Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Big Apple Window Cleaning

Founded 1998 • With Angi since December 2008

4.7

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

420 Lexington Ave

New York, NY 10017

Description

Thousands of New Yorkers choose Big Apple Window Cleaning for all their window and glass cleaning needs. We are known for quality work at a reasonable price! No job is too big or too small for our qualified staff. We offer cleaning services ranging from small apartment window washing to large commercial window cleaning projects! Regular maintenance services, custom glass restoration, boom lift and rope descent system projects. Call 212-697-0272 Big Apple Window Cleaning and enjoy the clear view out of your window. We provide: - Commercial Window Cleaning - Residential Window Washing - Post Construction Window Cleaning - Hard Water Stain Removal...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/02/2016


Marjorie B.

Very well. On time,efficient careful with furnishings

Description of Work
They ten big windows inside and out

Category window cleaning

5.0

11/28/2016


Marjorie B.

Great. They washed 10 large windows inside and out in under an hour.

Description of Work
We have used Big Apple several times to clean our windows. They are efficient and professional. We will use them again.

Category window cleaning

5.0

05/01/2015


Carol R.

Service people arrived on time, and were very pleasant. They did an excellent job; the windows are spotless. They completed the work in about 45 minutes. When I initially called to schedule the appointment, I left a message and received a call back within 1/2 hour. The person I spoke with was very thorough in explaining pricing to me, and made ever effort to schedule an appointment time that would be most convenient for me.

Description of Work
They cleaned all windows inside and out, including screens.

Category window cleaning

4.0

03/09/2015


Kathleen B.

They came to clean the windows. They were efficient. One employee was courteous and the other was not as polite and not as detailed oriented. I asked him to clean around a specific area, but the employee wasn't as thorough as I would have liked. I would like my windows cleaned how I would clean them myself. They were not as thourough as I would have liked.

Description of Work
Cleaned Windows

Category window cleaning

5.0

06/21/2014


Paul Z.

They're a little backed up so I had to wait two weeks for an appointment but it was worth the wait. They were in and out in less than a hour. I called the day before to change the appointment time to later in the day and that was not a problem. They arrived at the time I requested. The windows are spotless. It would have taken me an entire afternoon. More than worth the $70 and I will be having them back in the Fall.

Description of Work
Cleaned four large windows in my 3rd fl apartment along with the screens.

Category window cleaning

1.0

06/13/2014


Kim P.

On Angie's List, the service provider specifies that it does work in Westchester. However, when I called, I was told that I live too far away and they won't come up here to clean my windows (I have about 26 windows). I live in Yonkers, near Bronxville, which is literally the first town over the border in Westchester County. So, if they don't perform services here, then they clearly don't provide any services to Westchester County and they are giving false information on their listing. ANGIE's LIST - please have them REMOVE Westchester County as one of the counties that they provide services to as that is a lie.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear [Removed Member Name] , Thank you for your review. Yes, we do service Client's in Westchester. Unfortunately, we were not able to schedule your job due to overbooking. It was a peak of the season and we had too many large and challenging projects going. It is our company policy to under-promise and over-deliver, so we would rather admit we can't do it, then make it less then perfect. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

12/12/2013


Liz O.

The men arrived on time and immediately put booties on their shoes. They were very neat, quick and efficient, and very professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned windows

Category window cleaning

5.0

09/24/2013


Richard F.

It went very well. They were quick and did a great job and it was very affordable.

Description of Work
Cleaned all windows in a timely manor and did a very good job of it.

Category window cleaning

5.0

08/06/2013


Carolyn F.

The service was very good, I was very pleased.

Description of Work
They cleaned the windows.

Category window cleaning

5.0

06/10/2013


leta W.

i did get a call that they would cancel for the scheduled day because of rain, but when i got the message and called back they changed and said they could come. Everything was done professionally.

Description of Work
two men came in as scheduled, reviewed number of windows and gave me a price. i told them to go ahead and they did the work in 25 minutes.

Category window cleaning

1.0

04/03/2013


Katherine C.

