Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We are in full service mode but still practice mask wearing indoors and social distancing at all times

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

LDR Design+Build+Renovate

Founded 1993 • With Angi since February 2011

4.8

(101) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

302 N Water St

Newburgh, NY 12550

Description

LDR Group is the wholly owned subsidiary of the corporate parent Miscellaneous Enterprises Etcetera LLC, as originally formed in 1993 as a Delaware corporation, and later formed in New York in 2008 in the depths of the Great Recession. Originally doing business as Local Dad Repairs, it had at
Marlboro Home Renovation project
Marlboro Home Renovation

home remodeling

201812542

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Roseann N.
5.0
01/06/2021
Jeff and his team are very thorough, communicative, skilled, extremely knowledgeable and committed to excellence. He guided us from design and engineering and applications, researching materials and finding subcontractors ,through construction. He solved problems as they arose. He kept work moving despite covid, snowstorms and holidays! Recommend highly!
Description of Work
Full Remodel and renovation
Category
decks, drywall, electrician, excavators, gutter repair, hardwood floor, insulation, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, garage builders, skylights, woodworking, architect, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. It have been a pleasure to be able to provide you with a renovation to your home that respects its history but updates it with high performance materials and procedures based on the most current building science. Looking forward to phase 2!
Dan D.
5.0
02/03/2017
The mancave came out perfect. Jeff and his team did electrical, flooring, drywall, masonry and woodwork and created a very unique and beautiful area.
Description of Work
Turned walk out basement into the ultimate mancave.
Category
handyman service
Usha B.
5.0
12/07/2016
They did a good job. It was a good company. He just fixed the things and left. He is a professional, good man.
Description of Work
They did some plumbing work. They repaired two faucets. He also checked my furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
DIANA P.
5.0
09/28/2016
We are very happy with the fans. Installation went well and both fans are working properly. The cost below is for installation and includes the cost of two fans. We plan to use Local Dad Repairs for several other projects.
Description of Work
Install two ceiling fans
Category
ceiling fans
Catherine B.
5.0
04/02/2016
Excellent! Reasonable estimate, arrived on time, very good quality repairs. Provider also looked at a drainage problem and gave some pointers on how to address. Will definitely use Local Dad Repairs again.
Description of Work
Replaced rotten wood behind soffits.
Category
contractors, handyman service, plumbing, siding, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy we were able to address the drainage problem and give some advice. We look forward to working with you again!
Dan D.
5.0
03/21/2016
Great work inside and out. The house is like new,
Description of Work
Rehab of 58 year old house. New Kitchen, bath and electrical through-out. Many, many other repairs of all types -- too many to mention.
Category
handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

