Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABC Carpet & Upholstery

Founded 1985 • With Angi since September 2015

4.4

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

339 E 104th St

New York, NY 10029

Description

Our patented cleaning process is designed to kill bacteria on contact while giving your carpets the deepest clean possible. Our hot water extraction method uses no chemicals or shampoos for several reasons: shampoos and chemicals leave a residue that actually attracts dirt meaning that your clean carpets will get dirtier faster....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

05/19/2011


Judith F M.

ABC Carpet & Upholstery Company has a large assortment of rugs. They provide good sales. The quality of the rug I bought was good. I hated the fact that their charge for laying the rug is the same as installing a carpet. That seemed silly. Even the salesman agreed to that and suggested that I get the rug put in by someone local. I would use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I purchased an area rug from ABC Carpet & Upholstery Company in February.

Category carpet installation

3.0

02/25/2011


RUSSELL C.

I think I've answered these questions in the long narrative above. I'll make this one as clear and brief as possible. 1. Estimates. There are 2 kinds -- the size of the room, and the size of the carpet that will be cleaned. Make sure you know what you're paying for. The carpet guy may measure the room in about 30 seconds, and charge you X amount per square feet. But large pieces of furniture or items that can't be moved are covering carpet that you're about to be charged for. It all adds up. Be smart; only pay for the square feet that are actually cleaned. In an empty room, length x width = square footage. If your room is not empty, and you pay the empty room price (which is how they estimate the cost), then the old saying is true, "a fool and his money are easily parted." A more detailed estimate is not only a more professional estimate, it's also your fair and honest right to expect. 2.Spots & Stains. These are not the names of your pets (I hope!), they are the names of carpet problems. Ask the boss how he will remove the stain; whether it will come back; will the cleaning solution bleach the color from the carpet. You need to know these things. Speak to him calmly, write what he says, say it back to him. This is a great way to let him know that you and he have reached an understanding about stains and spots. Oh, by the way, every tiny droplet of wine or some other stain is NOT a "stain" in the carpet cleaning service industry. Do not go around with a microscope finding 100's of "stains" or you'll find that most of them don't get removed, and should not. And if your carpet is so old, and has that many stains since last cleaning, don't expect any cleaning service to make the carpet be as bright and fresh as it was when it was installed. You waiting too long to clean your carpets just makes more small stains. It's not the cleaner's fault if they don't all come out. 3. It takes much less time to clean carpets than you might think. Carpet cleaning is basically shooting warm, soapy solution into the carpet, and then sucking out the loosened stains and gunk about 1/2 a second later. In my opinion, this technology, called by many names, is not very efficient. But if you go SLOW, do several passes, and allow the solution to soak down into the carpet deeply, then suck up the gunk, and then do it all again with just clear, warm (not hot) water, you're likely to get fairly good carpet cleaning. 4. How often? The entire carpeting in your home should b cleaned at least once a year -- or every 9 months if you are the meticulous type. Then the carpet should be cleaned in high traffic areas every 4-6 months. Here is an example schedule: Jan or Feb 15 - all high traffic areas June or July - whole house (all carpeted areas) October - all high traffic areas 5. Here are some DO NOT CLEAN times: When there is snow or heavy rain When there is heavy dust or urban soot When someone in the residence is sick or has been sick recently When other big projects such as painting, plastering, etc. are going on, either internally or externally. 6. Keep in mind: Fleas are born and become active in rainy weather, and can get under the house or under carpeting laid down outdoors (even for a few minutes). Smoke from trash fires, burning buildings, or industrial smoke will get into the carpet and probably won't come out. Ever. Wine spills - pour 1/3 or more cup of SALT on the stain. Let it sit for 1/2 an hour then vacuum it up. Do NOT rub the salt into the carpet! Other stains - don't rub or grind stains deeper. They are usually on the surface of the carpet. Leave them alone until a good carpet cleaner can come to your house for professional service. 7. STIFF, GOOPED, UNSOFT carpet. This happens when the carpet cleaner (or you) put too much soap in the cleaning tank. You don't need suds, you need chemical action. Often, the fewer suds, the better. Don't think that more suds = more cleaning power; that's just not true. When the carpet dries and the fibers are like a sculpture of a lawn (stiff, sticking up like moosed hair) that means the carpet has dried with soap still coating the carpet fibers. NOT GOOD. You need to re-shampoo 2-4 times with nothing but warm water. 8. Raking the carpet. It's almost out of style now, but there is something called a carpet rake that should be used. It is like a regular lawn rake, but the teeth are softer and there not as many. The carpet rake is an essential tool. It is used to lift the carpet fibers, separate them, and allow them to dry so they will be soft and true to their design. If you use a carpet rake, don't scrub the carpet back and forth! Pull the rake over the carpet gently, bringing it toward you. Don't do a back-and-forth motion. Pull, lift, move over 6 inches, pull, lift, etc. The carpet will look great when you finish and it will dry faster and be much softer when it is dry. All good things. When the carpet cleaners have gone, open the windows (do NOT ask them to do this...they sometimes can't resist the notion of coming back through an open window to take home a "souvenir" of their visit). Let the fresh air flow around your newly cleaned carpet. (Don't do this if it's rainy or otherwise a yukky day). Ok, that's enough for now. Clean carpeting is not a luxury reserved for queens and Mayor Bloomberg. You deserve clean carpets too! But you MUST be firm and clear with any carpet cleaner. If they are offended by your questions or requests, they'll get over it -- that's not your problem. If they act very offended, they are probably less than completely trustworthy. It might be better to pay top dollar and get honest service, rather than going cheap and regretting it a couple of months later. I used ABC Carpet -- once. That was enough. I'm a fast learner. How about you? Peace, ~RC

