Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Olympic Fence

Founded 1977 • With Angi since January 2010

Family owned and operated usiness for over 39 years. Jobs are never sub-contracted always done by experienced Olympic fabricators and installers. No job is to big or small. We treat customers with the upmost respect and give the highest quality material. Always an excellent rating in consumer affairs.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(66) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 66 reviews
Cynthia W.
5.0
07/06/2017
They took old fence down and replaced with white picket fence. They worked all day, 8 am or so til after 6, but got the job done. Cleaned up after themselves. We love the fence and have received many compliments.
Description of Work
Replace old chain link fence.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

We try our best. Thank you .
Sandra M.
5.0
01/03/2017
The service was excellent as well as the quality of the materials.
Description of Work
Had an old driveway fence removed and a new one installed.
Category
fencing
Tommy K.
5.0
12/10/2016
The job went smoothly except for a small snafu with the installation of the latches for the privacy doors but it was remedied very quickly. The crew stayed extra hours to meet the 2 day deadline with a week after follow up to check on cement setting and gate adjustments.
Description of Work
picket fence and privacy fence, 3 double door entrances, 2 privacy door entrances
Category
fencing, driveway gates
helen P.
5.0
09/17/2016
Excellent! Work was done in a efficient manner and done quickly. The finished product was everything I expected.
Description of Work
Privacy fence in backyard
Category
fencing
Kazi A.
1.0
06/16/2016
I called Olympic fence to set up an appointment, and told them that my sister will be home the day they are available to come. I had provided her name and number to the receptionist and she said that they will call her before they arrive. On the day of the appoinment I get a call from field estimate guy to my cell phone asking for my sister, so I clarified with the guy and he told me he will be there in 15-20 mins. After 40 mins I call my sister and she told me no one came by, so I decided to call the guy back. When he picks up, I asked when will he be there and he says he left the house. When I asked him to clarify all he kept saying was "there was no one there and I left". He literally expected someone to be standing out there waiting for him. Usually when you come to someones house for an appointment you call them or ring their bell, this guy went there didnt see anyone outside and just left. As I tried to explain this common courtesy practice, he repeated himself again " I left the house, you need to reschedule". Not sure if he likes driving places for no reason, or just lacks basic professional skills but clearly will not be doing buisness with them. Based on some of thier previous reviews, this seems like a common trend with them, they might provide good fencing work but they lack basic customer relation skills. Good job Olympic Fence you lost a potential 4-7k job, as well as any future referals.
Description of Work
Failed to be professional, courteous, and provide an estimate.
Category
fencing, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

We called the phone number of the sister and rang door bell when arrived with no answer on either. Maybe we had the wrong phone number but no one answered the front door. What would you like us to do and what was the big deal to reschedule. It doesn't make any sense that you knew our actions at your house without being there. We never pull up to house and leave. Common trend is when people say they are home when they are not or when they do not answer. We are sorry this happened as issues happen on both sides of story. Common trend is that we do great work with great service if a problem ever comes up. What was the big deal to reschedule?
Patricia K.
1.0
05/11/2016
There is no discount on the job unless you spend over $1,000. They appeared that they were not even interested in doing my job. I did not appreciate the way I was treated. They say "no job is too small", and apparently mine was. They give you a price and then if you decide to use them then they will come out and survey the job.
Description of Work
Basically they did not come to the house to survey the job.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

