Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030

With Angi since October 2013

3.4

(107) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

40 Ridgeland Rd

Rochester, NY 14623

Description

TruGreen® provides a full suite of tailored lawn and landscape services. From fertilization and aeration to tree & shrub services and much more, TruGreen delivers superior results backed by our Healthy Lawn Guarantee.®1 We also offer effective solutions to help control and prevent lawn damaging

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Lisa L.
1.0
09/07/2020
I contacted customer service to send a tech out to my property and treat for brown patch and no one came by. When I called to follow up the representative informed me that they had attempted to contact me and inquire about the problem but since I apparently did not answer, they never sent a tech out. Why would I need to explain the problem to a lawn care company who I am certain would know the details and treatment of brown patch. My lawn looks terrible as it has only gotten worse with the lack of response from TruGreen. I will not be using them next year.
Description of Work
Treatment of brown patch on lawn.
Category
landscaping
Brian S.
1.0
07/09/2020
Paid in full in spring for once a month service. They’re only been to my house once on May 28th. Was scheduled for July 3rd. Never showed. Then scheduled for followed week. Never showed. Now I’m scheduled for July 14th. Can’t trust them to be there so I cancelled entire program. This is something I wanted done every year along with 3 of my neighbors but not with this company.
Description of Work
Lawn weed maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn treatment
Randy B.
1.0
01/17/2018
I would never recommend them again. I had a new section of lawn put in. The people putting the chemicals down were fine. They realized it was new and didn't put any chemicals on it yet. The guy that came to aerate the lawn tore up the entire thing up with his machine. He should have known the first time when he went thru that it wasn't right and it was torn up and he kept doing it. I called repeatedly and talked to 3 different managers there and got absolutely no satisfaction so I dropped them right then. I told them right there quitthe service. I don't want you again.
Description of Work
They put chemicals on the lawn, aerating, reseeding.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Michael B.
1.0
10/11/2017
Same issue as previously had this summer. Weed application did nothing to kill weeds
Description of Work
Lawn fertilization and weed killer
Category
lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to hear that you feel the weed application did not help kill the weeds in your yard , and we would like to extend our humblest apologies. We pride ourselves in delivering a consistently high standard of service, and would like to assure you that we are very eager to correct any mistakes. Please contact us directly at: 1 (800) 515-3380. We would love to discuss what we can do to improve your situation.
John H.
5.0
09/02/2017
..........................................................
Description of Work
..........................................................
Category
lawn treatment
William W.
5.0
06/05/2017
The service turned out very good. The price was fair. This is our first year doing this and I have nothing to compare. The gentleman that comes here and does it is excellent. He's a very nice guy. This was the second time that they had been here. We had a contract with them. The first time they came here, we had them to do something extra and that cost was $105.51. The second time they came, the cost was $97.95; every time they come that is the price for the service. They will come six times to fertilize, one time for weed control and grub applications. For the whole year $688.66 for seven applications on what my husband agreed on with them.
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn treatment
Betty Anne R.
1.0
05/07/2016
I received 2 calls saying that they were coming to fertilize the lawn. When they didn't come that day, I called the next day. It was rescheduled for the next week. When no one came, I called again; I was told that a General Manager would call me. I waited 2 days -- no one called. I called again and said that I wanted a refund. It took 20 min. for Derek to understand that I wanted a refund. I waited a week and called my credit card company to see if a refund had been issued. It had not. They called Tru Green and we had a 3 way conversation. John agreed to give me a refund. Every year, I have had to call them to come back to treat the clover and they never really do get rid of it --- or many weeds. I do not recommend this company.
Description of Work
I paid in Dec. 2015 for treatment in 2016. The provider basically did nothing.
Category
lawn treatment
William F.
4.0
08/10/2015
From what I could tell, it's pretty good. They're good at responsiveness. They tried to sell me something I already have.
Description of Work
We use TruGreen. They do the grass and the tree services.
Category
lawn treatment, tree service
David D.
3.0
07/28/2015
They came out a few times last year. They had an auto renew that I didn't know about so I cancelled it. The pricing was ridiculous so we cancelled it. Originally, we liked the service, they did a great job but it became too expensive. The people who came are professional but the guy I cancelled with was not very professional. I will use them again only if I had to. I think the product is really good, it was just over priced.
Description of Work
They did mostly weed and feed.
Category
lawn treatment
Beverly D.
4.0
04/23/2015
They cost about $420 a year for 5 treatments. They use an organic fertilizer, and this last year I gave up with the dandelion, so I had them come out and do the pesticide. The service is good. They will call me the day before and tell me that weather permitting they will come out the next day. If you pay by a certain time for the next season, they will give you a discount. They are very good. I don't need to be home when they are here, so I don't have any interaction with the people. I am contracting with them, and I am waiting for them to come out for their first visit here.
Description of Work
I use TruGreen. They last came out for fertilization.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Bill R.
4.0
04/06/2015
It's $79 per application. It takes him about 20 minutes. One person comes out to do the work. He comes in a truck loaded with whatever he needs. He does my lawn and my neighbor's lawn. He does several lawns. It's a huge corporation. He sprays, puts down a couple of flags that are required in New York state and he leaves the bill on my door. He get in his truck and he drives away. They used all liquid applications. I've used them for one year. Their price seems to be right in line with everyone else's. They seem to do a decent job. They are very responsive. There is no appointment needed. It's pre-scheduled. Actually he was quite professional.
Description of Work
He is only spraying fertilizer, weed killer, bug killer and grub killer.
Category
lawn treatment
Paage G.
2.0
02/10/2015
