Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces

Founded 1989 • With Angi since January 2007

No description has been provided for this pro.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
Brian W.
5.0
05/27/2015
He arrived on time, was courteous and professional. He measured and left to get the correct cap. He returned and completed the work without any problems.
Description of Work
Installed a new chimney cap
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Marsha K.
5.0
04/02/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Installed pellet stove
Category
chimney caps
Jennifer K.
5.0
10/28/2013
We had an emergency call to Clayton Richards- we have no heat and no hot water because our old boiler in our new home is out of commission. No other company could get to us for weeks! (One of those companies recommended that we call C.R.) The fireplace is our only source of heat at the moment and because we just moved in we didn't know what shape the chimney was in. Clayton Richards came within a few HOURS of calling, did a thorough check and to our surprise the fireplace had never been used! They dropped the emergency fee down because they didn't need to sweep. Now, we are able to stay warm until the plumber and gas company come in. Thanks so very much to all of those at Clayton Richards! I highly recommend this company to all my neighbors!
Description of Work
They came in for an emergency fireplace sweep and inspection.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
James R.
5.0
03/26/2013
.Our brick chimney had been slowly pulling away from the house. Back in 2007 we had this company strap the top of the chimney to the house. This has worked out well. Three years later, during a routine oil burner service by our oil company, the service person noticed a small gap between the inside of the chimney and the outside air. This must have occurred during the original problem and gone unnoticed during prior servicing. We called Clayton Richard with the idea that we might have to a new chimney installed. Instead, they recommended a chimney liner, which is metal tube that fits inside the chimney. They were then able to connect my oil burner securely to the chimney interior. This saved us a lot of money. I recommended this company to a friend, and he was so happy with their work that he in turn recommended it to his son.
Description of Work
Installed a chimney liner.
Category
chimney caps
Kate W.
5.0
03/05/2013
Went great
Description of Work
They were great!! We had had them to our house a few years ago because we had just move into the house and wanted the fireplace and chimney checked out. We did not have a cap and were told that eventually we would want to do get one but that it was not necessary at that visit. We called them this time because we were ready to put the cap on and had had an issue with the damper in the fireplace. The issue was explained to us and fixed and we were very pleased with the work. I would highly recommend this company and will continue to refer them and use them.
Category
chimney caps, fireplaces
DIANE S.
5.0
11/26/2012
He did a wonderful job. He stood by his work. I've used him for the last 3 years. One of the years, the chimney didn't seem to draft right and he came back immediately and reworked it. He was very clean and efficient. He was a little pricey but worth it! He makes sure it's done right.
Description of Work
He cleaned my chimney for the season coming.
Category
chimney sweep
Emily B.
5.0
04/25/2012
Eric came here punctually and got the job done. He told us that a chimney liner would be needed in the future, but we know this is to be expected since the house is 52 years old. We will definitely continue to use Clayton Richards and will continue to recommend this company.
Description of Work
Eric has cleaned our chimney before, and we're very happy with his service.
Category
chimney sweep
Judith H.
5.0
04/12/2012
Very well, we are happy with the quality of the work.
Description of Work
Installed chimney liner and cap.
Category
chimney caps, chimney repair
Susan R.
5.0
02/08/2011
They climbed up on the roof and they took a look at the chimney. They observed that the first two or three rows of bricks at the top of the chimney had disintegrated and fallen off. There is something called the flue. It is earthenware tied up sort of a rectangular thing that comes in two or three foot sections. It's packed one on top of the other like paper rolls and it is hollow in the middle for all the smoke from the chimney to come out of. It kind of winds the inside of the chimney. It's a kind of earthenware which is a kind of a clay pot. It is like those big flower pots. That's how it looks. It turned out the first layer of that looked like it was sort of not there anymore. The first couple of feet were no good. When the guy went up there he had the clever idea of taking a picture of what it looked like and sent it from his cell phone to my cell phone, which of course came with a date and time; so he didn't have to fake that one. He said that it was what it looked like up there. He told me that what he needed to do was to put in a replacement piece of the missing flue, put 3 new rows of bricks to match what was already up there and then they put two hat on sticks like things. He told