Castlton Environmental Contractors

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since June 2010

Castlton works closely with Realtors, Attorneys, Insurance Companies, and fuel oil suppliers. Castlton has an A+ rating with the Better Business Burea. The owner has been in the environmental business for years, and continues to educate himself, as well as team. All team members are osha trained, CPR, confined space, FEMA and flag personal. Castlton Environmental Contactors LLC is licensed to remove or abandon your Underground Storage Tanks (UST) in New York and New Jersey. All castlton personal are trained in remedial services and vacuum truck services . 24/7, Castlton Environmental Contractors trained and dedicated staff is prepared to mobilize its fleet of spill response vehicles and equipment to your site. Castlton responds to all hazardous and non hazardous materials. Castlton will respond to all surface water spills, roadways, hydraulic fluid, petroleum , and chemical spills. We are a full service environmental company....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Tank removal

+9 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(15) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

11

4

4

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

excavating (14)biohazard cleanup (5)heating oil company (2)septic tank service (1)HVAC Companies (1)
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
5.0

09/18/2022


Carol D.

We had several estimates before we called Castlton. We were scared as we had never dealt with anything like this. The owner came by promptly and answered all our questions. He was courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable. We knew immediately Castlton was the one to do the job….and we were right. The whole crew was great, each one working diligently to see that everything was done correctly. Even speaking to Jen who runs the office was a pleasure. We highly recommend Castlton, my yard was left looking better than before. Thank you, we are very grateful.

Description of Work
Removal of underground leaking oil tank

Category excavators

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2022

5.0

03/16/2019


David S.

They were great!!! I was tardy in getting an inspection / removal of oil tank in preparation for sale of my home. The tank turned out to have been punctured over the years with some contaminated materials around it. The Castlton Crew offered a fair price for the remediation work, and once they knew my situation, were very responsive in cleaning the site, and keeping me informed about state inspection/approval process and trying to quicken the process as much as possible.

Description of Work
Punctured Oil Tank removal and remediation

Category excavators, biohazard cleanup, heating oil companies

Cost $4,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2018

5.0

03/16/2019


David S.

as smoothly as i could expect

Description of Work
broken buried oil tank

Category excavators, heating oil companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2019

5.0

09/09/2017


Brian K.

The job snowballed into a major project because the oil tank had leaked. Everyone on the entire team was very nice and I have no qualms about recommending them, but have two suggestions: 1) They should warn people ahead of time that if there has been contamination the job can become extremely expensive and, in the worst cases, ruinously so (ours was bad enough in the low $20,000 range; some can be much worse). 2) They should have their top soil screened for rocks. (To be fair, I should have called and told them this instead of raking the rocks up myself; I'm sure they would have sent someone back out to do it.)

Description of Work
Removed an old in ground oil tank.

Category excavators

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2016

5.0

08/22/2017


Robert M.

Everything was done quickly and extremely professionally with all the work completed on the same day with minimal damage done to the area surrounding the buried oil tank. The sales rep clearly explained the process and answered our questions regarding any potential contingencies, and Castlton handled obtaining the requisite permit and arranging for the inspection.

Description of Work
Buried oil tank removal and related services

Category excavators

Cost $1,277

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2017

5.0

08/17/2017


Jane S.

It went very well. They were on time, worked quickly and without too much disruption to the land. There was an electrical service wire to an outbuilding which was very close to the oil tank; the workers carefully dug it up, worked around it, and placed it safely back. Fortunately there was no leak from the tank so it was hauled away and they filled the hole, raked the area level, and that was that. A good job.

Description of Work
Castlton was hired to remove a 550-gallon underground oil storage tank on our property.

Category excavators, biohazard cleanup

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2017

Images

Review for Castlton Environmental Contractors - 80 W NYACK RD, Nanuet, NY - 36054353

+1 More

5.0

08/16/2017


Dermot H.

Minimal mess and damage. Excellent Backhoe work. In and out in under a day.

Description of Work
Removal of an in ground oil tank

Category excavators

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2017

5.0

08/16/2017


Christopher P.

Having known nothing about tank removals, everyone at Castlton Enviromental Contractors LLC was extremely knowledgeable. They walked me through the entire process in laymen terms, their prices were very reasonable and did a thorough clean up job. When I came home, I was about to call them to see if the tank was actually removed since I barely saw any traces of anyone being there. I highly recommend this company for their proficiency and excellent customer service especially Jennifer, Bill and Mary Jacobsen.

Description of Work
Septic tank removal

Category excavators, septic tank

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2016

4.0

12/22/2015


Saba B.

.

Description of Work
My only real complaint was the difficulty with communication as it sometimes took several calls or emails to get answers. It took several calls to replace the orange hazard fencing that had fallen and cover of the contaminated soil.It also took about a month for contaminated soil from oil tank removal to be removed from front yard, but we were told that it was the result of a backlog at the processing facility not the fault of Caslton.

Category biohazard cleanup

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2015

4.0

11/10/2015


Saba B.

