Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JRs Tree Service

Founded 1990 • With Angi since January 2006

JRs Tree Service has been serving the local community since 1990. With over twenty five years of experience JRs is ready to assist you with all your tree care needs. They offer professional tree trimming, pruning and removal service with the best value price in town. The JRs Tree Service team is ready to go to work for you with their modern fleet of tree service vehicle and equipment. Take pride in who you choose to work on and around your home. Choose the JRs tree service, the most experienced tree care company in Queens.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
ask for details
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(15) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
Stephen B.
2.0
11/26/2021
Tree removal (on Sept. 4, 2021) went well: crew showed up on time, did the work efficiently, chipped the trees, and drove away with the chips. Twenty minutes later the stump-removal guy arrived, ground out the stumps efficiently, and left. That's why this isn't a one-star review. But the stump-removal equipment left my front walk badly cracked. I called the owner and texted him photos of the damage. He said it was impossible for his equipment to have cracked my sidewalk; it must have been damaged already, or poorly poured, or something. (It hadn't cracked in the preceding twenty years, and it became cracked in twenty minutes of stump removal.) Eventually, without admitting responsibility, he said he would do me a favor and have his "concrete guys" re-pour my entire front walk "at cost". I accepted this as a mutually face-saving solution, and paid him the balance of the agreed price for tree removal. On Sept. 13, I texted him "when would be a good time to get an estimate on fixing the concrete?" and the owner replied "Will call you tomorrow to schedule an appointment." He didn't. On Sept. 21, I texted him again; no reply. On Sept. 25, I texted him again; no reply. On Sept. 27, I sent him a lengthy and aggrieved text, asking whether he even HAD any "concrete guys" or whether that was just a story he made up to get me to hand over the cash. He called back and assured me that it would happen as soon as the "concrete guys" weren't so busy. On Oct. 20, I texted him again; no reply. On Nov. 5, I texted him again; no reply. It is now Nov. 26, almost three months since the damage, and almost two months since I've heard anything from the owner. He clearly has no intention of repairing the damage his equipment did to my sidewalk, and it'll cost me at least a thousand dollars to have it repaired.
Description of Work
Cut down trees and remove stumps
Category
tree service
Robert K.
5.0
11/10/2020
Very well. A large crew worked to cut down and dispose of branches and trunk. Then ground stump a few weeks later.
Description of Work
Remove large tree in backyard and grind stump
Category
tree service
Andre W.
5.0
03/24/2018
Our Family initially reached out to JR Tree Services after the Nor'easter in March 2018. Right from the outset, the owner Jeff contacted us within 3 hours and left a message asking for us to contacted the office to set up an appointment to initial inspection and evaluation of area. As per Jeff's request, we contacted the Home Office sharing what had occurred, requested their services and an estimate for work to be performed. Michelle, the customer services specialist was extremely warm, attentive, sympathetic and professional. She completely understood the urgency of our situation, necessity to action quickly due to the most recent weather activity with the Tri-State area and stated would follow up with owner Jeff and to expect his call directly. As Michelle stated, Jeff contacted us within 15 minutes of the end of conversation. At the conclusion of our discussion, he stated an initial evaluation would be performed by him personally and estimate for required services provided at the earliest opportunity. True to his word, not only did he perform the initial evaluation within a most timely manner but the estimate provided which included stump removal from the property was most fair. Additionally, due to the importance and urgency to address, he adjusted his personal schedule to accommodate us. Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to utilize JR Tree Services due to a miscommunication between providers and another vendor was selected. In closing, I highly recommend JR Tree Services to perform all your tree maintenance and removal services. I will personally utilize their services in the near future as necessary. To Jeff, Michelle and the JR Tree Services Team, thank you for all of your effort and the courtesy extended to my Family. Best, AKW
Description of Work
Full tree and associated stump removal services required.
Category
tree service
Sue H.
5.0
09/24/2012
Our house is on the top of a hill and the tree was in the backyard. The only way a company could remove that tree was to come in the neighbors property and lift the equipment over the fence. He had the equipment to do a difficult job. The neighor he had to go through was a Jewish high school and he was very considerate of the Jewish sabath and using their property at the proper time. He arrived on time and did the job cleanly and efficiently.
Description of Work
He removed a tree from our backyard and ground out the stump.
Category
tree service
Rev Alvin M.
5.0
10/24/2011
He was very punctual and did just as he said he would.
Description of Work
He removed a tree for me.
Category
tree service
Georgette C.
5.0
09/25/2010
He was efficient and reasonably priced. He knows what he is doing. He was very helpful and seemed like he really wanted to help us. He is professional and did an excellent job.
Description of Work
I called him in June to prune trees in my yard. Most recently, he came back to trim trees and clean up after a tornado.
Category
tree service
Erik R.
5.0
12/02/2009
He took out the required permits before doing the work, and it turned out good. He completed it within 2 weeks.
Description of Work
I used Jr's Tree Svc 2 months ago. They cut the trees as I requested them to.
Category
tree service
Shirley K.
5.0
11/18/2009
Once decided on time and price, this company was very professional in their execution of the work. There were so good, another neighbor hired them on the spot to cut down one of his trees, which they complied.
Description of Work
