Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC

5.0

(203) Verified Reviews

Founded 1985 • With Angi since August 2010

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Licensed
Trade License Number
3375
Trade License Locale
City of Rochester, New York
Trade License Authority
Electrical Examining Board, Rochester, NY
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2018
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

49 Gale Terrace

Rochester, NY 14610

http://www.ellenwoodelectric.com

Description

I am a licensed City of Rochester Master Electrician. Ellenwood Electric is a small 2-man operation, with offices in my home. I have been in business for over 25 years. Our specialty is residential troubleshooting, repairs, service upgrades and addition of new plugs, lighting and etc. "We Do It Without Shorts"...

Verified Reviews

5.0

(203) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

198

4

4

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

electrician (199)lighting (54)ceiling fan installation (12)
Showing 1-10 of 203 reviews
5.0

06/29/2022


Heidi M.

Mark, the owner, is a great communicator-quickly responsive to calls and emails, patient with questions, very knowledgeable and professional in every way. Luis and his assistant, Diego, called 1/2 hour before arriving as promised, and they were right on time, very respectful, polite, and hard-working. Unlike some other contracting companies' workers I've had, they also just seemed peaceful, working together quietly and efficiently in a mutually respectful way, and without any arguing or swearing at all, which I really appreciated! Luis also removed the base of a lightbulb that had broken off in a ceiling socket when I tried to remove it the week before. A tip he shared: always leave the bulb just slightly loose, instead of tightening as far as it will go, to avoid this in the future. This is one company I feel confident to say will not take advantage of you. I'm relieved to have discovered them! Thanks, Mark, Luis, and Diego for a job well-done! :)

Description of Work
Moved electric meter to outside and replaced service riser, weatherhead, and hardware.Installed new grounding, new 150-amp main breaker service panel, OEM circuit breaker protection to all branch circuit wiring, dedicated alarmed GFCI receptacle for cord-and-plug connection of sump pump and cellar refrigerator, new range hood in kitchen. Removed double-tap 50-amp receptacle & wiring in garage. Upgraded11 outlets from 2 to 3 prongs. Provided electrical inspection by NYEIA.

Category electrician

Cost $4,475

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2022

5.0

01/11/2022


Catherine R.

Mark and his team are FANTASTIC! You will not find a higher quality electrician in the Rochester area. They are honest, fair, and kind people. I think the thing I loved most about them is they always explained what they were doing and WHY. No corners are cut. Always professional, quality, and clean work. I would recommend Ellenwood Electric to all of my family and friends. I am so relieved I know there is an electrician we can count on. Thank you to Mark and his team for their outstanding service!

Description of Work
Electrical Work on Older Home

Category electrician

Cost $1,555.75

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2021

5.0

08/04/2021


Bob D.

These guys are great. They were courteous, knowledgeable, fast, and organized. There was little disruption even though they rewired the entire house. I love the new lights! Ellenwood also handled all of the permits and coordinated with the power company. I highly recommend them if you need any work done.

Description of Work
Complete retiring, new lighting in all rooms, new box, meter and pole to connect service

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2021

5.0

02/15/2021


Tom H.

Perfect as always. We have used Ellenwood for small and larger projects. We are always happy when they leave. They have run wiring for new outlets, fixed faulty plugs, installed new ceiling fans and bathroom vents/fans/heaters and are always professional. We live in an 1871 home and many electricians won't touch it. Ellenwood tackles the projects with professionalism and knowledge of historic homes. We could not be happier with their work. Honest and professional.

Description of Work
Hung a NEW porch light fixture, replaced an outlet, and fixed another faulty porch light.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2021

5.0

12/10/2020


Jeffrey M.

Upon selling my house a home inspector incorrectly told the buyer there was an issue with the electrical box. Ellenwood came over and inspected and assured everything was up to code. I greatly appreciate his honesty and integrity and wouldn't hesitate to call again in the future.

Description of Work
Electrical Box checked

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2020

5.0

12/05/2020


Janice H.

Ellington was excellent. They were prompt, courtesy and professional. The work was neat and done in a timely manner. Also, they took the time to show us the completed work and labeled the circuits. We have definitely found our household electrician.

Description of Work
We had an additional subpanel box and added additional circuit breakers, and 220 plug.

Category electrician

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2020

5.0

11/17/2020


D S.

Ellenwood Electric was quick, accurate and polite in getting the work done. I really appreciated the clear communication and setting of expectations on the timeline and work that needed to be done.

Description of Work
Replacement of baseboard heaters

Category electrician

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2020

5.0

07/22/2020


Michael T.

Ellenwood Electric did an excellent job at a reasonable price. I would hire them again and will use them for all future electrical needs.

Description of Work
New wiring for a ceiling fan and fan install. Trouble shoot and repair a dead outlet.

Category ceiling fans

Cost $320

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

5.0

07/20/2020


B H.

Luis and Andrew were professional, friendly, efficient. It was a pleasure to work with them. They called ahead as promised and arrived when they said they would. I would definitely hire this company again. They expected the cost to be within their hourly rate and it was, no surprises.

Description of Work
Ceiling light installed

Category lighting,ceiling fans

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2020

5.0

06/26/2020


Judy W.

They arrived on time with complete instructions on what work was to be done. Their work was meticulous. They were totally professional, polite and cleaned up all materials with a complete explanation at the completion of the job, answering all questions. Their work also included an inspection by NYEIA and the submission of the Capital Improvement forms. We would highly recommend Ellinwood Electric for any residential electrical work.

Description of Work
Installed upgrade to bathroom vent fan/light with LED lamp. Installed 8 new switched PC lampholder fixture openings in basement, install LED lamps. Install new circuit for GFCI receptacle device adjacent basement pump equipment. Install new subpanel with ground rod upgrades to detached garage. Remove existing garage interior wiring, and install new switched interior PC Lampholder and exterior flood lighting. Install GFCI Protected receptacles at garage interior. Provide electrical inspection by NYEIA.

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

Services Offered

Out specialty is electrical work in existing residential single and multi-family homes. We install service upgrades, and associated ground upgrading. We install new receptacles, switches and lighting, exterior receptacles,bath vent fans, ceiling fans, generator transfer switches, detached building wiring and underground services,pretty much any of your residential wiring needs.

Services Not Offered

Due to the recent code changes for swimming pool and hot tub installations, we do not have the equipment necessary to be competitive for this type of work.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
Senior Discount
no
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC

How is ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC overall rated?

ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

What days are ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC open?

ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC provide

ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Does ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offer free estimates?

Yes, ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offers free project estimates.

Does ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offer a senior discount?

No, ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC?

Yes, ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offers warranties.

What services does ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offer?

ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC offers the following services: Out specialty is electrical work in existing residential single and multi-family homes. We install service upgrades, and associated ground upgrading. We install new receptacles, switches and lighting, exterior receptacles,bath vent fans, ceiling fans, generator transfer switches, detached building wiring and underground services,pretty much any of your residential wiring needs.

Are there any services ELLENWOOD ELECTRIC does not offer?

Due to the recent code changes for swimming pool and hot tub installations, we do not have the equipment necessary to be competitive for this type of work.