Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bellamy Construction Co

Founded 1975 • With Angi since July 2006

4.8

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6684 Amsterdam Rd

Schenectady, NY 12302

Description

Bellamy Construction, formerly Bellamy and Sons Construction is a family owned business that provides a wide range of home improvement/repair services to Capital Region homeowners.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Tom P.
5.0
09/22/2017
In the bidding process Jake and Greg suggested building over the existing roof structure to mitigate areas prone to ice-damming. This was cheaper than the ideas generated by an architect and avoided all interior work. They quickly did the most important reconstruction and roofing prior to the onset of winter, which spared us any additional damage during the winter/spring. The did a great job residing the house and doing all the trim-work and metalwork which included both arched windows and bay windows. They were involved throughout the entire process with suggestions on everything from the color schemes to attic ventilation and above all there were a pleasure to work with. The house looks great!
Description of Work
Reconstruction of roofline to prevent severe ice-damming problem. Re-roofed and re-sided entire house, construct a shed roof over the front of the house and installed bay windows and skylights
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding
William K.
5.0
04/18/2015
Nothing short of excellent. Looked better than new when done.
Description of Work
Repaired allthe water damage to my home.
Category
water damage restoration, home remodeling
Edward L.
5.0
02/26/2015
I have contracted with Bellamy Builders on several occasions. They have always been responsive, and do high quality work. They are punctual, and keep the work space clean. They are trustworthy in all respects.
Description of Work
demolition, repairs and renovation
Category
excavators, remodeling, home remodeling
REBECCA Z.
5.0
05/29/2014
This is a long overdue review. All went great from start to finish. I'm giving an A on pricing because although not cheap, it was commensurate with the quality of the work. We had two other quotes which were cheaper, but Greg was amazing and stood out in a few ways. First, he really listens to your vision of the project. Second, he was willing to let us do some of the tear down ourselves (walls) and finishing work to keep the cost down. Third, he values and respects the architectural integrity and uniqueness of an older home, and thinks about how to preserve and enhance a home's period details. Bellamy procured the lumber and had the huge beams specialty-cut for us (one as long as 14', all 16"x8"). Installation was timely and we are completely satisfied. Even this many years later, we always get comments on these beautiful beams from first time visitors. In Feb 2014 we worried about some settling in the foundation in the house. Even though this was in no way due to the work performed by Bellamy, it is a testament to the company that Dave came to take a look and talk it over with us, even teaching us how to address the problem ourselves. If I win the lottery, Bellamy will be doing our room addition one day. Highly recommended company.
Description of Work
Knocked down walls on the first floor and installed posts and beams to open kitchen, dining and living areas to each other. Moved gas stove line and installed a hardwood floor in the kitchen.
Category
remodeling
Linda F.
5.0
04/23/2014
They were just excellent. Easy to work with. Came on time. Very assessible to talk to. The quality of work is excellent.
Description of Work
They did basement insulation and foundation work.
Category
concrete repair, basement remodeling
Mark O.
5.0
02/18/2014
It was covered by the insurance plan. They did a very good job and we were very pleased. The excavators were good to work with and they cleaned everything. I hardly have any complains.
Description of Work
I used the siding service of Bellamy Construction Co.
Category
siding
Anita S.
5.0
07/06/2013
We were pleased with their work. It went pretty well. They are expensive, but they do good work. We can trust them that it's going to get done and the job will be done correctly. They are good about having somebody come over to make sure that someone is there everyday until it's done. Sometimes it takes a while to get them to come. So, once they are available they are here. The timeline is pretty good.
Description of Work
We used Bellamy Construction Co. to remodel a family room. They also put some windows and installed a sink in the laundry room. Probably 10 years ago they also did some excavation, sewer line, and they built our house.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows
Douglas K.
5.0
04/20/2013
Because of our special window design requirements, the porch had to be custom-designed and constructed. The lead carpenter, John Hicks, was exceptional in his quality workmanship and work ethic. He made some design modifications to improve the structural strength of the porch. Due to the lack of support staff, the lead carpenter often had to work alone. Although he was able to arrange for an assistant for critical tasks, he had to do much of work single-handedly. This necessarily slowed project completion somewhat. There were unexpected delays in the start of the project due to slow turnaround of the architectural design. This required that we delay the start of a landscape contract by a month. We believe that this delay was caused by the inexperience and lack of aggressiveness by the project coordinator, who was new to the company. We were very pleased with the quality and design of the completed porch, and expect it to be used a great deal. This largely compensates for the project delays.
