Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

McClurg Remodeling

Founded 1979 • With Angi since March 2007

The McClurg team has a long-standing reputation in Central New York for offering well-conceived, knowledgeable solutions that meet their clients’ design, remodeling and construction needs. The company, which was established in 1978, undertakes about 200 remodeling projects a year. These projects are of all sizes and include kitchens and bathrooms, exterior living spaces, basement conversions, additions, and large-scale renovations - both inside and out. The company also handles commercial remodeling and renovations and builds two or three custom homes each year. Additionally, McClurg operates a Home Repair division that specializes in small household and office projects. Additional email - bristol@mcclurgteam.com. Additional contact name - Jon Bristol.

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(123) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 123 reviews
Deborah B.
5.0
05/17/2022
We are very pleased with our kitchen remodel. Amy Nathan guided us through the process. She made excellent suggestions while paying attention to every detail. The sub contractors did excellent work and they were extremely courteous. Mark Taylor facilitated the progress and kept us well informed every step of the way. All the work was done on time with minimal inconvenience. McClurg lived up to their reputation for high quality work and excellent customer satisfaction. We recommend McClurg without reservation.
Description of Work
A kitchen remodel.
Category
electrician, lighting, plumbing, chimney caps, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters
Erin B.
3.0
07/29/2019
Overall, everyone I spoke to was very professional and polite. The person who set up our appointment called as soon as I requested a quote online. I wasn't crazy about being asked if I had a spouse- I know there was a time when that was an acceptable question, but that time was the 1970's. From that alone, I knew this was a company that typically worked with older and wealthier clients. We are not 1%ers and are relatively young home owners in a working class neighborhood, but we pay our bills on time, which I believe is the requirement for hiring a contractor. The representative that came for our estimate was overtly friendly, punctual, and professional. She explained all the things that could go wrong, what they could find in the walls, and how slow leaks could add $10k+ to a $30k-$40k base estimate-without changing the layout. She explained that the company was large and had multiple departments, specialist, and hands-on care that generated overhead which why their estimate was twice our highest estimate, three times our lowest estimate and that we could certainly find someone to do the work for closer to the $15k we're expecting, but they wouldn't be insured or secure permits; this, for the record, is not true. The website she directed us to for the area average and "cost vs value added" lists $20k as the average price, still $10k-$20k below her quote. She suggested we replace the tub and not do any other work because it wouldn't be a good investment. She asked us if we work from home and when we said no she asked if we work, presumably because we were home in the middle of the day. From beginning to end, it felt friendly-insulting. It felt like our base estimate was the "no way am I taking this job" highball estimate. Especially when compared to the amounts listed by other reviewers for this type of work from this company, which are in the $15k range. For the record, my marital status is not related to the work I want done and not everyone works Monday-Friday 9-5. We did manage to purchase a house, after all. I'm sorry my house and my neighborhood weren't good enough for this company- actually, no, I'm not. Overall, huge disappointment and a waste of everyone's time.
Description of Work
Estimate for a bathroom remodel
Category
home remodeling
David M.
5.0
09/24/2018
They did a wonderful job. I can't say enough good things about them. The workers are great and they're always ready to help you out! You'll pay top dollar but it's worth it. They come back out to help you if you need anything repaired or looked at and they really care about pleasing their customers.
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel and flooring as well as re-painting.
Category
flooring contractor, home remodeling, interior painters
Mark A.
5.0
05/22/2018
Exceptional quality of work. Punctual, professional, clean
Description of Work
general woodworking/carpentry, window replacement, door replacement