me that I would have to drive around the walk to see chimney caps. I've never seen chimney caps before; so I never knew what he was talking about. Now we have caps on our chimney and creatures can’t get in there anymore. I spent $184.66, but that might have been a second payment. I think I paid more than that but I don't remember. He was very pro-active and creative in terms of finding out what needed to be done. He made sure that he got it done, and according to my thinking it was a capital improvement because he put in stuff in my house that will be there forever. Capital improvements carry no sales tax. He was willing to work with me on that one and not charge any sales tax. I appreciated that and he did a really good job. In fact, he put one shape of a hat like thing on there, and told me it was a temporary one, because I didn't have what I really wanted to put up there. He came back later and put up one more. There were two of them and he wanted one of the two of them to match. Initially there was a round one and a rectangular one. He didn't want to look for that. He came back another day and put two rectangular ones. He really cared how it looked when he was done.
Description of Work
There were some raccoons that got into our chimney because at the top there is something called the chimney cap. We didn't know that and we didn't have it. So it didn't keep out the raccoons. The next thing to do was to put a cap on the chimney. For this we went to Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces in the month of March.
Category
chimney caps
Jay O.
5.0
10/22/2009
in strong wind my chimney cap blew off. it reminded me that it had been a year since the last time the chimney was cleaned. they showed up the next day cleaned the chimney and made slight repair to the cap and reattached it. there was no additional charge for the cap.
Description of Work
clean chimney, repair & reattach chimney cap
Category
chimney sweep
MIRIAM H.
5.0
04/07/2009
They were nice and friendly, clean and professional, and it was the first time that I used them. They didn't leave anything back that I had to clean up. They called before they were coming, and they were on time. Their prices were comparable.
Description of Work
Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces cleaned the chimney for me.
Category
chimney sweep
Jay O.
5.0
11/09/2008
Smoothly.
Description of Work
Swept the oil burner chimney and inspected it.
Category
chimney sweep
JOAN S.
5.0
10/20/2008
Excellent experience. Steve was very friendly despite doing a messy and dirty job. The work was performed well.
Description of Work
I had a chimney sweep done for $70. I had the broken liner taken out of the chimney, a lot of broken ceramic pieces. They put a new liner and chimney cap.
Category
chimney repair
RICHARD F.
5.0
01/12/2007
Either cover of chimney cap had to be reinstalled or replaced by a new chimney cap. At the recommendation of my oil delivery company called Clayton-Richards. Was advised by company that if cap could be reinstalled it would cost approximately $45. If it needed to be replaced by a whole new structure of a chimney cap expect to pay $120-180. Repairman came as scheduled was polite and informative and explained the repair. Cap was reinstalled over the old chimney cap structure.
Description of Work
Reinstall Chimney cap that blew off chimney.
Category
chimney caps
BARBARA M.
5.0
12/11/2006
It went well, as usual. The cleaner, Mike, remembered more about my life last time he was here than I did. Nice fellow
Description of Work
We have a German tile stove which many chimney sweeps choose not to work on. Clayton Richards has been caring for mine (both cleaning and repair) for about 18 years. They swept and cleaned the stove, stovepipe, and glass.
Category
appliance repair, chimney sweep
KAREN S.
5.0
07/19/2006
This company was consistently polite and helpful. They responded immediately when the first attempt to fix the problem didnt work. I was not charged for the corrections that needed to be redone. I would certainly recommend them for chimney repair work.
Description of Work
This company was called to repair leaks from my wood stove indoor pipe. It is a fairly new installation (9/04) but I have had problems since last fall. They came twice before the problem was fixed with a new flashing and collar.
Category
chimney repair
JUDI G.
5.0
03/06/2006
MY LOCAL CHIMNEY SWEEPING COMPANY IS EFFICIENT AND CLEAN. THEY WERE HERE WHEN I NEEDED THEM. I DO NOT HAVE TO WAIT A LONG TIME TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT. THEY USUALLY ARRIVE WITHIN A WEEK OR SO OF MY CALL.
Description of Work
I HAD TWO CHIMNEYS CLEANED ON MY HOUSE.
Category
chimney sweep
CAROLYN L.
4.0
03/02/2006
THEY WERE TIMELY ON THE SERVICE. WE NEEDED TO CALL THEM BACK A SECOND TIME BECAUSE THERE WAS DAMAGE ON THE CHIMNEY, BUT THEY FIXED THAT WITH NO PROBLEM. I WAS NOT HAPPY ABOUT THE QUALITY THOUGH.
Description of Work
THEY CLEANED THE CHIMNEY.
Category
chimney sweep
4.0
02/17/2006
IT WAS FAIRLY EASY TO SET AN APPOINTMENT THAT WORKED WELL WITH MY BUSY SCHEDULE. THEY ARRIVED CLOSE TO THE SCHEDULED TIME, AND DID THE JOB WITHOUT WASTING ANY TIME.
Description of Work
THE CHIMNEY WAS CLEANED, AND THE LINER AND TOPPER WAS INSPECTED FOR REPAIR NEEDS.
Category
chimney sweep