After explaining that I would need the use of their cherry picker as my windows had been painted shut from the inside, they sent 2 men to wash my windows with no means of getting access to my windows from the outside. Once they confirmed they could not do the job, they said they would report back to their company what needed to be done, and someone would be in touch. No one got in touch with me, so I called them. They apologized said they would investigate, and get back to me with a solution by the end of the day. They never called. I called them again to confirm that they did not want/could not do the job, and they agreed they couldn't do the job. Therefore, I have to summarize my experience as very disappointing - my initial request was ignored, the follow-up was non-existent and upon further inquiry they admitted their cherry picker had been damaged in Hurricane Sandy. I can only conclude that they had no problem wasting my time (which is the most frustrating part of this frustrating experience) because they set up an appointment regardless of my specific request for the cherry picker and explanation of why I would need it. I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
Ultimately, they did not perform any services.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear [Removed Member Name] , Thank you for your time and your comment. I'm the owner of this business and I do appreciate negative reviews, because they make us better. Yes, the situation you've described did took place. Our company was badly hit by Sandy and it took us over a year to fully recover. The only bucket truck we had at that time was under water. We were trying to repair it, but in the end we just replaced it with brand new one. I apologize one more time for the frustration and inconvenience. We've learned our lesson and as of today we own and operate the biggest fleet of bucket trucks in North America. From our highest bucket truck we can clean windows even of 22 floor (up to 230' high). If you ever decide to give us another chance we'll be happy to assist you. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Owner

3.0

02/08/2013


Desmond A.

Workers showed up about 15 minutes late. Weather was bad so perhaps excusable but a call would have been helpful. Workers did not have a good command of English and had trouble explaining to me how they planned to do the work. Lead worker had a bad temper and became frustrated explaining one piece of work he was unable to do. Later after looking more closely he realized he could do the work. Windows ended up clean but for the premium pricing--all told an hour of unskilled work--the staff could have been more customer service oriented. I would not rule out using this firm again since my windows are now much cleaner but I would try other firms before I came back to this one.

Description of Work
Ran late, poor communication.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing our company and taking your time to post such a detailed review. Comments like this make our company better. We will definitely discuss this situation on our weekly Safety Meeting. Bad winter weather, city traffic jams and tight schedule some time put our Crew Leaders under pressure, but it can't be an excuse. Our goal is to make to make every client 100% happy with our Customer Service. We really appreciate your help and will do everything possible to make sure Big Apple Window Cleaning meets and exceeds your expectations every time you need professional window cleaning. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

10/29/2012


MARJORIE M.

Job was very professional, but also quite expensive.

Description of Work
Washed windows, inside and outside.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for choosing our company again. We really appreciate your business. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

05/19/2012


Georgiana T.

It went very well, they ever very nice guys.

Description of Work
They arrived and worked quietly and professionally. They cleaned the windows and the screens without leaving a mess.

Category window cleaning

5.0

01/26/2012


Penny C.

The gentleman who came to clean my windows was punctual, professional, did an excellent job and cleaned up after himself. He cleaned my windows and screens. The cost of the service came in at the low end of what was estimated. I could not be happier with this company.

Description of Work
They cleaned 5 large picture windows and screens.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you very much for choosing our company and taking your time to post such a detailed comment. We really appreciate it and will do everything possible to make sure Big Apple Window Cleaning meets and exceeds your expectations every time you need professional window cleaning. We look forward to clean your windows every Spring and Fall for many years to come. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

01/12/2012


MARJORIE M.

Did a great job on windows, but did not clean tops of radiator covers under the windows. when I called for a second cleaning, some months later, the price has risen by more than 20%, $30. I deemed $150 too much to clean four windows, so have not used them since.

Description of Work
Washed windows in 1 BR pre-war apt with original windows

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you for choosing Big Apple Window Cleaning to clean your windows. When we arrived to clean your windows - the crew was limited to the maximum quote we provided on the phone. Instead of 4 windows you have 4 sets of windows. The cleaning crew finished the job as promised. They didn't charge you anything in excess of what you were quoted on the phone. The team Leader reported to the office and changes were made to the Work order to reflect the actual time spent for the job. When you called us the next time - the Customer Service Representative gave you the new price based on the actual time we spent when cleaned your windows the first time. We are sorry for any confusion and hope to see you as our client in the future again. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

08/17/2011


Russell P.

The price was absolutely fair. We would use them again.