One of our favorite projects is rehabbing homes. It's very satisfying to take a home that is outdated and in need of repair and turn it into a dream home. We are glad you are happy with our work!
Teri A.
5.0
03/04/2016
My father eventually decided to attempt the repairs on his own, to my dismay. It's definitely not the job I would have wanted done on the house, but after all, it's not mine. However, based on the experience I had with Local Dad Repairs, I will be calling them within the month to do some work in my own home. I wouldn't go anywhere else.2601
Description of Work
I needed an estimate for my father's home repair. He had a break-in, needed windows and other small repairs. Local Dad Repairs sent someone in the evening to walk through the house with me and give us an estimate. He was professional and prompt, and we received the estimate the next day.
Category
handyman service, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you in the future.
Marie C.
5.0
02/08/2016
Cost quoted is for labor only. We purchased stairs and door and Jeff did the installations. Everything went smoothly and efficiently. Jeff showed how to change out screen door with storm door. Cleaned up area on completion. Additional work experiences: 8/8/13. $205.00. Installed new toilet 11/21/13. $60.00. Repaired lamp which was previously non-functional 5/28/14. $154.00. Faucet installation 2/8/16. Invoice not submitted yet for new toilet installation Have used LDR several times and would not hesitate to use again. Easy email scheduling and communication with Terri in office. They make every attempt to be accommodating - for the 8/13 toilet install, Jeff and his son came in the evening after a full day's work on another job. I had a family party scheduled for the following day and would have had to tell an elderly relative that the only bathroom available was on the 2nd floor - she would be unable to manage the stairs and would not have come. Related this to Jeff and they made the time.
Description of Work
Installed attic stairs. Removed existing storm door and installed new one
Category
contractors, electrician, handyman service, lamp repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, screen repair, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you are pleased with our work, and we are glad we were able to accommodate your schedule.
owen W.
5.0
09/04/2015
I needed my attic gutted because the previous owner had installed drywall with no insulation behind it, also the basement carpet need to be removed to prepare for new flooring. I called Local Dad repairs and spoke to Terri, she was very helpful setting up an appointment with Jeff, the owner. He showed up on time and we went over all the projects I needed to get done. He gave me a lot of information about my house and the work he could do for me. Within a week I had a firm estimate and we agreed on a start date. The work started on time and finished early. Jeff got a building permit and met with the inspector for me. Everything was done to my satisfaction, the crew cleaned up both areas very well. I would like to thank Jeff, Terri and their crew for the outstanding work and I look forward to hiring them again.
Description of Work
Attic gutted and flooring removed from basement
Category
drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad we were able to help you out, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Jose C.
5.0
08/05/2015
In 2012, Jeff installed for me a tankless water heater. It is the approximate size of a circuit breaker box and electrically heats water that passes through three heating elements. On Sunday, 08-02-2015, the hot water rapidly dissipated. It's not a complicated mechanism so I attempted to remove the elements to inspect/replace them. The elements are removed from each copper tube from the top. Unfortunately, the first element could not be totally removed because a ceiling beam was in the way. I called Jeff and explained my situation. He vaguely remembered the water heater but, none the less said he would arrive the next day. On Monday, he called and said the was running late. He said he should arrive in one half hour. He did. Jeff inspected the situation and moved the water heater (which is mounted on the wall) three inches to the left. It took Jeff all of 45 seconds. As he was leaving, I asked him for the bill. He told me that he could not charge me because it was his fault that the water heater was not placed properly. I disagreed because he had never installed such a water heater before so how could he know how to replace the heating elements. He still refused to charge me and actually tried to run out the door when I insisted to pay for gas. It was only when I threatened to call his wife that he reluctantly took the money. Jeff is an artist at what he does. I have called upon his services before and admire his work, never a problem. He is obviously a man of utmost integrity. He stands behind his work inarguable. He is the one and only to call when you require work, small or large.
Description of Work
move tankless water heater
Category
drywall, electrician, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad we were able to help you over the years, and we look forward to serving you for many years to come!
John G.
5.0
07/22/2015
Overall the project went well. There were some unforseen setbacks however the contracting team worked through them and the project was completed to my satisfaction in a timely manner. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Painting, Chimney work & Bathroom renovation
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Despite a delay with materials due to a port strike on the West Coast, the materials finally arrived, and we were very happy to be able to complete the project to your satisfaction. We appreciate your confidence in us!
Paul K.
5.0
07/16/2015
We had a great experience. Of course, our cabinets were no longer being made, so we had to find ones that matched our current cabinets as close as possible. When the island was finished, it looked like it was part of the original kitchen. Jeff did a quality job on all aspects of the additions to our kitchen. Workmanship was excellent. Terri, his wife, always responded promptly to our emails. Good experience.
Description of Work
He put in a new island in our kitchen and prepared the cabinets for granite. He also installed soft close hinges and crown molding on the cabinets.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your confidence in us, and we hope to serve you in the future.
Zachary C.
4.0
05/16/2015
Jeff came to the house but was unable to locate where the dryer vent was located
Description of Work
gas dryer vent cleaning
Category
handyman service, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

When we spoke on phone I informed client that i could give them estimate for the dryer vent work only if i could find both inlet and outlet of dryer vent and that I would need to be able to confirm the material that the vent was made of (hard duct vs soft duct). When i arrived to inspect I found the crawl space basement had the ceiling (floor from above) completely insulated and covering any way of tracing the venting. I did try to gently move aside the fiberglass insulation to find it, but after several tries in different locations I informed the homeowner's son that in order to do this I would either need to send a crew to spend time to remove insulation until we could find it, or they could do that and I would replace it after we complete the job if they preferred. I never heard back from the client. I'm more than happy to give free estimates for just about anything. I cannot however spend hours of time and resources to remove and replace half a crawlspace of insulation to do so.
Randy H.
5.0
04/29/2015
Jeff & Terri are great team. Appreciated Jeff's initial visit to review various "to-do" projects. Settled on a couple to begin with. Terri was very helpful in scheduling and organizing all details and information. Jeff arrived as scheduled and got right to work on planned two projects. Appreciated his willingness to let me assist and coach me along learning by doing. Look forward to our next projects together and learning more.
Description of Work
exterior carpentry work & minor porch wood repair
Category
contractors, handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

