Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Boccia Inc

Founded 1955 • With Angi since May 2007

4.8

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

168 Broadway

New Hyde Park, NY 11040

Description

Additional DBAs - Boccia Waterproofing & Masonry Specialists, Boccia Inc., Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

05/29/2019


Miguel B.

Their website advertises, among other things: • Beam repair or replacement – Main house girders assessed and restored or replaced as needed • Column repair or replacement – New concrete block or steel post columns installed on concrete footings This is exactly the work I needed done but they told me they "weren't interested" in that job. Giving them a D only because at least they were honest that they weren't interested.

Description of Work
Asked for a quote

Category foundation repair

5.0

10/01/2015


BRENDA S.

The workers arrived on time, were professional and clean. Job was finished in a few days. They did excellent work and the project was well done. I'd recommend them highly and plan on using for additional work down the road.

Description of Work
They repaired and matched mortar to our front brick steps. Also they removed existing back brick/stone steps that were pitched incorrectly and put it back together well and even painted the hand rails.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

08/12/2015


Justin G.

Boccia is extremely respectful, thoughtful and master craftsmen. The care they took into making sure that we were satisfied, even if it meant performing some small additions at no cost, just because it was the right way to do the job demonstrates the history and commitment to satisfied customers. WE interviewed all the top players in these two arenas; Boccia actually won on all accounts; professionalism, timing, understanding, etc. I am a perfectionist so beware of me, and i was very clear, and quite frankly concerned about the job. Concerned that wife and I would be happy. The finished product is so close to perfect, the functionality is perfect at this point, the visual is near perfect, and the experience was a 10/10. From the project manager, to the workers, to the estimator, to the owner checking in every few days to make sure we're happy and all is going well. They treat their customers how I treat my customers, and not many companies do. If i had to rate the overall work/expeerience i would give them a 9.7/10 and I would recommend them in a heartbeat, passionately! I will need more masonry work in the future (who doesn't) and some basement waterproofing solutions and I would not think twice about using them. There was another company we were thinking of using, and could not be happier that we gave Boccia our money. Richard, Adam, Stephanie, all great people. Great experience.

Description of Work
install driveway zipper drain, underground irrigation to 100' away, redo existing bluestone patio, install bluestone stoop with brick risers, fix trim around sliding door

Category masonry, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, hardscaping

3.0

01/28/2015


MYRON W C.

They have very good ideas. I had a problem with something he did earlier, putting a furnace in my bedroom.

Description of Work
They did a diversion of surface water from my property by making a very large dry well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, wells

5.0

11/19/2014


Mark M.

I made an appointment to speak with Vinny Boccia about waterproofing my basement. He showed up on time, checked out my basement, and then described some choices available to keep my basement dry. I should point out that Boccia was recommended to me by a contractor (thanks Mike Callahan Construction) that is known for their excellent quality and prompt work. After going over all the material we set a date to begin the job. Vinny pointed out that when the job was completed the floor would be about 3and quot; higher that it originally was. Considering everything stored in the basement was already on skids which were on cement blocks I really was not losing any room at all. I still would have about 6 1/2 feet of headroom after the new floor. I needed to remove just about everything from the basement but naturally there were a number of items that could not be removed. The first day the crew and I moved the washer, dryer, various large tools and large pieces of antique furniture (waiting to be restored) to one side of the basement. Then Lopez, an amazing individual and his fellow workers began the prep work sealing cracks in the walls and preparing the three separate crawl spaces which were along three of the four sides of the basement. These crawl spaces had what was called a rat floor (basically a thin layer of concrete floor to prevent animals from coming in. These floors were in terrible shape and needed to be re-done. After the prep work was completed, the first of the crawl spaces (10x12) was ready for a new floor. Five gallon buckets were filled with concrete and passed through the basement window until Lopez finally had finished the crawl space. Then they moved onto the second space and did the same. The floors were left to dry overnight and the following day we moved washer, dryer and other stuff to the crawl space. Then the main floor of the basement was covered with the first part of the waterproofing process. Boccia uses a heavy plastic membrane that is similar to an egg crate. These and quot;egg crate spacesand quot; are about 2and quot; on center and allow water to flow around them. The membrane is about three feet wide and on a large roll. It is fastened to the existing floor in a continuous piece from wall to wall. The process is repeated until the entire floor is covered with the exception of two 30 inch holes in opposite corners which accept basins to hold electric and battery backup pumps. A 4and quot; baseboard surrounds the room and it's ready for concrete. A truck pumps the material into the basement where it is floated and left to dry. Finally the items from the crawl space are returned to the main floor, the pumps installed and tested and the area cleaned one final time. I have over completely simplified the process and description of the work performed by this talented group of men. I cannot accurately describe all the work they did but can tell you I am absolutely please with their performance. I have nothing but praise for Boccia and their talented crew.