Description of Work
We used Big Apple Window Cleaning for window cleaning.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you very much for choosing our company and taking your time to post a comment. Estimating on the phone is not easy but saves us and our clients lots of time. Windows are very different and have different levels of "dirtiness" and accessibility which can not be always properly evaluated over the phone. This factors can really make a big difference in time spent for the job and as a result - the pricing. That's why our Customer Service Representatives usually give customers the price range based on the information provided by the client and their understanding of the project. We really appreciate your understanding and will do everything possible to make sure Big Apple Window Cleaning meets and exceeds your expectations every time you need professional window cleaning. We look forward to clean your windows every Spring and Fall for many years to come. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

07/30/2011


Nicholas F.

A team of llthree arrived to clean all nine windows. Did a superb job. Very careful with furniture. Had them clean the outside sills for an kextra charge. They took less than a hour and were llvery effoicient

Description of Work
Clelaned windows in our new apartment.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you very much for taking your time and posting your report. We look forward to be you window cleaning company for many years to come. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

3.0

07/21/2011


Tiffany T.

I have a two bedroom apartment of the 11th floor of a high rise in Manhattan. When I called to make the appointment, I informed the receptionist that I had a lot of windows - 34 windows that were roughly 6 feet tall. I knew it was a big job and told her so. The window cleaner arrived at the arranged time, but as soon as he entered the apartment and saw the scope of the job he began complaining about how much work it was going to be. He continued to do this throughout the several hours it took to clean the windows. He cleaned both the inside and the outside, but he did splatter dirty water on my walls and baseboards in every room and didn't clean it up. I was happy with the cleanliness of the windows, but his attitude was so unprofessional that I never used this company again. I should have called the manager to inform him/her, but I just chose the easy way out and hired someone else the next time.

Description of Work
Interior and exterior window cleaning of 34 six foot windows in a high rise apartment.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Would you please do us a favor and review your records. Very often people confuse our company with Apple window cleaning. We are Big Apple window cleaning. We have checked our records and we could't find neither your name nor your address in our database. Also, please consider these facts: 1. We do not have any male Customer Service Representatives who pick up the office phone lines - all our SCRs are females; 2. We never send 1 person to do the work - there are always 2 technicians in all of our teams; 3. We couldn't have charged you $500 for 34 large windows. This is Apple's $12 per window policy. Our prices for the Professional window cleaning services in your building start at $25 per window. We would really appreciate if you would give us a chance to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Service Team

5.0

04/20/2011


ROSALIND F.

They were very, very fair about the price. They will even take out your a/c unit and put it back in after they've cleaned. They were very professional, friendly, prompt and clean. They didn't leave a drop of water behind.

Description of Work
They came out to clean my windows.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you very much for choosing our company and taking your time to posting a comment. We will do everything possible to make sure Big Apple Window Cleaning meets and exceeds your expectations in the future. We look forward to be you window cleaning company for many years to come. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

10/11/2010


Marjorie B.

They were on time, gave me an estimate that was very close to what they said over the phone. This is the place to call if you live in Manhattan. They have a very cute smart car truck.

Description of Work
Window cleaning

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

We strive to provide the most accurate estimates and service in town and are always glad to hear from reviewers such as yourself! It is very attentive of you to notice our company's favorite vehicles.

4.0

10/08/2010


Ann B.

it went well. On time, polite, fast-workers, clean.

Description of Work
Washed all my windows and screens

Category window cleaning

5.0

08/06/2010


rona K.

The young men who arrived were very nice and professional. They cleaned the windows well and left no mess around. Granted my windows are relatively new and we clean the insides ourselves, but they cleaned both inside and out. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Cleaning windows on the 6th floor of a pre-war building. Some double hung, some tilt and turn.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you very much for choosing our company and taking your time to posting a comment. We will do everything possible to make sure Big Apple Window Cleaning meets and exceeds your expectations every time you use our window cleaning services. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

5.0

05/12/2010


Bridget B.

