Major Homes Corp

About

Founded 1919 • With Angi since January 2006

Major Homes is a family owned and operated home remodeling company and has been serving the community for over 101 years. All of our projects have a manager for supervision so everything will come out the way YOU want. Our experienced project designers will help you design a home that you are proud to return to each day. We offer buy-now-pay-later options so you can make the investment in your home while having time to pay it out slowly....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+283 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(950) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

783

4

64

3

21

2

22

1

59

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

window replacement (534)roofing (309)siding companies (201)gutter repair (157)door installation (137)home remodeling (137)plumbers (48)woodworking (46)electrician (45)flooring (37)tile installation (37)drywall (36)
Showing 1-25 of 950 reviews
5.0

07/05/2022


james G.

TO OFTEN PEOPLE ARE TOO QUICK TO COMPLAIN AND NOT TO PRAISE. WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT MAJOR HOMES EXCEPT THAT THEIR WORK WAS GREAT, QUICK AND EFFICIENT, AND EXTREMELY NEAT. ANTHONY TOLD ME THE JOB WOULD TAKE ABOUT FOUR HOURS AND THAT’S EXCACTLY WHAT IT TOOK. ANTONY, THE PROJECT MANAGER WAS VERY ACCOMMODATING, REALLY KNEW HIS STUFF, HELPED ME TO INSTALL MY RING DOORBELL AND MY NEW MAILBOX AFTER THE JOB WAS DONE. HIS CREW WAS NICE, POLITE AND WORKED EXTREMELY HARD IN THE SWELTERING HEAT. IT WAS REFRESHING TO WORK WITH THIS CONTRACTOR AFTER THE HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE I HAD WITH THE LAST CONTRACTOR THAT DID WORK FOR ME. I WILL BE DEFINITELY BE HIRING MAJOR HOMES TO DO MY ROOF IN THE SPRING AFTER THE AWESOME EXPERIENCE I JUST HAD WITH THEM

Description of Work
RESIDE MY HOUSE

Category appliance repair, siding

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2022

Images

Review for Major Homes Corp - 48-52 Clearview Expy, Oakland Gardens, NY - 39787754

+3 More

5.0

01/20/2022


Gail R.

Fast work and cleaned after themselves. Returned to install our air conditioners into the windows

Description of Work
windows replacement

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2021

5.0

06/06/2021


Jose F.

I purchased my home a few years ago and high on the list of necessary upgrades was the siding. I've done a lot of DIY projects on my own in recent years to tighten up the house including crawl space encapsulation and converting my attic into a conditioned space. I thoroughly researched different aspects of insulated vinyl siding so I was prepared to have an educated conversation with the four contractors that I met for the job. I have to say that Carl from major homes by far was the most knowledgeable about the project and offered the best products at a fair price. He was personable and patient and at no point did he try pressure or rush me. He did a complete assessment of the project with measurements and drawings and a detailed breakdown of everything the job entailed. He also returned to my house to show me more samples of sidings that needed to be special ordered. Based on the reviews on Angie's list and the treatment my wife and I received from Carl, I was confident that I picked the right company for the job. The end result did not disappoint. Al, the project manager was very attentive and Fernando and his crew were absolutely superb. It was a four man crew who worked for five days to get the job done right. My family and neighbors were wowed by the new appearance of my home. More importantly for me, the temperature and humidity sensors that I have located all around the home indicate to me that this project is going to save me money down the road with my heating and cooling costs. I will not hesitate to hire Major Homes for a job in the future.

Description of Work
Insulated Vinyl Siding

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2021

5.0

04/08/2021


Sylvia S.

We hired Major Homes to replace most of the windows in our house. I am happy with every aspect of my interaction with them. Jason, the person who gave us the quote and described the windows was prompt, clear, obviously very knowledgeable (I think he said his father started the company, but I could be mis-remembering that) and did *not* try a very heavy sales pitch on us. There was no issue at all when we said we'd get back to him at a later date about our decision (unlike other estimates we got). He just offered us a reasonable price on high-quality window replacements. After starting, the job was done quickly and done really well. The work crew was courteous and professional and they cleaned up after themselves really well. They noted places where the wood around the window was rotting and replaced that for us at a reasonable cost. The only thing we are left with are beautiful and beautifully installed windows. I am just so happy with these windows. I knew new windows would look better and be more energy efficient, but I didn't realize just *how much* better they would look. We are now scheduling a time when they can do the remaining windows in the house. I wish I could hire this company for all of my home-improvement needs.

Description of Work
Replaced most of the windows in our house.

Category replacement windows

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/08/2021

5.0

01/19/2021


Andrew V.

