Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc

Founded 1987 • With Angi since July 2008

4.5

(71) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

882 OBrien Avenue

Schenectady, NY 12303

Description

5 employees. Occasionally uses subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. Extra charge for after hours service .

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

03/28/2016


Charles E C.

They had to replace, fixing the chimney.

Description of Work
I used Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry to fix the chimney.

Category masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

I went to recheck the chimney I supposedly done, the address was a nursing home that I did no work for, also I have to contract on record for this job so please check your information thank you Rik Creative Stonework BY Stonewall
5.0

09/28/2015


Joe K.

Rick and Mike were professional, prompt and very responsive. High quality work, very reasonable price.

Description of Work
Removed old walkway, put in new walkway

Category concrete repair, masonry

1.0

08/29/2015


William L.

Job was not completed. Two stress cuts were to be made to prevent cracking. Slab cracked shortly after installation because only one cut was made. All attempts to have the problem addressed have resulted in missed appointments without the courtesy of a call to say they were not coming.

Description of Work
Installed concrete pad in entrance way to my home.

Category concrete repair, masonry

2.0

08/09/2014


Carol K.

No written estimate was provided. No work was performed.

Description of Work
I called Creative Stone for an estimate on a retaining wall and a drainage problem with my foundation. Never heard reply from my first voice mail. Called again and owner said he had reversed numbers in my phone message, apologized and came over. He didn't bother to come to my door but rudely used his cell phone to call me outside to speak with him at curb. I showed him the wall that needed replacing as well as drainage issue that needed to be addressed. His only suggestion for the drainage issue was to "shove some cement in the area "to stop water from entering the basement. Owner said he would sit down with me and discuss estimate. He called the next day and gave me verbal estimate... no return sit down. He refused to give me a written estimate unless I hired him for the job. Felt he was not interested in the work I needed done and did not meet my definition of Angie's List Excellent Service Award.

Category masonry

1.0

07/25/2014


DONNA M.

I originally gave a good review to this company, but I should have waited to see how the product held up before doing so. The concrete pad we had installed by them is HORRIBLE. It cracked a short period of time after being installed, in addition to small chucks of concrete breaking off. There are cracks and holes all over it. Ric came back once "to repair it" after months and months of contact. It is worse then ever, now we not only have the cracks, but the patches that are cracked. My concrete pad that was installed by another company 15 years ago, is in dramatically better shape then my new pad that Ric did. I highly recommend you avoid this company. He was nice to deal with until the problem arose, and then it was one excuse after another. It was too hot was one; well if you know its too hot why did you do it. You got the senior discount was another comment he made to me. I got the Angie's discount; does that mean I don't deserve quality. He even had the nerve to tell me I have a hot tub on it and they are heavy. He knew exactly what I was putting on the pad and I even gave him the specs before he installed our concrete. I like to support local businesses, but I can't stand to be taken advantage of. Buyer beware!

Description of Work
This is follow up to my original review.

Category masonry

5.0

06/06/2014


Frank C.

Very punctual and courteous. Fully communicated every aspect of the job.

Description of Work
Reparged foundation, installed handrails, and re-did the concrete around the house.

Category masonry

1.0

06/03/2014


George P.

Terrible. This is a follow up to a rating that was provided following completion of the work last year. Simply, a year later from when the work was done I had to have my concrete steps completely redone. The new concrete did not adhere to the concrete substrate and fell off. My money would have better spent if I drove down the street and threw it out the window and saw what happened. I don't know how their stone work is, but their concrete work is terrible. I should have known better when I was provided a unsigned work proposal. The only thing positive about his company is the workers that assist the owner. He needs to spend less time on his cell phone and more time on his work. Buyer beware........

Description of Work
Provider attempted to repair broken edges on concrete steps on my front porch.

Category masonry

5.0

05/29/2014


Wallace K.

It went very well. He and his crew came at the appointed time and completed the entire job before the day was done. Clean-up was professional. Would hire this company again in an instant

Description of Work
pointed existing chimney, rebuilt chimney cap, and replaced damaged brick & motar where needed.

Category masonry, chimney repair

5.0

05/19/2014


Gordon N.

Rik showed up exactly as agreed and I liked him immediately. He was professional and looked like an honest person with which to do business. We discussed the work I wanted done and he provided a quote and proposal of work within a 24 hour time period. On the day the job was to be started, Rik arrived with his 3 man crew to begin the work. They were well prepared and ready to do the agreed upon work. The job took a little longer than we thought to be completed, but this was due to weather and to the fact that Rik fell ill and required hospitalization for a medical emergency. The final result of the workmanship and skills demonstrated by CREATIVE STONE WORK BY STONE WALL MASONRY INC was a beautifully restored and protected (sealed) by application of the Surface Master product that Rik and I discussed on that first day. My only regret is not knowing Rik 's condition or if was able to recover from his medical emergency. We hope he is well again and back to work, because his professionalism and masonry skills are second to none! Gordon Nichols

Description of Work
Restoration, reconstruction and preservation (using Surface Master sealing product) of concrete our front porch, steps and walkway.

Category concrete repair, masonry, water damage restoration

3.0

05/12/2014


Ralph B.