Description of Work
Waterproof the basement on 80 year old house located less than one block for the Great South Bay

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

11/13/2014


Sean A.

Boccia was very nice and punctual, the work was professional and the system has been working for over 10years! now.

Description of Work
French drain system

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

5.0

10/30/2014


Michelle C.

Hired a handyman instead to bring dirt to spread and grade away from sides of house. (Only $200.) Solved problem for now.

Description of Work
Estimate for basement rainwater seepage. Recommended French Drain on basement interior. Ended up not needing this extensive $4,000 job. (See next field.)

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

5.0

06/17/2014


Gordon A.

Decided nto to use them at this time, but would consider them and recommend them.

Description of Work
Gave me a professional estimate, very business-like, a little overly professional.

Category basement waterproofing

4.0

06/10/2014


Michael D.

The workers were on time and professional, very clean. There was an issue with the product being damaged prior to install. I had spoken with one of the owners who was able to rectify the situation, and the install was completed with satisfaction.

Description of Work
installed an egress window in basement

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

02/12/2014


Peter R.

Workers were great and cleaned up everything. The owner was attentive and fair.

Description of Work
French drain and Egress Window.

Category drain pipe

5.0

03/07/2013


Michael Fagan J.

We've been in our house for almost three years now, and were noticing that after heavy rains the carpet in our basement would become saturated in certain spots. We wanted to take care of this problem so that we could remodel the basement. Boccia came recommended from a friend who used them in the past. Richard from Boccia came out for the estimate - he explained to me Boccia's basement waterproofing system and that the best way to waterproof our basement would be a french drain system with two sump pumps. He was on-time, courteous and professional. Once the job was scheduled, Boccia workers showed up on time and confirmed with me the plans I had originally agreed to with Richard. Adam the project manager showed up more than once to ensure that the project was running smoothly. The entire project took about a week, which was the estimated time of completion. Although other estimates came in cheaper than Boccia's, I am very happy I chose them b/c they performed quality work and were professional. I would recommend them to anyone needing their basement waterproofed.

Description of Work
French drain installed around entire inside perimeter of basement & 2 sump pumps installed.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

4.0

12/21/2012


Paul D.

We had a half-dozen experiences of water getting into our basement over five or so years. We could see that some water was seeping in through our basement walls, but it was never clear that that was the whole source. We may have had water seeping up through the basement floor, when the water table simply got too high after heavy, lengthy, soaking rains. We heard Boccia was very good at solving these problems. We spoke with Frank Boccia by phone about our situation. He sent an estimator to evaluate our needs, and recommended a complete interior French Drain running 3/4 of the perimeter of our basement, feeding into a pit containing a sump pump, which would drain into our main drain underneath our foundation. Others we consulted recommended less work (sump pump only, less length of a drain, etc...), which were all less costly. However we wanted to finish our basement, so we didn't want to do just a partial job, finish the basement, and then see that we still got water inside. Because Boccia came well recommended, we decided to just and quot;do it right the first time.and quot; Boccia did the work over about one-week period. They removed old paneling to expose the foundation walls and the floors. They dug the trench (between 8 and 12-inches below the surface of the floor), laid pipe and gravel, all feeding into a pump set about two or so feet below the surface of the basement floor. They explained that this system would address water rising from below the floor, by collecting it before it reached the top surface of the basement floor and got and quot;intoand quot; the basement. They covered the trench over with concrete, leaving a narrow, fitted groove with a metal trim where the floor would meet the wall, running the length of the trench. This groove would catch water that seeps in the walls and runs down toward the floor, dripping around the floor and into the trench. So whichever was the cause for water entering, it would end up in the trench. Into the pit were installed one electrical pump, plus a secondary pump that runs on a battery in case we have a power failure during a heavy rain. The work was done very well, and over two years later (and two hurricanes and some extremely heavy rain storms), we haven't had any wet floors. During some very heavy storms we've heard the main pump run for just a few seconds at a time, but every few minutes for an hour or so during the heaviest downpours. During Hurricane Sandy we did lose power for a week, but thankfully that storm wasn't particularly wet where we live. But it's definitely a comfort to know that a power failure would have no impact on the drainage system. I know people who don't have the battery backup, and they experienced significant flooding; as soon as their power returned, their basement drained in under an hour - but in our finished basement, a temporary flood would cause a great deal of property damage. Great system, installed very effectively. Extremely happy with the results after all this time. I highly recommend Boccia.