This was a telephone conversation that went fine for the repair of two gate panels. We gave her a price on the phone and she said she would check with her neighbor. That's how it was left off. We don't need to see small basic jobs like that. The price we quoted was $650. Seems like she was upset because we do not accept discount on less than 1000 dollars. We are very busy and a lot of customers do not want to pay hundreds of dollars on small jobs. We try to speed the process on the phone. We do not charge to come down to your home. It seems like this person didn't like the price to begin with and like to give bad reviews to people who do not comply with her beg and call.
julie M.
4.0
12/20/2015
We got an estimate quickly and Vicky (Mike's wife, who answers the phones) was patient with answering all my questions. After receiving my deposit check, I was given an estimated timeline by Mike's wife of "a couple weeks," which I didn't like, but I heard from him directly a couple of days later to schedule our installation. Mike himself didn't show or supervise, which I didn't love, but his team did a pretty good job. There were a few inconsistencies with height/slant on the fence but that was primarily due to our backyard being uneven, so I think they did the best they could, and they were responsive to questions and requests during the installation. On such a big/expensive job I would have liked to have Mike at least come by and see the finished product, but otherwise we had a positive experience. They were one of the lower estimates we got for the job and they really seemed to know what they were doing.
Description of Work
Removed ~104' of old wood fence, installed ~104' of vinyl/PVC fence.
Category
fencing
Margaret M D.
5.0
10/26/2015
Estimate was professional and Mike, Jr. instilled confidence that he was experienced and efficient. Men arrived on time and proceeded to dismantle old fence, clean shrubbery that interfered with the area and installed the new fence with care. I was pleased with the work and the materials. A job well done.
Description of Work
Supplied and installed chain link fence along 21 feet border.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

We always try our best. I told her we could get it done before a certain date and we did. Thanks again for the business.
Eugenia H.
1.0
10/21/2015
Poor fence style. Slovenly work. Left hidden mess. Needed supervision. Workers were either inexperienced or had been taught poor habits.. Olympic made aesthetic decisions that were not their call to make. They did not inform me that the fence would be incomplete. Here are the problems with installation: 1. I had to point out that one fence segment was a half inch lower. They cheerfully readjusted. But would have been just as happy leaving sloppy carpentry. I also had to catch them from nailing the fencing in front of the posts, which looked crappy and ate up space. I had to show them our other fence where the fencing was flush with the posts. They readjusted, tho the spacing between fence and post is uneven. Perfect on one side, a small gap on the other. This may be acceptable in fences, I don't know. 2. After they left, I was shocked to find they had gone into my back garden and dumped MOUNDS of dirt directly against our Maple Tree and against our Cedar Tree. There were SIX BUCKETS of dirt against the Maple tree alone! Everyone knows that you do not pile dirt up against a tree. And if they'd spread it out, it would have destroyed the ground moss. They also piled up dirt against our Fir Tree, and dumped it over the little rock garden in the bamboo. The home office said "they always do this." Really? They don't ask the homeowner's permission to carry heaps of dirt into the garden area and dump it against the trees? 3. Left pools of sand and cement around the fence area. This was away from the fence posts. Cement infused soil was spread over the roots of butterfly bushes. Hard cement directly up against the fence. 4. We selected the lattice fence. We were NOT told that the top is unfinished, and you can see ugly perforations from the top. I've never seen a lattice fence without top rail finishing. It looks ok when viewed at ground level, but our windows are elevated over where we can see the holes clearly. 5. I just noticed that they missed the property line, so that we lost several inches. There was a clear painted line and they were told to start the post exactly there, not several inches in. This is a small garden strip. Losing even a few inches was a significant loss. 6. The lattice facing is below ground level, down in in the dirt, with concrete globs slopped up against it at intervals. This is not only unattractive, but the facing will quickly rot. Also, it would be impossible to do a clean paint job. All the lattice fences in our area are at least one inch above the ground. 7. The posts have a green tint. They do not match the fence.. This means that the fence will not weather uniformly. Olympic will say "just paint it." Really? Wwen the bottom of the decorative fence part is buried in dirt and cement. It should have been raised an inch above ground level to prevent rotting. Not pushed down into the dirt. To summarize: this fence looks like a cheap DIY. The lattice wood colors don't match the posts, there is no finishing rail, there are unsightly cement globs on the ground around the fence area, and the facing is going to quickly rot because it was installed down in the dirt, instead of above. I would like to replace this fence. Unfortunately, the neighbor situation prevents our doing anything except covering up this one up with foliage. My response to their response below: 1. They complain that I changed my mind 4 times. This is because their clueless receptionist gave me INCORRECT INFORMATION, and insisted that the lattice fence we wanted, was fragile. Later, the salesman corrected her misinformation. Two weeks after we put down our deposit, they STILL had not submitted our order, so we decided to go with a 6 foot lattice,. They had not submitted our order, so why was this a major problem? 2. The fence is the exact illustration in the brochure. But that illustration DOES NOT show the fence from above. This would reveal that it is missing the top finishing board that EVERY LATTICE FENCE I have ever seen has. And as I stated, viewed from our window, we see unsightly holes because the fence is not complete. SINCE THIS LATTICE FENCE IS DIFFERENT FROM ALL OTHER LATTICE FENCES, SHOULDN'T OUR OUR KNOWLEDGEABLE COMPANY HAVE POINTED OUT THAT IT DID NOT COME FINISHED? I have PHOTOS of the MESS they left all over the side yard, and across the patio into our moss and rock garden.
Description of Work
installed fence
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for my first F on Angie's List. I would not recommend anyone listening to this customer. First if price was a D, why did we go on contract and why did I get paid. This customer changed her mind 4 different times after being put on contract the first time. Responsive an F but Punctuality an A, again makes no sense. We always called her back the same day when called the office. Quality an F? This wood fence was the final style she chose and that's what we gave her, the exact picture in the brochure. If she wanted a top piece I would have charged her a little more and would have gladly installed it . Spacing of post ? This is wood. We never and no one customizes evenly. It was made a bid deal about putting post behind or in line of fence. All customers want things differently that's why we need the homeowner home on installation day. Again not a gig issue. Making an issue for the cement around post and dirt near fence,,, I passed the job and everything was fine, no issue with cement and fence was straight. Customer called me up and said I might have killed her flowers and trees because of cement. WHAT??? Again makes no sense. The issue with the dirt around the tree, OK my guys should have asked where she wanted it and not put it behind the tree and assume as we never take dirt away. But calling us up and saying dirt is no good for a tree. WHAT??? I offered to come back and rectify the situation but next thing I know , I have an F rating. Then she complained about dirt, killing her moss, which by the way you could barely see making a bid deal for nothing. As you see some people are extremely picky and can never be satisfied. Some companies don't care But I do. We were judge unfairly and harshly. I have almost all A ratings over the passed 5 years. Again we are not perfect and do make mistakes and are willing to work with all of our customers to rectify and to make them happy. Apparently this customer can not be made happy.
Peter N.
5.0
06/15/2015
From the beginning, the team was responsive. The turn around time was appropriate, as it was a small job. They followed up quickly and the fence was installed within 4 hours. The workers were friendly, and cleaned up after the job quite well. It was a small job, and it turned out exactly as I was hoping for.
Description of Work
Installed a 4 foot high fence with gate.
Category
fencing, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

