Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Renewal by Andersen of Rochester

With Angi since February 2011

4.2

(99) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

80 Newbury St Ste 200

Rochester, NY 14613

Description

Renewal by Andersen of Rochester, NY is proud to serve the window replacement and patio door replacement needs of the Rochester area. We are the window replacement division of Andersen Windows, drawing on the Andersen tradition of over 110 years of quality, innovation and craftsmanship. Our turnkey process begins with a call from you and includes a respectful in-home sales consultation, custom-manufacturing of replacement windows to precisely fit your home and installation by a dedicated team of professionals. Best of all, we stand behind our products and installation with one of the strongest warranties in the Rochester window replacement business. Mon - Fri: 8am - 7pm Sat: 9am - 3pm...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/17/2019


Laurie M.

It went great! Their price was a little higher, but for the quality of work and products we received it was well worth it. They cleaned up very well after themselves and I would highly recommend them to other people.

Description of Work
Installed 23 windows and 4 doors

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

08/26/2017


Diane R.

The guy was professional. He did a nice job. When it came to the price, holy crap. The quality was good. The sample you could see. Just the price was way out of line.

Description of Work
.

Category replacement windows

2.0

07/26/2017


Patricia B.

They brought the wrong material, wrong stain on window, wrong moldings, parts missing and they lied to me, was very rude to me over the phone. The 3 day job took 3 weeks. They they said they would leave the wrong window with me for my inconvience but lied and took it back at the last second. They were going to throw it out. Never again will I do business with them.

Description of Work
doors and windows

Category replacement windows, doors

1.0

06/19/2017


Sarah G.

Ridiculous, surreal. It took a couple of phone calls - always different people (because their web request for quote system wasn't working) to schedule an appointment. Salesman came out, asked why I'd chosen Andersen. When I told him it was because of the Andersen 400 series windows I had put in myself in my house (major remodel) in 1997 and were so happy with them after 17 years. He then proceeded to trash them saying "nothing but trouble, they don't make them any more (which I later found out was not true). Said the windows they were selling were better (found out later they were not!). Started out at $9,800 (!), but then got down to $6,800 (buy 4 get 1 free, bla bla bla). Told him I'd have to think about it. Pretty pushy trying to get me to commit that night. After a few days someone else whom I'd never talked to called back to follow-up. Wanted my house to be a showcase house - District Mgr wanted to come out and offer "significant" discounts. So I agreed. Long story short - he went down to $5,500. But by that time I had done more research. The "fibrex" windows they peddle around here are basically their 100 series windows. Home Depot won't sell them here because "they are not up to our climate's needs". Found out Anderson still makes the 400 series window (real wood inside, not plastic with an optional wood veneer like the 100 series). So I had a local contractor quote and install five, 400 series Andersen windows for a total of $4,900. Better windows, lower cost, great service - beware of these shysters. They are a real disservice to the Andersen name. And despite the relentless radio and print ads calling themselves "an Andersen company". All that means apparently is that they are licensed to sell and install these windows. They are not owned or part of Andersen Windows.

Description of Work
I needed (5), 1980's era metal replacement double hung windows replaced.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/28/2017


Karly B.

I have now used two companies for windows and had good experience with both, but I feel like you can never say yes on the first meeting because they usually come back with a better price a week or two later. Sales tactic maybe. Anyways I was happy with the second price from Andersen. Three guys came and the windows were installed in 3 hours. The house was cleaner than when I left it. The only thing I wish the windows had that my older ones had is the locks that you can employ to keep the window from being lifted up past a certain point. I liked this feature. Overall the windows are a superior quality and I am looking forward to seeing if my utility bills are less this winter.

Description of Work
5 double hung windows replaced.

Category replacement windows

5.0

05/15/2017


Richard M.

Friendly crew, kept work area clean. Readily returned to add some additional caulking needed to seal up the casements. Windows are well made and easy to clean.

Description of Work
Replacement windows all around.

Category replacement windows

4.0

04/21/2017


David S.

Windows installed on time. One window spontaneously cracked within the first three months and had to be replaced. The front picture window developed a leak across the top that took several attempts to rectify.

Description of Work
Replaced all windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/14/2016


Linda L.

Excellent Installer Mike. Windows and cap look beautiful. Very pleased.

Description of Work
Replacement of three front windows. Replacement of cap surrounding Windows.

Category replacement windows

2.0

10/13/2015


Nagesh J.

They are very aggressive with marketing. The salesman was very pushy.He repeatedly tried to point out to my wife that if we do not get one windows fixed, there will be mould in my house and could affect the health of my child. He stayed in my home for 2. 5 hours rambling about his product. Their prices are exorbitant. If you are a nice guy/ girl , can't cut people short and ask them to leave because you have stuff to do, then don't invite them for a free quote.

