PK & Altman Electric

About

Founded 1954 • With Angi since January 2006

Family owned and operated for two generations. We've completed over 90,000 high-end residential, commercial and retail electrical projects. We are fully licensed and insured. Our expert electricians are ready to serve the New York City area. ________________________________ *RESIDENTIAL SERVICES* Circuit breaker panels, High-end kitchen and bath renovations. Replacement/installation of outlets, fixtures, switches, etc. Indoor and outdoor lighting. Sconce, chandelier, pendant lights, ceiling fixtures, track lighting installation. We are very experienced in installing luxury/designer lighting (Apparatus, Bec Brittain, Allied Maker, etc.)________________________________ *COMMERCIAL SERVICES* include increasing power. upgrade service. install dedicated lines. violations removal. emergency and backup lighting systems. sensor lighting. outside lighting, outlet installations. maintenance contracts ________________________________ *RETAIL SERVICES* include showcase lighting. relamping, ballast replacements....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+19 more images

Verified Reviews

4.6

(141) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

98

4

21

3

8

2

7

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

electrician (136)lighting (48)ceiling fan installation (9)home security systems (3)
Showing 1-25 of 141 reviews
5.0

05/25/2021


Eva F.

First time ever my house lost power and I had no clue what to do. It was late on Saturday evening. Peter determined that the house lost connection to the city grid and called ConEd. You need a licensed electrian to make the call for ConEd to come. Once ConEd fixed the issue, Peter helped with fuse box switch stuck in the off position. He trully saved the day! I can whole heatedly recommend Peter as an honest specialist.

Description of Work
My house lost power Saturday night and I needed urgent help.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2021

5.0

12/11/2020


John P.

They were a little early for the estimate, understood the scope of the work, provided an estimate in a timely manner and they'll be doing the work for us on Friday.

Description of Work
his ExhaleFans fan will be installed in a ceiling junction box above a bed. The junction box is prewired and the power is live. Ceiling is about 10.5 feet above the floor. Fan is "bladeless," meaning all blades are hidden inside a plastic enclosure. It weighs 25 pounds and the cylinder has a diameter of 34 inches. So it's bulky enough that the job might require an assistant. I am NOT sure whether the current junction box is rated to hold up 25 pounds, but it might be.

Category electrician

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/11/2020

5.0

11/20/2020


Kimberly D.

Very prompt getting back to me & scheduling. Called when on their way. Came & installed new ceiling fan. 1st time using & would use again. Reasonably priced & excellent service.

Description of Work
Installed ceiling light fixture

Category ceiling fans

Cost $215

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2020

5.0

11/18/2020


Barry K.

Workers were punctual and very competent. They clearly explained an issue that came up. Claudia in the office was great from start to finish.

Description of Work
Installed ceiling fan with light fixture

Category ceiling fans

Cost $215

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2020

4.0

10/06/2020


Felecia B.

I have no problem with the quality of the work performed or the professionalism of the technician. He was very efficient and polite and did the work quickly. I'm very happy with the results of the work. The new light switch works great. My issue is with punctuality and responsiveness. My appointment window was for 12-4 pm, and the technician didn't show up until after 5. I did not receive a phone call, text or email to inform me that he would be late. I called the office to inquire and was told that someone would get back to me. Nobody called back. It would have been nice to know what was going on. I had no idea what was going on until my bell rang at a little after 5 and the technician arrived. I would have appreciated an explanation or an apology, but I received neither. For that reason, I can't give an A rating across the board. Based strictly on the quality of the work, I would hire again, but I was not happy with the other aspects.

Description of Work
I had a broken light switch in the hall. It was frozen in the "on" position and would not turn off. It needed to be replaced.

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $242

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2020

5.0

09/29/2020


Janine W.

Excellent! Timely, quiet, kind electrician did all the work in no time.

Description of Work
Uninstall and install chandelier, secure 2 fixtures and fix loose wire in outlet.

Category electrician, lighting

Cost $410

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2020

Images

Review for PK & Altman Electric - 94 E 4TH ST, New York, NY - 38912032
5.0

09/14/2020


Emily W.

I've struggled to find a good electrician until PK & Altman. They were responsive to messages & came out right away for the project. They also finished the project quickly & with quality. Final price was well worth it. I would definitely use them again. Thank you so much!

Description of Work
electrical outlet grounding, installation of medicine cabinet with light fixture, light fixture switch from fluorescent to standard.

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2021

5.0

08/28/2020


Linda S.

Very responsive and professional. Excellent communication about when they would arrive and the job was finished thoroughly and promptly.

Description of Work
electrical outlet repair

Category electrician

Cost $267

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review our service and for giving us a nice rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Claudia Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

08/26/2020


Dawn P.