Your job was one of the more simpler and smaller installations, but not any less important. It was a pleasure doing business with you and thanks again.
George L.
5.0
05/01/2015
Overall the job and their work were great. A 5 man crew arrived early the day of and pretty much worked non-stop till they completed the job at around 7p. The crew went about their business and were courteous. Even though an owner/manager did not come at all to the site on that day, which made me nervous initially, everything went smoothly regardless. The workers knew what they had to do based on what the owner/manager and myself discussed weeks earlier. There were 3 to 4 weeks between spec-ing out the job and the actual install. The company's responsiveness between that time and trying to settle on an install date, which was understandably weather dependent, was lagging. Of course, it was the start of their busy season so it's acceptable to a certain degree. Although the quality of their work was very good and I was very happy (as was the case with the fencing product itself), right after the install I noticed that the plastic strips that bookend each lattice section was loose and one actually flew away into the common driveway behind my property. That just may be the nature of the fencing and the lattice, but I would think if that were the case they would take extra care in making sure that wouldn't happen. However, when I did mention the issue to the owner/manager he sent someone soon after while we were away to glue those strips and keep them from moving. That helped for a little while, but about a month later they mostly got loose again at which point I used silicone myself to keep them in place. That so far has worked. The other issue was that all the caps on my door and gates, which happen to be the smaller caps, were not glued or were but kept slowly prying off. This could've also been due to the heat of the summer, but I don't believe it should've happened regardless. I eventually also used silicone to keep them in place.
Description of Work
They installed vinyl fencing around my small Astoria, Queens backyard that included 2 swing out gate partitions to allow a car through and a 4 foot door as well. In the process they also removed a dilapidated wood fence on one side as well as several leftover metal poles from an old hurricane fence.
Category
fencing
Anthony C.
5.0
04/30/2015
Called them for an estimate and set up an appointment for the following week. Scheduled service for 2-3 weeks later and they were able to squeeze me in sooner than that. They do not contract out their work which is nice and the two nicest men came and installed 30' of 6 foot tall PVC fence as well as two chain link gates on my property. They were efficient and very professional even when my elderly neighbor kept coming out and heckling them about property line. We would definitely use them again. The work they did was so great I want to replace other fencing thats in fine condition seeing how beautiful their new fence looks. Don't think twice, schedule them today.
Description of Work
Installed PVC as well as chain link fencing.
Category
fencing
Cheung L.
5.0
04/25/2015
Well from the beginning the service was excellent! I called and made an appointment for a quote and he showed up as stated. I got the quote and gave him a deposit. He stated it would be 10 to 15 days before he would start I was ok with that. But after 3 days he called and wanted to start the job. I was not ready for him so I ask to have it done on a Saturday. His crew showed up on time and did a very professional job. I love my new fence and will use him for my future fencing projects.
Description of Work
Took down the old fence and put up a new PVC fence.
Category
fencing
MARIA M.
5.0
12/30/2014
it went well they were very professional would use them again
Description of Work
repair fence
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

