CHATEL Construction Corp

About

Founded 1983 • With Angi since June 2010

Since 1983, Chatel Construction Corp has beautified, enhanced, and increased the value of homes from Manhattan to Montauk. Whether yours is a single family home, co-op or condominium, we'll make your renovation dreams a reality. We are residential remodeling specialists. Before any cost is quoted, an experienced consultant will meet with you to discuss your specific needs, to outline your opinions and to recommend the best solution within your budget. Whether your remodeling needs are large or small, our goal is to keep you completely satisfied....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.9

(69) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

68

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home builder (45)home remodeling (43)interior painting (23)woodworking (20)plastering (18)plumbers (16)electrician (16)decks & porches (14)door installation (12)roofing (12)hardwood floors (9)house painting (7)
Showing 1-25 of 69 reviews
5.0

08/01/2022


kathy G.

I highly recommend Chatel Construction. They did an amazing job replacing my deck. Excellent craftsmanship, skill, and professionalism. Scott was very knowledgeable and informative as he walked me through the process and discussed the options available. The crew came in, got the job done fast, and it came out absolutely beautiful. Everyone was pleasant and professional. I am definitely using them for any future projects I might have.

Description of Work
Deck replaced

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2022

5.0

07/19/2022


frank A.

What started as a roofing job spiraled quickly into a huge job. Parapet replacement. New skylights. New gutters. The works. Chatel Construction handled every single aspect of the job. Scaffolding , sub-contractor, compliance, permits, etc. In NYC permitting is one of the most difficult obstacles to navigate. Scott was in constant contact with all of my neighbors. He kept them informed and assuaged any concerns they had. He even paid for one tenant’s dry cleaning because their coats got dusty. I found Scott through one of my neighbors who has been using him for his brownstone for decades. I certainly intend to do the same.

Description of Work
Replace 170 year old brownstone roof with asbestos abatement.

Category decks, roofing, asbestos removal

Cost $93,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2022

5.0

07/05/2022


Remi F.

Chatel Construction is by far one of the best Long Island has to offer. Not only are they professional and knowledgeable, they are also flexible and provide full service support before, during and after construction! They are the premiere General Contractor the Junior League of Long Island will rely on for the entire repair and upgrade process of their historic landmark building that houses their thrift shop and headquarters. We had the honor of having them come onboard and support us through 8 months of growing and changing scope and they became the ideal partner through this process. Paul and Scott are remarkable and hire on the best workers to make your project as unique and high quality as they possibly can! We cannot wait to continue working alongside of them!

Description of Work
Full Remodel

Category electrician, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $150,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2022

Images

Review for CHATEL Construction Corp - 200 Broadhollow Road, Melville, NY - 39789964
5.0

07/01/2022


Chuck A.

I can’t say enough about how satisfied I was with finished product. Scott gladly helped us get our dream walk-in shower. The quality and care for details along with customer satisfaction are second to none. I am a senior that has had much work done over the years. I was lucky enough to always have direct family in the business, that made things easier. Picking someone new to trust wasn’t easy. I had a very good feeling about Scott from first time we met. Felt he would be trustworthy and dependable. After seeing finished job I’d give him an 11 out of 1 - 10. I truly feel like I was dealing with family again. Would not hesitate to recommend and use him for all future services. I would not even consider a second opinion on any job, going forward. Can’t say enough on how happy we are with final project. Both me and my wife so look forward to our relaxing shower daily. I am not one to write reviews but he deserves it. I highly recommend him and his crew of knowledgeable workers. Felt very comfortable with them in house with all your valuables.

Description of Work
Completely remodeled bathroom to walk-in shower.

Category home remodeling

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2022

5.0

10/31/2021


Dell W.

It went well! The company was very reliable and great to work with. I love the way my apartment looks and everyone who comes to visits comments on the workmanship

Description of Work
Apartment painting, floors and kitchen

Category electrician, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2021

5.0

10/28/2021


Amy S.