Description of Work
French drain and sump pump installed.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

09/27/2012


Peter R.

.First let me start off by saying I did my house over beginning June 5th 2011 and they gutted everything and added an additional floor. In between that my basement which also was gutted was getting water on 3 out of the 4 walls. I was speaking to my next door neighbor and they were having a and quot;guyand quot; and quot;landscaperand quot; water proof his house with tar and paper. I asked him how the job went and he replied great BUT when I spoke to him two months later after I already used this and quot;GUYand quot; he was getting water and so was I!!!!!!!!!!I I think it's a good thing to do as far as putting the tar and paper on the wall but if water sits on your wall long enough it with find it's way in the basement The answer is you need a French Drain .........I'm not a technical person but they dig along the inside or outside of your foundation and put a perforated pipe in the ground and they have a bucket built into the floor cover the pipe up with new cement and done!!!! Water pumps out when needed. Fast forward three months later and Iand quot;m still getting water in my basement and I'm STILL PROCRASTINATING that I'm going to call someone.....Called three different companies which will remain nameless, two were nice guys and one NO WAY I would ever let him in my house. When I spoke with Frank Boccia who is a second generation owner he went over everything and the main difference is he showed concern about getting my problem solved. Everyone HAS TO MAKE MONEY in business or they wouldn't be there but first and foremost he wanted to help me. I sell for a living and that is the difference between a salesman and a problem solver, Frank was a problem solver. They start the job on a Monday, 5 guys were there along with a foreman and Mr. Boccia checking on the job and making sure I was happy.......I was 100% Now my problem is before I couldn't finish the basement because of the water problem and NOW I have no excuse ................My advice to you is whether you use Boccia Waterproofing which I highly recommend or anyone else DON'T START OFF WITH SOME LANDSCAPER like I did . Make sure you use a waterproofing company that JUST DOES WATER PROOFING AS THEIR BUSINESS.........

Description of Work
French Drain and egress window.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

08/12/2012


James G.

Work done on time, reasonable price, left job site clean

Description of Work
Sump pump and drain

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

04/18/2012


Cecilia B.

they did an excellent job. Adam was excellent, he came when he said he would, his workers where on time and did a great job. they did everything right, no short cuts. we were well pleased

Description of Work
repaired stucco on side of house-the house is 100 yrs old and the stucco was original-- they did a great job. they also did some cement repair work- the front side walk and the breezeway between the house and garage.

Category concrete repair, stucco

5.0

04/14/2012


Ken S.

Water sealed my basement exterior wall several days post hurricane Irene. My recently finished basement was beginning to show signs that there was a leak behind my brand new sheet rock wall even before the actual hurricane. Boccia came a week after the hurricane as promised and attacked the problem from the outside. Boccia dug a 7 ft deep by 25 ft trench alongside the exterior of my house. As it turned out just as they had suspected they located a 4 ft. long crack about a foot above the footer in the foundation wall. This crack had been there for many years and apparently had been widening over time. Once the problem was identified, the experienced Boccia team filled the cr ack w/ a special sealer and then applied a special membrane along the 25 ft length of my foundation wall. Once the membrane was installed, the Boccia team then applied a coat of tar like substance on top of the membrane as an added protection. Once they were done, they then back filled the trench w/ the original dirt. Excellent job and I no longer have any water problems in that area of my basement.