OK...so door to door sales stopped in my neighborhood last spring and I was given a price I couldn't refuse. I had just seeded my lawn the year before and knew how much it cost to fertilize much less do any grub control. So I took the chance. They stopped for the first treatment weeks after I signed the contract and I was excited to see how my lawn would look that summer. The results were less than pleasing. My lawn did not have any sort of deep green I experienced the year before. I decided to give it another treatment or so to see if it would change. It did not. I contacted the office with disappointment and stated I needed resolution. I asked for a treatment of granular fertilizer over the liquid they've been using up until now. The lawn was finally starting to react. The next treatment went back to liquid and I had to ask again for a granular treatment as the liquid did nothing for my lawn. This time, my lawn looked like a football field. I never expected an experienced company like this would stripe my lawn like they did. I contacted the office and they sent a representative to my house to view the lawn and told me it was "frost" related and that they were not at fault. I've seen a striped lawn...I did it myself the year before and knew what caused the problem and how to fix it. At this point, I had it. I soon after received a bill stating how great of a deal I was getting this past year and that treatment for 2015 would be much higher. I contacted customer service and immediately cancelled service. I was extremely disappointed in the service level. The management in the field office was great to speak with and they did exactly what they said they would, but it appears the field service reps are nothing more than college kids looking to do something over the summer. I expected more. I was warned prior to signing up for service to avoid this company, and now I know why. For what you're paying for, I learned it was worth just buying a spreader and doing the job myself. If you can't do it yourself, look elsewhere. This company isn't worth your time or money.
Description of Work
Fertilizer and grub control
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
Maureen D.
3.0
01/02/2015
I hired them to put fertilizer down and they did it.
Description of Work
We used Scotts for lawn service. They put down fertilizer and weed killer.
Category
lawn treatment
Dale O.
5.0
07/23/2014
I thought their price was a little high so I went some place and they called me back. I told them they were too high and they reduced the price by a lot so I went back with them. They dropped $75 or something. They do a good job. My lawn looks great. They all use the same stuff and applications. They figured out the dates they wanna do the work and they call me ahead of time to tell me they're coming. They tell me if I need the dog in or not depending on what they're putting down, and they tell me whether I need to be there or not.
Description of Work
They did lawn and yard work few years before and last year at the beginning of season they forward me an estimate.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Beverley P.
5.0
07/21/2014
They come out every six weeks and they are reliable. They are professional and one of my relatives recommended them to me. They do the right thing. They have been good at giving me what I need. It is a little pricey but, I have a large yard.
Description of Work
TruGreen treat my yard.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
CHRISTINE S.
2.0
05/30/2014
So far - no improvements- I have only had one 7 minute visit by the company- and have not experienced any results.... Stay tuned
Description of Work
This is the second year I am using scotts lawn service - last year the company never provided service until the end of June, (I enrolled in April) and the service was poor - I experienced weeds, grubs, etc- The company provided the excuse that this is my first year- I have to give them two years for their chemicals to work - SO. I re-enlisted for this year (2014) - and again never received any service until I contacted them on May 2 (Note the company was deducting monthly payments from my account since January for 2014 service ) - When I called and emailed the office I was told my service plan had changed etc... and attempts to speak to the manager were fruitless. Finally, after multiple requests- the new manager returned my call and promised my service would be more consistent - still waiting - not sure if I just threw all this money away again, for another season....
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Renee K.
1.0
05/21/2014
I had several problems with Scott's Lawn Service. We first were talked into the service at a Home Show. They would call me often and push for services, especially the core & aeration, with seeding. I finally agreed to it, and they gave me a time frame, which was at least a few weeks out, which they said was appropriate for our area. The rep who sold the service told me it did not have to be watered afterward, because it is usually rainy in that time frame. However, they did not wait, and came in the next few days. I had been glad when the rep said they wouldn't be coming for a few weeks because I told him I would not be able to water the lawn due to prior commitments for a few weeks anyhow. I was furious when I came home just 2 or 3 days later, to a notice from Scott's that they had done the service. I tried several times to reason with the local manager, but he would not even compromise at splitting the bill. The manager told me his rep would never say it was not necessary to water afterward, and I told him his rep was just telling me anything he thought I wanted to hear, to get me to agree to the service. I also saw very little seed in the lawn. The manager actually made a trip out to my house and said he did see seed (I was not home at the time). I don't know what he was looking at. The core, aeration and seeding cost me around $350, and it was a TOTAL waste. Furthermore, the secretary is very rude. She was also like a brick wall, and I couldn't even speak to the manager until I complained on the Scott's Lawn Care facebook page, and they forwarded my complaint to him. Needless to say, it didn't do a bit of good. BUYER BEWARE! Perhaps they would be good for simply the monthly weed and feed, but why go them, when there are so many others out there? Don't be burned, like I was. $350 is almost a week's net pay for me.
Description of Work
Apply fertilizer, weed control, and perform core & aeration service.
Category
lawn treatment
Mikal H.
5.0
05/16/2014
Scotts Lawn Service are good. Their prices are competitive.
Description of Work
They spray our lawn for bugs and also spread fertilizer. They'll be coming out six times during the year.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
Janice D.
3.0
01/19/2014
Work is fine, but it is very difficult to coordinate their work with other services. Some treatments and pruning were completely missed. They also billed for additional work that I had refused on the phone. Although I did receive credit, found it rather unprofessional. The workers themselves are just fine. This is a management problem that may come with large companies.
Description of Work
.
Category
lawn service
Michael C.
1.0
10/03/2013
