Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Danconia Interiors

Founded 2000 • With Angi since August 2011

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

32 West 39th Street 4th Floor

New York, NY 10018

Description

Danconia Interiors is a full service real estate firm with a contracting and renovation division. Our team has over 30 years of experience in complete home renovations....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/13/2016


Johanna R.

Awesome renovation of my studio apartment! The team gave great attention to detail, and they were very communicative - which made the process so much easier for me. My questions were all answered, and they provided creative and chic style options. My favorite aspect of the renovation was the tile work in the bathroom - super fun! I couldn't be happier with the customer service and the outcome of the project - I definitely recommend this company!

Description of Work
renovated my apartment

Category custom cabinets, contractors, carpet installation, ceramic tile, closet systems, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, egress windows, flooring contractor, furniture repair, glass repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, interior designers, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, rototilling, siding, upholstery, replacement windows, fireplaces, garage builders, home builders, window treatments, woodworking, wrought iron, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors, sunrooms, home staging, home automation, basement remodeling, stamped concrete, apartments

3.0

12/14/2015


William W.

Disappointing outcome.

Description of Work
Disappointing outcome.

Category electrician

1.0

06/10/2015


Eric F.

No one ever got back to me on my project...

Description of Work
No one called back.

Category electrician

5.0

02/20/2015


Ian E.

They showed up on the initial walkthrough with a talented designer who guided us through decisions at critical points in the process, and ensured that our job proceeded along quickly and efficiently. All of the team members and subcontractor we worked with brought strong expertise and were extremely responsive and hard-working. The tiling in our bathroom was especially well done. We were particularly pleased that Danconia was sensitive to our budget throughout the process and offered good advice on how to allocate our resources for the best results. We love the final product!

Description of Work
Danconia Interiors did an excellent job on the significant renovation of a home we recently bought, and we recommend them highly. This project includes a bathroom gut renovation, new wood floors and trim, new kitchen, and some custom millwork in our library.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/29/2015


ZACHARY E.

We recently needed to hire a general contractor for the renovation of our kitchen in our Co-op apartment. Out of all the contractors we interviewed Danconia Interiors was the most professional and their proposal most matched our expectations. Within a few weeks of the initial walkthrough we were able to begin work. The work proceeded without too many issues, and when issues did come up Danconia offered options that fit our budget and needs. We decided to do custom cabinets to eke out every inch of space from our tight kitchen. Though the custom cabinets did take longer to install than off-the shelf ones, we are very happy with the final product and would choose custom again if we had the choice. Danconia took special care in installing a set of penny tiles on our backsplash, which came out wonderfully.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel in co-op. Opened walls. Custom cabinets.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, electrician, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/15/2014


LEROI A.

Description of Work
He was always punctual and did not create a mess. He always acted professionally. I would recommend him to anyone.

Category electrician

5.0

03/27/2014


Adair N.

The man who answered the phone was very helpful.

Description of Work
I called them and received referral to another company that was appropriate to my needs.

Category interior designers

4.0

08/01/2013


David R.

Did not use them because they could not deliver a competitive bid. Would have seriously considered them otherwise. The job cost $35k all in, including all materials, labor, finishing, plumbing, electrical, permits etc. It was completed beautifully with a competing contractor. Danconia's bid was for services largely without materials, resulting in a differential of about 12k. Based on their professionalism and the quality of what's seen on the website, I'm confident they would have done a beautiful job. I just couldn't justify the 12k difference.

Description of Work
Received very professional bid and contact from Danconia. Nice folks, seemed trustworthy.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/11/2013


Jan C.

They were really good. I haven't done any business with them yet, but we may in the future. They were a design built firm and what we decided to do was to engage an architect, but they were very very good. We let them know we were very impressed with them. We thought the architect that we ended up going with was more experienced and kind of thing that one would trying to do and so we felt little more comfortable letting the architectural thing from the built thing because then the architect is working in hour and has no connection to whatever contractor we get. We liked them very much. We thought they were in tune very much in what we were trying to do. It was just really a philosophical difference at how you best go about doing this, but we have actually only good things to say about them and as I said when we get to the point we were actually ready to go to look for contractor to do the work they will be number one on our list. We like pretty much everything about them. I would use them again.