Description of Work
Water sealed my basement exterior wall several days post hurricane Irene. My recently finished basement was beginning to show signs that there was a leak behind my brand new sheet rock wall even before the actual hurricane. Boccia came a week after the hurricane as promised and attacked the problem from the outside. Boccia dug a 7 ft deep by 25 ft trench alongside the exterior of my house. As it turned out just as they had suspected they located a 4 ft. long crack about a foot above the footer in the foundation wall. This crack had been there for many years and apparently had been widening over time. Once the problem was identified, the experienced Boccia team filled the cr ack w/ a special sealer and then applied a special membrane along the 25 ft length of my foundation wall. Once the membrane was installed, the Boccia team then applied a coat of tar like substance on top of the membrane as an added protection. Once they were done, they then back filled the trench w/ the original dirt.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

01/05/2012


Adam L.

The flat roof job was complicated, as waterproofing jobs tend to be. Vincent Boccia came to our home to give us an estimate and he and his project manager, Adam, oversaw the project from beginning to end. There were a few surprises along the way, such as rotted wood under our door, which could only be seen after the decking was demolished but Boccia did a great job of repairing it and they were reasonable about the price for the extra work. After the job was substantially complete, we noticed that the bluestone pavers had white mineral stains. Boccia came to our home several times to clean the stains and assured us that the problem would resolve itself with time, which it did. A small amount of water leaked through the roof several weeks later, during a big storm, but Adam assessed situation and repaired it. The roof is now leak free. Boccia is a professional company, which is why we hired them in the first place.

Description of Work
Boccia has peformed two jobs for us. This past year, they waterproofed and rebuilt a flat roof deck over our attached garage and finished the deck with bluestone pavers. The also flashed the roof deck and sprayed a sealant on exposed brick. Prior to that, Boccia had installed drains in our basement window wells.

Category concrete repair, masonry

4.0

11/15/2011


Lucy S.

They came out when the storm happened. They couldn't start the work right away. They gave me an estimate and they had to wait because they had too many projects on hand. They charged me $385 for the cost and the installation of the dehumidifier. I wanted a back up sump pump to be put in but they refused to do that because the other sump pump was giving trouble and they didn't want to add to another people's work. So they put in a new sump pump and that's why it cost me $200. They were fine. We haven't had any storm since then so I can't really tell how they did. The work looks fine so far. I would use Boccia Inc Company again.

Description of Work
I used Boccia Inc Company about three weeks ago. They dug a new ditch along two walls and put in a new sump pump. They installed a dehumidifier.

Category foundation repair, hardscaping

5.0

10/27/2011


Anson N.

Although their price was not the cheapest, Joseph Boccia's pitch and lifetime guarantee for the work was what ultimately sold us. They have the credentials and history to back up their work. The work was professional. The guys took good care to wrap all the furnishings inside my finished basement to protect my stuff. Overall, the work was strenuous breaking concrete, digging, and removing dirt but the guys worked hard and efficiently throughout. They were punctual and completed the job as anticipated. No surprises. The office staff was helpful and courteous every time I talked to them. They were accommodating and mindful of my schedule.

Description of Work
Installed a drainage system around the interior perimeter of basement with tank, pump, and pipe that dumps into main sewage of the house. Had to break apart ceramic tiling and concrete. Also, dug down one side of the house to waterproof foundation wall from the outside, for which they had to break apart an existing concrete sidewalk then replacing the concrete sidewalk by pouring a new one.

Category concrete repair, basement waterproofing

1.0

08/25/2011


maureen M.

boccia rep called the day before scheduled estimate appointment to cancel. No one was available to come and they offered to tentatively call back next week to reschedule. Lack of professionalism.

Description of Work
no services performed

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

We do not consider it unprofessional to reschedule an appointment within ample time. And again, please note that we had performed no work for this individual.
5.0

08/12/2011


Chris L.

