Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PAP Landscape & Design

Founded 1992 • With Angi since January 2013

PAP has been in business for 20 plus years and employs 9 full time crew members with the utmost professionalism and knowledge in the field.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.6

(28) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
John M.
2.0
07/20/2021
I have had P.A.P. for a few years. Their service used to be much better. (1) The only request I have ever made, during our long relationship, was to have my lawn cut a day earlier than usual because my daughter's bridal shower was to be held on my back lawn. P.A.P. agreed to do this for us. (We were renting a big tent for the party.) Despite having plenty of notice, P.A.P. never showed the day they were supposed to be here. My wife frantically called them and continued to call the actual day of the tent installation. P.A.P. never returned even one of her calls. (I thought P.A.P. might possibly call after the wedding shower to apologize - nothing.) (2) When cutting our lawn every week, P.A.P. workers continue to mutilate my vinyl siding on a regular basis. Our once good relationship has ended in a bitter divorce. BTW P.A.P.’s quotes for work other than their lawn cutting service is obscenely high. Always get another quote.
Description of Work
Lawn Cutting only
Category
lawn service
Sheila P M.
5.0
07/26/2018
They called and do not service my area. I appreciated them letting us know.
Description of Work
trim large Yew hedges
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Phyllis R.
5.0
09/01/2017
Pete, the owner, responded promptly and professionally when coming to provide us with an estimate. We needed to decrease the cost a bit and he was flexible and willingly revised the original estimate for us. It did take a while to set the date for the job to begin, but it was worth the wait. Once we scheduled it, Pete and his crew arrived very promptly and worked hard all day to complete the job. The crew cleaned everything up completely and took away all the debris. The flower beds look beautiful and the backyard is all seeded and ready to grow. Pete came back at the end of the day to give us watering instructions and tell us about all of the new plants he put in, and to assure us that we can call him should anything not look right to us. We would definitely hire the company again. They were hard working and very professional and the finished work looks terrific.
Description of Work
We had flower beds created in the front of our house and various plantings installed and mulched.. We had our backyard cleaned up, leveled and a new lawn installed. They also removed a portion of an old fence that needed to be taken out and took out a tree stump that our previous tree removal company never came back to finish.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
GARY H.
5.0
08/24/2017
Excellent job. I have little more than a half acre of property - they weeded all flower beds being very careful of not destroying healthy growing plants and bushes. They edged out flower beds for mulch and then put in about 14 cubic yards of mulch on all prepared areas being careful not to cover existing plants or cobble stone paths. My wife and I were very pleased after viewing completed work. No mess was left - it looked perfect. Their workers were easy to talk to, polite and hard working. I recommend this company for landscaping and gardening work. We're going to have them come back in the future for fall clean up too.
Description of Work
Landscaping - clean up - mulch
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Leon W.
1.0
08/05/2017
Would rate o stars if I could this company ripped out flowers they were told to replant because there owner couldnt control his temper ...after I was badmouthed by a bad employee the owner acting like a raving lunatic came over to stick up for his bad mouthed employee ....after disrespecting me (and me returning the favor) he lost his temper and destroyed flowers he was supposed to replant would not hire under any circumstances ....what if this happened to your family
Description of Work
Work was done by this landscaper at my condo
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] lives in a condominium ,he did not hire us the board of directors and management company did. They gave us specific instructions on A project for all outdoor units .[Member Name Removed] planted watermelon which is a Viney plant and takes over everything including the sidewalk. we were instructed to rip it out and plant a tree unfortunately he was not happy with that.threatened bodily injury to my employees and wanted to fight with me as well. Even if he did own the unit which he does not he rents ,the outside is common area and the Board of Directors and management decide what gets planted and what is not acceptable. Again I was just doing what I was instructed to do and I will repeat [Member Name Removed] did not hire me .Just a side note we have been servicing this community for over 15 yrs I think that alone is enough to let you decide the real story.
Matthew S.
1.0
07/10/2017
He cancelled.
Description of Work
I had him give me a cleanup estimate, and it was fair but it ended up easier to use the landscaper already doing the neighbors houses. I called PAP at the end of 2016, made the appointment for the estimate, and he never showed up. I had a list of 6 specific items I needed done. Then I called again and was told he got held up at a job and rescheduled. He never showed up again. He's a local guy, and I wanted to give him some work - so I called in July 2017, and scheduled the appointment for a punch list of items - and his office just called to cancel that they weren't taking any new jobs - that they were months behind. YET - she didn't know this last week when she made the appointment with me? It's garbage, bad business, and juvenile. He obviously has a problem with me... For someone so highly regarded, to treat people this was is upsetting.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