Scott’s crew is top notch professional! Besides being skilled the workers were pleasant, accommodating & respectful. The bathroom ended up looking beautiful - in fact better than I expected. The whole process was seamless! Scott was friendly and easy to deal with. He has 38 years experience and knows the ins & outs like the back of his hand.

Description of Work
Bathroom

Category plastering, woodworking

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2021

Images

Review for CHATEL Construction Corp - 200 Broadhollow Road, Melville, NY - 39527920

+7 More

5.0

10/28/2021


Dan R.

Having two bathrooms done can be an overwhelming task. Scott was very organized and gave detailed of what process was being done and around how long it would take. He told us the best time to pick out plumbing, tiles, etc.. The bathrooms came out beautifully. The workmen were polite and took every precaution to clean up from the mess that cane be made. Very professional and respectful of what you want done.

Description of Work
Two Bathrooms

Category electrician, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2021

5.0

05/11/2020


Michael W.

Scott and his team were professional, provided high quality work, and came back to service a couple of lingering issues that resulted immediately and without chasing. he is, and has been, my "go-to" for contracting on all my properties. additionally, we bid each job, and so far his costs have been fair, and we have never been up charged unexpectedly.

Description of Work
He is worked on a number of projects, ROOF, DECK, Interior and exterior. Generally larger projects, although he has bailed me out of a couple of smaller jobs.

Category decks, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Cost $64,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

Images

Review for CHATEL Construction Corp - 200 Broadhollow Road, Melville, NY - 38555970

+1 More

5.0

05/05/2020


Stephanie K.

Working with Chatel Construction was a pleasure. We were under a tight deadline to move in and everyone worked hard to make it happen on time. Their team is personable and friendly. Would hire them again without hesitation. I highly recommend Chatel Construction for your next remodel.

Description of Work
Office Renovation

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

5.0

05/05/2020


Brenner T.

We found Chatel Construction over Angie's List and while we were cautious about hiring a contractor we didn't know Scott's references were solid and we liked him when we got together for the walk through. Scott's bid was very competitive and we found him to be accessible, honest, and willing to work with us challenges came up. His team was on the job pretty much every day and Scott was willing to go the extra mile. We liked the team so well that we hired him to redo our office.

Description of Work
NYC Apartment Gut Renovation

Category electrician, hardwood floor, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2020

5.0

04/29/2020


Pamela J.

No extensive renovation is easy to live with, but Scott and his crew made it as easy as possible. They are responsive and detail-oriented. They show up when they say they're coming and finish work within the time estimates--and the finished job looks great!

Description of Work
Complete renovation of 4 full bathrooms

Category home builders, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2020

5.0

04/13/2020


Bradley I.

Scott is a true professional. The quality of the work was very high. Our job has a lot of high end detail work and Scott made sure it was done to the highest standard. As with any large job there were some bumps in the road, which Scott responded to and fixed without the need for any argument. Scott has been doing this a long time and he clearly values his reputation and customer loyalty. He is trustworthy, does what he says and more, and is a pleasure to work with. Highly recommend

Description of Work
Exterior renovation and extension

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, dumpster service, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $130,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2018

Images

Review for CHATEL Construction Corp - 200 Broadhollow Road, Melville, NY - 38496420
5.0

04/13/2020


Paula O.

Excellent. All work went beyond expectations. Scott and his crew turned a filthy, smelly apartment into a dream cottage for the right person. Scott's suggestions for type of materials and design brought the entire project together. His crew was as pleasant and professional as he was.

Description of Work
complete renovation of apartment

Category electrician, plastering, remodeling, dumpster service, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2020

Images

Review for CHATEL Construction Corp - 200 Broadhollow Road, Melville, NY - 38496212

+2 More

1.0

11/06/2019


Gershon M.