It went very well and they did a good job. They did exactly what I contracted them to do. They were on time and they finished very quickly. At the time they solved they problem that I was having. They were a little more expensive than others. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I used Boccia to do some drain and cement work around our basement.

Category concrete repair, drain pipe

5.0

05/23/2011


STEPHEN K.

I found them through Angie's List. They did excellent work. It was the best money I ever spent and I am happy. Everything was excellent and I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Boccia Inc installed French drains.

Category drain pipe

5.0

05/14/2011


jennifer D.

We couldn't be happier. Our basement leaked for a million years and no matter what we did, could not get the problem solved. The drain Boccia installed had immediately solved the problem and our basement has never been drier, even after that rainy April! Every time it rains, we thank Boccia and wish we did this years ago. In this case, we are SO glad to have gone with the cheapest company - we saved a lot of money and the quality of work is outstanding. The job was done within one week of the date we had someone give an estimate. Highly recommend this company!!

Description of Work
Installed a french drain with submersible pump in our basement. We were leery of this company due to the VERY reasonable price (lowest estimate of 4 companies we interviewed). We have had bad experiences going with the cheapest company in the past, so joined Angie's list to check them out. Seemed reputable, great BBB ratings too. So we went ahead... Boccia came in one day and finished the entire job in about 7 hours. They cleaned up and returned the next day to replace our rug after the cement dried. They also put the radiator back together that they had to take apart to do the job. Only cleanup we had to do was replace the sheetrock that had to be cut to install the drain.

Category basement waterproofing

5.0

04/30/2011


Chris L.

They did a good job. The workmanship was really excellent. They specialized in drain problem. They put in the concrete for two drains. They finished the job in one day; so I was pleased with the time they spent and the quality of work. Their price might be more expensive than others I think because they do such a good job, people like to do hold them into safe for their higher prices.

Description of Work
Boccia Inc cleared up drain in our basement area and put in a new drainage system around eight months ago.

Category drain pipe

1.0

04/17/2011


paul L.

I was not willing to pay for an estimate therefore the overall experince was not very good. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
I called for an estimate. they wanted to charge me $285.00 just to come to my house and give me n estimate. I thought that was outrageous. Everyone else was wiling to give a free estimte. They did say the initial amount would be taken off the repair if they were allowed to perform it.

Category basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Unlike companies with a fleet of “salesmen”, we at Boccia are seasoned waterproofing experts and engineers. Many people turn to us for proper consultation from waterproofing to structural issues. There are times when we do charge a nominal fee for this engineering consultation. (i.e. structural issues, purchase of a house). In the case where they are considering the purchase of a home, our “advice” may actually sway them away from moving forward with the purchase. It has been reported to us that observations made during our inspections have saved purchasers thousands of dollars off the purchase price. The advice should then be unbiased and not motivated in anyway by a potential sale. Our customers get the best expert advice as opposed to a “sales call.”

    Other local Pros in your area

    Goch Construction Services Inc.

    General Contracting  

    Colmex Corp

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in handyman services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Lucas Landscape and Masonry Design

    I offer a service guaranteed your satisfaction, clean and detailed, with affordable prices.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial, basement waterproofing, mold remediation, mold removal, waterproofing, masonry, engineering, patented hollow kick molding, basement emergency escape windows, glass block basement windows, dehumidifier,drainage systems, sump pumps, brick, stone, stucco, concrete, building facade, parking garage, balcony restoration

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Boccia Inc

    How is Boccia Inc overall rated?

    Boccia Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Boccia Inc provide

    Boccia Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Boccia Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Boccia Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Boccia Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Boccia Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Boccia Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Boccia Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Boccia Inc?

    Yes, Boccia Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Boccia Inc offer?

    Boccia Inc offers the following services: Residential & commercial, basement waterproofing, mold remediation, mold removal, waterproofing, masonry, engineering, patented hollow kick molding, basement emergency escape windows, glass block basement windows, dehumidifier,drainage systems, sump pumps, brick, stone, stucco, concrete, building facade, parking garage, balcony restoration