Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Affordable Designs by Kate

Founded 1993 • With Angi since June 2011

5.0

(12) Verified Reviews

Description

An Interior Design and Staging Company with over 20 years of experience serving clients in Manhattan. Superior designs, budget conscious when required. Deep resources, fully insured. Well experienced working with Building Management Companies and all major Real Estate Companies. Most important...Kate makes the job fun....

Other local Pros in your area

UnComplicated Designs LLC

UnComplicated Designs LLC provides online, or "E-Design," residential interior design services. E-Design brings professional design services to everyone at an affordable price. We provide consulting services, floor plans, mood and concept boards, color palettes, and can create a shopping list for you all online. We are able to transform your space into a beautiful and relaxing room that you can't wait to come home to.  

Offers by UnComplicated Designs LLC on Angi
Timothy Curtis Designs

I am a complete turn-key INTERIOR DESIGNER. We design and manage all projects. My 30 years of experience ensures a very desirable experience for the client. We keep constant open communication though out a project, keeping everyone on the same page. http://timothycurtisdesigns.com  

Elegant Interiors

Complete interior design and decorating company to fit "your" style. Owned and operated by Designer Diana Touryan who has twenty years experience as an interior designer/decorator. Initial consultation for Angie List members discounted 25%. Award winning.  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/11/2017


Judy L.

The renovation was a breeze. We met a few times in the beginning to go over my likes and dislikes. Met w/ cabinet maker, once initial plans were done, to review again all that world be done. Some small changes made. Never a complaint from her or the contractors. i was busy traveling and Kate took care of all necessary paperwork ie: paperwork for coop insurance, blueprints to board, lining up and supervising the contractors, following up on appliance deliveries,(to the point where she needed to contact a home office in Michigan one friday afternoon) and worked w/ building super. She made sure the apartment was properly prep to minimize dust, dirt and damage to furniture. Plus had someone come in to clean up everything when the work was completed. The place sparkled. i was kept abreast of work in progress and any delays, which were minimal. Final cost was exactly as contracted. i was more than pleased with her and her professionalism. My husband and i love the new kitchen and bath. All my friends and family are envious of the results. it is truly beautiful!

Description of Work
Full renovation of Kitchen and bathroom

Category interior designers

5.0

10/21/2015


Veronica N.

Kate?s initial consultation was more than affordable, it was free. Two other designer/organizers I called charged $250 and $350 an hour with a 2 hour minimum just to talk about the project. There was an initial payment of $1000 towards Kate?s time which was billed at $200 per hour. Kate measured the new space and made a detailed drawing of it. She visited my uncle?s apartment (on the hottest day of the year) and worked for hours to catalogue, measure and tag items to move. Her design plan was bold and ingenious. She propped a 7? gilt mirror in the center of the living room. She installed glass shelves in a useless shallow closet to create a display space for hundreds of small decorative items. Kate has great resources in NYC and shopping with her was efficient and fun. She was very respectful of the budget which was tight. When we needed a dining table of an unusual size, she found a very good looking one online for $260.00! She discovered a TV mounting arm at Best Buy that saved us thousands on a custom installation. On moving day, I worked with the movers at the old apartment. Kate received the movers at the new location and put the major pieces in place. Next day her expert tradesman Ernie hung mirrors and art work and lighting. Beyond being stressful, as any move can be, this process was also emotionally difficult because an elderly person was leaving a place he had lived in and loved for over 50 years. Kate?s unerring kindness and support were invaluable to me. She has a great eye and a great heart.

Description of Work
Assisted me in every phase of a 7 week project to move my elderly uncle from a richly decorated (chock full) 6 room apartment in Queens to a studio apartment in Manhattan. Kate created a design for the new space to include as much as possible of the huge collection of antique furniture and accessories he had collected for over 50 years. The design is beautifully functional, yet maintains my uncle’s very personal style of living. She also saved my sanity.

Category interior designers

5.0

06/30/2014


Ellen L.

Description of Work
Kate is wonderful! I started with a small project ($15,000) redoing my living room & loved what she did so I just kept going. Kate has great taste, watches your budget & is always responsive. She takes everyting into consideration, especially understanding that I live with a dog & two cats. My apartmentt looks great. Having recently fractured my back & having had to spend three weeks not going anywhere, I couldn't be more appreciative!

Category interior designers

5.0

02/25/2014


Neil K.

Words cannot describe how pleased we are with the work provided by Kate Gallagher and her company. She helped us take a very small kitchen area in our apartment that hadn't been improved in decades and converted it to a much larger, extremely attractive and modern area. My wife and I still sit in awe and admire the area----it is just hard to believe what she accomplished. She managed every step of this process --- our permanent residence is 200 miles away --- included us in all decision making and kept us informed at every step. Her recommendations were always "right-on"; taking into consideration both our budget and preferences. I know this sounds too good to be true, but we feel the same about the finished project,,,,almost too good to be true!!!! We would most highly recommend her for similar projects---large or small. Our hope is that she doesn't get so busy that she won't have time to address our bathroom that will need updating sometime in the near future.