Description of Work
First of all let me emphasize that the date of service and the amount we paid are only estimates -- I am not sure of the exact amount, but feel that this info is fairly close to the actual figures. Second, I have been in the home and commercial carpet cleaning business myself (about 20 years ago), so I know a few things about carpet cleaning. I didn't make any complaints at the time, but the work was not up to the truly professional standards that I was expecting for carpet cleaning. Some of our carpet was light-colored and pretty badly stained; other rooms were laid in very dark shades of carpet and should have been easier to clean. But when the men left and the carpet dried (about 24 hours after the service), I felt that I had been ripped off. Many stains were still in the carpet, and some carpet was stiff and starchy, which indicated that all the old soap and water had not been thoroughly removed. The cleaners were in and out in a very short time, which tells me that they didn't do much more than run through the 3 carpeted rooms, grab their check, and head out the door. For the money we paid it should not have been that way. It's as if the experience was sped up, like an old vinyl record played too fast. If it had been played slowly, it would have been good; as it was, the minimum technical requirements were met, but the job was not done satisfactorily. In other words, they did clean the carpets, but not to any reasonable person's standards. For example, they did not "rake" the carpet to lift the fibers; this speeds drying and gives the carpet a fresh, new feel, and helps prevent places where the carpet is matted down. I would not use this company's services again. It's not a matter of money; I know what good carpet cleaning is worth, and would be willing to pay a reasonable price any time. But the price I paid was way to high for the quality we got. Let's talk a moment about the "estimate." The guy had a wheel that, when run across the room, indicated the number of feet. By measuring one way, then measuring the other, and multiplying the two numbers, you get a general idea of the footage. For example, if the N-S measurement is 30 feet, and the E-W measurement is 20 feet, you have a 600 square foot room. At $0.20 per square foot for cleaning, the room would cost $120.00 to clean. And that would not be a "bad" price, IF the service moved furniture, made sure spots were pre-treated, and raked the finished carpet. But if they come in, as these guys did, with a mix of cleaners already in the machine; and start blasting their mixture on wooden table legs, sofa legs, etc., and to treat stained areas, just held the nozzle over the stain for a few seconds of intense spraying and extraction...and then gave you a bill of about $200 for that room -- no, that's not the way professionals do it. I feel like the astronaut who said to his co-pilot, "You realize our engines were made by the lowest bidder." Having the lowest price does not in any way mean that you'll have the highest quality. In fact, you can bet that you won't. An estimate is not just about how big a room is. If 30, 40, or 50 percent of the floor is covered with furniture, then the actual cleanable floor space is much smaller than the room size . . . unless the cleaners are willing to move sofas and other large furniture out of the room. You may say, "But there is nothing under the sofa that needs cleaning. Ah, but this is not true. Dust, mites, and many other factors are at work to eat away at your carpet, even the areas you don't walk on. So, here are 5 things you MUST watch for and insist upon: 1) Get a copy of the written estimate, showing square feet per room, COST per square feet, and noting anything they can't fix such as tears, rips, runs, or stains that are too old to come out. Also (this is the part they won't want to document) note in writing whether they will move large pieces of furniture (sofas, buffets, tables, desks, etc.). If these pieces of furniture are NOT going to be moved from the room, the price for cleaning the carpet should be LOWER. Why should you pay for carpet that is not cleaned? 2) The written estimate should specify in writing or drawing any stains, tears, or spots that cannot be repaired at the basic carpet cleaning rate; the charge for these items should be specified elsewhere, or else noted that you do not expect the cleaners to fix these problems with basic carpet cleaning. 3) Pay in cash. It's much simpler for everybody. Some people worry that the carpet cleaners won't turn in the full amount to the boss, but that is not your concern. Your business with them ceases when they leave your property. 4) If the cleaners do good work, make sure you offer them plenty of cold water to drink, as well as anything you can do to make their work more pleasant. This has the added bonus of keeping them on the job longer, which may mean they do a better job. In any case offer them cold water (no alcohol) to drink while they are at your home. 5) If they do an excellent job of cleaning, raking (fluffing) the cleaned carpet, spending time on heavy spots/stains, moving furniture properly, and cleaning up after themselves, give each of them a CASH tip. Do not give the lead person a bunch of money and tell him to distribute it around. It may well go around alright -- around his waist and into his pocket. No, hand each laborer a $20 bill. shake his hand, and thank him. Maybe you'll want to give the "boss man" a little more. Be as generous as you can, balanced by the quality of the work you see around you. In conclusion, be advised that many of the day laborers in the service industry are not legal immigrants. They may not speak English. They may be quite abused by their bosses. It's not your job to fix their lives, but you should treat such people with human courtesy. The higher-ups may well be shady, so don't be stupid! Don't show them your expensive collection of guns or jewelry; don't feel pressured to start the job that hour. Most of the time they will say something like, "We have the machine in the truck, we can go ahead and do this right now!" They may even offer a discount if you consent to a quickie. DO NOT DO THIS. Stay in control, tell them when it's convenient for YOU; their convenience is not the issue. Ask for references and CALL THEM. Speak with someone who has used these people (not just the company) in the recent past. Good luck -- may your carpets get the professional care they deserve!