We are happy to have been able to help you with your project!
Vincent and Edith F.
5.0
02/16/2015
Jeff came over and quickly told me what had to be done and appx. how long it would take. Terri then emailed me the round figures it would cost. All very professional and I may add pretty accurate. On the appointed day of repair, Walt and Josh set to work with little fuss repairing the work laid out by Jeff. They knew what they were doing efficiently and very clean. I would recommend them to anyone and will use them again this spring. Thank you Jeff, Terri , Josh and Walt.
Description of Work
Repaired a pocket door and then repaired 2 Sliding doors. Also removed storm door that will be replaced this spring.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review. It was our pleasure, and we are glad you are happy with our work. Please do not hesitate to call us any time you need anything else!
Linda A.
5.0
02/13/2015
There were alot of rain delays this past summer so work didn't progress as quickly as I'd expected. BUT, there were times they were working under tarps when they could and working much later on good days. The Local Dad team takes great pride in their workmanship and it shows. Jeff stops by often to check on progress and to address any concerns. He listens and makes suggestions; for example; when I mentioned that my dogs may be in the newly restored "garden house" with me he suggested a more durable type of screening that wouldn't tear if they tried to tear at the screening on the windows. I'm very happy with every aspect of the work that was done.
Description of Work
Torn down and disposed of small storage shed. Another larger out building was redesigned and restored; new siding; windows; new floor, shutters; etc. Interior was given new flooring, shelving, pegboard. per homeowner's request. On bi level deck lattice work was put all around openings to the ground and area under the raised screened porch was enclosed. A damaged wooden step was replace and exerior faucets replaced. A new storm door was put onto the screen porch.
Category
decks, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, screen repair, replacement windows, deck cleaning, window treatments, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind review! I'm glad we were able to complete your project to your satisfaction, even though it took a little longer because of all the rainy days. Please always feel free to give us a call with whatever project you have in mind!
David L.
4.0
01/28/2015
-Workmanship and quality very good -Time to complete the job was fair. I am still waiting on a certificate of occupancy -very courteous and professional - i am considering using them on another job. quality and professionalism very good
Description of Work
Installed a ice d*** prevention system on my roof
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and for your patience with the permitting process. I'm glad we were able to get the paperwork for you. We look forward to working with you again!
Jason W.
5.0
01/07/2015
It went really well. They set straight to work on the gutter. We realized I was missing parts for the door latch repair. So they gave me instructions for what I would need. I left them outside and ran down the road to Home Depot to get the parts. I got back they were finishing up the gutter (I live close to a Home Depot) and they got to work on the next thing. All in everything came off without a hitch.
Description of Work
I had a handful of small tasks that needed to be done from re-attaching a rain gutter to insulating a pipe to fixing a door latch.
Category
gutter repair, handyman service, plumbing, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. I'm glad your project went smoothly. Please do not hesitate to contact us again, and we look forward to working with you in the future!
sandra J.
5.0
12/23/2014
Jeff has done several projects for us, including window replacements and window restoration. This latest project was a big undertaking. We had to replace rotted wood caps on the porch walls and also replace 22 original wooden barrel columns on our 1909 home. The project involved bracing the roof over the porch so that the columns could be taken down and the masonry work could be done on the stone wall. They originally had wood caps which were rotting and Jeff suggested replacing them with stone. It was a great suggestion and we now don't have to be concerned about rain on the porch. He also created a custom screened in system that is true to the architectural design of the house. He and his crews knowledge and workmanship are top notch. It looks beautiful and we can't wait to use the porch in the Spring. My only suggestion is that Jeff gets better at organizing and arranging his schedule. I understand that weather is a factor and there are things that cannot be helped, such as urgent situations that have to be addressed at other clients and juggling several projects at once. It took only 10 days to complete the columns and stone work because it was very well planned and organized. The screened-in system took much longer. I highly recommend Local Dad Repairs for any renovation project.
Description of Work
Restore wraparound porch by replacing stone wall caps, columns and created custom screened-in section
Category
decks, handyman service, masonry, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking
alan M.
2.0
12/02/2014
I was quite disappointed, considering the generally fine reviews recorded for this service provider. My initial estimate was confused with that of another customer, and it took some time to receive the correct estimate, and to schedule the service. The gentlemen who did the work and his scheduler were courteous, and he was personable, but he could not repair the masonry himself and would have to contract this job out to a mason at what I considered a very high rate (I did the repair myself by cutting back the corner of the damaged bluestone paver with an angle grinder). He also was unable to install an electric starter switch for the fireplace despite indicating on his initial visit that he could do this. Worst of all, he led me to believe that my leaky hose bib could only be approached from inside my house, requiring an opening in my wall, and said he confirmed this with a plumber. In fact, I hired a plumber to make this repair which he did entirely from outside my house in about 20 minutes. This provider did install my window sash, but neglected to replace the contact for my alarm system, necessitating a repair visit from my alarm company.
Description of Work
Assessed several small jobs:repair of broken patio paver;repair leaky outside hose bib;install electric starter switch on gas fireplace;install window sash.
Category
electrician, handyman service, masonry, plumbing, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Though this client used our services nearly a half year ago, our records show that they did not get someone else's estimate but did request that we change our estimate once. When we gave this estimate we told them that pavers were not our usual work but we could find them a mason to do this if they would like us to. We did so as indicated by the client and simply passed on the pricing we were given at the time. Please note that the client requested a 'complete' repair to make the paver look like new, which required much more than cutting off a corner of the stone and in fact required several hours of exacting work to accomplish for him. If he had requested that we simply 'cut off a corner' we would have been able to do this during our installation of the window. As to the window, once again we allowed a client to 'do some of their own work'. They ordered their own window and removed the alarm contact themselves. At no time did they request that we replace that contact (in fact we didn't realize it had one) which we would have done within less than 2 minutes, at the time. At no time did we receive any communication from the client that they would like us to do this either. We have several very active clients in his development and would have been able to do this at any point free of charge. When he originally requested that we replace his hose bib (we offered to rebuild it if we could but he wanted it replaced because the house was new) we told him that to replace it would require plumbing work inside the home. We explained this to him and he opted to drop it from the contract for work. We are pleased that he decided to seek a plumber and that the plumber was able to convince him to rebuild it rather than replace it as it obviously saved him money. The fireplace was another story. I honestly thought I could install the switch for this client but after several hours of research, at least an hour on site working on this and further assessment I discovered that I could not. I told the client honestly and up front what the issues were and did not charge him a single penny for all that time and effort. I'm not sure any other company would do this for him but our policy is and always has been honesty and integrity in dealing with our clients. For all of this time and effort on our part we didn't even charge the client our published 2 hour minimum charge but reduced it to a total of just $77 because the actual work of replacing the window (which is the only thing they eventually had us do) took so little time. I suppose no good deed goes unpunished.... Personally I'm baffled as to why someone would wait nearly a year and harbor bad feelings and then write a review like this at such a late date, rather than call us and ask us to address the situation. We always respond within 24 hours (many times within an hour) to any phone call and in person within just a day or two to any client for any reason. Our reputation here on Angie's list speaks for itself, with dozens of A reviews, many 'pages of happiness' and two consecutive Super Service Awards we welcome any client to look at our complete record here and judge for themselves how we approach our business. Thank you