This was a repair job on a pvc fence that needed all new post. Because this was not my manufacturer's , their is risk of handling. If anything cracks I wouldn't be able to get the matching pieces. All in all the job came out nice. Thanks again.
Karol B M.
5.0
12/06/2014
The entire experience with Olympic Fence was positive from my initial meeting with Michael Constanza on a Saturday at the business's office through the completion of the job. He provided me with brochures to review and by the following Monday, I received a call to schedule an appointment for an estimate. That Friday, Mr. Constanza arrived timely. I found Mr. Constanza to be very personable and straightforward -- no hard sell tactics. Moreover, Olympic Fence is a family business, and it was obvious that he takes pride in his work and reputation. I was very impressed with him. Following my instincts, I engaged him for the job, and I have no regrets. Olympic's crew arrived to install the fence within 2 weeks of the estimate as Mr. Constanza had promised. They arrived timely and did a excellent job of leveling the ground ( after tree removal) and installing the fence in less than one day. Mr. Constanza arrived the same day to review the work and to ensure that I was satisfied. He told me not to hesitate to call him if any issues arose with the fence. The fencing material is of high quality and is noticeably much sturdier than many PVC fences that I have seen. Indeed, my adjoining neighbor complimented my choice of fence. I would highly recommend Olympic Fence to anyone considering installing or replacing a fence of any kind.
Description of Work
Olympic Fence installed a four-foot PVC fence on the far side of my backyard leading from the rear of my house to the back perimeter fence.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. Its nice to know that some people see the small details in presentation, the quality and ease of job completion. After the job was complete I went down to her house and inspected the job to make sure everything was ok. The customer was very happy and told me outright that their might not be future work. I told her the most important thing to us is a happy customer. Thanks again.
RODNEY A.
5.0
11/10/2014
Mike was great. He understood our needs and made us aware of our options. We would definitely used them again!
Description of Work
We had an existing chain fence. They open it up to create a door and also replace a door.
Category
fencing
Paul J.
5.0
10/28/2014
I received price quotes from several vendors. Olympic was competitive, but they were all in the same range. Olympic had the best suggestions so I chose them. Everything went well. It was all finished in one day and looks great. The fence is all level and all the gates work nicely. It looks significantly better than my old chain link fence.
Description of Work
Olympic installed PVC fencing for me. A combination of 6 foot privacy and 4 foot picket along with 3 gates.
Category
fencing, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