Description of Work
provided with me a quote

Category replacement windows

2.0

09/28/2015


Christine O.

Sales rep was on time for estimate appointment. Wanted w

Description of Work
Install 10 replacement windows in color to match house shutters, 2 storm doors to match front porch and and "wrap" existing white Anderson vinyl windows to match house trim paint.

Category replacement windows, doors

1.0

03/28/2015


Michellene P.

I've been doing some myself but I had some installers do some as well. I think they took a few shortcuts and liberties. They basically hid them behind the finished product. Now, I'm trying to get them back here because I got infiltration through the new windows which was worse than the old windows they took out. In fact, they're supposed to be here next week with the factory rep to take a look. Initially, I rated them fairly good. I bought them for a good product to keep the cold out and they didn't work in that respect. Since then. I bought the windows myself and put those in. For less money, they are a better product. There were some things that I didn't like them doing. They didn't want to listen to me. I was here when they were being installed. I installed the others myself and I knew how to do it. I felt there should be some quality control specially with me watching them. I know shortcut takes place when you're not watching. I thought they were good as far as installing them. They installed them all in one day. I requested to have it done on a Saturday which they did. In that respect, they were good. Recently I called on the infiltration because I didn't know these were leaking until we got into this Winter week yet. I've been trying to get them back here. They haven't been that responsive. But this is after installation. I remember them being just slightly late. We were wondering if they were goign to show. I don't have much to compare other than my own stuff. I guess they just didn't meet my expectations.

Description of Work
They installed windows for me in the kitchen and dining room.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry for your experience. We are dedicated to providing homeowners with the highest quality products and services, and aim to give our customers peace of mind knowing that they will get a product that lasts and a company that stands behind it. Again, I appreciate your feedback and consideration. I'm glad you've been in contact with the service department as I hope they can address your concerns.

5.0

07/07/2014


David D.

They were very thorough in terms of explaining the whole process and the minimal amount of time the do the job. They did a good job and had a good presentation.

Description of Work
I was a good experience and we got a free estimate. It was for replacement of windows.

Category replacement windows

2.0

07/07/2014


Kelly R.

The sales person came back, and he was a waste of 4 and half hours of our time. This was the first time that we got an estimate from the. I really didn't like anything about the experience, we just spent 4 and half hours talking to this guy until he finally revealed the price to us, which was ridiculous. They came out with a massive figure, and then he walked away, and a couple of day later, they called back with a lower price, which was still ridiculous. They came to us with a price one more time, and it was a complete waste of time.

Description of Work
We got an estimate from them for windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

-As a representative of Renewal by Andersen WNY I truly want to express my sincerest apologies that your experience with us was negative. We take each review seriously and find your feedback imperative in improving our sales approach as well as the entire start-to-finish process. Renewal by Andersen takes pride in educating each consumer on their specific home improvement project; we strive to make each and every experience with potential consumers a unique one. Our windows are custom sized and custom built to each individual home; options include 47 interior and exterior color combinations, 11 different hardware finishes, a variety of grille patterns and lastly, several different types of screens to choose from. With all these available options it is not uncommon for more than one visit to be made to the consumer’s home. Please feel free to contact me directly in hope that I can rectify the situation. Once again, thank you for your feedback and will use this information to make future improvements!

1.0

07/07/2014


DAN B.

We never had them do any work for us. They sent a salesman out and we could not get the man to leave. He was a very hardcore and pushy salesman. He would not take no for an answer even if it was late. I've come to the sense that business is not done that anyway anymore but I won't do business with them because I didn't have a good first impression. We wouldn't have bought the windows regardless because their windows didn't match our other windows.

Description of Work
They gave an estimate.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

I sincerely apologize for your in-home consultation experience with us. Windows are a big investment. We believe important home improvement projects have to last which is why we unite our long lasting windows with expert installation, and a warranty that covers both. We find this provides the most benefit to our customers who want peace of mind knowing that they will get a product that lasts and a company that stands behind it. Thank you for your feedback, and your consideration.

2.0

07/07/2014


Gary S.

We had to call them several times before they got here. They never told us that they were not "Andersen Doors". We called because we had an Andersen patio door and it stood beautiful and kept the cold out. We thought we'd get Andersen front door and back door but they never told us if what they had were Andersen doors. The doors were made by another company that was some place in Ohio. When they came to do the work, they took away the storm doors at front and the back yet the front door was fairly new. I think they should have asked me first. There were some stupid mistakes made. The first time they sent us the doors, the doors were hinged on the wrong side so that the door would open up and hit the stairs. Another was that both doors were opening wrong; one into the hallway and one in the front door. We called them back and the serviceman asked who was going to pay for the new doors and I said wasn't paying for them because it was him that ordered them wrong. It wasn't our mistake. We didn't measure or do anything else. The doors don't seem to keep out the cold. The front hall is so cold. When we called the company, we waited a long time. We called him back and we thought that they'd send somebody out but nobody showed. I'm very unhappy with the doors. I was very skeptical because they kept mentioning money yet it was their fault. I didn't have a good feeling about the company. The doors were expensive. They were polite when they came to the door.