Description of Work
We got estimate from Danconia Interiors about a year ago renovation of the apartment.

Category remodeling

1.0

06/20/2013


WAYNE T.

Hi Wayne, It was very nice to meet you last week. I just wanted to let you know that we are still working on your estimate, but are very backed up. Due to the volume of work we are engaging at the moment, I'm not sure whether we have the capacity to take on your entire scope. That said, we would still like to propose a budget to build your custom millwork. I think you had a nice and interesting design and we should have the capacity to construct this in our work shop this summer. However, I'm afraid I am unable to commit to the rest of your scope given our busy schedule for the foreseeable future. Please let me know if you would like to discuss. Best Regards, Eli -- Eli Sokol Project Manager, Danconia Interiors 1150 6th Ave. 6th Floor New York, NY 10036

Description of Work
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME CALLING THESE PEOPLE. BELOW IS THEIR EMAIL. THAT'S TWO HOURS OF OUR TIME WE WON'T GET BACK. SO, THEY ADVERTISE FOR WORK AND THEN SUDDENLY BECOME TOO BUSY. BTW, THEY WERE A WEEK PAST THEIR PROMISED DATE FOR CONTACTING ME. THE MILL WORK IS ONLY A SMALL PART OF OUR RENOVATION.

Category electrician, home remodeling

5.0

01/11/2013


Lee W.

The work Danconia Interiors did on my floors was exceptional. Originally, I had another reputable floor company do the floors, but the work was not acceptable. Then I hired Danconia Interiors, and the difference was like night and day. I was very short on time, as the previous company had taken most of it. Danconia was extremely responsive, through phone and email, which is a huge plus for me. Danconia came to the unit and assessed the situation shortly after contacting them. I was very impressed by the professionalism and expertise of the foreman who came to the unit that day. I received an estimate and contract hours later, and the work started the following day. The contractor who came to do the work the following day was also extremely knowledgeable, and was able to explain in detail what went wrong previously, and how it would be done differently using Danconia Interiors. He was able to accurately estimate the completion time. When the work was done and I saw the floors, a huge weight was lifted off of my shoulders. I am looking forward to hiring them again in the near future.

Description of Work
Refinishing of Hardwood floors in a 1 bedroom condominium apartment.

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor

5.0

01/07/2013


John M.

I contacted them for a last minute gas disconnect/reconnect for a new oven I was having delivered. The person I spoke with was very pleasant but frank about the high cost such a service would run if done by them, and then offered to put me directly in touch with one of their plumbers so that I could get a direct quote from him. Their manner was extremely professional and friendly, and their advice was excellent and exactly on target. Should I have a larger project in future I will definitely contact them.

Description of Work
No service performed, I was seeking a last minute gas disconnect/reconnect for a new oven I was having delivered.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/08/2012


Maria A.

Overall, our experience was very good. The work that was completed is excellent even a couple months later, after we've had time to find any concerns arise. We are very happy with our end product. Pros: They were extremely responsive to our concerns throughout the project. Our project manager was easy to reach and very communicative. He regularly did walkthroughs of the site. Custom built vanity is great - they worked with us to get exactly what we needed and even better than what I had envisioned. It optimizes storage while looking timeless. Worked within our budget, and were very clear about any additional costs that arose (such as boards needing to be replaced in the flooring rather than just refinished). They suggested great vendors that worked with us to find great materials and fixtures within our budget. Generally, they were clean and polite. Always trustworthy - I had no concern for my valuables. When I had concerns about how something was working (a running toilet for instance), they were always willing to come back a fix it. They were also understanding about such repairs from a cost liability perspective. Cons: While they just about finished the work on time (within a week of projected timeline, which is pretty good), most of the that work was done in the last 4 weeks of an 11 week job. We were without a shower for 7 weeks, which we found unacceptable. We were away traveling for 2-3 weeks in the beginning of the project, but very little seemed to be done while we were away. To sum up, their timing with respect to our convenience was cavalier. They had no choice but to cut the tile inside the apartment; unfortunately they did nothing to keep the dust from permeating the entire living space. This was a rather large exception to their general neatness. They did not reliably check shipments promptly to make sure they were in tact or that the fixture would fit in the space. While we had an initial meeting to talk through ideas and budget, I would have liked a little more guidance on my design choices. I was not the most confident about bringing all the pieces together, and I would have liked someone to provide feedback on how my fixture, tile, and color choices would all work together. I suppose I could have asked, but I didn't think I should have had to.