Scott Chattel did not follow the architectural plans, did not pay the subcontractors, made many very costly construction mistakes before finally abandoning my singe family extension project. I would never recommend using this terrible contractor for your remodeling needs. He presents as a friendly guy and advertises his extensive experience which may be true for less than $10k projects but bigger than this he simply can not handle. Please note that my single family house extension project he promised to complete within 5 months and now its been year and half before he finally disappeared leaving a large family with small kids with undocumented house as it never passed the final inspection and sign off. The following are some of the things he left behind before disappearing from the project leaving just empty promises that is outright lies: Light fixtures throughout the house, the concrete back deck(he set up the cheaper steel deck not according to the contract and never fixed it), electrical line to the backyard gates, old basement walls demolition, incorrectly installed flooring, incorrectly installed brand new doors and windows, broken concrete in the backyard, left messy construction mud accumulation in the alleyway, total disregard to the lead paint safety practices, stucco work was not finished, the dryer vent line was not run properly causing major safety issues, during the construction, left a large family without washer/dryer, Heater and a kitchen for many months showing very poor planning, broke the main water line during his work. There are more thing to the above list but it should suffice. At this stage, I m using all available legal means to rectify the situation and stop the nightmare that Mr.Chatel put me through

Description of Work
Single family extension project

Category decks, electrician, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $350,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2019

Service Provider Response

It is unfortunate that certain people can take advantage of public forums to defame the reputation of a business that has provided honesty, integrity and craftsmanship for nearly 4 decades as a means to circumvent the last payment for their work, they threaten and then carry out a character assassination.

5.0

02/07/2019


Laurie A F.

I live out of state, and needed exterior (rebuild deck and fencing surrounding the house) and interior (repairs and repainting) renovation and repairs. Working with my property manager, we received several quotes. Chatel Construction was the most competitive, with the "smartest" approach to eliminate unnecessary costs. Since I live out of state, it was critical that the crew were reliable and trustworthy, since they would have access to the home without the owner present. Scott Chatel (owner) or a supervisor was onsite at all times. The results are outstanding. I will absolutely engage Chatel Construction for our future repair and renovation needs.

Description of Work
Interior and exterior renovation and repairs

Category decks, fencing, plastering, roofing, home builders, woodworking, dumpster service, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2019

5.0

01/22/2019


Arthur M.

We hired Scott on the advice of the architects we worked with on this project. Scott and his team were always friendly and professional (including no loud cursing while working, which was refreshing!), and they always arrived on time. The project presented many challenges, many of which pertained to the hatch fabricator. Scott handled much of the correspondence with the fabricator, including dealing with manufacturing errors. He always worked with us to make sure our problems were solved, which meant coming back repeatedly to work on lingering issues. While substantial completion of the project was done on time, it did take longer than we anticipated to finish everything. All things considered, it was a positive experience and we're happy with the results. We would recommend Scott to friends.

Description of Work
Installing roof hatch & pull-down ladder

Category electrician, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2019

Images

Review for CHATEL Construction Corp - 200 Broadhollow Road, Melville, NY - 37675522

+1 More

5.0

10/15/2018


Mike K.