Description of Work
Removed existing screen porch on rear of house and replaced with a 3-season porch. The new porch included an innovative Eze-Breeze sliding panel window design, which optimized the available area for fresh air. Lighting, electrical outlets, celing fan, and cable TV access were part of the design. Reshingling of one section of roof was also part of the project.
Category
decks
Kendra P.
5.0
08/07/2012
Bellamy Construction Co. was excellent. I liked the quality of their workmanship. Their price was worthy of their work. I would use them in the future.
Description of Work
We have used Bellamy Construction Co. We had our bathroom redone.
Category
home remodeling
Marjorie G.
5.0
08/01/2012
They were very professional. They had the right equipment to do the job - they were able to perform the job without digging up my driveway.
Description of Work
Bellamy Construction replaced the water main.
Category
plumbing, drain pipe
Valerie C.
3.0
06/06/2012
They charged our insurance company and we paid the deductible. They were very professional. They did a very good job but I think they were overpriced.
Description of Work
I used Bellamy Construction for an insurance job in my home.
Category
basement remodeling
Christopher H.
5.0
11/18/2011
Overall I was very satisfied; I thought they did a great job and knew what they were doing. I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I used Bellamy & Sons Construction to fix the back entrance to my house which had carpenter ant damage. It was basically carpentry work.
Category
decks, woodworking
Lucy C.
5.0
11/16/2011
They were superb. They were professional, friendly, and reliable. Prior to this they did a major renovation here. They changed my heating system. We did a basement plus two storey additions and absolutely remodeled the kitchen. Basically they re-did the whole house. There was someone here from this company every day. There were times when we had practically everybody. If everybody who was not working somewhere else they would have them here. There was never a case of you make a deposit and they don't show up. These people were here and you knew where to find them. They came highly recommended and they lived up to their recommendation. Generally I would probably call them even for any handy man work too. I do not know what they consider too small. For example I called them to get this plumbing job done. I will continue to use them as long as needed. After all that they have done I don't anything more to be done except put a handicap access and we are fine.
Description of Work
A month ago I had Bellamy & Sons Construction Co to replace the faucet in the sink and the shower head in the bathroom. I spent $500.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
John R.
4.0
10/07/2011
I did not use them. Their estimate was very reasonable but I decided to not go ahead with the work at that time. They were very professional and very knowledgeable. I felt very comfortable with them. They also sent an information package after the initial call and before they came in which I thought was very helpful. So, I had an idea about them before they actually came out. I had something that I was able to review and I liked that. I did not follow through with it and so, it is hard to grade them as excellent when I did not give them a chance to shine or not. I would grade them in terms of the other estimates that I got. They were a little slow about sending the written estimate but I did get the written estimate. They were absolutely on time. They came out exactly when they said that they were going to be there.
Description of Work
I received an estimate from Bellamy and Sons Construction Company two months ago. There was some repair work to be done to the bathroom floors.
Category
home remodeling
Valerie C.
5.0
07/31/2011
They arrive when they say they will and do not leave until the jobs are completed. They work as a team. All of the staff are a pleasure to have in your home. We will use Bellamy for future projects in our home.
Description of Work
We have used Bellamy Construction three times in the last few years. They installed a new front porch, renovated our Master Bathroom and connected us to town water. Our experience has been an excellent one, quality work and professional and knowledgeable staff.
Category
decks, remodeling, home remodeling
Noelle W.
5.0
05/27/2011
We were exceptionally pleased with Bellamy Construction. From the start, Brian Bellamy was responsive and professional. Though his price was the highest bid we received, his solution to our problem was by far the most comprehensive and showed a substantially more sophisticated understanding of the engineering involved. We had already "cheaped out" once with a new driveway that lasted only a couple of years, and consider the extra we spent with the Bellamys money well spent for their knowledge and expertise. The expert crew of four was GREAT! They showed up on time every day until our job was done, and I loved the fact that they were always clean with clean, matching shirts. The deliveries of stone and concrete were meticulously scheduled, so that the crew was always working hard without waiting around for the next phase. Brian stopped by frequently and often pitched in to help with the work. He also answered our calls right away whenever we had a question, and inspired our confidence with his knowledge and integrity. I highly recommend Bellamy Construction.