Gerry B.
1.0
11/27/2014
I?m submitting this review on behalf of my ex-wife who had been eagerly looking forward to improvements and renovations to her home. She engaged the services of Local Dad Repairs in the spring of 2014 to replace the septic tank, replace the heating system, and conduct renovations to the finished basement and main floor of the home. Although Jeff Eckes, the owner of Local Dad Repairs, had represented himself and his Company as being a General Contractor with 30 years of experience and the professional qualifications to conduct the renovations on the home, my ex-wife terminated the services of Jeff Eckes and his Company on October 12, 2014 due to Jeff Eckes?s negligence in properly managing the renovations of the home. My ex-wife has forwarded Letters of Complaint to the New York State Attorney General?s Office and to the Better Business Bureau describing the issues in specific detail and providing specific documentation such as invoices received from Local Dad Repairs, etc. The documented issues with Jeff Eckes?s performance as a General Contractor are so extensive that the nine page Letter of Complaint forwarded to the New York State Attorney General?s Office and the Better Business Bureau did not encompass all the issues, and my ex-wife is in the process of writing a follow-up letter to the New York State Attorney General?s Office and the Better Business Bureau. My ex-wife works full-time as a pharmacist and she had expected Jeff Eckes to professionally orchestrate the renovations to the home. She had been looking forward to the exciting experience of having her home renovations dreams realized, but Jeff Eckes and his Company?s negligence has turned her dreams into the worst and most disappointing consumer experience of her life. When Jeff Eckes and his Company started work on the home on April 27, 2014, she placed her trust in Jeff Eckes that his Company would do the right thing for her, but as issues with the home renovations began to accumulate?she began to spend a considerable amount of her finite and valuable time scrutinizing the estimates, change orders and invoices. The issues with Jeff Eckes and his Company are as follows: ? Jeff Eckes?s Company submitted invoices via email to my ex-wife for work not completed and/or work not even started. The payment terms on these invoices are stated as ?Due Immediately?. Jeff Eckes has not responded to my ex-wife?s inquiries regarding these fraudulent invoices nor has Jeff Eckes issued credits to reflect a balance due of zero on the fraudulent invoices. ? Jeff Eckes submitted Invoices to my ex-wife with overcharges. Jeff Eckes has not acknowledged the overcharges nor has Jeff Eckes properly issued credits where credits for overcharges are due. ? Jeff Eckes submitted Invoices to my ex-wife for workmanship of poor quality. ? Jeff Eckes? failure to competently manage the relationships with the subcontractors that he had hired. ? Jeff Eckes? negligence, which resulted in major delays on the home renovation, such as Jeff Eckes?s failure to file for the necessary building permits. Jeff Eckes claimed that his business partner, Terri Eckes, had called the Office of the Building Inspector and that the Office of the Building Inspector had informed Terri Eckes that no building permits were necessary. Jeff Eckes did not respond when my ex-wife requested the name of the person at the Office of the Building Inspector who had informed Terri Eckes that building permits were not necessary. ? Jeff Eckes? failure to respond accurately, thoroughly and completely to many of the issues that my ex-wife brought to his attention in her email communications. She began communicating with Jeff Eckes primarily through email in August 2014 as she realized that his verbal communication was not trustworthy and that she would need to document the many issues that he was either ignoring or evasive in responding to. A review on Angie?s is not the appropriate forum to provide the specific details such as invoice numbers, names of subcontractors, etc., but an example of the issues that my ex-wife has had to endure are provided below. The issues with Local Dad Repairs started with the first invoice that my ex-wife paid to Jeff Eckes? Company, but after her subsequent scrutiny of the invoice, she brought the following issues to Jeff Eckes?s attention via email. Jeff Eckes did notrespond to the issues. The invoice that she had paid in the amount of $14,151 in full on May 22, 2014 was for the replacement of the septic tank. ? Jeff Eckes overcharged my ex-wife $580 because he marked up the subcontractors work greater than the agreed upon 15% General Contractor mark up. ? Jeff Eckes also charged my-ex-wife a $675 fee on the invoice for work that was not evencompleted. The invoice had a charge described as ?Wire 20-amp, 240volt circuit for exterior of house front next to garage for customer supplied sump pump; Install disconnect means for pump at pump location.? The fraudulent charge for work not performed is not related to the replacement of the septic tank located at the back of the house. My ex-wife had requested that Jeff Eckes respond to the erroneous charge, but he did not respond. As an FYI, on my ex-wife?s behalf, a qualified General Contractor as well as a licensed electrician have attempted to locate the 20-amp, 240 volt circuit with no success. ? Furthermore, my ex-wife paid a charge of $1,063 described as ?New York State Sales Tax.? As the replacement of septic tank is a capital improvement, Jeff Eckes should not have charged her the sales tax. The refund due to my ex-wife for the payment of overcharges on the first invoice is $2,318, but she has received no credit from Jeff Eckes on this previously paid invoice. ? Additionally, she incurred a $243 service fee as a result of Jeff Eckes? negligence in properly managing the subcontracted electrician?s work in installing the electrical box inside of the septic tank, rather than outside of the septic tank as had been recommended by the subcontractor who replaced the septic tank. Due to Jeff Eckes? negligence in improperly installing the electrical box, my ex-wife endured minor, localized flooding of sewage in the backyard, resulting in a service call from the subcontractor who replaced the septic tank. Subsequently, she paid the subcontractor $243 for the service call, which was the direct result of Jeff Eckes? negligence. She had communicated to Jeff Eckes that she expected reimbursement for the payment of $243 to the subcontractor, but she received no response from Jeff Eckes. To be clear, the subcontractor who replaced the septic tank was professional and performed quality work. The prior example is only one example of the many issues with overcharges on invoices, poor workmanship, negligence in managing the subcontractors that he had hired, etc. Jeff Eckes has not properly responded to many of the issues that my ex-wife had communicated to him via email. At the time of termination of Local Dad Repairs, also known as Miscellaneous Enterprises, the renovations to the main floor had not even started and the renovation of the finished basement was plagued by many avoidable delays and unnecessary drama that Jeff Eckes as the General Contractor should have managed with a high standard of competence, professionalism and integrity. I and others intend to pursue this consumer complaint with as many consumer and government agencies as appropriate on behalf of my ex-wife and we intend to pursue the issues until Jeff Eckes responds to and resolves the many issues that my ex-wife has communicated to him via email. We will not permit Jeff Eckes to intimidate my ex-wife into a position that is not in the consumer?s best interests.
Description of Work
Local Dad Repairs was hired for renovation of finished basement, first floor of house, replacement of septic system, heating system. Jeff Eckes and his Company, Local Dad Repairs, were negligent in failing to render General Contractor services with a high standard of competence, professionalism and integrity.
Category
electrician, handyman service, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, water damage restoration, garage builders, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