Category
handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking, doors
Terese P.
5.0
08/10/2017
Each step of the process was smooth.
Description of Work
Replaced toilet in master bathroom.
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Anna B.
5.0
03/28/2017
It went well. They were prompt, courteous, and professional. In fact, my husband was coming home after a knee replacement and they expedited the grab bars so that they were in place when he arrived home.
Description of Work
We used McClurg on two separate occasions. First, we had grab bars installed in two bathrooms, both around the toilets and in the shower. They also repaired a folding door and insulation at the bottom of a door to the garage. The second time, they installed a railing on the side of the stairs to the second floor and replaced a screen door. Other minor work was too hang two pictures.
Category
handyman service, woodworking, doors
Max R.
5.0
03/13/2017
Very professional and excellent craftsmanship.
Description of Work
Diagnosed and leaking shower and fixed the ceiling below.
Category
drywall, handyman service, interior painters
MARY P.
5.0
12/05/2016
Beautiful new windows installed expertly by head carpenter and his assistant. Old windows were a mess and drafty. New windows are such an improvement. The installation itself was done so well. The McClurg people truly have some great craftsmen on their team. I had three companies come for estimates, a very well known company and another company with very good reviews on Angie's. This price was by far the fairest with excellent results.
Description of Work
Window installation.
Category
replacement windows
David F.
5.0
10/12/2016
Job well done & completed within time estimate detailed contract full filled – all tubs very professional & courteous – all suggestions responded and all choices of material adopted – no unresolved issues.
Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodel replace electric panel and meter box with grounding.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Terry & Susan D.
5.0
10/10/2016
Tory was the had carpenter and was meticulous his work. He was very considerate of grand daughter noise additional workers that come followed his has. Very pleased. The price was high but it was a tedious job.
Description of Work
Removal of white cedar shakes, replaced Tyvek with drain wrap Tyvek, red was shakes that were sealed on all sides and replaced to gable end of garage.
Category
remodeling
Cheryl S.
5.0
05/22/2016
We had first received a quote for this work from another well advertised supplier that was significantly more costly. Further, the solution offered by the first firm would have resulted in less glass surface due to the larger width of the sash frame. McClurg offered a solution using an Anderson product that completely matched our older sashes with the same amount of glass surface. The cost of the McClurg work was much less than the well advertised competitor. All of the work was completed in a timely manner with extreme diligence to maintaining cleanliness. The staff of McClurg kept in touch during the entire process. As a result, there were no surprises and we were very pleased with the end product. It brightens up our house. We will definitely turn to McClurg for any additional remodeling services.
Description of Work
Replaced all of our Anderson windows with insert sashes and stained the interior wood on the windows and sills.
Category
replacement windows
Gene D.
5.0
03/21/2016
Although pricey, the work from start to finish was as professional as I had expected. The carpenter was on time each day, communicated very clearly with me, and did a wonderful job. The electrician, plumber, and painter (plus others) took great care to make everything safe up to code, and look and work wonderfully.
Description of Work
Remodel laundry room, convert a closet into a floor to ceiling pantry. This included changing-upgrading the plumbing and electric systems.
Category
home remodeling
judith S.
2.0
02/19/2016
Be very careful - they charge $500 for an estimate and you sign a very strangely worded agreement for the estimate. If you decide not to use them you don't get your deposit back. Their business practices do not seem professional. They kept negotiating with my insurance to increase the money they would get. They wanted all the money up front before they started work. They also kept changing the date of when the work would be done - first it was going to be 4-6 weeks. They later changed it to 12 weeks.
Description of Work
was going to replace one window
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

