Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

JBL HOME IMPROVEMENTS INC

4.8

(209) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since September 2007

Angi certified badge

Awards & Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 39366 H - H0444310000
  • Trade License Locale
  • Suffolk County - Nassau County
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
3:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Company Contact

PO BOX 584

Saint James, NY 11780

Description

JBL Home Improvements, Inc, located in St. James, is a family owned and operated remodeling business specializing in residential projects. Owner & Contractor David Kaplan, General Manager Jill Kaplan, along with their team of talented professionals, are dedicated to providing outstanding workmanship and customer service to homeowners who live in their community....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(209) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

177

4

12

3

3

2

4

1

13

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9
Read reviews by category
handyman (127)drywall (64)home remodeling (54)woodworking (48)interior painting (45)electrician (44)door installation (41)plumbers (36)insulation (29)window replacement (26)tile installation (26)basement remodeling (25)
Showing 1-10 of 209 reviews
5.0

04/10/2021

Working with JBL was fantastic. They were very easy to communicate with and the crews were always punctual. The work was top notch and were are very satisfied. I would certainly consider JBL for future work and recommend to others.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Basement renovation

CATEGORY contractors,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,lighting,plumbing,replacement windows,woodworking,doors,basement remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 04/10/2021

5.0

03/18/2021

We were very pleased.The work done was excellent- the workers were professional, punctual and reliable. Dave, the owner, was on site every day overseeing the work and working with his men. Everything was done exactly the way we wanted. We will definitely hire them again for any future projects.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
new roof, new exterior doors, new siding, complete renovation of the laundry room

CATEGORY drywall,remodeling,roofing,siding,doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/27/2021

5.0

03/17/2021

JBL did an excellent, professional job. The work was completed in a timely manner. The various workers were polite and courteous, and the interior of the workshop looks great. They even repaired the siding on the back of my house as a favor. I will be hiring them again for future renovations in my home.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Finish a backyard workshop

CATEGORY contractors,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,gutter repair,insulation,lighting,woodworking

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/16/2021

5.0

03/15/2021

We are very pleased with all the work that was done. The workmen were very professional, their work was excellent and everyone was punctual and reliable. Everything was done exactly the way we wanted it to be. Dave, the owner, was on site every day both to oversee and work with his men. We will definitely hire them again for our next project.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We had a new roof done, a complete renovation of our laundry room right down to new walls, new ceiling and new floor. We had new front, back and side exterior doors and new siding installed.

CATEGORY drywall,remodeling,roofing,siding,doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/28/2021

5.0

02/02/2021

This is our second time using JBL home improvement. Dave and the JBL crew are excellent people to work with. They started work right away and Dave kept us informed of possible delays with furnishings due to the Pandemic. He always followed up with the cabinet and granite manufacturers and kept us informed of their progress. The crew was excellent and clean. Everyday they left all work areas clean....

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Small Kitchen and Bathroom renovation, Painting

CATEGORY contractors,ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

COST $40,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/14/2020

5.0

01/28/2021

Problem free. Everything was completed exactly as we planned. Quality of their work could not have been better. Crew was prompt and placed drop cloths everywhere. Same crew and subs throughout the job. No one and done laborers. Dave is extremely easy to communicate with and came to our home every day to discuss work and answer questions.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Two full baths completely gutted & renovated, 2 slider doors, front entry door and 2 windows replaced

CATEGORY contractors,ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,replacement windows,interior painters,doors

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/22/2021

5.0

11/26/2020

Everything went well. The workers were all very professional and punctual.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We had two bathrooms redone.

CATEGORY contractors,ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/26/2020

5.0

11/09/2020

Dave was a pleasure to work with. He was quick to reply and on time each day. The work far exceeded our expectations. Can’t wait for more projects!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Carpentry and painting

CATEGORY contractors,decks,drywall,electrician,woodworking,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/09/2020

5.0

10/17/2020

We have had a great experience working with JBL. The communication was consistent as well as the quality. Projects were completed in a timely manner. We will definitely use them again in the future and recommend their work.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Full kitchen renovation & Basement bedroom and bathroom

CATEGORY contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,drywall,flooring contractor,handyman service,plumbing,remodeling,siding,replacement windows,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors,basement remodeling

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 10/17/2020

4.0

09/05/2020

It went pretty good! They finished the job, and they knew what they were doing.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
They put a vent.

CATEGORY heating & air conditioning/hvac

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 08/21/2020

Services Offered

KITCHENS, BATHS, TRIMS, REFINISHED BASEMENT, DECKS, ROOFING AND SIDING, WINDOWS, & DOORS, TILE WORK, HARDWOOD FLOORING INSTALLATION AND REFINISHING, HANDYMAN SERVICES

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes