Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cousins Construction

Founded 1969 • With Angi since April 2008

4.8

(431) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

917 Sacandaga Rd

Schenectady, NY 12302

Description

Family Owned and Operated 3rd Generation Roofers. Specializing in all types of roofing from Architectural shingles With the GAF Golden Pledge System warranty, the industries safest warranty, to custom copper and slate. We are GAF Master Elite roofers , Owens Corning Preferred, And the areas only

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/30/2020


Don K.

Jason came to perform estimate and flew a drone over the house to get a look at the situation. I had been interested in faux slate and Jason recommended the GAF Camelot II product which looks great. The main roofing crew worked like beasts and had the main house and garage done inside of 2 days, working morning to dark. Patrick and crew followed for the detail work on the siding and copper, which came out awesome, and they even worked the last day in the rain to complete the job. Overall couldn't be happier as this job wasn't an easy one given the height and odd angles of my older house. Everything was timely and the jobsite kept as clean as can be expected. Most homeowners don't understand just how messy a roofing job is due to the nature of the work and materials. These guys consistently kept the site cleaned up and were very thorough in picking up nails, debris, etc. I have several neighbors commenting positively on the job, some in envy of the copper! I'd recommend these guys to anybody without thinking about it. They are the real deal.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on house and detached garage, replaced skylights and dormer siding, added copper roof to portico & bay windows

Category roofing, siding, skylights

5.0

11/16/2020


Rachel S.

We met with the estimator to look at our project - replacing the poor work of another contractor (who we tried for a year to get to fix the issues). The project included replacing all of the soffit/fascia on the house, fixing the trim and flashing, and we added on a bathroom vent hole. The price was fair and reasonable. The workers were friendly and efficient, the team was very clean and respectful. They picked up every night, and were polite in every interaction. They even recommended other contractors for work they don’t do. The work looks a million times better and was super fast compared to my first nightmare installation (a few days vs a few weeks). I would use Cousins again, without a doubt.

Description of Work
Needed replacement of poor quality soffit / fascia work from another contractor

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, aquarium shops

5.0

11/04/2020


Ed H.

Cousin's Construction was the best price. Despite having to dodge the rainy October weather, they were able to complete my roof replacement as scheduled. The crew worked quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

5.0

10/07/2020


Alicia L.

Cousins Construction installed a new roof on our house and shed last month. We could not have been happier with the process. Jason's assessment of our home was extremely thorough before he provided a detailed estimate with all of the product spec sheets. We knew exactly what we were getting into, and he was upfront and honest with us about the current state of our roof. The roofing crew was efficient and clean. They had to walk around most of our property to access the house and shed roofs, and I believe they were truly careful with our belongings. Cousins Construction is responsive, professional and fair. It is evident that they care about their reputation and will not leave you in the dark. I would 100% recommend them for your roofing needs.

Description of Work
Removed old roof & installed new roof on house and shed. House needed all new plywood.

Category roofing

5.0

05/24/2020


Paul R.

Crew got to work as soon as they got there and they finished the job in a timely manner.

Description of Work
replace roof on barn shed.

Category roofing

5.0

05/15/2020


Andy M.

They were great! I called just a few days before last Thanksgiving when a snow storm was predicted for the weekend. They made it out on Black Friday and for a perfectly reasonable price, got my roof fixed before the snow came.

Description of Work
Repair roof leak

Category roofing

5.0

04/14/2020


Wendy B.

Jason was fantastic. He came and gave me a quote on repairing my roof. A tree fell on it during the ice storm. He dealt with my insurance and fixed it in a timely manner. I would definitely hire him again.

Description of Work
Repair roof

Category roofing

5.0

11/14/2019


Ann O.

Cousins Construction installed a new roof (house and garage) in one day. The workers were professional and courteous. The roof looks magnificent and the clean-up was thorough. A second crew returned the following week and installed the new gutter guard system. Once again, the work was done professionally and the gutter guards look great. The owner, Jason, is knowledgeable about his products and services and he is responsive to customers' questions or concerns. A billing error was promptly corrected. I highly recommend Cousins Construction.

Description of Work
Installation of a new roof and a gutter guard system

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

06/21/2019


Mahadeva Iyer N.

Prompt call from company and staff arrived on schedule. Fixed it at very reasonable price and quick. Answered all questions and assured if anything goes wrong he will come and assist. Only recommended us to do what is needed and I felt comfortable dealing with the staff. Thanks Cousins!