I got a voicemail on Monday morning, saying that they wouldn't be able to come because it was raining, which was okay with me because I had scheduled the cleaning for Wednesday. It worked out okay, and when the window washer came for the "rescheduled" Wednesday appointment, he said there would be a $10 discount because they couldn't come on Monday. The cleaning was quick and effective, and the windows look good. The only snag was that the washer couldn't get clean some spots that he said were due to corrosion of the metal screens. But he said that it could be cleaned with some special acid, and that in the future, we should inform the company when making an appointment that the acid would be required.

Description of Work
Washed windows.

Category window cleaning

5.0

04/22/2010


MARK G.

They did a great job. I went through Angie's List and they had a high rating and a coupon. They were licensed and I hadn't had much luck finding a good window cleaning company elsewhere. I think their prices are about market, they aren't super cheap but they're fair.

Description of Work
Big Apple Window Cleaning did all my windows.

Category window cleaning

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, Thank you very much for choosing our company and taking your time to post such a detailed comment. We really appreciate it and will do everything possible to make sure Big Apple Window Cleaning meets and exceeds your expectations every time you need professional window cleaning. We look forward to clean your windows every Spring and Fall for many years to come.. Sincerely, Big Apple Window Cleaning Customer Service Team

    Other local Pros in your area

    Total Window Services

    We are proud to be New York’s top residential and commercial window cleaning and tinting services provider. To get to know us better, please take a few minutes to learn about our company’s services, offerings, and discounts. If you are interested in any of our services — window cleaning, window tinting, glass restoration or any other service — please do not hesitate to call or email us. We serve all of Long Island, including Brooklyn.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Level Engineering and Inspections

    Common Sense, Real-World Engineering Solutions At LEVEL, we are committed to common sense, real-world solutions. We pioneered LEVEL because, after years spent exploring all disciplines of civil and structural engineering in the building industry, we continually encountered the missing fundamentals in our own trade. These lost elements of service culture & exceptional business practice inevitably cost owners & entities untold stress and frustration; contractors lost time & money, realtors & lenders were left unable to satisfy their clients' needs. We concluded that our capacity for A&E services could function at a higher level, thus, LEVEL Engineering & Inspections was founded. We serve your interests & provide knowledgeable, expert design, inspections, analysis, forensics, recommendations, and reporting. Whether your need is for permitting, forensics; new, remodel, or repair engineering designs; foundation problems; civil or architecture - let us help you navigate your Civil, Commercial, Residential Structural Engineering needs.  

    Mastro Brothers Construction and Maintenance Consultants

    Family Owned and Operated Full Service Construction Consulting Company. General Construction/New Home/Full Gut Rehabilitation/Kitchen and Bathroom Specialist Call Us Now For a Free Consultation!!! -Michael Mastro 845-521-6502  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Window Cleaning – Inside and Outside Storm windows cleaning Screens and Sills cleaning Chandeliers Light Fixtures cleaning Mirrors cleaning Skylights Sunny rooms Local Law 10/11 building inspections Aerial platforms rental and access service Bucket truck rental and access services Move in / Move out window cleaning Power washing Window Caulking Post construction / Post renovation window cleaning Glass restoration – hard water stains removal!

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Big Apple Window Cleaning

    How is Big Apple Window Cleaning overall rated?

    Big Apple Window Cleaning is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Big Apple Window Cleaning open?

    Big Apple Window Cleaning is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Big Apple Window Cleaning provide

    Big Apple Window Cleaning accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa

    Does Big Apple Window Cleaning offer free estimates?

    Yes, Big Apple Window Cleaning offers free project estimates.

    Does Big Apple Window Cleaning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Big Apple Window Cleaning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Big Apple Window Cleaning offer a senior discount?

    No, Big Apple Window Cleaning does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Big Apple Window Cleaning offer emergency services?

    Yes, Big Apple Window Cleaning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Big Apple Window Cleaning?

    Yes, Big Apple Window Cleaning offers warranties.

    What services does Big Apple Window Cleaning offer?

    Big Apple Window Cleaning offers the following services: Window Cleaning – Inside and Outside Storm windows cleaning Screens and Sills cleaning Chandeliers Light Fixtures cleaning Mirrors cleaning Skylights Sunny rooms Local Law 10/11 building inspections Aerial platforms rental and access service Bucket truck rental and access services Move in / Move out window cleaning Power washing Window Caulking Post construction / Post renovation window cleaning Glass restoration – hard water stains removal!