Description of Work
We had a cracked and heaving garage floor caused by poor drainage and freezing, which also created cracks in our home. Bellamy removed the existing garage floor and excavated down 12 inches, created a 6-inch sub-base of compacted crushed stone, and poured 6 inches of fiberglass reinforced concrete, further reinforced with rebar and steel mesh. They also created an insulated frost barrier the width of the garage. Next they demolished the driveway, excavated down 15 1/2 inches for the driveway, then went down another foot to install drainage pipes. Last, they rebuilt the driveway with stabilization fabric, compacted crushed stone and two layers of blacktop.
Category
concrete repair, excavators, remodeling, drain pipe, driveway pavers
DANIEL C.
5.0
05/11/2011
They are very courteous and kind. They seem to be very knowledgeable about what they did. I would not hesitate to consider them for a project. They showed me some of the work that they had done. They had brochures and also some pictures of some projects that they had done for the others. I would consider using their services again in the future.
Description of Work
I met Bellamy & Sons Construction Co at a home show. I did not use their services. I might consider using them but I'm not sure. I met them in February at the home show but I haven't got any estimate from them. The project that I have is to do the refinishing of the deck and the refinishing of a basement.
Category
decks, basement remodeling
Edward G.
4.0
02/11/2011
They came out and were responsive, but they never got back to us with an estimate. We didn't go chasing after them for it. I think they probably didn't want to waste their time writing it up. I think a lot of other companies would give a ballpark on the phone and then if I wanted the work done they would write it up. They put us on their mailing list so we get lots of mailings and junk from them and we get greeting cards from them. We have the same roof issue as the house across the street and they used this company so they could have just looked up that price. If they couldn't give me a price I wasn't going to hunt them down.
Description of Work
Bellamy & Sons Construction was supposed to give me an estimate for roof repair, they came out to the house.
Category
roofing
Larry W.
4.0
12/29/2010
The price of the work was much higher than I expected. We didn't have the work done.
Description of Work
Very curtious and prompt in assesing my potential job
Category
remodeling
Jessica W.
5.0
07/07/2010
The estimate provided was very thorough. The owner was extremely helpful in making suggestions for the renovations and very professional. Unfortunatley, the cost to do the work exceeded what we felt was resonable to spend given the overall value of our home. I have no doubt in my mind that the work would have been exceptional if we used this company.
Description of Work
Recieved a detailed estimate on bathroom remodel and discussed other renovations to be done in other areas of the house.
Category
remodeling
Kenneth V.
5.0
05/03/2009
The end result was very good. We have used this company for several major projects at our home and had always been very satisfied. Out last project came out very well but responsiveness seems to have declined. We had trouble getting a quote. We have a gouge in our driveway caused by the roofers equipment which was supposed to be fixed but which they have apparently decided to ignore. Relatively minor stuff but troubling.
Description of Work
New roof and re-siding
Category
remodeling
Kendra P.
5.0
09/05/2008
Everything went great. They got everything done in a great amount of time, and got everything done great. It took them seven weeks, but it was definitely worth it. We are completely satisfied with the way that everything turned out. I would definitely use them again, as well as recommend them to others.
Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen, family room, replaced floors, put in new lighting, and put in new windows.
Category
flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, replacement windows
5.0
08/02/2006
IT WAS EXCELLENT. THEY LISTEN, THEY GAVE GREAT SUGGESTIONS AND THEY WORKED WITH US. THE PRICE WAS HIGHER THAN MOST THAT WE LOOKED AT WHEN WE WENT OUT FOR BIDS BUT WE HAD REFERENCES ON QUALITY.
Description of Work
THE PUT IN A MUD ROOM. THE HOME OFFICE, ATTIC AND GARAGE WERE REPLACED. THEY HAD TO TEAR DOWN THE GARAGE AND COMPLETELY REBUILD IT.
Category
remodeling, garage builders
5.0
07/21/2006
I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM. THEY WERE PROMPT, COURTEOUS AND PROFESSIONAL. I THINK I HAD TO WORK AROUND THEIR SCHEDULE SOME BUT THAT WAS OKAY WITH ME. THEY DID A FINE JOB OVERALL.
Description of Work
A NEW FRONT DOOR WITH SCREEN WAS INSTALLED.
Category
doors
5.0
07/21/2006
THEY WERE VERY RESPONSIVE AND VERY GOOD. THEY WERE THE FIRST TO COME WHEN THE TREE FELL. THE QUALITY OF WORK WAS EXCELLENT BECAUSE THEY DID WHAT THEY SAID THEY WERE GOING TO DO AND THEY WERE THERE ON TIME. THEY WERE VERY CLEAN AND THEY DIDN'T LEAVE ANY MESS BEHIND AT ALL. THEY WERE VERY, VERY THOROUGH.
Description of Work
THEY PUT UP SIDING AND DID SOME PAINTING. THEY ALSO PATCHED UP OUR ROOF AFTER A TREE FELL ON IT.
Category
roofing, siding, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Capital District Electric