Description of Work
.

Category doors

3.0

07/07/2014


David Y.

I think they were overpriced. The installation guys were very nice. The job was a little longer than planned. The handles were beautiful and nice.

Description of Work
They put the windows.

Category replacement windows

2.0

06/14/2014


Maura W.

We used them a couple of years ago, and every month since then, someone comes to sell us something from Andersen. We liked the windows, but the installation was terrible. It was ridiculously horrible. I wouldn't recommend them, because you can't know who you will get for installing. We needed to repaint the trims from inside when they were done, and the sills had to be redone. They didn't know what they were doing. The product was good, and they weren't supposed to come into the house, but they came into the house, and Renewal came back and said that they weren't supposed to have done it from the inside.

Description of Work
They replaced all our windows, and they still try to sell us windows every other month.

Category replacement windows

2.0

06/14/2014


Bernhard W.

The experience with him did not turn out too well, he is too expensive and out of line with all of their offers. I had seen the same kind of offers with another company, and I talked about what they did, and he did the same thing, and I said I would say no to him, and his supervisor would call me up in about a week with a better offer. Within a week, his supervisor called me with a better deal, and I said sorry, but I had heard that before. I did not go with them or anyone else yet. The presentation was good, but their structure and their approach is beyond belief. I am 73, and I think what they do, is get people who are up in age. They called me once, and never called me back.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Andersen, they gave a presentation, and it took 3 hours. We wanted to have 3 windows done.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

-As a representative of Renewal by Andersen WNY I truly want to express my sincerest apologies that your experience with us was negative. We take each review seriously and find your feedback imperative in improving our sales approach as well as the entire start-to-finish process. Renewal by Andersen takes pride in educating each consumer on their specific home improvement project; we strive to make each and every experience with potential consumers a unique one. Our windows are custom sized and custom built to each individual home; options include 47 interior and exterior color combinations, 11 different hardware finishes, a variety of grille patterns and lastly, several different types of screens to choose from. With all these available options it is not uncommon for more than one visit to be made to the consumer’s home. Please feel free to contact me directly in hope that I can rectify the situation. Once again, thank you for your feedback and will use this information to make future improvements! -Christine

4.0

06/14/2014


Joclyn G.

We decided not to go with Renewal By Andersen. There were several issues with them. They made several appointments and they cancelled at the time they were supposed to show up but when they finally came out, the gentleman was very knowledgeable and did a good job. Their promotion which was kind of misleading require that you have a minimum of so many windows before they would offer you that discount so it really wasn't what we were looking for. They left us a flyer that I thought maybe there was misrepresentation on what they had to offer. We're a busy family, we both work, we have little kids so our time is precious. They showed up at dinner time and then told us that, no, there's a minimum of five windows that you had to have. My husband was kind and said, we'll still listen to you, let's see what you got to offer. They cancelled another appointment. But the product was good, they had excellent products. The presentation was great but it wasn't what we were interested in and the price was the price of a brand new car for something that we didn't even want. The windows were excellent but we didn't have any work done. My grades are based on their scheduling, professionalism because you shouldn't really cancel appointments when you are out trying to get business and what they promoted, their promotion was not what they had on the coupon. I don't think that we never would have them come into the house if we knew they wanted to replace every window.

Description of Work
We were looking to replace a couple of windows and maybe a door.

Category replacement windows, doors

4.0

06/14/2014


Kathy E.

The window seemed to be good quality. The first day they were in, we couldn't believe how quiet the house was and we have a fairly new house, it's not that old. It just seemed it was a good product. The windows were very dirty. They clipped the springs up and then they did the next window, so all of the sawdust, everything went on the spring, the spray foam was on a jack, the sawdust everywhere in the garage, in the side walk. Basically, they tried to hand sweep a lot of it and it really needed to be vacuumed where the vacuum wasn't working when they vacuumed.

Description of Work
They replaced all the windows and a patio door.

Category replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

-Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention and please be assured that this feedback was shared with the appropriate departments and team members. Our clean-up is a process that we pride ourselves on and I assure you this is not the normal response we receive for this process. We have installed custom sized and custom built windows in over 1100 homes across WNY and find consumer feedback vital to help us learn and grow our business as well as make any adjustments that may be needed. Please feel free to contact me directly at the office so I may rectify the situation. Thank you again for taking your time to write us a review. -Christine

5.0

06/14/2014


Ellen B.