Description of Work
Danconia managed a project that included full renovation of a full and half bath, in addition to general updates around our home. We lived in the apartment through most of the renovation. Bathrooms: all fixtures and tile were replaced; a new vanity was custom built for the full bath; sub-floor was leveled; water damage from previous leaks was repaired. Other updates: 2 bedroooms had carpet removed and original flooring refinished with some boards replaced lighting fixtures were replaced in living areas doors replaced and throughout home

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

11/26/2012


Zachary H.

The job was executed well overall. Danconia was very responsive the entire time - I worked with Bilal and Ethel on the design and layout of the bathroom. The contracting work was done by Tony and his crew. The job took approximately 3 weeks to complete, which included a complete gut renovation of the bathroom. Demolition was done down to the studs and the wooden floor, then everything was built up again. We haven't had any problems since (6 months later). Tony and his crew were very professional - it was normally the same 2 or 3 guys who did the entire job day after day. The tile work was done well, everything looks straight on the wall and floor. The shower glass door was installed well and all the shower fixtures (rain showerhead, wand, and temperature controls installed well on the walls - they all look nice. The vanity was designed based on pictures we had provided and it was completed satisfactorily. The experience of working with Tony was nice - he asked a lot of questions to make sure we were doing the right things. Part of our renovation was done while we were away on vacation, and everything turned out well even though we weren't there helping to make sure everything was getting done correctly. I would definitely recommend using Danconia for a similar job.

Description of Work
Complete remodeling of a small bathroom 6ft x 9ft New tiles on floor and all walls Replacement of all plumbing, pipes, fixtures, toilet Built a wooden vanity and mounted it to wall Recessed medicine cabinets Creation of a shower with tiles from floor to ceiling and glass door along one wall Installation of specialty light fixture in ceiling Installation of recessed lighting and new ceiling fan in living room

Category contractors, ceramic tile, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

11/22/2012


Curtis S.

Excellent experience with this company.

Description of Work
Ethel called me literally 2 minutes after sending an email, even though my small electrical job didn't make sense for him. He recommended an electrician and let me use his name in the referral for a discount. He would be my first call in any renovation job.

Category electrician

5.0

05/31/2012


Judd W.

I've been involved in my fair share of remodels and renovations-- both personally and professionally. And I have to say that Danconia is the most creative, cost-effective and professional company I have worked with. They met every deadline, beat our budget by an reasonable percentage and left us with a finished product which I never could have anticipated beforehand. We purchased an unrenovated unit in a luxury high-rise, with the intention of renovating it ourselves and then flipping it before the sponsor had time to finish its round of renovations. We believed we could achieve our goals with a budget of $175,000. Danconia came in with a budget of $150,000. Given everything they wanted to accomplish, we did not believe it was possible. They created a unit that destroyed the sponsor-renovated units in terms of beauty, uniqueness and appeal. They were such a pleasure to deal with. They were always on call and returned any messages within minutes. In the end, we were able to sell our finished unit in a shorter time than we anticipated. And we were able to do so at a premium to the price we had hoped. We plan on using Danconia on all future remodels.

Description of Work
Danconia took a completely unrenovated condo (1980's finishes) in a luxury highrise and transformed it into the premiere apartment in the building. Because of their work, our unit became the class of the high-rise and allowed us to sell at a steep premium to those units converted directly by the building's sponsor. It's hard to do justice to their transformation without the benefit of before-and-after shots. However, they tore out the old parkay floors, replaced them with gorgeous reclaimed wood flooring which they sourced, broke down the walls of an undersized enclosed kitchen and opened it up to the dining room area, replaced all of the outdated kitchen appliances with sleek, stainless steel counterparts, transformed an old, stuffy bathroom into a refined space with marble, high quality fixtures, a floor-to-ceiling mirror and top-of-the-line bath and shower parts, created a one-of-a-kind master bedroom, complete with a second entrance (which they cut out) that allowed extra natural light into the space through the use of a translucent, sliding door. They showed us two designs for the kitchen (3D renderings) and built the kitchen cabinetry. We were able to figured out how to most effectively use corners employing lazy suzans. Their incredible work allowed us to turn a very generic apartment into the nicest unit of its kind. And they did so at a lower cost than that which we had budgeted.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, carpet installation, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, furniture repair, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, upholstery, fireplaces, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors, basement remodeling