We did an almost-gut renovation of the top floor apartment of a brownstone building in Cobble Hill, Brooklyn. Scott Chatel was not the only contractor we solicited, but his vision of the job and his pricing were the most realistic. Scott is very easy to deal with. He was available for consultation both during and outside regular business hours. While he had several jobs going at once, his son Paul was in charge of our renovation, and one or the other of them was always available to discuss the construction and to answer questions. Scott did not let little glitches get in the way, and he took care of minor problems without extra charge. For example, we needed to move everything out of the apartment for the renovation, and on the start date we still needed to get rid of some furniture items. Scott's demolition guys took care of moving everything out. We had a tight 10-week schedule to make, and Scott was sensitive to getting the job done as scheduled. Scott met with us to schedule the timing for when different items (bathroom fixtures, appliances, etc.) needed to arrive both so they'd be available when needed, and also to make sure they were not in the way too early. It is impossible to anticipate everything that can crop up during a project, and Scott was flexible in dealing with the smaller issues and accommodating in dealing with the larger ones. The major unforeseen issue we faced was that our subfloor was in worse shape than anticipated, and needed to be rebuilt before the new floor could be laid on top. Despite the extra work, Scott stuck to the overall schedule to finish on time. Scott was helpful with design suggestions, such as adding a small soffit over some of the kitchen cabinets and creating a bar area by building some shelves in a corner. Scott's electrical, plumbing, and tile subcontractors all did good work. (Initially the tile work in the master bath was not up to snuff, but Scott had the tile contractor return, and he did an excellent job fixing everything.) Scott made sure to clean up the work area and the entire building's hallways that got dusty from the work. Scott returned at a mutually convenient time to take care of everything on our "punch list," and we anticipate one more visit (a full year later) to handle one or two smaller items that have cropped up. In a century-old brownstone, no corner is exactly square, and no surface is perfectly level. Scott's crew did a skillful and professional job of working with the building's quirks to make the work look right. We are very happy with the quality of the workmanship. He built closets to our specifications; he fit a bathtub into an area that previously held an oversize stall shower; he fit recessed lighting around existing skylights. Overall, we think we received great value: very good work at a fair price. We think Scott is a gem.

Description of Work
kitchen renovation, renovation of 1.5 baths, removed wall between kitchen and living room, replaced floor, built several closets

Category electrician, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2017

5.0

10/07/2018


Diamantis K.

We had to get in our home within 5 months and they were able to keep their promise and actually got the job done quicker. They went above and beyond what we expected in regards to professionalism, punctuality and service. We were always able to get in touch whenever we needed anything and Scott was always touching base with every part of the project. We are extremely satisfied with the end result and would definitely hire them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
A complete gut, total renovation and extension of interior and exterior of home.

Category decks, electrician, hardwood floor, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, dumpster service, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $380,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2018

5.0

06/12/2018


Julie H.

PRE-PROJECT Before he was hired, Scott visited the site several times and gave us invaluable advice and pricing information to help us stay on budget as we formulated our plans. As soon as our architect got her plans approved— literally the same day— Scott was at the house getting ready for demolition. There was no nonsense with the crew during the work, either— almost without exception the CCC guys showed up on time and put in a full day until the construction was done. (We did have some issues with subs who no-showed, but Scott dealt with that professionally and always tried to keep work moving even when juggling the schedule.) PACE OF WORK For the most part, we were very satisfied with the pace of work. It took about five months from the commencement of demo for us to get into the house (including a very thorough post-construction cleaning, first by Scott and then by a separate service that we hired for the purpose). And it would have been completed faster but for a two week break over the holidays and a large number of change orders, some of which were necessitated by events that occurred during construction (e.g., a broken waist pipe) and others because we decided we wanted to modify our plans. CHANGE ORDERS As is typical with fixed cost projects, the written scope of work did require modification from time to time, especially since we and our architect were not on the same page about everything. Scott was pretty accommodating and fair about those change orders, though he did become a little exasperated towards the end of the project— in fairness, only because he needed to get his crew out and on to their next job. With a couple of exceptions when we were asked to pony up extra cash for small things that I felt should have been done without additional payments (totaling not more than a few thousand dollars), I never felt Scott made unreasonable requests on change orders. And he more than made up for those instances by throwing in a variety of little extras that were not spelled out in the contract, so we never felt ill used. QUALITY OF WORK As with any project on this scale, there were a few issues, but nothing outside the sort of stuff you should expect in a major renovation. We have had problems with a couple of doors that stick, but Scott was responsive and came in and planed them (including repainting). Similarly, we unexpectedly needed to install a new water meter following completion of construction (which required partial demolition of a recently constructed wall). Within a couple of weeks, Scott came back and repaired— at no charge— the damage caused by the installation (including repainting). Can’t really ask for more than that. The quality of the work was overall very good, too. We were particularly pleased with the skill Scott’s crew demonstrated in installing crown moldings. ADVICE/RECOMMENDATION A couple of pieces of advice if you want to hire CCC. First, primarily because of our budget constraints, we omitted floor finishing and painting from our contract. The floor finishing was originally intended to be a DIY and ultimately was done by a different company, but having the two sets of workers in the house was a big problem and in retrospect it would have been much, much better to have hired Scott to handle it from the beginning. Similarly, we eventually negotiated to have Scott’s sub handle the painting, but we drove a very hard bargain on the price and I think it led to some materials and scheduling complications that we could have avoided had we just paid the ask. If I could do it over I would have found the extra couple thousand dollars and just paid Scott his (fair) ask for the painting. Second, due to some planning issues, we had to make more changes than we would have liked during the course of the project, which in retrospect caused most of the complications we experienced in construction. Do yourself a favor and get your plans finalized before you start construction. Your life will be much easier. And CCC, which likes to move fast, will have a reliable plan to implement and won’t get slowed down by change orders. Finally, Scott is a genuinely funny, honest and reliable person and I enjoyed working with him throughout our project. He always— ALWAYS— took our calls and took a lot of time (more than was convenient, I am sure) to explain things at all stages before, during and even after the project. Both my wife and I have dealt with a handful of contractors in the past and we were honestly astonished at his responsiveness and promptness. I don’t think you could do any better hiring someone else. In sum, a very good company.