Category carpet cleaners

4.0

06/17/2010


KENT M.

It was OK.

Description of Work
Delivered six days later than promised date. Very good cleaning job, but delay in returning carpet upset us.

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation

5.0

04/08/2010


CAROLYN T.

I would use them again.

Description of Work
They came out and did the installation and they were great.

Category carpet installation

5.0

07/16/2007


SUZANNE S.

The service was very good and the binding was done very well. I also think I got an excellent deal. They did charge me for delivery and that was a little expensive.

Description of Work
I picked out some remnant pieces from their warehouse and then had them bind the pieces together to make two carpet rugs. They also delivered them for me. The caret pieces were about were 20 x 20 feet.

Category carpet installation

4.0

03/29/2006

THEY DO VERY GOOD WORK, AND THEY ARE VERY REPUTABLE. I WOULD HIRE THIS COMPANY AGAIN. I HAVE USED THIS COMPANY BEFORE, AND I LIKED THE WORK THEY DID. THEY WERE VERY CAREFUL WITH MY RUG.

Description of Work
THEY REPAIRED AND CLEANED MY OLD RUG.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

03/29/2006

I THINK THEY DO A DECENT JOB, BUT THEY NEVER SEEM TO GET IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME. I HAVE USED THEM TWICE, AND EACH TIME THEY HAVE HAD TO COME BACK TO REDO THINGS.

Description of Work
THEY PUT IN NEW RUNNERS.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/27/2006


WILLIAM M.

THE ESTIMATE THEY GAVE WAS EXACTLY WHAT IT COST. THEY ARE VERY PROFESSIONAL AT THEIR JOB. THEY ARRIVED AT THE EXACT TIME THAT WE HAD AGREED UPON. THEY'RE A VERY POLITE CREW.