    Give Capital District Electric a call at (518) 573-1059 where no job is too big or too small. We do quality work, right the first time! Whenever you call Capital District Electric you will speak to a licensed electrician. Whenever you have us do your work it will be done by a licensed electrician not a helper or a electrician in training. We accept Checks, cash and all major credit cards. Additional email - capital.district.electrician@gmail.com.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    AB Electrical Enterprise

    With years of professional residential, electrical experience, AB Electrical is a family owned and operated business that guarantees your satisfaction! We pride ourselves on quality work, while delivering great customer service! Our team of highly trained professionals are committed to providing quality service while maintaining the highest level of integrity! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today! We look forward to serving you!  

    Angi Certified

    Advanced Flooring N.Y. LLC

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Custom home/design build, remodeling, additions, windows, doors, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, insurance restoration, excavation, plumbing and electrical. Directional drilling, underground boring, trenchless/no dig technology, pipe bursting. Septic installation and repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bellamy Construction Co

    How is Bellamy Construction Co overall rated?

    Bellamy Construction Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bellamy Construction Co open?

    Bellamy Construction Co is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Bellamy Construction Co provide

    Bellamy Construction Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Bellamy Construction Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bellamy Construction Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Bellamy Construction Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bellamy Construction Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bellamy Construction Co offer a senior discount?

    No, Bellamy Construction Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Bellamy Construction Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bellamy Construction Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bellamy Construction Co?

    No, Bellamy Construction Co does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bellamy Construction Co offer?

    Bellamy Construction Co offers the following services: Custom home/design build, remodeling, additions, windows, doors, kitchen and bathroom remodeling, insurance restoration, excavation, plumbing and electrical. Directional drilling, underground boring, trenchless/no dig technology, pipe bursting. Septic installation and repair.