Phone

Address

60 Terry St

Patchogue, NY 11772

Other Information

Services offered

Chimney cleaning/repair, marble, granite, mantles, & installation of all wood & gas hearth products.

FAQ

Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

No, Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces does not offer free project estimates.

No, Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces offers emergency services.

No, Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces does not offer warranties.

Clayton-Richards Stoves & Fireplaces offers the following services: Chimney cleaning/repair, marble, granite, mantles, & installation of all wood & gas hearth products.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Shamrock C & C Inc

3.0

(98)

Angi Certified

Shamrock C & C Inc

HOW CAN WE HELP YOU? With more than 20 years of experience, our team is prepared to handle nearly any project you throw our way. We offer... Chimney Services. This includes installations, chimney repairs and basic chimney sweeping. Chimney cleaning is best left to the professionals. Masonry services. We can rebuild your worn-out chimney or replace damaged bricks. We also preform chimney repointing. Trust our expert chimney company to make the best suggestion for your home. **Please note we currently aren't doing fireplace repairs or pre fabricated fireplace installations**  

Fred's Chimney Magic

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Fred's Chimney Magic

EXPERTS ON CHANNEL 7, CABLE NEWS AND DAILY NEWS! 1437 REVIEWS ON ANGIE'S LIST! NO COMPLAINT WITH BBB OR CONSUMER AFFAIRS! (CALL 800 696-7668 FOR A FREE ESTIMATE) LIFETIME GUARANTEE ON ALL STAINLESS STEEL LINERS AND CAPS. 38 YEARS IN BUSINESS. (3 tour) VETERAN ARMY MILITARY POLICE. EXFIRE FIGHTER. REPAIRED APPROX. 1/3 OF ALL NYC FIRE DEPARTMENTS. LOWEST PRICES GUARANTEED! PRIOR CONSULTANTS FOR BROOKHAVEN NATIONAL LABORATORIES AND THE AMERICAN GAS RESEARCH FOUNDATION IN WASHINGTON D.C. "WE ARE GENTLEMEN WHO CARE" (read our reviews) THANK YOU!  

Thank you for viewing our business profile. We are certified by the CHIMNEY SAFETY INSTITUTE of AMERICA (csia.org) and are A rated by the BETTER BUSSINESS BUREAU. Owner, Charles McCarthy, is the longest CSIA CERTIFIED MASTER TECHNICIAN, and LICENSED MASTER SWEEP, by the NATIONAL CHIMNEY SWEEP GUILD, and NATIONAL FIRE PROTECTION ASSOCIATION. Certified Chimney is a full-service chimney cleaning company. No job is too big or too small. We offer 24/7 Emergency Service. We are experts in everything and anything related to your chimney. Our family-owned business has been in the chimney industry for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on offering premium customer service to our valued customers along with professional advice. We stay current on safety codes and regulations, as well as innovative tools and products for chimneys and fireplaces, so we can recommend the very best for our customers. We service residential as well as commercial. We offer free written estimates on any kind of repair. Currently we service Nassau County, Suffolk County and the 5 Boroughs of NYC, Westchester, and Fairfield County.