Description of Work
THEY CAME OUT AND CLEANED ONE SOFA.

Category upholstery cleaning

3.0

02/17/2006

I FEEL THE COMPANY AND THE WORKERS ARE GREAT. I WAS NOT TO SATISFIED WITH THE FINISHED PRODUCT. THE CARPET STILL HAS STAINS AND SPOTS IN IT. I REALLY ENJOYED THE WORKERS AND THEIR EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SUPPORT.

Description of Work
CLEANED LIVING AND DINING ROOM

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

02/08/2006

I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THEIR WORK. THEY DID A GOOD JOB. I HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THEM. THEY SHOWED UP ON TIME AND GOT THE JOB DONE QUICKLY.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED THE CARPET PADDING IN THREE ROOMS.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/08/2006

THEIR PRICES ARE NOT VERY COMPETITIVE, BUT THEY ARE VERY GOOD AT WHAT THEY DO. THE QUALITY OF THEIR WORK IS WORTH THE HIGHER PRICE. THEY ARE PUNCTUAL, POLITE AND PROFESSIONAL.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED OUR CARPETS.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

02/08/2006

I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH THE WORK THAT THEY DID. I HAVE USED THEM IN THE PAST AND THEY DID EXACTLY WHAT I ASKED THEM TO DO FOR A VERY GOOD PRICE. THEY DISPOSED OF THE OLD CARPETING FOR US.

Description of Work
THEY REMOVED OLD CARPETING AND INSTALLED NEW PADDING AND NEW CARPETING.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/08/2006

THE COMPANY WAS ON TIME AND DID WHAT THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO DO. THEY FOLLOWED UP ON THERE WORK AFTER THEY LEFT. THE COMPANY IS EXCELLENT FOR THE PRICE THEY CHARGED ME.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED A COUCH, A CHAIR, TWO RUGS, AND MY SHADES FOR ME.

Category upholstery cleaning

5.0

01/26/2006

WE HAVE USED THIS CARPET SERVICE FOR MANY YEARS NOW. THEY ARE VERY RELIABLE AND ALWAYS RESPONSIVE. WE DID HAVE A PROBLEM ONLY ONE TIME AND THEY CAME BACK IMMEDIATELY TO TAKE CARE OF IT FOR US.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED ALL OF OUR CARPETS.

Category carpet cleaners

4.0

01/26/2006


JOAN O.

MY EXPERIENCE IS VERY GOOD. THIS COMPANY SHOWED UP ON TIME LIKE THEY SAID THEY WOULD. THEY WERE ALSO VERY POLITE AND FRIENDLY WHEN THEY WERE HERE. I HAVE RECOMMENDED THEM TO MANY PEOPLE, EVEN THOUGH THEIR PRICES ARE A BIT HIGH.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED ALL OF MY RUGS.

Category carpet cleaners

4.0

01/26/2006

THEY DID A VERY GOOD JOB. THEY WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL. THE PRICE WAS A LITTLE HIGH BUT, WELL WORTH IT. THEY WERE ALWAYS ON TIME. THEY WILL BE PAYING HIM BECAUSE HE TORE OUT THE OLD CARPET HIMSELF.

Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED OUR CARPET.

Category carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Big Apple Mold Removal

    Water Damage and Mold infestation are very serious issues. Big Apple Mold Removal, Inc. has developed a meticulous, professional, and reliable approach to restoring the indoor air quality of your home or business. Quite simply, we are confident in our services and you will be too. You will experience this feeling of being in "safe hands" for yourself, as you see us efficiently handle the worst of interior Mold and Water Damage. Big Apple Mold Removal, Inc. fully guarantees the elimination of all mold, mildew, moisture and odor from your Home or place of Business. Big Apple Mold Removal, Inc. uses only state of the art equipment and EPA approved disinfectants to rid your property of mold, mildew, moisture and odor.. Our highly experienced staff is dedicated to providing premium service. We work closely with our clients to understand their needs and concerns both during and after the mold inspection and/or mold remediation processes. Experience relief working with Big Apple Mold Removal. Alternate Phone Number: (347)768-1807  

    Environmental Assessments & Solutions, Inc.