He didn't give me a quote. I had no idea what his cost would be. He didn't say much. I don't think he was interested in the job.

Description of Work
Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc. was supposed to give me a quote to redo my back patio.

Category masonry, patios

5.0

02/05/2014


Brian S.

He was great answered all my questions, I look forward to working with him in the future.

Description of Work
Rebuild a retainer wall in my basement redo concrete walkway. Rik came out as he said he would gave a estimate for all the work I need done.

Category hardscaping

5.0

11/14/2013


Thomas C.

The job was done quickly and efficiently. Rik came with a team and did a great job. The only issue I had was that they took the old cement pieces from my chimney and just threw them into the woods in my backyard. Not cool.

Description of Work
Repointed 2 chimneys.

Category masonry, chimney repair

5.0

11/01/2013


Anne B.

Contacted creative stone work a week ago. I needed a brick wall cleaned quickly. Rick responded very fast. Came to look at the project the next day. Was fast with a quote. I indicated that the job needed to be done as fast as possible. He was able to put me on his busy schedule. He and his crew came today. They were fast, clean , punctual and delivered excellent work. I would highly recommend and will use them in the future.

Description of Work
Cleaned, grouted and sealed an indoor brick wall. The bricks date from 1800.

Category masonry

5.0

09/18/2013


John C.

Pretty darn good. Without drawings, there are always some variances from what's in mind; but the mechanics of the installation are superb - VERY well done. What impressed me most was the puntuality of the crew (rarely a strong point with contractors). They appeared each morning at 7 on the dot and got right to work. Also, each man took time to greet us individually. Their banter and camaraderie were a refreshing change from the usual curse and spit style, too. I would recommend these guys to friends and this List. I would suggest that they would do even better if given real drawings and elevations to work from.

Description of Work
Working from just my sketches; they built a winding walk and approach to our stoops, plus a raised patio that incorporated out well head.

Category masonry, hardscaping, patios

5.0

09/17/2013


Patricia T.

GREAT. I called on Monday; Rik returned my call at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday; they had a break and could finish the work by 12:30. Rik and his assistant were not only knowledgeable, but pleasant. Guess that comes from working together for over 30 years. Rik does the finishing (pointing) with an artist's touch, light but firm. I'd hire them to do another job in a minute.

Description of Work
Repair "leaking" stone wall and steps

Category masonry, hardscaping

5.0

09/03/2013


Ruth R.

No work done. Company was not called. Thanks anyway.

Description of Work
I never got in touch with this company. I found another "handyman" who did the work.

Category masonry

5.0

08/26/2013


DON C.

He responded quickly to my call and scheduled a time to visit the property within a few days. He showed up at the appointed time. We discussed the wall and he took some measurements and discussed wall materials. He called back within a couple of days and gave me an estimate that was in the ball park with another estimate I received. Unfortunately we were not able to pursue the project due to unforeseen circumstances on our part. We will contact him again when we are in a position to begin the project.

Description of Work
Gave me an estimate for building a wall approximately 55' long.

Category masonry

2.0

07/26/2013


Kelley P.

Never heard back from Rik with the estimate.

Description of Work
Rik came to give us an estimate to repair our concrete block garage but never gave me the estimate.

Category masonry

5.0

07/22/2013


Robert L.

Contacted owner Rik Morelli by phone. Returned call that evening and inspected wall a day later. Performed work the following week due to an opening in his schedule. Worked three days from about 6:30 AM (by arrangement) until about 11 AM due to extreme heat (90-100 F) that week. Team worked together like a ballet troupe. Rik clearly explained the work to be done (there was a written contract) and responded to any concerns and suggestions I had. Cleanup was thorough.

Description of Work
Repaired and reinforced concrete retaining wall by patching cracks and adding a massive, steel reinforced plaster (buttress)

Category concrete repair, masonry

5.0

07/17/2013


Margaret R.

All went well. They were quick and efficient. Good team. Rik has a good sense of what he can and cannot do. He was fair in pricing and his team was polite and they were pretty neat.

Description of Work
Poured a concrete patio

Category concrete repair, landscaping, patios

5.0

06/29/2013


Karen B.

Rik came when he said he would and did a wonderful job. Even though it was challenging because of the slope of the front of the house, he made it look great! He and his men were very courteous and worked diligently to finish the job. They also cleaned everything up so that you would never know they were there. I would certainly hire him again with no qualms.

Description of Work
Concrete work on the front porch and poured a patio beside the porch.

Category concrete repair, decks, masonry, patios

3.0

06/17/2013


George P.