Description of Work
Underground oil tank removed with discovery of significant leakage. Area completely cleared and restored. My only negative with them was frequent failure to respond to my calls or emails after reaching about half way into the 6 week project. Don't know the cost as insurance ultimately covered everything.

Category excavators

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2015

5.0

09/09/2013


Jan R.

They were outstanding. I had a very big job done on digging up in the basemetn. They digged out an old oil tank. They had cleaned it and cleared it. It is inactive now but has to be done by law. It was a very big job and they were outstaanding. Every man that came and worked was wonderful. It was a clean and beautiful job that took over several days.

Description of Work
Excavating.

Category excavators

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2013

4.0

06/19/2013


Si G K.

Castlton was hired as a third-party contractor by my oil heat supply company. The job was an entire site remediation since the buried oil tank in my backyard was over 50 years old and had developed several leaks over time. Overall the whole job cost me over $10,000. The work crew was professional and thorough although they were late by several hours on the first day of the job and did not have the right equipment on one day which extended the whole project for another day. I'll probably try to find a cheaper alternative should I face a similar situation in the future. My only complaint about Castlton is their communication. All of their advertised telephone numbers connect you to their emergencies handling answering service, so if you want to speak with a live customer service rep about any non-emergency issue including billing you must leave a message with the service for a rep to call you back at another time, or have a direct phone number to a specific Castlton rep. You can try to email them also, but I had an issue with trying to obtain an oil spill closure report from them for over two months and left several voicemails, calls to their answering service and emails before I finally got a reply and my report.

Description of Work
I have used Castlton Environmental Contrs. Their job took 4 days to complete, the job was completed mid-May.

Category excavators

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2013

5.0

05/09/2013


Noel H.

Job went fine.

Description of Work
This company was referred to usby the insurer after our in ground oil tank leaked. They removed the tank and excavated all the contaminated soil. The oil leaked into the surrounding land,under the driveway and sidewalk. They removed and/or replanted the displaced trees and shrubs. They were very neat and polite and arrive at the promised time.

Category excavators, biohazard cleanup

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2012

5.0

11/12/2012


Jacob K.

I contacted the office and left a message. A sales manager returned my call within the hour. I explained over the phone what the project entailed. I received a verbal estimate over the phone, followed with a written estimate 2-3 days later. The company submitted the paperwork to the Building Department in order to obtain a "building permit" which is required by my town, and arranged for a town fire inspector to inspect the work in order to obtain a new Certificate of Occupancy. On the day of the job, the workers showed up at the scheduled time. They put down absorbent pads throughout, and were extremely clean while performing the work. They pumped out the left over sludge from the tank (my oil company had previously drained the excess oil from the tank), cut the tank into pieces, and removed it from the premises. Very satisfied with the work performed. I would definitely use them again!!

Description of Work
Removed a 275 gallon oil tank from our basement. We converted from oil to natural gas.

Category excavators, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2012

4.0

11/11/2011


Joseph C.

Overall, the experience was good. The work crew did a quick efficient job. The only concern was the certification process. This may be normally be lengthy, but communication with the town and Castlton to educate me on this process was not optimal. Ultimately, certificate was in hand 6 weeks after removal of tank.

Description of Work
Castlton removed an underground oil tank (a UST) from my property. In addition, I contracted them to take care of the town permits. They coordinated with the utilities to mark lines, PSE&G (gas co.) for presence during the dig and the town for site inspection. They filed post-excavation paperwork to facilitate the UCC NJ Certificate.

Category excavators, biohazard cleanup

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2011

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    80 W NYACK RD PO BOX 609

    Nanuet, NY 10954

    Hours

    Sunday
    Open All Day
    Monday
    Open All Day
    Tuesday
    Open All Day
    Wednesday
    Open All Day
    Thursday
    Open All Day
    Friday
    Open All Day
    Saturday
    Open All Day

    Website

    www.castlton.com

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Castlton Environmental Contractors

    How is Castlton Environmental Contractors overall rated?

    Castlton Environmental Contractors is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Castlton Environmental Contractors open?

    Castlton Environmental Contractors is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Castlton Environmental Contractors provide

    Castlton Environmental Contractors accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Castlton Environmental Contractors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Castlton Environmental Contractors offers free project estimates.

    Does Castlton Environmental Contractors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Castlton Environmental Contractors does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Castlton Environmental Contractors offer a senior discount?

    No, Castlton Environmental Contractors does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Castlton Environmental Contractors offer emergency services?

    Yes, Castlton Environmental Contractors offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Castlton Environmental Contractors?

    Yes, Castlton Environmental Contractors offers warranties.

    What services does Castlton Environmental Contractors offer?

    Castlton Environmental Contractors offers the following services: Complete Residential & Commercial AST, UST Fuel Tank removal, abandonment, Decommissioning, & cleaning Site Remediation. Hazardous Materials Emergency Response. Confined Space Entry & Rescue Services. Emergency Management, Control Planning, Response Services. Oil Spill & Hazardous substances Emergency Response. Transportation Emergencies. Railcar Emergencies. Industrial Environmental Services. LTL. Natural Disasters, Flooding, Hazardous Waste