As the Sales Manager, I spoke with Ms. [Member Name Removed] regarding her project and concerns. We apologize for the confusion about our process and we have provided Ms. [Member Name Removed] with an agreed upon insurance estimate and refunded her deposit in full.
David M.
5.0
02/11/2016
They did a great job as always. I have nothing but praise for them.
Description of Work
Moved me from fuses to breakers and moved wires. Brought me up to code.
Category
electrician
Melinda M.
5.0
12/11/2015
I couldn't be more thrilled with the whole experience. I had a very limited budget and so performed the demo work of dismantling two side by side closets to accomodate an open concept built-in bookshelf. I also bought the material and did painting myself. Don, Jerry and Scott from McClurg were very easy to work with and worked with me towards the vision that I had for this built in. Jerry was always punctual and if there was a scheduling conflict let me know right away. He always cleaned up afer working, and I can't say enough about the quality of the end product...exactly what I had envisioned. When I get ready to remodel my kitchen I will not hesitate to contact McClurg Remodeling again.
Description of Work
Custom built-in
Category
handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Kristin R.
5.0
11/27/2015
McClurg is incredibly professional throughout each and every step of a remodeling project. They offer very comprehensive estimates, stay in touch with you throughout the design and build process and stand behind their work. The are not the least expensive group in town, but they are the best and you get what you pay for. We made the mistake using subcontractors for a few other projects to save a few dollars and I cannot tell you how many times my husband and I lamented that we should have hired McClurg. We will not make that mistake again in the future - if you want something done right and in the timeframe quoted, call McClurg - you will not be disappointed.
Description of Work
Refaced brick exterior with ledge stone and rebuilt fireplace with custom ledge stone seating area.
Category
handyman service, masonry, remodeling
Thomas S.
5.0
11/01/2015
We worked with Jayson, who was the project manager, and Tyler who was the site manager. Can't say enough in praise of these guys. Punctual, responsive, easy to work with, and fine attention to detail. They aren't happy until you're happy. There were three subs on this job. The excavator was fantastic. Amazingly neat and orderly for a heavy equipment operator and left the place spotless. He even showed up on a Sunday when he saw a break in the weather. Really nice guy. The electrician also kept the work site clean, neat, and orderly and even stayed until 8PM one evening to make up for time lost after a component had been unavailable. Also a very pleasant guy. The only negative was the gutter installer. They showed up in force with uniforms and trucks with their logo?..all looks, but no performance. They slammed up the gutters and were out of there in under four hours. It was apparent that they hadn't used this type of gutter material often. Their attention to detail was poor, the gutters had hand prints all over them, they used mis-matched screws, bent nails over, and some of the down pipes were not plumb. The good news is that Jayson and Tyler were on it. They responded immediately and after pointing out the problems, they had the installers back in to make the corrections and wipe them all down. If McClurg uses these guys again, I would recommend that they keep their manager onsite to keep an eye on these monkeys. Some of the mis-matched screws remained, but Tyler gave up on the gutter contractors and corrected them himself. Jayson did a final walk through and went over the job in detail. The electrician also made sure that I understood how the system worked and went over the operation with me. The price can be summed up in one word: expensive. McClurg has a reputation for being high priced and they did not disappoint. Their mark-up is 30%, much higher than most contractors I have worked with, but you are paying for their professionalism. They are on time, they keep you informed, they respond to your questions and concerns, they follow-up and they guarantee the work. You get what you pay for, and I was not willing to take a chance on another sketchy outfit here in central New York. Sad to say but there just are not a lot of reputable guys out there who stand behind their work. I will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Installed custom gutters on the house with de-icing system draining to an underground pipe system to take water away from the foundation. Re-graded front of the house, re-seeded and ran an underground electrical conduit to the barn.
Category
electrician, gutter repair, handyman service, masonry, plumbing
Mira K.
5.0
08/29/2015
The entire process was extremely professional. We discussed the projects and received an estimate, were kept informed about the expected timeline for the start of the project. The lead carpenter and the painter worked quickly and professionally, and kept us informed. Will definitely use the company again.
Description of Work
A number of repairs on the outside of the house - replaced fascia boards under the gutter, cleaned and repainted porch ceiling, repaired porch floorboards, performed siding touch-ups and repairs to window sashes.
Category
contractors, decks, drywall, flooring contractor, gutter repair, handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters, interior painters
Alice H.
5.0
05/25/2015
Very professional. Explained construction process and details. Found solutions to unique detail requests (36" doors into previous 30"opening)
Description of Work
Converted bedroom into en-suite master bath & laundry, walk in shower, toilet, dual sinks and medicine cabinets, wheel chair accessible doors, access opening from master bedroom, linen closet, dressing alcove and clothes closet, lighting, dual shower heads on controls.
Category
remodeling
Cheryl O.
5.0
05/15/2015
McClurg has rebuilt our house room by room. Their work is truly outstanding. Everything from major jobs like redoing our kitchen to bathrooms to smaller jobs like repair work is excellent. You can depend on them & trust them. We have been using them for appx 14 years & would never use anyone else.
Description of Work
McClurg has done our kitchen, all bathrooms, replaced all the windows, replaced siding with cement siding, replaced the roof, added built in bookcases & built a custom bar. In addition, many small jobs & repair work
Category
custom cabinets, handyman service, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling
Duane S.
5.0
04/07/2015