    Since 1992, Environmental Assessments & Solutions, Inc. has been providing mold and indoor environmental testing and consulting services, 24 / 7 / 365. In our nearly 30 years of service, we have conducted tens of thousands of environmental inspections and bring this wealth of practical experience to your home or business. EAS, Inc. does not charge extra for evening or weekend appointments. EAS, Inc. is fully licensed and insured to conduct Mold and Moisture Assessment, Asbestos Material and Contamination Inspection, Lead Paint Inspection / Risk Assessment, Odor Assessment and Indoor Environmental Health Hazard Assessment services in New York State, Connecticut State, New Jersey State and New York City. EAS, Inc. will provide numerous references from satisfied clients in your Town who have had similar issues and problems as yours. EAS, Inc. ONLY performs unbiased and independent inspection services potentially saving you significant money and unnecessary remediation work. EAS, Inc. NEVER conducts abatement / remediation services, as it is unethical and unlawful to conduct the work being recommended. When you hire EAS, Inc. there is NEVER a conflict of interest as we NEVER conduct any of the work we recommend. A unique difference between EAS, Inc. and our competitors is that your home or business will personally be inspected by the owner, Charles Schwartz. Additionally, your site specific and detailed report will be written by the owner, Charles Schwartz. Charles Schwartz always makes himself available to review his inspection findings and report with you personally at no additional charge. EAS, Inc. is rated A+ with the Better Business Bureau (BBB), rates A with Angie’s List and rated 5 star with Yelp. EAS, Inc. has been awarded the Angie’s List Super Service Award for each of the last 5 years from 2017 - 2021. EAS, Inc. has a 30 year proven track record of successfully providing mold contamination, asbestos material and contamination, lead hazard, rodent and vermin contamination assessments with mitigation options and and other related services from initial inspection where we diagnose the problem and it's cause to ensuring the environmental problem is safely and completely corrected. EAS, Inc. provides services to residential, commercial and institutional clients. EAS, Inc. is court qualified to provide expert litigation support services. Our inspection and testing services are site specific and detailed following the latest industry standards and guidelines. Call us if you are having unexplained health issues or have been diagnosed with Sick Building Syndrome or Building Related Illness, have non-specific or unpleasant odors, are getting ready to renovate, sell or purchase a home or recently went through a problematic renovation which may have created water problems, uncontrolled humidity or inadequate ventilation leading to suspect mold growth or disturbed older building materials which may have contained asbestos, lead paint or exposed areas of vermin / rodent waste EAS, Inc. will properly assess and diagnose your home or business for mold and other environmental issues and offer independent and technically accurate recommendations on how to safely and properly address your environmental issue or problem. In the age of COVID-19, be assured the inspector will come to your home or business wearing a proper face mask and gloves through out the inspection and will review any concerns you have about the process before the inspection.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Environmental Assessments & Solutions, Inc. on Angi
    Immediate Property Management Corporation

    Immediate Property Management Corporation IPMC provides emergency services throughout Westchester County and surrounding areas. We pride ourselves on quick response, quality craftsmanship and overall professionalism within the restoration community. Water, Fire, Storm, Mold services and More. 24/7 Emergency Response Team.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Oriental & Area Rug Cleaning Carpet Cleaning Upholstery Cleaning Water and Fire Damage Restoration Air Duct Cleaning Windows Treatment

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABC Carpet & Upholstery

    How is ABC Carpet & Upholstery overall rated?

    ABC Carpet & Upholstery is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are ABC Carpet & Upholstery open?

    ABC Carpet & Upholstery is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ABC Carpet & Upholstery provide

    ABC Carpet & Upholstery accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does ABC Carpet & Upholstery offer free estimates?

    Yes, ABC Carpet & Upholstery offers free project estimates.

    Does ABC Carpet & Upholstery offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ABC Carpet & Upholstery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ABC Carpet & Upholstery offer emergency services?

    Yes, ABC Carpet & Upholstery offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ABC Carpet & Upholstery?

    Yes, ABC Carpet & Upholstery offers warranties.

    What services does ABC Carpet & Upholstery offer?

    ABC Carpet & Upholstery offers the following services: Oriental & Area Rug Cleaning Carpet Cleaning Upholstery Cleaning Water and Fire Damage Restoration Air Duct Cleaning Windows Treatment