Thanks again and enjoy your new backyard.
Steven S.
5.0
09/19/2014
I Emailed Olympic Fence and the next day received a phone call scheduling and appointment for Mike to come out and measure my yard. Mike came on the 19th of Aug. and explained to me and wife the different kinds of fences he installs. I explained to him what i wanted, including 2 gates, one with a key lock and the other wit a simple latch lock. The most important thing was that we wanted the fence level from the garage to the house. He said it wouldn't be a problem and quoted the job for 2700$. Mike then said we would here from him with in 3 to 4 weeks. On 9/12 he called me asking if Monday Sept, 15th would be a good date to do the install. That Monday his crew of 3 showed up at 9:30 and began ripping down the old fence. By 6pm the whole job was complete and done exactly as explained by Mike. We are extremely happy with our new fence. Great job! Would recommend to anyone. Mike and his team are very professional and do great work!
Description of Work
Install PVC fence in backyard with 2 gates.
Category
fencing, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the honest review. Enjoy your new fence and thanks again.
Robert E.
5.0
08/08/2014
Michael came out to survey the job, we went over what I wanted in detail and he made a rough sketch in his notes. Later in the day he gave me a call with the quote. It was not the cheapest but I am familiar with the excellent quality of work Olympic does, I work all over Brooklyn and I see those Olympic signs on fences everywhere. A few days later he came by and we did the contract, he said the wait time would be 3-4 weeks. This is their "bread and butter" time of year so i expected the wait. Unfortunately the fourth week came without a call so I had to call the office and was told I would hear from them by the end of that week. I called again the monday of the fifth week after not receiving any messages from them and the very attentive woman handling the calls said she would look into it. She did call me a few minutes later to tell me they were waiting on the material and should have it in by the end of the week. Finally on Thursday of the same week they called to schedule for the next day, but as luck would have it I was busy that Friday so we set it for the following Monday (6th week). I was a bit frustrated by the extended wait for my install date, but only because I was so looking forward to finally having a fence around my property. On the day of the install they arrived in force with 6 or 7 workers and Michael. It was a big job but Michael said the guys would work until the were done. We went over what I wanted again just to confirm and off they went. It did take all day but they were great and whenever there was a question about what I wanted they made sure to ask me before they went ahead with it. The fence looks Awesome! and I've actually had people from the neighborhood not just my neighbors, stop and compliment on it when they see me outside. I couldn't be happier with the job, Olympic does top notch work.
Description of Work
Put up a 5ft pvc fence along three sides of the property installed 3 walkway gates and 1 driveway gate.
Category
fencing, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

We are very happy you are pleased with the work. Thank you for being understanding as in this time of year it gets a little crazy. You might have been one of the few that fell through the cracks in waiting time. Most of our customers this time of year are waiting between 4-5 weeks. Sorry for the wait time as we will try to improve in that area. Thanks again and enjoy your new fence.
Harry L.
5.0
07/22/2014
They were great. They were professional and we are pleased with the results.
Description of Work
They put up a new fence for us.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

We are pleased you are happy with your new fence. Thanks again for the business.
Lenny D.
5.0
01/22/2014
We are very happy with the quality of the fence. The estimate we received was the final cost of the job. The color that was recommended looks great. We did need something fixed and the company responded quickly and they came and fixed the problem.
Description of Work
They installed a chainlink fence.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us a high rating even though we had some minor issues to deal with.
Richard S.
5.0
01/11/2014
Professionally done on time on one day and did a good job
Description of Work
Installed PVC fence side yard
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