A large tree which was stuck between the side of my house and the back of a neighbor's garage. Located in a very arkward position.
Category
tree service
Phyllis W.
5.0
07/17/2009
The men came on time and they were very professional. The equipment they used was very modern and the job was finished as promised
Description of Work
Four large White Pines were removed from my front yard. The trees were cut down,the stumps of the trees were ground and all of the debris was removed.
Category
tree service
Patricia L.
5.0
09/15/2008
I called JR after another tree company never returned two of my calls. JR called back within two business days, came for an estimate the next day, and scheduled the job for two days after that. He came with a crew of 5 guys and made fast work of the job - he made sure that his crew was careful not to damage anything. They did a great job of pruning but leaving enough shade. Very personable and was willing to give my neighbor an estimate and explain why the cost was slightly higher than mine. I was told by someone in the landscaping business that the price was very good.
Description of Work
Pruned (cut dead branches and elevate tree away from house and neighbor's backyard) 50 year old maple tree in backyard. Removed tree debris from backyard.
Category
tree service
LEO M.
5.0
07/20/2008
Before hiring JR's Tree Service, my wife and I got an estimates from three other tree companies: one referred by a neighbor and two from Angie's List. JR's pricing was competitive with the other two from Angie's List. We were pleased with his punctuality with keeping our appointment for giving us the estimate as well as the punctuality of his four-man crew that came to do the work. On the morning of the job, Jeff called to confirm that his crew would arrive between 11 a.m. and 12 noon. They arrived at 10:45 with an equipment truck and a chipper-shredder and got right to work. First they cut down the pine tree as close to the ground as possible given it being so close to a fence. Then while one man climbed the oak tree, the other three spotted him and carried away the dead wood to the shredder and cleaned up the yard and driveway of tree debris. They were done by 12:15 and we gave each guy a tip before they left. We couldn't believe how quickly and efficiently they had worked! The next time we need to have the oak tree pruned, we'll call Jeff and his crew.
Description of Work
Cut down and removed medium-sized pine tree from backyard for $250. Pruned an old (80+ years), tall (70+ feet) oak tree of dead wood in backyard for $600 on 6/27/08.
Category
tree service
Rick M.
5.0
04/11/2008
The rep, came by the same day called, and understood completely what needed to be done, to prune yet maintain the integrity and health of my Magnolia tree. The next day, a two truck crew arrived pleasantly earlier than expected with plenty of workmen, properly prepared and with the right safety equipment. I felt completely confident in their ability. The job was executed so professionally and the representative, Jeff Rice stayed on site until the job was completed. All traces of the pruning was placed in the chipper hopper. The lawn was raked clean, and surrounding areas swept and blown of every bit of remaining debris. I would like to thank this thoroughly and seriously professional company for a job excellently done. I will seek them out or recommend JR Tree Care without reservation. Their consideration even extended to removing the small remnants of my older next door neighbor's mimosa tree trunk, free of charge in his back yard. Now that's what is called full service.
Description of Work
Pruning of a large Magnolia tree on the front lawn of my house. It overhangs the sidewalk, and next door driveway, and leaves quite a mess after it blooms in the spring.
Category
tree service
FRANCES G.
4.0
11/02/2007
Jeff price did a very good job of shaping the trees, showed up for the job on time with cherry picker truck and chipper. The phone call backs were slow in coming which caused us some uncertainty. Good cleanup.
Description of Work
Pruning of 3 trees, limbs were leaning on neighbors garage and on our house. They chipped and took heavy remains of the tree branches.
Category
tree service
NEIL L.
5.0
07/16/2007
The men that came were courteous and very professional. We liked the price as well.
Description of Work
They took down a total of three trees and trimmed some other trees. Two of the trees were small and one was medium sized. They ground down the stumps and all wood and waste was thrown away by them. This took about 3 hours to complete.
Category
tree service
4.0
01/26/2006
THEY ARE A PRETTY GOOD COMPANY. THEY DID A GOOD JOB. TO RENT THE EQUIPMENT, TO DO IT MYSELF IT WOULD HAVE COST A LOT MORE. THEY CAME BACK AND CLEANED UP THE NEXT DAY.
Description of Work
THEY TOOK ONE TREE OUT COMPLETELY AND GROUNDED ANOTHER STUMP.
Category
tree service

Phone

Address

131-64 Hook Creek Blvd

Queens, NY 11422

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Tree Services, Tree Cutting, Tree Removal, Tree Pruning

Services not offered

Landscaping

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal
Financing Available

FAQ

JRs Tree Service is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

JRs Tree Service is open:

Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

JRs Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

No, JRs Tree Service does not offer free project estimates.

No, JRs Tree Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, JRs Tree Service offers emergency services.

No, JRs Tree Service does not offer warranties.

JRs Tree Service offers the following services: Tree Services, Tree Cutting, Tree Removal, Tree Pruning

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Green Maple Tree Service

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Green Maple Tree Service

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Tree services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

LA Tree Service Corp

5.0

(11)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

LA Tree Service Corp

We are a family company with more than 16 years of experience in tree service. We have liability and workers comp insurance certificates. Our employees are professionals in our service and we have all the necessary machinery to be able to make any type of tree from the largest to the smallest. we spatialize in Tree and Stump Removal Tree Trimming Topping Pruning Elevation Planting Emergency 24/7 Storm Damage and more.