit on the day we arrive with the balance due upon receipt of invoice at the end of the project. Larger projects require multiple progress payments. We do our best to communicate expectations with the Client and to answer all questions and concerns. We are extremely dependable and have very polite, respectful employees you will enjoy having in your home. We look forward to hearing from you so we can provide a free estimate.  

    Dynamic Painting of New York

    We specialize in interior and exterior painting services, staining, cabinet painting, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Urban Seamless Gutters

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Gutter Repair and Replacement services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    New roofs, repairs, siding, masonary, additions, gutters, decks .

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about G & A Custom Homes

    How is G & A Custom Homes overall rated?

    G & A Custom Homes is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are G & A Custom Homes open?

    G & A Custom Homes is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does G & A Custom Homes provide

    G & A Custom Homes accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does G & A Custom Homes offer free estimates?

    Yes, G & A Custom Homes offers free project estimates.

    Does G & A Custom Homes offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, G & A Custom Homes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does G & A Custom Homes offer a senior discount?

    No, G & A Custom Homes does not offer a senior discount.

    Does G & A Custom Homes offer emergency services?

    Yes, G & A Custom Homes offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by G & A Custom Homes?

    Yes, G & A Custom Homes offers warranties.

    What services does G & A Custom Homes offer?

    G & A Custom Homes offers the following services: New roofs, repairs, siding, masonary, additions, gutters, decks .