The comments put forth by this client here are factually false, misleading and libelous. After weeks of attempts to fairly negotiate a settlement in this case and increasingly hysterical and inflammatory emails by this client, Local Dad Repairs has placed a lien on this clients property for theft of services and non payment of invoices totaling more than $20,000 and further comment here will not be made until legal proceedings are complete. Our reputation here speaks for itself, with two years in a row of Super Service Awards, dozens of glowing reviews and hundreds of clients that use our services again and again. It's unfortunate that people like this exist, but we still choose to believe in the inherent goodness of the vast majority of our clients.
Victoria H.
5.0
10/29/2014
Jeff and the Local Dad Repair team have been great to work with. They keep appointments, very responsive to any kind of queries, they are reasonably priced, they will work with your budget and time frame. We found them through Angie's List and they have done an awesome job on a host of different projects: plastering/nail pops, tile sealing and caulking in the bathroom, installation and assistance with our reverse osmosis water filtration system. We now have them replacing a window on the second story of our house and they are all over it. We have enjoyed working with these guys a lot. Thanks LDR! These are the guys you are looking for to do that job that you can't get to.
Description of Work
Plumbing, caulking the bathrooms, cleaning of gutters, fixing nail pops and putting in a reverse osmosis water filter system.
Category
ceramic tile, gutter cleaning, handyman service, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Working with this family has been a wonderful experience for me and my entire crew. It's always nice when you go the extra mile to be recognized and thanked for it. Also, we can now say that we have experienced the longest, most protracted window repair project (thank you Toll Brothers and Andersen!) in the history of window repair! And that window? Now it's personal! We WILL get this window fixed if we have to manufacture the glass ourselves! ;) Hope you are settling well into your new digs....
John N.
1.0
10/07/2014
In dealing with Localdadrepairs in the beginning, I indicted if they were too busy, to please let me know so as it wouldn't be a waste of time. Oh, the irony. I feel ultimately Mr. Eckes probably has bigger jobs to do and just wasn't interested, although I tried extremely hard to make this happen, even to the point of deleting my original review in a last ditch attempt to get the work done because of a possible misunderstanding. The beauty of Angie's List is there is more than one game in town, and less expensive. I picked Localdadrepairs because of the good reviews. Things started out well with Mr. Eckes doing an estimate and sending me an itemized list of all the jobs. I did not sign the estimate at that time, because the mailbox installation wasn't on there, and I wanted to pick my own door, rather than the one Mr. Eckes picked, which would have significantly changed the estimate. It accomplished the same thing (a storm door, and was quite a bit cheaper). I was satisified with all other aspects of the estimate, and wanted Mr. Eckes to do the job. I sent him a link with the door I wanted, to make sure the door would be ok to make sure there were no issues after I bought it. I also asked Mr. Eckes if he was still interested in the mailbox job; he had mentioned a couple of possibilities of location, but I wanted it in a specific spot and got the spot oked with the USPS, and asked him he still wanted to do it. That was the only item that I politely asked to do soon, because of the weather getting colder and having to build a base. The last communications I had with Mr. Eckes was Sept 26th, and I waited a week before feeling it was enough time that Mr. Eckes wasn't interested n the job-being I want to get the work done, I sent him a note saying I would be going in a different direction. To my surprise he responded by saying he had me scheduled, and had communicated with me this past Tuesday. At that point, I triple checked my emails, and found nothing from Tuesday, or anything from the past week. At this point I asked Mr. Eckes if he could send me the email, because I hadn't gotten it, and also said basically "ok, it appears we had a misunderstanding, lets do it" and was prepared to write a down payment check if Mr. Eckes wanted to pick it up that day to assure him I wanted his services (mentioned in the email. I kept these emails if anyone wanted to see that I truly tried to make this happen). I felt on Mr. Eckes part for his failure to show me the email that I was in the queue for and his lack of response on my part to say lets do it indicated he was just not interested in the job anymore. I was at no point rude or disrespectful to Mr. Eckes or his very pleasant wife Terri. When I hadn't heard from him after a week, I even sent a separate note asking if there were any issues (kept that email as well, which was also disregarded.) So to summarize, my limited dealings with Mr. Eckes and his wife were pleasant, and he seems like a very capable contractor. With that said, it's not my first rodeo dealing with contractors; perhaps there was a bigger job on the horizon (I saw a recent one reviewed for $78,000) but it became clear to me that the problem wasn't a misunderstanding , Mr. Eckes was just not interested in the job. Perhaps he took exception to the fact that I choose a $150 door instead of one for $728, who knows. I just wish contractors would realize the customers time is quite as valuable as theirs. A tip for future Localdadrepairs customers: once they stop communicating with you, it appears that is their way of saying they aren't interested, and I would try another contractor. I'm still looking for the "phantom" email Mr. Eckes sent me saying they scheduled me for the work later this month. I