Description of Work
Repair Vinyl Siding

Category siding

5.0

06/02/2019


widdis J.

Jason who is the owner came for the estimate and was very easy to talk to. I told him exactly what I wanted and he didn't try to oversell and we decided on exactly what would be best to meet my needs. After a few rain delays the crew arrived on time on the appointment date. Crew was quiet and efficient. They had the old roof off with some wood replacement and the new roof on in about 10 hours. Steep roof with dormers. They did an awesome job of clean up. I did have one concern after the job was done and that was about chimney flashing. Jason came personally and totally re-did the flashing to much better than it ever was and on a Saturday! I also had three estimates and Cousins was by far the best. Overall excellent experience, the roof looks great and Jason is very easy to work with.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

4.0

04/08/2019


Althea H.

The job itself went great - however a piece of drip edge flashing was not fitted and then bees got under the drip edge and also the siding on that side was caulked. I have used them for other jobs and have been very satisfied I have left multiple messages, but to no avail and probably will end up hiring someone else to take care of the problem - thus the bad rating. I'd rehire if this can get resolved promptly, real mixed feelings as I liked the company. The sad part is that it would take all of 15 minutes to correct the drip edge problem and button up the siding just above the roof.

Description of Work
Roofing on a small roof - summer 2018

Category roofing

5.0

10/19/2018


Tom D.

Excellent, I would definitely hirer again.

Description of Work
Garage/Mancave Roof

Category roofing

5.0

09/04/2018


Judy O.

Obtained quotes from 4 other venders. I am sure most would have done a good job installing the roof alone. However upon arrival, Jason from Cousins immediately focused on a detailed plan to correct a couple of problems that he had spotted before I even showed him the leak that has been plaguing us for many years. His experience in the field, learning the business from his grandfather, was evident and his problem solving solutions coincided with information that I had obtained over the years from researching and talking to other professionals. Most of the other venders that I received quotes from were very vague or did not even address solutions for our problem even with my prompting. The Cousins Construction team was very professional and knowledgeable. We are very pleased with the outcome and that includes the shingle color recommendation they made!

Description of Work
Roof, flashing, cricket

Category roofing

5.0

06/19/2018


Peter S.

Cousins offered the best price and we're very happy with their work. We give them 5 stars for doing the job when they said they would and for fixing the leakage problem; we'll be happy to recommend them to anyone we know who needs similar work done.

Description of Work
The shingles on our roof were 22 years old and in need of replacement; it's a large roof and there was an old leakage issue that needed to be corrected.

Category roofing

5.0

05/15/2018


Eric E.

We had a new shingle roof put on our house & garage, two rubber roofs and new gutters. It took three days and the installers arrived on the scheduled and were on time each day. They were professional and kept us informed of the progress each day. Would use again and would also recommend them.

Description of Work
New Roof, Gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

5.0

05/13/2018


Dikran A.

They were professional, on-time, very friendly, they listened to our concerns, responded to our requests, and were very fair with completing the work for the estimate given. We had no issues with trusting them when we were not home and we were very satisfied with the work that was performed. We are already thinking about hiring them again next year for more work that needs to be done. We would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
New siding, new windows, new roof, and new doors.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, skylights, doors

5.0

05/11/2018


Tom F.

Outstanding job . Arrived when promised , installed new roof , cleaned up all within 1 day

Description of Work
New roof installed

Category roofing

5.0

05/11/2018


Anna V.

I used Cousins Construction To install a new roof on my three family home a few weeks ago, and I am extremely happy with the results. An army of fit men showed up at the house, installed their ladders and immediately went to work. They are all extremely hard-working, and I don’t think they even spoke a word while installing the roof. They cleaned up the entire perimeter of the property and did a fantastic job! The new roof looks beautiful! I am also using them to look at the roof situation at my other property!

Description of Work
Installed a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

03/22/2018


kathy D.

Jason came out to look at what I assumed was a leak around a bathroom vent. He quickly diagnosed it as improper plumbing of the vent and not a leak at the roof. He could have charged me but waved off any fee. Unbelievable service!

Description of Work
Leaking roof

Category roofing

5.0

03/06/2018


Susan S.