My experience with PK and Altman Electric was excellent. From my initial contact with Elizabeth in the main office to the service that was provided by Raphael and Omar, the staff was professional, polite, and punctual. I called on a Tuesday, and Elizabeth scheduled me in for Wednesday! And Raphael and Omar arrived an hour early. Before starting, Raphael reviewed a TO DO LIST with me. A ceiling fan and two outlets, including a GFI and light fixture, were either replaced or serviced. Pricing is competitive. Very pleased and would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replaced ceiling fan, outdoor and indoor light fixture, and several outlets.

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Cost $460

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed] , Thank you for taking the time to review our service and for giving us a nice rating. Liz, Raphael and Omar were informed of your kind comments. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Claudia Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

08/18/2020


Hector A.

I highly recommend this company. They were professional, on time, and reasonable.

Description of Work
electrical panel replacement

Category electrician

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2020

5.0

08/11/2020


James C.

Great service. I’ve hired them for another job.

Description of Work
New outlet and cord for dryer and hung three outdoor lights.

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review our service and for giving us a nice rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Claudia Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

08/11/2020


Terence O.

Great. Arrived and completed work when they said they would.

Description of Work
electrical

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2020

5.0

08/11/2020


Annette O.

Great job. Courteous and professional

Description of Work
Electricafixture installed in ceilingl

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review our service and for giving us a nice rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Claudia Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

08/22/2019


Risa G.

P & K sent two men - they were able to troubleshoot the problem and completed the work in just under an hour.

Description of Work
Fixed a loose wire in the ceiling fan and installed a wall control unit

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review our service and for giving us an "A" rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received and with the cost. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Damorie Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

07/25/2019


Adam H.

Came on time, inspected, knew what the problem was, fixed it in less time than estimated and only charged me for the time they were there.

Description of Work
Rewiring of an outlet

Category electrician

Cost $175

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review our service and give us this great rating. We're very happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received and with the cost. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Damorie Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
4.0

07/18/2019


Denise B.

Installed LED light fixture in kitchen. Unfortunately. light switch was not compatible with fixture so electrician had to replace switch also.

Description of Work
Changed light fixture in kitchen and changed switch.

Category electrician

Cost $192

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to review our service and give us a rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received and with the cost. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
4.0

06/26/2019


Eric K.

Smoothly but I think stuff could have been done without me having to prompt.

Description of Work
Electric outlet fix

Category electrician

Cost $213

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2019

5.0

06/06/2019


Ruben A.

Electricians did all work as requested and were very competent

Description of Work
Light switch and outlet repair

Category electrician

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]: Thank you for taking the time to review our service and give us a rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

04/14/2019


Stuart W.

They were a pleasure to work. Showed up on time and worked efficiently. Their price was very competitive. I look forward to hiring them again for my next job.

Description of Work
Replaced several outlets, ran a line for a new outlet

Category electrician

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]: Thank you for taking the time to review our service and give us a rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received and with the cost. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
2.0

04/01/2019


Arlene R.

Work performed took 20 minutes but was charged full hour price. Dimmer switch replacements were charged three times the retail cost. Final pricing was unfair. Don’t waste your time hiring these contractors that use the old “bait and switch” scheme on pricing.

Description of Work
Check faulty light switch

Category electrician

Cost $288

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]: We are so sorry to hear that your experience with PK Electric was less than stellar. We are committed to excellent customer service and regret any inconvenience this matter may have caused. We apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding regarding our service rates. We pride ourselves in working with the highest level of integrity and it is never our intention to mislead our customers. We are very sorry that you felt misled. We would like to clarify that our standard rates are $150/hr with a one hour minimum. This does not include the $50 travel fee plus additional material costs. These costs are provided during the initial conversation so our customers are clear what the rates are and they can choose if they wish to proceed. We assure you that the materials we provide are carefully selected and of premium quality. Our records indicate that you were charged $150 for labor costs and $110 for materials. We waived the $50 travel fee and you received 10% off your order. As an additional token of our regret for this inconvenience and because you are a valued customer, we will be happy to credit your account an additional $50. Thank you again for your feedback and if there is anything else we can do to make this right for you, please let us know. Sincerely, Peter
5.0

03/28/2019


Karen S.

It went well -- we needed a special part that we are going to order, but the electrician offered us a short term solution that worked.

Description of Work
Repair of a light fixture

Category electrician, lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed]: Thank you for taking the time to review our service and give us a rating. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the level of service you received and that our electrician gave you a solution that worked for you. We look forward to working with you in the future! Best regards, Your Powerhouse Team PK Electric
5.0

03/21/2019


Claire G.

they did an excellent job for a reasonable price

Description of Work
replace bathroom vanity fixtures (2 bathrooms) and smoke alarms

Category lighting, home security systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2019