I called the service to see if they had tested the lawn first before application as my lawn which is adjacent and has had no need of pesticides for the 7 years I have lived at the address. The spokesperson gave me a runaround and referred me to my neighbor who is elderly and has health issues. She was unaware of any testing and is not sure if it was done a number of years ago when her now deceased husband initiated the service. Trugreen applies pesticide twice a year and various fertilizers as well as aerating her lawn at what I would guess is a considerable cost. I would dare anyone to note a difference between her lawn and mine and I only apply an organic fertilizer once in the Spring. I feel this service is taking advantage of my neighbor and using chemicals that aren't warranted.
Description of Work
Trugreen applied a pesticide to my neighbor's lawn with appropriate flags to inhibit traffic.
Category
lawn treatment
Anne L.
1.0
09/18/2013
Do not hire Tru Green, at least not in Rhode Island because the franchisee does not communicate with its clients. I signed up for services in late summer and was told that I would be contacted in advance of each treatment, etc. etc. That was the first thing that turned out not to be true. The first treatment was in early August and no one called me in advance. I just happened to be home. The young man explained things and answered my questions. He then did the application and left the hang tag on my front door. Only later did I realize that the hang tag had instructions on it - instructions that the guy never bothered to tell me. I was at home the entire time. All he had to do was ring the bell, but it was clear he didn't want to talk to me. As a result, instructions for the lawn's care were missed. I later received a "fill out this feedback" form from TruGreen. I filled it out and told them I was unhappy with the level of communication. The website said "someone will contact you" within the next day. You guessed it. No one ever contacted me. I knew I was dealing with a company with communication issues so I called the 1-800 number to schedule my aeration and overseeding. I set up the date with the operator and later received a phone message from the franchisee telling me that they would be out on September 18. I was out of town on business so I arranged to have a friend come over to water the lawn to keep the seed moist. My friend called me and told me no one had been out to seed, so I called the 1-800 number. I was switched over to corporate where I learned for the first time that the franchisee had decided to "reschedule" my seeding and aeration - of course, without bothering to inform me of that fact. The first I heard of it was through the woman at corporate. This is no way to run a business. I shouldn't have to call the 1-800 number each time I need service to complain about the fact that the franchisee can't be bothered to pick up a phone and give the customer the courtesy of a call to inform her of a change in schedule. I canceled my service and asked for a refund. It's too bad that TruGreen has a franchisee in Rhode Island that is so unprofessional. It affects the firm's name. I cannot recommend the company to my friends and neighbors because they'll get a company that fails to keep the customer informed of what is happening on the customer's property.
Description of Work
I signed up for the total lawn care package and prepaid for services to get the discount. I had one application of the weed control product and canceled.
Category
lawn treatment
Steve S.
2.0
07/08/2013
It started out well, but they'd gone through some changes that were all for the worse. Their system was really messed up. I would call and they would say they would send someone, but no one ever came. When the techs came, they blamed the office saying they never got the message; they had awful communication. If the local line was busy, my call would be routed to a provider further away. The last straw was when they over-fertilized and killed about 1/3 of my lawn. I was left to rake it, re-seed it, and redo the lawn myself which took months.
Description of Work
I was a customer of theirs for about 8 years.
Category
lawn treatment
KAREN H.
1.0
05/17/2013
I called on 5/7/13 requesting lawn estimate. I was told it would be $29 per cut and they serviced my area on Mondays. They said they would try and cut lawn before Monday but they couldn't guarantee it. I agreed to $29 per cut. I called the Sunday before and left a message requesting call back on Monday to ensure I was on their list for services. They never called or showed on Monday; I left second message Monday afternoon requesting call back which never occurred. I would not recommend this business as being dependable or reliable.
Description of Work
They never showed!
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Eric S.
5.0
04/09/2013
Very professional, courteous and prompt. My lawn is shaping already from several years of neglect before we purchased the property. Crabgrass was rampant as were dandelions. Both are eliminated form the lawn and the grass is getting thicker.
Description of Work
Full year - 6 treatments for fertilizer, pesticide and weed control for 1/2 acre lawn including treatment of all shrubs
Category
lawn treatment
Maureen M.
3.0
09/14/2012
Over the years with their continued annual services, our satisfation has gradually declined. The first 2yrs were acceptable as we were new homeowners and previous owners had not done any fertilizing, so the effects were dramatic. They convinced me to purchase their aeration for $600, salesperson told me it "had" to be done d/t compacted soil. Told me it would take 'a couple hours' and they would use '2 bags of seed'. Two guys showed up, 1 guy sat in the truck in front of my house, the other buzzed around the yard VERY quickly on motorized aerator/seeder. I was home at the time, which they did not know because they never came to the door. Not only did it take less than 40 min, he only used 1/2 bag of grass seed. Not bad......$600 for less than an hour. The guy sitting in the truck kept calling to the one doing the service to 'hurry up, mom was waiting for you at the lawyers'. I called the company to complain, said they would have a manager call me back. Manager called back.....very sorry for the dissatisfaction and would have someone else call me to reschedule a re-do. Phone call never came. Called again, same thing.....very sorry for my dissatisfaction, will have manager call me back......call never came. Follow year, my technician recommended aeration. I told him DON'T ever mention that to me again. Told him of my experience the prior year and that I will never pay $600 again for that lame service. Couple weeks later, received call from main office trying to sell me aeration again. Told him, that the next time anyone asks me again, it will be the last conversation we have as I will end my services immediately. Believe it or not, but last year (2011) I agreed to the aeration as we had recently had an addition added to our home and they said it was necessary because of all the heavy equipment that had driven over the yard and the dirt that had backfilled around the new addition and they agreed to a price of $500. Did not make any difference, grass still not grow.
Description of Work
Have had TruGreen services for approx 8yrs, back when they were called Chem Lawn. They have provided lawn fertilization, grub control and aeration for approx $1,200/annually.
Category
lawn treatment