5.0

02/07/2012


Jane L.

Reasons why we chose Danconia 1) We worked with an architect, a contractor, and a researcher on their team. 2) We were able to see their craftsmanship at other apartments. 3) When we picked out certain materials they came with us to make sure they would work in our apartment. 4) We were informed of certain stores to buy our electrical fixtures, bathroom and kitchen faucets, and bathroom vanity. 5) We were in contact with them many times during the project and they were always there for us. 6) They provided wonderful ideas. 7) Their work was impeccable. 8) After signing contract, all materials should be ordered before work begins.

Description of Work
Bathroom: Complete demolition (tile and fixtures) except for bathtub. Replace shut off valves and repair plumbing Installation: glass subway tile on all walls up to ceiling, stone floor, vanity, medicine cabinet, sink, faucets, and shower-head, new flushometer toilet, glass shower doors Reglaze bathtub Build wall with vents around heat pipe Foyer area and hallway: Remove linoleum floor and wood floor planks underneath Install stone floor Remove soffits and door frames Patch and paint walls Move electric outlet Kitchen: Complete demolition (appliances, cabinets, countertop, floor) except for one cabinets Install stone floor, countertop, backsplash, stove, refrigerator, sink, and faucet Build and install custom cabinets Bedroom: Sand and finish wood floors

Category custom cabinets, contractors, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

02/01/2012


amy W.

I started talking with Danconia the week of Thanksgiving and hired them the second week of December. Though the scope of work was not enormous, there were plenty of hurdles due to the fact that it was the holiday season, we have two small children and my husband works from home. Communication was key in order to prevent problems. The good news is that Danconia was extremely communicative so we could work our schedules around the tasks being completed for the day. We also have a notoriously difficult co-op board that Danconia was able to appease by sending in all the paperwork promptly and following their very strict guidelines. As a pleasant surprise our work was done two and a half weeks ahead of schedule and absolutely on budget!

Description of Work
I hired Danconia to: refurnish our hardwood floors, install lighting, paint all surfaces and build a playroom and bookshelves within our two bedroom apartment.

Category contractors, electrician, hardwood floor, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

10/20/2011


emily S.

We interviewed multiple contractors including references and friends, and big famous name companies. We could not come up with the right solution for our apartment and when we interviewed Danconia were much more satisfied with the intelligence and time expenditure that they were willing to spend our our project. They combine design with contracting, draw great 3D computer models, and have an approach where they work personally with the client, and do not balk at visiting the apartment and communicating extensively. They are different from other contractors in being more educated and impressive in the way they approach the project. They had good, creative ideas on how to change our apartment. They were also rigorous and educated about what would need to be done to achieve the options we were looking at. Their estimated timing for the project was actually correct- they did not exceed it. Danconia's solution of combining part of our dining area with our bedroom really changed the way we use our space and has improved the way it looks. They hire hard-working, good guys whom we were satisfied with. The kitchen and bathroom work was done in a stellar way. The custom cabinets were good quality and have a great modern style. The kitchen looks like it is from an expensive high end magazine though its cost for us was lower. The tile work in the bathroom and kitchen took them a while, they were very detailed, but it was immaculately done. We love our new shower. The apartment looks a lot better with the ceiling higher (minimized soffits, no recessed lights, etc)- This was Danconia's suggestion to expand the space, and it really worked. The new wood floor is a great improvement to the main living room area. Their custom pieces were built with a great style and look beautiful. What was irritating is that the tile that we ordered- it came in 2 weeks late and delayed some of the work. We ordered it (not Danconia). I also regret the under-counter fridge versus just a regular fridge. We wanted to conserve on space but the under-counter fridge is really insufficient. Danconia had told us that the under-counter option would be smaller. We also wish we actually made the custom built pieces of slightly different dimensions, to fit some different things. The custom closets are very useful, but we could have chosen a different layout out of those Danconia was offering- we have now realized that we actually need more shoe-space than we had built. However overall we are happy with the renovation and realize these are minor issues. We recommend this company because they are good to work with (pleasant people), you can trust them to be very concerned and involved in the project throughout, they have good design ideas, are fast in their response, and their work is high-end quality.