Had my doubts about putting on a roof in January but not to worry !!! The weather Gods were with us and this crew is top notch !! They arrived at 8:00 everyday and got right to the task at hand and never left at days end without making sure everything was closed up and protected !!! They are coming back to clean up more after the snow melts and to do some stone work. Very pleased with the end result. Jason,Patrick and Ryan run a stellar business and was very happy to have hired them !!! Thanks

Description of Work
A new metal roof

Category roofing

4.0

12/20/2017


winston L.

The workmanship was excellent. Very nice, new roof. All plywood and shingles replaced. We had them do the work as an emergency leak directly over our bed. It took more than a month from our initial contact to work being done. One of the roofers, when replacing the the plywood felling through the roof and through the ceiling in our liviing room. This required additional work to be done to patch and paint the damaged ceiling. This caused sanding dust to settle throughout the house and took us quite a long time to clean up. There is already a crack in the ceiling that was repaired.

Description of Work
replace roof

Category roofing, skylights

4.0

11/20/2017


suzanne H.

OK. I was unaware that they were coming the exact day they showed up. They were suppose to contact me a day ahead so I could let my tenant know. I did send an email to check with them so I could let me tenant know but did not hear back. My tenant and I were both surprised when they showed up on that particular day. This caused an issue with my tenant as he had to stop working on a project at the house for half of the day that he had hired a guy to help him who was already there on site. He conveyed frustration with to me as it cost him time and money. When i called to discuss this with the scheduler, he stated that he did email me but it never was sent and got put in his drafts, accidently and apologized. I had to compensate my tenant on my own because of this issue. Other than that confusion, the sales person was nice, the site manager and workers were nice and the roof is on the house now.

Description of Work
Roof replaced

Category roofing

5.0

10/18/2017


John V.

It took a while to obtain a construction date, but once confirmed, the fascia was replaced in one day, well done and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Replacement of fascia around entire house

Category roofing

2.0

10/01/2017


ANAND S.

The work was performed with acceptable quality but would not provide a refund of $193.00 per contract. Tried to contact via phone, no response & when called back after a couple messages, was upset that I told him I was going to write a bad review Jason gave me the runaround to fill an IRS form & demanded that I sign a contract not to write a bad review - this is what I call bullying a customer

Description of Work
Partial replacement of roof

Category roofing

1.0

08/28/2017


Janet W.

Visit for estimate made by Jason but no quote given or any further contact from anyone despite sending an email requesting the quote. Totally unprofessional behavior for such a highly rated company. A response a least declining the job would have been better than silence.

Description of Work
Estimate on slate roof repairs after storm damage

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Copper Club Construction LLC

    Specializing in Plumbing, Electrical and General Contracting. From finishing touches to complete customization of your renovation, our focus on the details – communication, teamwork, skill, and ability – make us the perfect partner for your project. We are efficient, resourceful, and thorough. And we will be here for you whenever, however, and wherever you need us.  

    Angi Certified

    Sol Foam Insulation, LLC

    Sol Foam Insulation, LLC is a member of Sol Enterprises. Since 2003 we have been family owned and operated. Our Foam Insulation division is a highly experienced team equipped with state of the art chemicals and tools to get the job done correctly. We apply Closed Cell Spray Foam into open-wall cavities, crawl spaces, perimeter joists (any exposed rim or band joist), and cathedral/sloped ceilings at an industry leading heat resistance rating of R-7 per inch of thickness. While the product must be installed to local code, the amount of application varies. Our Closed Cell Foam, when applied correctly, creates a vapor barrier, prevents air infiltration and exfiltration, and fully cures to the touch within 15 seconds. Our closed cell foam also adds 75-200% racking strength to your walls!  

    Angi Certified

    KEN'S WINDOW CLEANING

    Ken is a member of the International Window Cleaning Assiciotion & Pressure Washers of North America.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing. Siding. Gutters. Windows & Doors. Skylights.

    Services Not Offered

    Chimney inspections & sweeping.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cousins Construction

    How is Cousins Construction overall rated?

    Cousins Construction is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cousins Construction open?

    Cousins Construction is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Cousins Construction provide

    Cousins Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Cousins Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Cousins Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Cousins Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Cousins Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cousins Construction offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Cousins Construction offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Cousins Construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, Cousins Construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Cousins Construction?

    Yes, Cousins Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Cousins Construction offer?

    Cousins Construction offers the following services: Roofing. Siding. Gutters. Windows & Doors. Skylights.

    Are there any services Cousins Construction does not offer?

    Chimney inspections & sweeping.