Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

LDR Design+Build+Renovate

4.8

(101) Verified Reviews

Founded 1993 • With Angi since February 2011

No License Required for Trade
Trade License Authority
Dutchess, Orange, Ulster and Columbia Counties do not require liscensing
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 AM
Saturday
Closed

Company Contact

302 N Water St

Newburgh, NY 12550

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

We will open with the phasing posted for each county and region as it clears milestones

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Marlboro Home Renovation

Marlboro Home Renovation

home remodeling201812542
A full gut and remodel of a 2100 sf home in the village of Marlboro. New gourmet kitchen with dining area, two new luxury bathrooms, all new hand scraped bamboo flooring throughout main floor, new full size pantry with custom shelving, new deck, new roof and updated flooring throughout bedroom area. This was a challenging project due to a limited budget and timeline. It is now a bright anchor in a revitalizing neighborhood just blocks from all three schools and The Falcon, one of the most vibrant music venues in the Hudson Valley

Description

LDR Group is the wholly owned subsidiary of the corporate parent Miscellaneous Enterprises Etcetera LLC, as originally formed in 1993 as a Delaware corporation, and later formed in New York in 2008 in the depths of the Great Recession. Originally doing business as Local Dad Repairs, it had at it's heart the goal of helping people in our community keep their homes repaired in hard times. In 2016, with the economy booming and the need for our services diminished,the company shifted it's focus to commercial consulting, serving millwork (custom woodwork and cabinet) companies in the NYC and Washington DC markets. When the corona virus pandemic besieged us all, we realized that there was an opportunity to once again serve our community, but in a more future focused manner that made full use of the skills gained in energy efficiency and home improvement we had developed over the years. LDR is now focused on providing a very special, very important need to our community and our world-hyper energy efficient Passive House buildings as new homes and home renovations. We will continue to do larger remodeling projects like kitchens, baths, additions and basements, but now we have teamed up with Juhani Kelvin, a former client, talented architect and Passive House Designer to bring what we do into the future. Ask us how we can reduce the energy your home uses by up to 90%! ...
Basement Man Cave

basement remodeling

201512533

Verified Reviews

4.8

(101) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

85

4

8

3

3

2

3

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

woodworking (13)window replacement (12)door installation (9)home remodeling (8)decks & porches (8)gutter repair (6)general contractors (5)garage building (3)basement remodeling (2)architect (1)skylight installation (1)roofing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 101 reviews
5.0

01/06/2021

Jeff and his team are very thorough, communicative, skilled, extremely knowledgeable and committed to excellence. He guided us from design and engineering and applications, researching materials and finding subcontractors ,through construction. He solved problems as they arose. He kept work moving despite covid, snowstorms and holidays! Recommend highly!

Description of Work
Full Remodel and renovation

Category decks,drywall,electrician,excavators,gutter repair,hardwood floor,insulation,remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,garage builders,skylights,woodworking,architect,house painters,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. It have been a pleasure to be able to provide you with a renovation to your home that respects its history but updates it with high performance materials and procedures based on the most current building science. Looking forward to phase 2!
5.0

02/03/2017

The mancave came out perfect. Jeff and his team did electrical, flooring, drywall, masonry and woodwork and created a very unique and beautiful area.

Description of Work
Turned walk out basement into the ultimate mancave.

Category handyman service

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2016

5.0

12/07/2016

They did a good job. It was a good company. He just fixed the things and left. He is a professional, good man.

Description of Work
They did some plumbing work. They repaired two faucets. He also checked my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2016

5.0

09/28/2016

We are very happy with the fans. Installation went well and both fans are working properly. The cost below is for installation and includes the cost of two fans. We plan to use Local Dad Repairs for several other projects.

Description of Work
Install two ceiling fans

Category ceiling fans

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2016

5.0

04/02/2016

Excellent! Reasonable estimate, arrived on time, very good quality repairs. Provider also looked at a drainage problem and gave some pointers on how to address. Will definitely use Local Dad Repairs again.

Description of Work
Replaced rotten wood behind soffits.

Category contractors,handyman service,plumbing,siding,woodworking

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy we were able to address the drainage problem and give some advice. We look forward to working with you again!
5.0

03/21/2016

Great work inside and out. The house is like new,

Description of Work
Rehab of 58 year old house. New Kitchen, bath and electrical through-out. Many, many other repairs of all types -- too many to mention.

Category handyman service,home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2015

Service Provider Response

One of our favorite projects is rehabbing homes. It's very satisfying to take a home that is outdated and in need of repair and turn it into a dream home. We are glad you are happy with our work!
5.0

03/04/2016

My father eventually decided to attempt the repairs on his own, to my dismay. It's definitely not the job I would have wanted done on the house, but after all, it's not mine. However, based on the experience I had with Local Dad Repairs, I will be calling them within the month to do some work in my own home. I wouldn't go anywhere else.2601

Description of Work
I needed an estimate for my father's home repair. He had a break-in, needed windows and other small repairs. Local Dad Repairs sent someone in the evening to walk through the house with me and give us an estimate. He was professional and prompt, and we received the estimate the next day.

Category handyman service,replacement windows

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

02/08/2016

Cost quoted is for labor only. We purchased stairs and door and Jeff did the installations. Everything went smoothly and efficiently. Jeff showed how to change out screen door with storm door. Cleaned up area on completion. Additional work experiences: 8/8/13. $205.00. Installed new toilet 11/21/13. $60.00. Repaired lamp which was previously non-functional 5/28/14. $154.00. Faucet installation 2/8...

Description of Work
Installed attic stairs. Removed existing storm door and installed new one

Category contractors,electrician,handyman service,lamp repair,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,screen repair,home remodeling,doors

Cost $399

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2013

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you are pleased with our work, and we are glad we were able to accommodate your schedule.
5.0

09/04/2015

I needed my attic gutted because the previous owner had installed drywall with no insulation behind it, also the basement carpet need to be removed to prepare for new flooring. I called Local Dad repairs and spoke to Terri, she was very helpful setting up an appointment with Jeff, the owner. He showed up on time and we went over all the projects I needed to get done. He gave me a lot of informatio...

Description of Work
Attic gutted and flooring removed from basement

Category drywall,flooring contractor,handyman service,insulation

Cost $4,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad we were able to help you out, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
5.0

08/05/2015

In 2012, Jeff installed for me a tankless water heater. It is the approximate size of a circuit breaker box and electrically heats water that passes through three heating elements. On Sunday, 08-02-2015, the hot water rapidly dissipated. It's not a complicated mechanism so I attempted to remove the elements to inspect/replace them. The elements are removed from each copper tube from the top. Unfor...

Description of Work
move tankless water heater

Category drywall,electrician,handyman service,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad we were able to help you over the years, and we look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Services Offered

Experts in Passive House Design Retrofit Architectural Design-In House New Construction Renovation-Whole House, Kitchens, Baths, Basements, Decks Additions We will still do some repairs for existing client ONLY

Services Not Offered

As of January 2017, LDR is focusing on renovations and remodeling and will no longer be offering handyman services, small repairs, or painting (unless it is part of the renovation or remodel). We thank our loyal customers for your support and business!

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
No
Warranties
Yes