Description of Work
My husband and I sought a complete renovation for our coop apartment in the east 50s. We have a three bedroom with a foyer, a dining room, and a washer/dryer closet. We combined part of the dining area with one of the bedrooms (Danconia tore walls down and restructured the space after finding out which design was best according to where the structural elements were, etc, and drawing some designs). This also involved changing the positioning of the hallway walls. We got rid of the lowered ceiling and recessed lighting, and soffits, that went through the hallways and the rooms. We redid the kitchen entirely- we have a large kitchen. They made custom cabinets, and removed one wall. They also did the stone tiling for the floors and ceramic tile for the backsplash. They installed a new countertop, undermount sink, and an under-the counter refrigerator. They were able to run the gas line to change the position of the stovetop and oven. We have 2 bathrooms, one of them we left the same except for painting, a new toilet, and a new medicine cabinet they custom made. The 2nd one, we changed the tub to a shower, and had mosaic tile done for the shower walls, a glass enclosure for the shower, a new vanity, a new medicine cabinet, new flooring (stone tile), and new wall tiles up to the ceiling with a design element running through the middle. There was also a lot of work they did to fix water damage in this bathroom- they had to reconstruct one wall. In the living room we actually had Danconia remove and install a new wood floor. We did some electrical work in certain rooms (displacing outlets). We also painted the apartment in several different shades (ceiling, frame, walls, etc), and had some crown molding that needed to be replicated and replaced. Late into the project, we went with Danconia's design to custom build some built-in shelving for us and a built-in wall unit for the tv and books. They also custom built 2 closets- a storage closet and a walk-in closet.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, carpet installation, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, furniture repair, hardwood floor, interior designers, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, upholstery, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors, basement remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Planticular

    Planticular designs and maintains plants in your interior and exterior spaces! We can help you choose the right plants for your context and make sure they remain healthy and happy! We work with homes, restaurants, offices, etc. Contact us today for a consultation so we can get started.  

    Lapietra Contracting Corp

    Our company was founded by the former President Salvatore Messina. Mr. Messina instilled in all his employees a superb work ethic and a sense of pride in their accomplishments. These principals are carried out today through Mr. Messina's son Patsy. Patsy Messina is the current President and owner of Lapietra Contracting Corp. Now in its second generation of family ownership and is looking toward the future. Our founder, Salvatore Messina brought with him to America old Italian style and craftsmanship which is upheld by his son Patsy and our crews of skilled craftsmen.  

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen & bathroom remodeling, structural expansion & demolition. Plumbing, electrical alterations, hardwood flooring, carpeting, tile, stone, glass surfaces, custom-built cabinetry, lighting solutions, upholstery, audio & visual system design.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Danconia Interiors

    How is Danconia Interiors overall rated?

    Danconia Interiors is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Danconia Interiors open?

    Danconia Interiors is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM

    What payment options does Danconia Interiors provide

    Danconia Interiors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal

    Does Danconia Interiors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Danconia Interiors offers free project estimates.

    Does Danconia Interiors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Danconia Interiors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Danconia Interiors offer a senior discount?

    No, Danconia Interiors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Danconia Interiors?

    Yes, Danconia Interiors offers warranties.

    What services does Danconia Interiors offer?

    Danconia Interiors offers the following services: Kitchen & bathroom remodeling, structural expansion & demolition. Plumbing, electrical alterations, hardwood flooring, carpeting, tile, stone, glass surfaces, custom-built cabinetry, lighting solutions, upholstery, audio & visual system design.