    Other local Pros in your area

    Innovative Pest Management Corporation

    Established in 1996, Innovative Pest Management Corp. strives to use minimal chemical invasion to protect against pests. We accept, cash, check, mastercard, visa & IMS barter.  

    Angi Certified

    Suburban Pest Control LLC

    We are 2nd generation, family owned and operated, exterminators in WNY with over 40 years of extermination experience in the pest control industry. Our courteous and professional staff, Certified Exterminators, Buffalo & Rochester Trappers and Technicians are chemically conscious. Your safety and pest elimination is our #1 priority. Also, for all your nuisance wildlife control needs, we have a licensed Trapper. There is no pest problem too big or too small to safely exterminate. For extermination in Buffalo, trappers in Rochester, pest control in WNY and more, call us now. Serving Buffalo, Rochester, and all of Western New York's (WNY) surrounding areas, Suburban Pest Control is fully insured and licensed with certifications in 5 categories: Structural & Rodent, Food Manufacturing & Processing, Fumigation, Ornamental & Turf and Public Health. We can service all of your Residential, Commercial and Industrial extermination & pest control needs. Ask about our proactive preventative pest control maintenance programs today!  

    Angi Certified

    Brockman Tree & Lawn Care LLC

    Locally and Family owned and operated by the Brockman family with over 70 years of hands on experience. We do not use sub-contractors for any of our landscaping, fertilization, or lawn & yard work projects. We also offer a warranty for any seeding job and guarantee visible results with our lawn care programs. We offer online bill pay and account management. All customers get a call ahead for lawn care service so you know when we are coming.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial landscaping, lawn, tree & shrub care.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030

    How is TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 overall rated?

    TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    Does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 offer free estimates?

    No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 does not offer free project estimates.

    Does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 offer a senior discount?

    No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030?

    Yes, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 offers warranties.

    What services does TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 offer?

    TruGreen Lawn Care - 5030 offers the following services: Residential and commercial landscaping, lawn, tree & shrub care.