I would think people would respect the fact that I am honest tell them I cannot do the job rather than take a deposit promise him I'll be there on Monday and not show up for three weeks I only take on work that I can handle in a timely fashion and unfortunately Matt has a different view on the situation.
Joseph W.
5.0
06/05/2017
They were great, the work came out excellent and very professional.
Description of Work
Aerated, thatched and seeded backyard. Regraded area of yard and laid topsoil and seed. Planted trees. Power washed pool patio and installed polysand in pavers.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, masonry, mulch, hardscaping
mari B.
5.0
07/19/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
hardscaping
mari B.
5.0
07/19/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
landscaping
Joe D.
5.0
06/16/2016
Honest...Peter refused to let us spend more money then we needed to and kept things in check by reusing what he could plant wise, and waiting until we could see the yard fill out with grass before moving to phase 2. On time...his crew was always there when they said they would be. Respectful...every one of the guys were so respectful of the property and my family. Top notch work...everything was cleaned perfectly when they left and the work done was beyond expectation. When it was all said and done, Peter told us to throw a punch list together so they can come back and bang out a few more items that stuck to us, which my wife and I will handle - but the point there is that he was less concerned with ensuring that we approved of the job so he could be on his way, and more worried about us being happy in the future with the total outcome down the line. These guys are a homerun,
Description of Work
PAP undertook a fairly large job (to me at least), and handled it with ease. They cleared a few thousand sq feet of over grown shrubbery and ivy, cut beds, removed bushes, graded, handraked, added what had to be 20 - 25 yards of top soil, tore down a swing set and discarded of everything. On top of that we added a 7 zone irrigation system and prepped the yard for the next phase by turning a difficult to manage yard into a clean slate.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you are so pleased with the job and service. We really appreciate your business.
Dennis B.
5.0
01/31/2016
We had just completed a major and costly foundation exaction project. As a result, we needed to redo our entire landscape. PAP was very cognizant of our needs and worked within our budget, providing us with various options designs, which included planting recommendations, and various sample of patio pavers and stone products. The plan included repairing the sprinkler system that was damaged during the excavation. It became apparent that it was not cost effective to repair the existing sprinkler system. They installed a new system at favorable price. The project encompassed the front and back yard comprised of topsoil, grading and seeding. All new beds were replaced with new designs an assortment of plants and bushes to accent our house. A paver walk way was installed in the front yard and a beautiful colonial bluestone garden wall was installed in the front home. To keep cost down, PAP repurposed the old backyard patio pavers and extended the patio design and square footage with new contrasting paver. The PAP team was conscientious, hardworking and we were very impressed with their attention to detail and the quality of the stone and patio craftsmanship. Pete, the owner was very conscientious, reliable and did everything he said he would do. He always took the time to explain everything to us and follow-up as necessary. He came back several times to reseed add and to monitor the water. We now have a full lawn and are very happy with the look and design of our new landscape. We are planning to use PAP again in the spring to follow-up on some additional landscape work. We highly recommend Pete and his team.
Description of Work
A major project comprised of putting in a new lawn, sprinkler repair, landscaping design and planting, paver walkways, paver patio and colonial bluestone garden wall.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much (Removed members name). It was a pleasure working with you and your wife and we look forward to doing more business in the future!
Ajesh P.
5.0
12/20/2015
Pete and his team are excellent. Pete came over initially and listened to what we wanted to do and gave us some good suggestions. He gave us an estimate in the fall of 2014, but we waited until late summer of 2015 to have the work done. Pete remembered us and used the initial estimate to do the work. Pete was okay with some of our last minute changes and did not complain nor did he charge more. The quality of work was excellent and everything was done per our requirements. P.A.P landscaping is highly recommended!!.
Description of Work
Landscaping in the front yard (Removed existed grass and added plants and sod), removed existing walkway on the side and replaced it with paving stones. Added gravel and stepping stone on the other walkway. Removed existing concrete near the front stoop and widened the area replacing it with paving stones
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Christine B.
3.0
04/15/2015
Someone from the office called to ask a few questions. She called back the next day to say they only serve the Medford/Port Jeff area. It was nice that they called.
Category
landscaping
David D.
5.0
01/07/2015
We called Peter and he called us back in a short amount of time and set up an appointment with us to come and give us an estimate on what needed to be done. He was a nice guy who was very professional and his work was well done.
Description of Work
Pulled out shrubs,replanted plants, put fresh seed down and everything came out looking great!
Category
landscaping
Deborah Y.
5.0
01/07/2015