Project went great overall. We did a complete replacement of the roof, all new vinyl siding and all new windows - it was a large project. The process initiated with some emails and texts to Jason, he came over to my home to review the options and do a demonstration on the windows. We discussed options and reviewed materials for the roof and siding. I didn't feel any real pressure at all during these meetings. He did ask to commit there that same day and provided an incentive to do so, and some other reviews noted that this was uncomfortable, but it was fine. He spent many hours in my home patiently explaining all the options - I think it's completely reasonable for him to ask for a commitment at the end of that. I didn't commit that day, but reviewed all the quotes and called him back to start the work. I also called and sent him many texts/emails with design and material and timing questions and all were promptly responded to. He helped us work through design and color options for the windows and the siding. My first contact with him was in late June, and the work was complete around mid to late August, although the actual time on-site was only about a week or so in total for the roof, siding and windows. Considering the scope of the work and all the materials that needed to be ordered, this was reasonable. The quality of the materials and the work was great and I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
New roof, all new windows, new siding

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2017

Images

Review for Major Homes Corp - 48-52 Clearview Expy, Oakland Gardens, NY - 39144471

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], I still show pictures if your house to this day, I consider it some our best work. Thank you for your trust, and we look forward to working with you again. all the best, Jason
5.0

10/21/2020


Josh-Roc R.

Excellent job by Major Homes on my Bathroom Remodel. Robert was very helpful as the General Contractor and Mike (Foreman) was great to work with. Would hire again!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for years of loyalty, we will be here when you need us again! all the best, Jason Kersch
5.0

09/22/2020


Steven L.

This is the third time I had Major Homes perform construction work for me (siding, doors & windows for my mother-in-law’s house and complete Reno job of my son’s co-op), and as with my previous experiences, work was done as designed, at quoted cost, within the timeframes provided and flawlessly performed. Bill and his crew were true professionals, and their workmanship was impeccable!!!

Description of Work
Leaders, Gutters & Capping

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to place this review. It was our pleasure working with you once again. We look forward to working with you in the future. Be well. Mitch
5.0

08/24/2020


P L.

We were thoroughly impressed with Major Homes and confident in their ability to deliver an array home contracting services. We found Jason to be an excellent salesperson, affable, timely and thoroughly knowledgeable about all roofing, gutter, siding and window products, pricing and options. He offers his expertise with a caring touch, demonstrative of the fidelity he has to the customer and the reputation of the company. Major Homes is an A-list company that will give you individualized attention and their reputation precedes them in the community. If you are open minded to work with them, they will “go-the-extra-mile” to work with you. Regrettably, certain limitations on our part precluded us from proceeding with Major at this time. We will definitely be considering Jason and the Major team in the future.

Description of Work
Roofing, Siding, Windows

Category awnings, gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to place this review. Please feel free to reach out to us Via Email or a call to our office any time. Be well. Mitch
5.0

05/22/2020


David C.

Hands down to Mr. Kersch for the quick respond and affordable price for the repair. That's what I call quick services , in less than 30 min, He accommodate for a quick appointment today. Karl did a Awesome job . Thanks again

Description of Work
Quick siding repair

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you!! It was our pleasure to work with and for you. Please email me at mkersch@majorhomes if you need anything else. Be well. Mitch
5.0

05/04/2020


carmelina L.

Budd and the teams he had working on our house project were very professional and genuinely nice people. Because of Budds project management skills, the house project was completed in 3 months when other contractors told us it would take 6- 8 months! Budd was very responsive and quickly addressed issues and any problems that arose. We spent a little more than we wanted as there were extras that ended up costing us more but we would hire this company back in a heart beat!

Description of Work
First floor guy and addition of new second floor

Category drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, home remodeling, doors

Cost $300,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2020

Images

Review for Major Homes Corp - 48-52 Clearview Expy, Oakland Gardens, NY - 38540890

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. Budd is amazing and is a great asset to Major Homes for over 25 years. We are well known and were written up on the front page of the New York Times for not only the great work and service we have but for how quickly we complete a job. I am amazed how long most contractors drag a job on for. Once we are on a job, we want to move it along so we do not pout customers out on living comfortably. Be well. Mitch
5.0

04/13/2020


Christine K.

Very good, very reasonable and did it right on the spot. No issue.

Description of Work
partial roof repair

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2019

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure working with and for you. Be well. Thank you. Mitch
5.0

03/02/2020


Arthur S.

The roof is not leak, so I guess it doing ok.

Description of Work
partial roof repair

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business. We always do a job properly so there are no problems. Be well. Mitch
5.0

01/25/2020


Ed L.