have my emails and Mr. Eckes as well (or lack thereof in replies to mine) and would be glad to share them. The good news is I already found another Angie's list contractor (who shall remain nameless as to not have appearances of promoting anyone) and his responses have been exceptionally quick, as well as quite a bit cheaper, with work already set up to begin this week. In the past, I've dealt with contractors who magically disappear because a bigger job would come along, and you'd never hear from them again. Regardless of why Localdadrepairs didn't want the work, I stated from the getgo to please let me know if they were too busy, and would have been fine. Also, I would have had much more respect if they had just come out and said they were not interested and why rather than just stop communicating. I also feel I can find a contractor that is much less pricey, and my experience with Localdadrepairs was hugely disappointing. Updated 10/08/14 I have to address Mr. Eckes reply, as much of it is simply inaccurate: 1) I grant Angieslist the right to have anyone see my emails in that I was anything less than I was unfailingly polite and have proof I said the project could wait, and it fact encouraged it -except the mailbox-in fact, Mr Eckes made two suggestions where it could go-but not where I wanted it, and I said called the USPS for approval of the spot (and I can prove that as well). I had to turn on the furnace the other night, and as anyone can tell you who lives in NY, its starting to get cold. I guess "everything" covered under Localdadrepairs doesn't include mailboxes. I did not ask for immediate approval on the door-I was actually quite patient on the door. For whoever has ordered a door and its not the right fit, it's a hassle to bring it back, which would have been on me, not Mr. Eckes. Why is it a "problem" that I choose a $150 door instead of $725? and asked for an approval? I'm not trying to impress the neighbors. Any by "looking" at the door, I simply sent a link, which would have taken two seconds. Would you buy a door without at least getting it checked out first? I waited a week-if being extra cautious about a purchase is a problem, so be it. Also a quote from Mr. Eckes wife Terri : "Please let me also know what the status is with the door-(did you order it? when is it due to come in, because we need to have the materials at least on their way before we schedule that)." I never did receive an ok on the door from Mr. Eckes, so I wasn't about to order the door until I did. 3) I stand by my original status that they just couldn't be bothered because they are too busy (and it's pretty much stated so in the reply). I've already made an agreement with another top rated contractor to have my mailbox installed where I choose-I think he would disagree I'm a "problem person". (wink) I would encourage people to look at the August 5th review as well about communication problems. Mr. Eckes will simply just cut you off period if he doesn't like reasonable requests. 4) I offered Mr. Eckes a same day deposit in a sincere effort to let him know I wanted to do the job in good faith, but he did not respond-I can prove this as well, upon request. Strangely, he failed to mention that in his reply. Again, an indicator he wasn't interested in the job (email available upon request). I indicated I very much wanted to do the job, which contradicts the statement I hadn't agreed to the contract (and again, offered a same day deposit). Mr Eckes did not reply. 5) I accepted awhile ago that this was a case of "contractoritis" and the company has more work than it can handle-been there, done that that's fine, and I'm being made out to be the bad guy, Simply not true. Is waiting a week for a reply more than reasonable? I think so. In my review, I felt I was quite fair and said Localdadrepairs were nice people and capable contractors. 6) If you look at the review of August 5th, Mr. Eckes simply stopped communicating with those clients as well.................see a pattern developing here? 7) Here is my last email to Mr. Eckes, word for word: "Jeff, I'm really confused as to whats going on here. If you had me set up later in the month, lets do business. I never found the communications from Tuesday (why I was hoping you would resend the email) Do you want me to send you a check per the original estimate (instead of with the new door?) Ill order the new door, but would have felt better if you oked it, just so theres no problems later. Perhaps there is some kind of miscommunication, I really want to do this (sans the mailbox, because I HAD to get a contractor before it gets cold. If you want to pick up the check, stop by the house and Ill be glad to write it out. Lets definitively do this one way or the other. If you said you said me an email last Tuesday with a schedule for the work, I believe you-I just did not get the email and thought you guys weren't interested. I can get another contractor, I just feel s***** because you seem to be wondering what going on with me, and I thought you were no longer interested in the job. I'm not a gameplayer-lets do this! (if you still want to)." Does this sounds like a problem client to you? (Mr. Eckes did not respond to this email as well.). Mr. Eckes assertion he responded about oking the door/revised quote/would meet my needs: never happened, and encourage Mr. Eckes to show any emails (sans the mailbox which was time sensitive) that I demanded anything, simply not true. Some quotes from my emails: "Offering to work on Jeff's schedule" "Are there any concerns you guys have?" "if you want to pick up the check, stop by and I'll be glad to write it out" Yup, I was very difficult (wink). PS I would change the wording from "no project too small or large"...............except mailboxes ;)
Description of Work
Estimate for Tile repair, mailbox installation, painting, light switch replacement, ceiling/wall repair. Estimate was app. $3500.00
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