A different company installed it and they were excellent. They did a super job and I was very impressed with them. They did really great work. It is a really nice door. It is a huge big 2-pane glass door going to our back patio. It is beautiful and nice. It has held up wonderfully. My only complaint is that the screen has not held up well. It comes off the runners at the bottom all the time. Otherwise is is well insulated.

Description of Work
We used Renewal By Andersen of Western NY to do our back door.

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful review! We would love to share your recent home improvement project on our Facebook page, local website and Instagram accounts. Please feel free to contact me directly or email any pictures you may have to csalamone@rbadifference.com. Thank you again! -Christine

3.0

06/14/2014


Linda E.

They came in and were pleasant and nice but they were way to persistent and they kind of annoyed me when I told them I couldn't afford it. They basically insulted my house afterwards. They were extremely expensive. The quote was for $16000.

Description of Work
I received an quote from Renewal By Andersen 3 years ago to replace 9 windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

-Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention and please be assured that this feedback was shared with the appropriate departments and team members. We have installed custom sized and custom built windows in over 1100 homes across WNY and find consumer feedback vital to help us learn and grow our business as well as make any adjustments that may be needed. Thank you again for taking your time to write us a review. -Christine

4.0

06/14/2014


Jane M.

They were very good. The price was on the high end. I would tell others that they did very good work, I've been satisfied with what they installed and I have no concerns of the quality of the work or the quality of the windows themselves. The people who did the work were excellent.

Description of Work
I used Renewal By Andersen of Western NY 3 years ago to replace the windows in the whole house.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful review! We would love to share any pictures you may have of your recent home improvement project. Feel free to contact me directly at the office or you can email me at csalamone@rbadifference.com. -Christine

5.0

06/14/2014


Charles H.

The quality is very good and they were very fast, they did in 2 days instead of 3, they did a really nice job.

Description of Work
I had my windows replaced 3 years ago.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful words! We would love to share any pictures you may have of your recent home improvement project. Feel free to contact me directly at the office or you can email me at csalamone@rbadifference.com. -Christine

5.0

06/14/2014


Richard M.

Renewal By Andersen of Western New York was pretty good. They're somewhat expensive but they did a good job on the installation and followed up on it. We're happy and the windows are good. They are easy to work with.

Description of Work
I got new energy efficient windows from them.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We would love to share any pictures you may have of your recent home improvement project. Feel free to contact me directly at the office or you can email me at csalamone@rbadifference.com.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Nexgen Windows & Doors LLC

    Over 30 years of combined experience within the industry. We specialize in the highest quality products that provide ultimate energy efficiency, as well as enhancing the overall beauty and comfort of your home. We offer the homeowner very attractive manufacturer's discounts and promotions as well.  

    Offers by Nexgen Windows & Doors LLC on Angi
    Wonder Windows

    Since 1962, Wonder Windows has grown to become one of the leading and most trusted professional window installers in WNY. We are a second generation family owned business, that has been committed to offering the highest quality products at the lowest prices available. Our professional installation teams are our own employees and have been with us for years. It excites us that 60% of our business is repeat customers or referrals!  

    Modern Window of NY Inc

    For close to 30 years, Modern Window has been synonymous with premium, custom window solutions for Western New York and Northern Pennsylvania. When you add our ability to make yours a more eco-friendly home with the fact that we specialize in 100% American-made windows, it’s clear why this local, family-owned company has found success for so long. Call 716-873-8800 for your free, no-obligation appointment today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Senior Discount
    Ask for Details
    Warranties
    Ask for Details

    Services Offered

    Windows - Replacement, Double Hung, Casement & Bay. Window Installation, French Doors, Sliding Glass Doors, & Patio Doors.

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Renewal by Andersen of Rochester

    How is Renewal by Andersen of Rochester overall rated?

    Renewal by Andersen of Rochester is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Renewal by Andersen of Rochester open?

    Renewal by Andersen of Rochester is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Does Renewal by Andersen of Rochester offer free estimates?

    Ask Renewal by Andersen of Rochester for details on free project estimates.

    Does Renewal by Andersen of Rochester offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Renewal by Andersen of Rochester offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Renewal by Andersen of Rochester offer a senior discount?

    No, Renewal by Andersen of Rochester does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Renewal by Andersen of Rochester?

    No, Renewal by Andersen of Rochester does not offer warranties.

    What services does Renewal by Andersen of Rochester offer?

    Renewal by Andersen of Rochester offers the following services: Windows - Replacement, Double Hung, Casement & Bay. Window Installation, French Doors, Sliding Glass Doors, & Patio Doors.

    Are there any services Renewal by Andersen of Rochester does not offer?

    NA