This is an A+++ company, not just for roofing but one of the most caring and professional companies I’ve ever come across. It’s refreshing as I’ve had a lot of nightmare experiences with contractors. Everyone I dealt with, from the receptionist, salesperson, roofer, to the owner truly seemed to care about me and the service/product they provided. Once you hire them, they’re extremely loyal to you. They really care about their brand and what people think of them. Most companies don’t want to be bothered after they finish the job. These guys are different. They appreciate your business and show you. The salesperson spent an afternoon answering all my questions and teaching me about the roof and exactly what they were going to do. He even had samples of the materials. I had Major Homes replace my roof a year ago and I recently started having a leak. Long story short, I had masons and window people come and they tried blaming the roof. I called Major Homes and they immediately put me in touch with the owner, Mitch. He had his guys come right out twice and inspect the roof and resealed some parts even though they didn’t believe the leak was coming from the roof. Mitch made himself available any day of the week and walked me through his thoughts on what was causing the leak, even though it wasn’t from them. Their prices are extremely reasonable and the quality of their work is top notch. A lot of contractors will leave a mess after they’re done working but these guys cleaned everything up before they left. I could go on and on but I will be using these guys for any projects I need that they can do. For all you reading this, I’d stop your search and work out a deal with these guys. I’ve never had any issues with them and just the piece of mind knowing these guys will make sure everything’s right even long after the job is invaluable.

Description of Work
Replaced roof

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2020

5.0

01/13/2020


Walter N.

As always, a job well done. Looking for a contractor that stands behind their work; a contractor who’s seeking a long-term relationship with their customers; not one and done, grab the money and run? Look no further than Major Homes of Bayside. Major Homes replaced my roof about 7 years ago. Recently, after high wind storms in my neighborhood, Jason Kersch, owner of Major Homes, happened to drive by and noticed a few loose shingles on my roof (I never noticed them). He called me and arranged to immediately have them replaced – free of charge! I’ve been a customer of Major Homes for 30 years. Over that period, they have: installed new windows, siding, roofing along with heavy duty gutters and downspouts, skylights, front door, wood flooring, completely renovated my kitchen and bathroom. In addition, they have completely renovated a kitchen and 2 bathrooms at my son’s condominium. (unlike a private home, condominiums are a bit unique in that you must work closely with property managers, following all their rules and regulations to include providing them all necessary certificates of insurance, pass their inspection and get satisfactory sign off for completed work from the condo’s property manager). Without hesitation, if you’re planning any home renovations, I strongly suggest you contact Major Homes and judge for yourself. They will discuss, in detail, various alternatives, provide fair, competitive pricing, complete work as scheduled with competent, professional project managers and workers.

Description of Work
repair/replace loose roof shingles

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, chimney caps, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2019

Service Provider Response

It has been a pleasure working with and for you and your family. Please continue to recommend us to your friends and family. There is a reason we are in business 101 years and that is because we are good are what we do and we care. Be well. Mitch
5.0

06/25/2019


Carol B.

Great! I called this morning and Al came to my house this afternoon and resolved the issue immediately. Major aHomes has excellent service. They stand behind their work and get back to you the same day you call. I highly recommend them for replacement windows. The product they use is excellent and their service is outstanding.

Description of Work
Replacement windows weren’t opening

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for not only your business, but the trust you placed in my 100 year old family business. We look forward to working with and for you in the future. Be well. Mitch Kersch President Major Homes Corp.
5.0

05/24/2019


La Verne W.

Thank you Major Homes, I had a leak from my roof. I read the reviews and decided that I would call Major Homes to check out the leak and see what what the cause of the leak and what had to be done to repair the the leak. Carl called me to set up a appointment to come by and see exactly what the damage is and what was causing the damage. To my surprise it wasn’t the roof it was the gutters that were installed. They were the wrong gutters for my house. He answered all of my questions and he Didn’t Try To Sell me something that I didn’t need. On the day that the work was to be done the crew came early and not only did Bill make sure that everything was okay he also checked the roof for any leaks and he sealed my roof where the seal was missing. I didn’t ask him to do that but he did and I greatly appreciated it. The entire crew was professional and they left my home clean and clear of any left over materials. Thank you again Major Homes.

Description of Work
Check leak on roof

Category gutter repair, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We will NEVER sell any customer anything that they do not need. There is a good reason Major Homes has been in business for 100 years. Be well. Mitch
5.0

05/22/2019


Christy S.

This company actually makes me feel loved and like family. The AMAZING, timely, and kind service and personal attention from Mitch, the owner, is unparalleled. The staff is WONDERFUL, the workmanship is EXPERT and the materials TOP NOTCH. If you are a person who loves their home and property, values excellent work and wants peace of mind that things are going to be done right, Major Homes is the company for you. No doubt. I have been a customer of theirs for various projects ranging from siding to roofing to ventilation units to gutter and leader-work for over 10 years and I would never go to another company because Major Homes takes care of me and my home and I know there is no other company that would make me feel valued and a priority like Major Homes and Mitch do. I trust them with all my heart and mind.