When contacted by this client we informed him that it was a VERY busy time of year but we would be happy to come see what he needed and give him an estimate. As we tell all our potential clients when things are very busy that it would be several weeks before we could get to his project but that we would put him on our 'rainy day' list that would get him done sooner if we have a cancellation or a rain day. We also are very explicit in asking if that's OK. This client indicated it was. It seems he assumed that meant we would get right on the project and put everyone else aside to do so, though he kept insisting he 'wasn't one of those problem customers that complained or insisted he be serviced first". In reality he was. We estimated the job, gave him a detailed written quote with links to websites for possible materials choices and told him again that it would be several weeks before we could get to it. That's when the problems started. He chose a different storm door, which was fine and I told him that in my original meetings. Any door was OK, we just sent suggestions. One demand he made was to look at his choice and approve it immediately, irregardless of the fact that we had already told him that any door was OK verbally, he insisted we respond right away. We did respond a few days later (as I said, the project was not planned for several weeks and he was told we are very busy). He also insisted that we come earlier to install his mailbox when we told him we could not from the beginning. Then began the insistence that we rewrite the quote to match the fact that he now wanted to buy all his materials. We are always willing to do these things but we also explained that we were very busy several times and that this was NOT time sensitive. We also explained that we would do this, it would just take time. At no time had he given us a deposit to put him on the schedule (again, we explained that unless we have a deposit we don't put the project on the schedule) but he continued to insist that we drop everything to service him. At this point we explained once again that we would meet his needs but that it takes some time. Remember, we did all this work without any deposit or payment of any kind. At some point this becomes onerous for the company and we simply wait until they place a deposit with us to continue. This too was explained to him during our first meeting. In the end, I'm sorry this client was upset but my time is rightly dedicated to my clients that have paid and have scheduled the job with us, not someone insisting that we dedicate all manner of resources without having even agreed to the project and paid a deposit to continue. We wish this client the best of luck on his projects.
Janet D.
5.0
09/23/2014
This was a large project to begin with, which unfortunately grew larger as more problems became uncovered. Jeff's crew handled everything that needed to be done with professionalism, courtesy, and a care for detail, which I much appreciated. The end result is very attractive and hopefully, I can do business with Jeff again in the future.
Description of Work
Replace and repair sheathing and cedar siding on horse barn and house. Replace and repair window trim on horse barn and house. Replace gutters on horse barn and house. Prep, prime and paint horse barn and house.
Category
gutter repair, handyman service, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