After weeks of consideration and review the overall work is satisfactory at best. During the evaluation/estimate phase of the proposed work Rick (the owner) described the work that needed to be performed. Most noteworthy was that he was not going to use "concrete" to repair the deteriorated corners on the front steps, but he was going to use the same polymers used for bridge repairs. Following his description of the work to be performed and quoted price ($1,700 Fair) I decided to hire Rick's company. A few days later Rick dropped off an unsigned proposal with a brief description of the work to be performed. At this point I should have "cut and run", but decided to proceed on because I really wanted my steps fixed. After discussing the proposal with Rick, the proposal was discarded and the work was going to be performed without a contract. On 5/31/2013 Rick and his crew showed up early to do the work. It was going to be a hot day and they wanted to start early. As soon as they unloaded their materials for the job I noticed that they were going to use a "concrete" mixture for the work. It was a Quikrete "cement" suitable for repairing broken edges on steps, but not the polymers promised. Rick stated that this would work well. The work began at approximately 7:00 AM and was finished before noon. The quality of work performed by the crew was good except for the gentleman doing the work on the steps. He apparently is used by Rick when Masonry work like this needs to be performed. The end product was fair at best. His finish work was not professionally done. There were uneven surfaces that needed supplemental attention. Since May 31st I have had to refinish areas of the front steps to make them presentable and repair minor cracks. Other cracks have also appeared on the foundation that has been repaired. Normally, I would have contacted the contractor (Rick) to discuss these issues, but I believe that would have been futile. If it were some minor touch up that needed to be performed I would have, but not in this case. The most disappointing thing was that Rick said that he was going to use polymers instead of concrete and he didn't. It shows! Overall, get a detailed signed contract prior to work. Do not accept a verbal agreement no matter hoW pleasant he appears. Final note. Rick's crew, except the subpar mason were the greatest. They were extremely pleasant and professional and willing to please. To them, THANK YOU.

Description of Work
Repaired concrete work on my front steps and cracks in the facing of my foundation.

Category masonry

5.0

06/16/2013


Michelle S.

Ric was very prompt with arriving for the initial estimate. I attempted to get several estimates before choosing the mason I would go with for this job and Ric quickly assessed the issue in my basement and provided the most realistic solution for me. Each of the other mason that I contacted were not responsive or wanted to provide much more costly and unnecessary services. When I contacted Ric to let him know that I wanted him to do the job, he gave me additional services for a discounted price and performed the work quickly and efficiently. His work crew was very professional and courteous. I will be completing this same process for the remaining parts of the foundation at some point in the future and I would not hesitate in calling this company again to complete the work. I would highly recommend this company to others.

Description of Work
Sealed three inside basement walls and several parts of the outside basement walls to secure the foundation.

Category masonry, foundation repair

5.0

05/22/2013


Patricia M.

Rick and his crew were great. Rick came out and looked over the situation and called with an estimate a few days later. They did the job as outlined, updated us on progress through out and cleaned up when they were done. They were pleasant to work with and the wall looks great!

Description of Work
Tore down an old wooden retaining wall and replaced it with versablock retaining wall

Category masonry, hardscaping

5.0

05/18/2013


Susanne G.

Rik the owner returned my call promptly, we made a appointment for him to look at our project. He arrived ahead of schedule, we briefly went over what we wanted, he took measurements and discussed some ideas. He called me the next day with his estimate, which was excellent. He was able to squeeze our job in between two larger jobs which worked out fine for us. He said it would be a maximum of four days to complete, it actually took 3 and a half days. There was an issue with the grading and we needed a load of top soil to correct the run off. No problems, he presented us with the bill from the top soil company and we just added that to the estimate. All of the workers were professional and courteous. They cleaned up nicely before they left. The patio looks very nice and we are very pleased with the workmanship.

Description of Work
Remove an existing deck and replace with paver patio.

Category hardscaping, patios

    Other local Pros in your area

    Capital Gutters

    Capital Gutters proudly opened in the Albany area in 2007. Capital Gutters is a family run Business operating for over 20 years originating in Oyster Bay, Long Island in 1986. At Capital Gutters all we do is gutters and know all the in's and out's of the Gutter trade. Many companies do many other things and are "Jack of All Trades" which in our opinion waters down the end products, Where at Capital Gutters we are Jack of one Trade Gutters. Also serving Niskayuna, Rexford, Clifton Park, Ballston Lake, Ballston Spa, Malta, Saratoga, Glenville & Burnt Hill.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Rustic Window Repair

    Specializing in Window Wood Repair & Replacement. We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Saul's Paving

    The Fifth Generation Of Quality Paving At Reasonable Rates Driveways & Parking Lots, Paving Repairs & Patching Tar & Stone Driveways Paving Bricks & Excavating Fully Insured, Free Estimates, Member of BBB One Call Does It All... SAUL'S PAVING Paving Your Road To Success!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Masonry Work, Tile, Chimneys, Fireplaces, Interior Stone Work, Culture Stone, Retaining Walls, Patios, Pavers, Concrete, Waterfall, Fountain & Pond Designs, Landscaping & Design, Foundation Repair & Restoration, Window Replacement. Headstones repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Siding, Roofing, Framing

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc

    How is Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc overall rated?

    Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc open?

    Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc provide

    Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc?

    Yes, Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offer?

    Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc offers the following services: Masonry Work, Tile, Chimneys, Fireplaces, Interior Stone Work, Culture Stone, Retaining Walls, Patios, Pavers, Concrete, Waterfall, Fountain & Pond Designs, Landscaping & Design, Foundation Repair & Restoration, Window Replacement. Headstones repair.

    Are there any services Creative Stone Work By Stone Wall Masonry Inc does not offer?

    Siding, Roofing, Framing