they arrived on time - moved the bushes I wanted transplanted and planted approx. 12 mums in the front yard - the mums were beautiful - lasted til right after Thanksgiving. Will definitely call to come back in the spring and mulch and trim and do some more plantings
Description of Work
replanted bushes - planted mums -
Category
landscaping, mulch
John W.
5.0
01/02/2015
PAP Landscaping has always been dependable. They arrive on time every Thursday afternoon from April through October weather permitting. They come with three or four workers who are courteous, friendly yet professional and do a great job mowing our lawn, edging it and even use a blower to rid our porch, deck and walkways of cuttings. We've also used them in the past for fall cleanup. The owner, Pete, is a great guy and will address all your needs and concerns. We highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Our home sits on approximately one acre of land and PAP Landscape has been cutting and edging our lawn every week from April-October for many years.
Category
landscaping
Amy S.
5.0
10/29/2014
The workers showed up on a cold rainy day and worked all morning and afternoon. Peter said it was perfect grass growing weather and with the anticipated rain to come later on in the week, the timing was perfect. The guys worked hard and did a fabulous job. My front yard looks great!!! Very pleased!!
Description of Work
Ripped out over 30 shrubs, leveled the front lawn, and put down grass seed.
Category
landscaping
rama R.
5.0
08/18/2014
Peter Poten is a rare find. Very pleased to have found him. He worked with us to suggest the best options within our budget. He came around once to suggest options and provided very reasonable estimates and came once again before work started to make sure we both understood the work. The brick patio looks really great -- job well done. The shed platform did not initially meet my expectation -- But Peter came back to discuss this and sent his people once again to make sure it meets my expectations. Others who came to give me estimates wanted to do the job their way. Peter worked with me closely, without losing patience and got the job done in a timely manner. Very professional -- I highly recommend him.
Description of Work
Relay brick patio, level ground, setup shed platform and some landscaping
Category
landscaping, masonry
Deborah Y.
5.0
06/24/2014
Peter (the owner) showed up exactly as scheduled. We did a walk through and went over exactly what I wanted. He came over about 2 weeks earlier and did a walk through and gave an estimate. Within 15 minutes his crew showed up and started working. I spoke to his Forman (Manuel). And asked some questions. I also pointed out some extra things I wanted done. They were professional and courteous. I was very happy with the work and will be making arrangement for some things I want done in the fall
Description of Work
Weeded. Edged. Provided and spread mulch. Trimmed bushes. Removed bushes that I wanted removed
Category
landscaping
Robert F.
5.0
03/24/2014
They are wonderful. They are pleasant people and they do good work. They are always there; somebody always answers the phone and I never have to worry about it. There are a lot of times that I have dealt directly with the owner of the company which is nice as I don’t have to go through somebody else. It is a fair price for what they do. I am very pleased with the service.
Description of Work
PAP Landscape & Design do my weekly maintenance landscaping. The last time they did some planting and landscaping work. I also had them install a new lawn.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Adam D.
5.0
02/24/2014
Peter the owner is an honest guy and fair price for the work they do. He will be our landscaper going forward. Best in this area.
Description of Work
.
Category
landscaping
Donald R.
5.0
07/01/2013
Excellent! Peter was a very personal guy and gave his opinion of what he believed should, and should not be done...of course he said decision was always mine and he would do whatever we wanted :) I appreciate his honesty and opinion on things around our yard as we just purchased this home and no upkeep had been done in awhile. We are hiring him to now fill in old Gazebo spot with slate in order to have a fire pit area!
Description of Work
Mulch, weeded, and trimmed all bushes on property added 2yards pea gravel to pool area removed 2 bushes very large pet area was cleaned out of complete over growth, also took down 4 pine tress in area. cut down all over along fence line coming from next door sump area. Removed Gazebo and took all debris off of property
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Diane M.
5.0
05/06/2013
Peter came and looked at our mess of a backyard. Without hesitation he sat down with us, drew up a plan of action gave a price and we hired him on the spot. When he showed up with his crew he went right to work and completed the job in a few days. No problems whatsoever. He is amazing! His work is nothing short of perfect and his pleasant and friendly demeanor just added to our wonderful experience. Thank you so much for the beautiful retaining wall we get to look at everyday. It's a work of art. I would recommend him to anyone!
Description of Work
Cut into hill and built stone retaining wall. Graded land post construction.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Robert F.
5.0
04/30/2013
Wonderful job by Pete and his crew. Couldn't be happier with the job they did. Best of all, my wife is overjoyed with the quality of work. Will be using them in the future.
Description of Work
Land clearing, clean-up, placement of top soil and grading.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Larraine A.
5.0
01/29/2013
He is dependable, professional, his prices are reasonable. They are affordable.
Description of Work
I use Peter Poten for lawn and yard work. The last time I used him was in November. He takes care of the lawn and that goes from March to November.
Category
lawn service