This job was definitely a challenge for our entire crew. Unfortunately the client didn't know she had a barn with no underlayment under her cedar siding on the barn. This resulted in the low quality sheathing actually rotting in place under the cedar. We would wind up needing to replace an entire side of her barn... We also look forward to working with this wonderful client again and we suspect that as long as we keep making our sour pickles we may indeed hear from her! Thank you for the opportunity to work with you
Corinne P.
5.0
08/16/2014
Jeff was very knowledgeable and the guys did a great job. Our home was left clean everything was put back into place the way it was found. We are very happy with the work that was done. The job was completed in 3 days. We will definitely use The company for future improvements.
Description of Work
Re-configured a wall with new entrance to separate two bedrooms.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

We are always fascinated when we find how previous developers arranged their apartment layouts in the past. This one had arranged a three bedroom so you could only access the third bedroom THROUGH the second one. Not only odd, but we wondered how they even got a certificate of occupancy back then! The real brilliance here was the client, who pretty much figured out how to re arrange that layout long before I got there. A little suggestion on proper door swing and we were all set. Now she has an ACTUAL 3 bedroom with separate access to all the rooms. Just don't show too many of your neighbors at a time or we won't be able to do them all! Looking forward to redoing your kitchen this winter.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Basement Systems Of New York

    We are a locally owned and operated company with over 30 employees. Many of our products have warranties. We offer service visits. We will accept credit cards and financing is also offered.  

    Angi Certified

    Clean Line Design

    Hi, my name is Anthony. I specialize in long lasting, unique tile installations. I've been an apprentice to a master tiler for 3 years and I've started my own business, Clean Line Design custom renovations. We offer: custom tile work with a 5 year warranty Carpentry Handyman work  

    Angi Certified

    Supersonic Cleaning Services, Inc.

    We are experts on COVID-19 Sanitizing and Disinfecting, carpet cleaning, floor cleaning, odor remediation and upholstery, as well as water & smoke/fire remediation. Over 22 years experience - call today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
    LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    General Remodeling
    Furniture - Custom Made
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Authority
    Dutchess, Orange, Ulster and Columbia Counties do not require liscensing
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Experts in Passive House Certified Design+Build Experts in Passive House Certified whole house renovations Experts in Passive House Certified additions ldrgroup.net/blog

    Services Not Offered

    As of January 2017, LDR is focusing on renovations and remodeling and will no longer be offering handyman services, small repairs, or painting (unless it is part of the renovation or remodel). We thank our loyal customers for your support and business!

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LDR Design+Build+Renovate

    How is LDR Design+Build+Renovate overall rated?

    LDR Design+Build+Renovate is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are LDR Design+Build+Renovate open?

    LDR Design+Build+Renovate is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does LDR Design+Build+Renovate provide

    LDR Design+Build+Renovate accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does LDR Design+Build+Renovate offer free estimates?

    No, LDR Design+Build+Renovate does not offer free project estimates.

    Does LDR Design+Build+Renovate offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, LDR Design+Build+Renovate offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LDR Design+Build+Renovate offer a senior discount?

    No, LDR Design+Build+Renovate does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by LDR Design+Build+Renovate?

    Yes, LDR Design+Build+Renovate offers warranties.

    What services does LDR Design+Build+Renovate offer?

    LDR Design+Build+Renovate offers the following services: Experts in Passive House Certified Design+Build Experts in Passive House Certified whole house renovations Experts in Passive House Certified additions ldrgroup.net/blog

    Are there any services LDR Design+Build+Renovate does not offer?

    As of January 2017, LDR is focusing on renovations and remodeling and will no longer be offering handyman services, small repairs, or painting (unless it is part of the renovation or remodel). We thank our loyal customers for your support and business!