Description of Work
Siding, roofing, ventilation, gutters & leaders

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. There is a reason you feel like family, YOU are family, the Major Homes family, People need to forget about the big box stores and the charachters that advertise all day on Radio and Television and deal with all Mom and Pop type stores which is what built this country. We really do go to great lengths to make each and every customer happy. Be well. Mitch
5.0

05/18/2019


Joaquin P.

Worked with Jason Kersch who was very professional and very thorough both during the negotiations and follow through. The whole project was done on time and at the fair agreed price. The crew that did the work was very professional and hard working. The result was very good and I got many compliments for the work both from friends and neighbors. The quality of the workmanship and materials is very good. Would definitely recommend and use again.

Description of Work
Installed 16 wind a combination of casement, double hung, and sliders. Removed existing old metal windows and interior storm windows. Did the job in three days.

Category replacement windows

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the tome to place this review. My son Jason is amazing and he learned the family business from the ground up and is very knowledgeable on all aspects of the company. 100 years in business says it all!! Be well. Thank you. Mitch
5.0

04/26/2019


Haroon N.

We recently had 9 windows replaced by Major Homes. The experience was excellent throughout. Major Homes was the recommended contractor in our area by OKNA. OKNA was the brand I had settled on after sifting through dozens of window manufacturers. They offered excellent energy efficiency ratings and a lifetime warranty that could be transferred. My experience started with salesman John. He was very respectful and personable. Since I had already settled on OKNA, he didn’t spend hours trying to oversell the windows. He just reinforced the main features in the model I was interested in (OKNA 500) and let me see the display model. He listened to what I wanted and didn’t try to upsell me. When the time came for negotiation, he gave me a very competitive price and didn’t pressure me to agree to a deal immediately. I really appreciated all this because we previous had Power Home Remodeling come in and the salesman stayed for 4+ hours until nearly 11pm. He also had multiple exploding offers that were for that day only. The price dropped by more than half the original offer and it still came out to over 800 per window. The difference in experience was night and day. I ended up agreeing to a deal with John the same day he came in for the quote. I even ordered an extra window based on John’s no BS approach. Once the deal was agreed, Russ the project manager came out to remeasure the windows. This took maybe 15 minutes tops. Then a few weeks later, once the windows were ready, he emailed me to arrange an installation date. All this was straight forward and seamless. On the day of installation, 3 crew members arrived. Two installed windows while 1 cleaned up. They were extremely efficient and tidy. They installed 9 windows in under 3 hours and left the work area clean. Overall, I cannot recommend Major Homes enough. They were extremely professional and very fair on price. We also couldn’t be happier with the quality of the windows.

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to place this review. There is a great reason we are in business over 100 years and there is a great reason the manufacturer Okna recommends us, they know we will ALWAYS give the customer a great job and amazing service.. We look forward to working with and for you soon. Be well. Mitch Kersch President major Homes Corp.
5.0

04/12/2019


Steve H.

Very well: I made my initial contact on evening of April 4th. By April 5th. Major Homes had an associate at the service location to take pictures. By April 5th (evening) my wife & I agreed to a cost of $400. By April 11th, the work was completed and at my request pictures of the completed work were sent to us, followed by payment. As we live at an off site location - we were not present at the service site, nor apparently did we need to be. I also want to add that the required repairs were 40 feet up and the location is on a hill which made the access a bit more difficult then usual. My wife & I could not be more pleased with the completed work. The communications was excellent.

Description of Work
Repair of loose siding and re-installing siding that fell down

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you SIR!! As you have seen first hand, when we say "BIG OR SMALL WE DO IT ALL::" we mean it.! We treat the $50.00 job just like we treat a $500,000.00 job. We love what we do and we appreciate EVERY job! Be well. Mitch
5.0

02/23/2019


Sharon V.

Major Homes was easy to deal with, responsive, honest in what they would and could do. Everyone we dealt with was nice and professional. Any glitches (and there are always some) were dealt with fairly.

Description of Work
Gut Reno of galley kitchen and gut Reno and expansion of bathroom

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and trust. We look forward to working with and for you in the future. Your recommendations will be greatly appreciated. Mitch
5.0

12/25/2018


Marie F.

As in the past, the owner, Mitch, answers an e/mail like lightning...I kid you not. Since I was so satisfied with past work, I will only use them. The work was neat and professional and the workers very polite. They have been in business for 100 years (family) and they will be there for the long haul...so I feel very secure knowing that. That is rare these days. I myself am very fussy and so it is comforting to me to know that Mitch the owner, will respond within like 5 min. Please consider them for all your home improvement needs. Russ was the manager overseeing this, has been with them for years and is a gentleman...very responsive to voice mail.

Description of Work
remove a second floor wall A/C and put a canopy window there.

Category insulation, replacement windows

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2018