We are very happy you were satisfied with the work. Thanks again.
Brenda C.
5.0
12/21/2013
They installed one fence in two driveways and one gate on one of the driveways with the fence in backyard. I would recommend them.
Description of Work
.
Category
fencing, driveway gates
Helen L.
5.0
11/20/2013
His men were very professional, they worked very well and efficient. They came back today to wash the fence and made sure it was sparkling clean. Everything went beautifully. UPDATE (10/15/2014): Fence is standing up well. Still beautiful. Extremely happy with the quality and the workmanship. Everybody admires my fence. Neighbors are constantly make great comments about the look. Thanks a bunch!
Description of Work
They installed a security fence all the way around the house -about 312 sq. feet of fence. They sent 7 men out and and completed it in one day.
Category
fencing
Matthew H.
4.0
11/11/2013
It was a very tall fence, a two piece fence. The work went very well. My only gripe about it is that I had somebody come from the company four weeks before the installation and I put the deposit on it, they did the work for the price and they said that there would be a delay. They said it would be 3 weeks or so and they would give me three or four days warning, that they would call me to set up the time. Unfortunately they called me on Thursday evening to say that they are coming on Friday morning. That kind of perturbed me that ticked me off. They originally said 2 or 3 days, maybe 2 days would have been enough but not the night before. Their work was excellent. So there is a trade off. I was a little disturbed because they originally told me in about 3 weeks and they did call me. They called me during that time frame but the night before was a bit disturbing. I chose them because they have done a lot of work in my area. They did work for my neighbors, they did the US Cold Store, the fence around the main post office here is Flushing many years ago, and they did a lot of churches, religious institutions and those fences have been standing for many years. So it is a trade off like anything, in any services. One cannot get everything right. The quality of the product and the installation was great.
Description of Work
I used Olympic Fence to install the driveway fence.
Category
fencing, driveway gates

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the comments. We are pleased you are happy with the work. I am sorry about the timing of your job. Most of the year we are very busy. I know you did say two or three days notice before installation. When we call to schedule work we do try to make it sooner but we would have gladly waited for when it would have been good for you even though it did take us a little longer to get to your house originally. Thank you again for your business.

Phone

Address

100-35 Atlantic Ave

Richmond Hill, NY 11418

Other Information

Services offered

Commercial & Residential Fencing, Private & Semi Picket Fences, Railings, Gates, Post Caps, Vinyl Accessories, Chain Link, Aluminum Fences & Railings, Powder Coated Iron Fences & Welding.Material, Highway Guardrail, Corrugated & Enclosures Inside Buildings

Services not offered

Wrought Iron

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Olympic Fence is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Olympic Fence is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Olympic Fence accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Olympic Fence offers free project estimates.

No, Olympic Fence does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Olympic Fence does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Olympic Fence offers emergency services.

Yes, Olympic Fence offers warranties.

Olympic Fence offers the following services: Commercial & Residential Fencing, Private & Semi Picket Fences, Railings, Gates, Post Caps, Vinyl Accessories, Chain Link, Aluminum Fences & Railings, Powder Coated Iron Fences & Welding.Material, Highway Guardrail, Corrugated & Enclosures Inside Buildings

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Whitney Fabrication

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Whitney Fabrication

Located in Brooklyn, NY, we take on a wide variety of projects ranging from residential or commercial metalwork to sculptures, props, and display fixtures. We aim to create custom solutions to meet our clients' design needs. We specialize in designing/fabricating with steel, stainless steel, brass, and aluminum.  

Mark Gate Automation LLC

5.0

(9)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Mark Gate Automation LLC

We Supply And Install All Types Of Automatic Gate Opener, Garage Door Opener, Remote Controls, Keypad, And Telephone Entry, Safety Photo Eyes, Free Exit System, Etc. We Also Service All Types Of System. Our top priority is to give you professional work, making me worthy of your recommendation.  

PV FENCE LLC

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

PV FENCE LLC

Installation or replacement of Residencial PVC Fence, Chain Link Fence, Ornamental Fence, Pool Fence, Wood Fence at a Fair Prices and Free Stimates call us we can help you.