Description of Work
My wife and I hired CCC in September 2017 to gut renovate our two-family house in Brooklyn. It was a substantial project encompassing all new plumbing and electrical, two new kitchens, three new bathrooms, new two-zone HVAC, extensive framing and all new drywall, all new hardwood floors and trim, new windows, and substantial masonry and roof work.

Category decks, electrician, hardwood floor, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, dumpster service, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2017

5.0

02/26/2018


John S.

Scott was amazing! Showed up right on time. The work took exactly the time he said it would and the crew was done when they promised. The quality of the work was excellent; Scott hired hard working people who did high quality work, He listened to me and executed my vision for the remodel as I saw it. I made lots of drawing and cut out pictures from magazines to help convey what I wanted in the remodel; Scott was really receptive to that. I highly recommend him to anyone.

Description of Work
kitchen and bathroom re-model

Category hardwood floor, plastering, plumbing, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2018

Service Provider Response

Your the best thanks for that!!

5.0

01/20/2018


Mike D.

This is an extraordinary professional. He is really personable and respectful of everyone in the family. He is knowledgeable in the trades. Scott not only is punctual but he stays on schedule. We had a landscaping contractor walk off the job and Scott took on the additional work to finish the project. When our neighbors saw the work, they wanted his card. Unfortunately, Scott does not do landscaping but he wanted to take care of us. Then, he had to do research on some very old stained glass windows (100 years old) that we wanted repaired. We wanted to maintain or keep these windows as they are very old and Scott was able to accomplish this and they are absolutely beautiful - goes above and beyond. Communication throughout the project was outstanding. Very fair pricing - outstanding quality and experience for the money. We live in a Brown Stone and not only did they cleanup the job site everyday, they were conscientious and respectful of the commons areas of the building. I highly recommend and ONLY recommend Chatel Construction Corp.!!

Description of Work
Scott has done several projects for us over the years including landscaping.

Category home builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2015

5.0

08/13/2017


JOHN H.

Scott is a pleasure to deal with. He's been doing this a long time, is good at sizing up the job, and produces a fully developed schedule of the work, by job and crew. They were always on time, hard working, and personable. Any hiccup with either the work or workers, and he was ready to step in and readjust. An issue did arise on my job with his subcontracting plumber. Scott addressed my concerns without defensiveness, and yet didn't throw his employee under the bus. I admire his loyalty, and even more I appreciated that he solved the issues with no fuss. Bottom line: Scott is organized, experienced, smart, and good to both his clients and his employees. The work turned out well. I checked in from time to time, but didn't feel that I needed to hover to make sure things were being done carefully and well. I would not hesitate to hire the firm again.

Description of Work
Moderate renovation of an apartment kitchen and bath.

Category electrician, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2017