Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines

Founded 1973 • With Angi since May 2009

4.6

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

234 E 121st St

New York, NY 10035

Description

Local, Domestic, International, Commercial Movers, Storage and Warehousing...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

02/04/2018


Ellis H.

The pickup was done very well. Delivery was on time. Two pieces of furniture were badly damaged and the mover crudely tried to glue them back together which only made things worse. Allied provides insurance of 60 cents per pound of the individual item and not the weight of the entire shipment. You essentially get nothing back but the company is protected by the offer. Next time I'll buy additional insurance or better yet find a mover that won't manhandle my possessions. Let the buyer beware.

Description of Work
Move furniture from Brooklyn, NY to Atlanta, GA

Category moving companies

5.0

07/21/2017


Donna C.

Description of Work
They were very good. Prompt and professional.

Category moving companies

5.0

10/08/2014


John M.

Description of Work
They sent four guys who packed everything super-carefully for temporary storage and then shipment to the Midwest. Everything they packed arrived in good condition and nothing was lost or missing. A couple of minor things I packed myself broke in the boxes, thanks to my bad packing. The two final-delivery guys were a father and son who also did an excellent job. They re-assembled a complicated bed and shelf system without instructions. They were fast, too. Strongly recommend Liffey and Allied. Liffey and two other movers had estimates within about $100 of $10,000, including a month+ storage in New York. Liffey had a good "vibe" and it turns out the vibe was right.

Category moving companies

5.0

03/29/2013


W. Stephen S.

From the first contact through the packing and moving, Liffey Van Lines-Allied Van Lines were superb! After a horrible moving experience 12 years earlier, this experience was at the other end of the spectrum. Our possessions were treated carefully, the packing was done quickly, and the attitudes of everyone involved were that of wanting to be of good service. I would highly recommend Liffey Van Lines!

Description of Work
Moving from apartment in New York to Chicago area. Liffey personnel packed everything except our clothes and everything arrived at the destination in A-1 shape. The movers were on time, efficient and clean.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/24/2012


carol D.

see above.

Description of Work
packed and moved household goods from nyc to florida. then unpacked large pieces in fla.estimate was firm, no overages. packers were terrific . no breakage!one carton lost but driver was very responsive and it was found and sent to us within a few days.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/17/2011


Kenneth K.

They were really great for both moves. The estimater knew his business, and what had to be specially crated (like artwork). The price on the fixed price contract was what we were charged. Everything was carefully packed, all furniture shrink-wrapped and there was breakage or damage to our possessions or to the floors or walls in either residence. They whiped their feet before coming into the house, and carried everything within the house (i.e., no dollies were used on the floor)/ They came highly recommended to us, and we could not imagine a smooter move. Also, the crew that moved us were great, and were fine with a moves of chairs, sofas and tables until we decided on the correct spot. Finally, the crew were really nice people.

Description of Work
We used Liffey Van Lines for two moves from Manhattan to Westchester County. In the first move, we did the packing, and in the second move we had them do the packing. The first move was for one full day, and for the second the first day was packing and the second moving.

Category moving companies

5.0

07/30/2011


Nicholas F.

The estimator was a very experienced older man, James Clogston. All the other extimators from other companies were quite young, The move went exactly as Clogston said it would. Packers came on day one. On day two the majority of the furnityre was taken to our new apartment. (we are doing the unpacking ourselves.) On day three packers packed for Connecticut. On day four they delivered Connecticut. Everything went super smoothly. OUR ECOMMENDATION: DON'T USE THE CHEAPEST ESTIMATE YOU GET. You need movers like Liffey's who know what they are doing, who are seasoned,, not recent arroivals from some other country, no matter how friendly land enthusiastic they may be.

Description of Work
This was a difficult move that took four days, going from a three bedroom apt in Manhattan to a smaller apt and to a house in Connecticut. There was a lot of crystal and antiques to move. While the estimate was on the high side of three we got, the professiionalism of the movers made lit well well worth wihile. Liffey does not fool around with the price. What they estimate lis what they charge-- no more no less. We found this very satisfying. No one was trying to beat the clock.. The movers were very careful, and nothing was broken. Very competent project manager.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/20/2009


REBECCA M.

They were outstandingly good. Their price was extremely reasonable. They were extremely pleasant and professional. They were prompt. They came on time and delivered on time as they said.

Description of Work
They moved us twice.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Samonas Prime Moving & Storage

    Relocating is much easier when you hire Samonas Prime Moving Storage to help you. Even when you're just moving across town, we provide complete local moving services. From storage containers to reassembly of larger furniture, we do the work that saves you the time and effort. Moving to another state or across the country comes with a completely different set of concerns. We handle all of your long distance moving services that include shrink wrapping furniture and safely transporting your automobiles. You don't have to build a storage shed to have that extra room you need. Instead, let us provide you with mobile and warehouse storage. Containers and units are available in a variety of sizes to accommodate your belongings. To request a free estimate for any of our services, call us at (631) 821-1438.  

    Charles Wood & Son Moving Inc

    Charles Wood & Son Moving Inc ensures that your move receives the respect, care and attention it deserves. We consider your details our priority. We are a premiere Melville, NY moving company and are able to move you across town, across the state or across the country. Customized estimates are provided for both local and long distance moves by having a professional move consultant come to your home to conduct a move inventory and create a no-obligation price quote. Complete the form above and a representative will contact you shortly. Additional phone number - (631) 293-5550.  

    CL Moving & Hauling Services

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done correctly. We pride ourselves providing quality service, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Moving & storage facilities.

    Services Not Offered

    Truck Rental

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines

    How is Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines overall rated?

    Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines open?

    Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines provide

    Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offer free estimates?

    Yes, Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offers free project estimates.

    Does Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offer a senior discount?

    No, Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines?

    No, Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines does not offer warranties.

    What services does Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offer?

    Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines offers the following services: Moving & storage facilities.

    Are there any services Liffey Van Lines Inc- Allied Van Lines does not offer?

    Truck Rental