Other local Pros in your area

Dunrite Chimney & Stove

Dunrite Chimney is a Long Island Fireplace & Chimney Company located in Centereach, New York. Dunrite Chimney and Stove has been servicing the Suffolk County area since 2000. Our commitment to excellent customer service and quality service sets us apart from the competition! Fax: (631) 648-3215 Voice Star: (866) 521-5875  

Angi Certified

Milestone Restoration & Roofing Inc

A BBB ACCREDITED COMPANY Milestone Inc specializes in Masonry Restoration, Brick Pointing, Brick Restoration, Cement stucco ,Flat Roofing Installations & Repair, Slate Roofing Repairs, and work related to Hanging Scaffolding and Pipe Scaffolding Services. With good reputation and over 30 years combined experience, we know how to give homes and businesses that "like-new" appearance while ensuring your Safety. Our basic categories include: brick tuck pointing, brick siding, scaffolding work , natural slate roofs,and flat roofs (our specialty). We don't use sub contractors because we like to monitor and complete all projects ourselves. DCA License #1405707 Exp. 02/28/2023 2014 Angie's List Super Service Award Winner - 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 2018 and 2019  

Angi Certified

Long Hill Masonry Corp

**We have now expanded our Foundation Services**Long Hill Masonry has been providing a tradition of expert craftsmanship, quality and service for over 30 years. The company is owned and operated by Joseph Tavella, who himself comes from generations of masons. It is our goal to achieve the highest standard of quality in every project. We guarantee our workmanship for one full year, and most projects are payable upon completion of job take a look at our website at www.longhillmasonry.com  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

PO Box 342

Port Jefferson, NY 11777

Other Information

Payment options

Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

PAP Landscape & Design is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

PAP Landscape & Design is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Thursday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Friday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

PAP Landscape & Design accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, PAP Landscape & Design offers free project estimates.

No, PAP Landscape & Design does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, PAP Landscape & Design offers emergency services.

No, PAP Landscape & Design does not offer warranties.

PAP Landscape & Design offers the following services: Landscaping, design, & maintenance.