Description of Work
Designed and renovated a kitchen area

Category interior designers

5.0

01/23/2014


Stephen G.

Kate has been reliable and professional. She has good ideas. She goes with me to look for kitchen cabinets, gives me suggestions and helps me decide what to go with. There is a lot of paperwork that has to go before the board and she has done all of that for me. The renovation should be done in 3-4 months. The renovation is complete and my apartment looks like something out of a design magazine. Kate supervised all the work, so I did not have deal with contractors, plumbers, etc. Although we worked as a team to choose all items for kitchen and bath, Kate did all of the leg work. Kate always kept my budget in mind and brought me a few choices of tile, fixtures, etc. All the contractors that she used were excellent and we encountered no problems. I would highly recommend Affordable Design by Kate and her staff. We are going to use her design expertise again to decorate a new apartment in New Jersey.

Description of Work
We are in the process of working with Kate right now. She is designing and supervising the renovation of my Manhattan apartment. The apartment was completely gutted, kitchen and bathroom completely redone, all flooring removed, floors stripped and refinished, painting. There was some plumbing that needed to be moved and door moldings removed.

Category interior designers

5.0

11/11/2013


Beth B.

Amazing! We could not have survived the project without her. I will start by saying Kate is a lovely person, very warm and friendly. She dealt with my co-op board permits, as well as my super and doorman. They all found her a pleasure to work with. Kate got my style and stayed within budget. We did a complete renovation of the kitchen, updated the bathroom, replaced light fixtures, painted, furnished and decorated. In our absence Kate managed the entire process, keeping us involved and informed every step of the way. She went above and beyond for the fee we paid her. I would highly recommend using Affordable Designs by Kate.

Description of Work
Kate helped me decorate/renovate an apartment we purchased for our daughter. Since we live out of state, we needed someone who understood the co-ops requirements and rules, could chose furnishings/renovations, hire contractors and basically orchestrate the whole process.

Category interior designers

5.0

09/06/2012


Pamela L.

Kate was always upbeat and professional and easy to work with. She was clear about her fee and what service she would provide. My big job was decluttering. Recycling, donating, discarding was a big job and more emotional than I expected. It was also more rewarding. It made space for things that suit my needs and please me now. My rooms are airier, prettier, and seem twice as large as they did before. The new things are super comfortable and functional, but prettier, more fun, and more up to date. Now I love to invite people over to my and quot;newand quot; space.

Description of Work
Kate asked what changes I wanted to make. She then helped me select and purchase wall colors, window treatments, and some furniture items. . She found sources that were within my budget and suggested items I wouldn't have thought of myself that worked out wonderfully. I was able to do more than I had expected, thanks to her help. She found sources that were within my budget. She was very skillful at understanding my taste and gave me time to get used to ideas that were new to me.

Category interior designers

5.0

08/03/2012


Teresa R.

AMAZING!On Time, under budget and we are very happy with the results. Kate is wonderful to work with and never let me make a mistake while still listening to what we wanted. My highest recommendation!

Description of Work
Evaluated our space and our needs drew up a plan and a budget and timing

Category interior designers

5.0

03/16/2012


Felicia D.

She drew up some plans. She was very pleasant to work with. She is very smart with what works in the area. She figured out what would work in the small space. She worked off of what my mom liked.

Description of Work
She came up with some designs for an apartment.

Category interior designers

5.0

06/14/2011


Kiera A.

I was initially referred to Kate by a realtor at The Corcoran Group as I wanted someone in the industry to recommend as opposed to thumbing the Yellow Pages blindly. Moving from California back to my native New York, I needed someone sharp and savvy who could get the job done professionally while keeping my budget in mind. Kate went above and beyond, I gave her my time frame, certain color themes I liked and my keys and came back to a beautifully turned out apartment that was perfect for my budget! She was particularly wonderful in her use of items I already had, she was not quick to replace and spend where it wasn't necessary. I found she was someone that was not only talented, but trustworthy. I have used her services multiple times and referred her even more. If you want a quality job for the best price, you cannot beat Affordable Designs By Kate.

Description of Work
Kate came in to an empty apartment and surveyed the natural as well as electrical lighting options and the layout of the rooms. She talked to me to get a sense of who I was and the things I liked and discussed different ideas that I had no clue about. Two weeks later, I came back to an apartment with artfully painted walls that had texture, great window treatments ( I had never given that much thought before to the importance of a window in a room other than to view the great outdoors), newly polished parquet floors and small pieces here and there that accentuated certain areas of the apartment that I would have left bare. She also had the furniture of mine that arrived arranged so that the available space was maximized. She also paid attention to small details that I had not even noticed like broken outlet plates, a few wall gouges and pieces of floor tile in the kitchen that had been upturned. No detail was too small. What a treat to come home to after a cross country move!

Category interior designers

    Services Offered

    Reconstruction & Renovation, Window Treatments, Bathrooms & Kitchens, Staging. Paint Color & Fabric Advice. Furniture & Decor Sourcing. Basic Drawn Layouts.

    Services Not Offered

    please inquire

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No