My call about icicles hanging from soffit vents resulted in a quick call-back from a representative who scopes, estimates, and organizes the work. I've used McClurg before, and I always get the same person. This time, he was able to diagnose the problem over the phone. Initially he told me that the company was backed up because lots of people were having the same problem as I was, and he suggested I try another contractor. A few calls showed quickly that others were backed up also, and I called back fairly promptly so as not to be pushed still further back in line. Although I've had minor communications problems on past jobs, this time everything was laid out very clearly -- the number of people to expect, the hourly and minimum charges, the inherent risk of damage to the roof that they could not be responsible for. One of the workmen called shortly before arrival, at approximately the scheduled time. He brought in papers to sign and repeated the expectations about the work. He asked whether I wanted the roof shoveled as well as the ice dams broken, but he agreed that there wasn't enough snow for weight to be a problem. I asked him to remove icicles from an additional area where I was concerned that falling icicles might cause damage. After working on the problem area in the back of the house and removing the other icicles as I requested, he returned and suggested working in the front, where there were similar ice dams but no evidence of leakage, as a precaution. I authorized that work, which took little extra time. He was courteous and pleasant, and when he left he noted the time expended and for which I should expect to be billed. I did not directly interact with the other workman. About a week later I got the bill. There was an error in it (I was billed for a third person's time). I called the office on the afternoon I received the bill, and the billing person said she'd have to talk to the estimator. The next morning the estimator called, apologized, and said I should wait for a new bill rather than do my own subtractions on the bill I received. Later that day, I received a "credit invoice" by email, so I wound up paying from the combination of invoices rather than from a single corrected invoice. One always hopes for no problems of this nature, but fixing it took probably 10 minutes of my time total. I think it speaks well of McClurg that it was so easily resolved. As soon as we had a sunny day, the ice attributable to roof leakage disappeared, so the work was effective. Now that the snow is gone, I can see that there's no sign of any roof damage. I did have a recurrence of icicles from one vent. That was after another snowstorm and an opportunity for ice dams to re-form, so I don't think it is a reflection on the quality of the work.
Description of Work
Removed some snow from roof and dug channels through ice dams, and removed icicles from another section of the roof
Category
handyman service
Joyce B.
5.0
02/18/2015
They were very good at responsiveness. Very trustworthy company! Did a very good job!
Description of Work
They remodeled my kitchen.
Category
home remodeling
Kathleen C.
5.0
02/13/2015
They were good but it was expensive. They were top notch. They got the job done in about one month. The cleanup was excellent.
Description of Work
They remodeled my kitchen. They also did my floors.
Category
flooring contractor, home remodeling
Joshua W.
5.0
02/03/2015
They were good, very expensive but good. We had a contractor that did a not so pleasant job and McClure redid what they worked on. They came and did the work quickly, and didn't take many breaks. They were kind, up front, and cleaned up well.
Description of Work
They put a closet in the bathroom.
Category
home remodeling
Barbara C.
5.0
09/18/2014
Everything was great. From my coordinators Tricia and Melissa to Jeremy the carpenter, the painter, electrician, and flooring installers. At first I thought the price to be a little high but by the time the work was done I felt it was well worth the extra. My coordinator met with me to get an idea of what I wanted and really seemed to know just what I was talking about. She made some great suggestions and made me feel very comfortable with the whole project. She worked well with my somewhat odd work schedule as well. She kept me updated on everything that was happening, which was very important to me. I met with the carpenter, electrician, and flooring expert right out of the gate so when it came time to do the work I was very comfortable in heading off to work and leaving them to do it. Everyone was prompt, friendly courteous and very neat. Promised deadlines were all met and I am more than happy with the work that was done. I would recommend McClurg to anyone who wants to make sure the job is done well the first time around.
Description of Work
they turned the pocket office in my foyer into a fabulous walk in pantry and installed a new floor throughout most of my first floor.
Category
contractors, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Phone

Address

60 E Main St

Marcellus, NY 13108

Other Information

Services offered

Bathrooms, kitchens, interior exterior alterations, exterior living spaces, additions, basement conversions, solar water heating system, large scale renovations, light commercial renovations, custom homes & handyman.

Services not offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

McClurg Remodeling is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

McClurg Remodeling is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

McClurg Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

No, McClurg Remodeling does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, McClurg Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, McClurg Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

No, McClurg Remodeling does not offer warranties.

McClurg Remodeling offers the following services: Bathrooms, kitchens, interior exterior alterations, exterior living spaces, additions, basement conversions, solar water heating system, large scale renovations, light commercial renovations, custom homes & handyman.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

JF Painting

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

JF Painting

We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done. we bring the Wonder of your imagination onto your walls, so we can help make it a true home. Call or text when you are ready to make dreams a reality  

Capital Gutters

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Capital Gutters

Capital Gutters proudly opened in the Albany area in 2007. Capital Gutters is a family run Business operating for over 20 years originating in Oyster Bay, Long Island in 1986. At Capital Gutters all we do is gutters and know all the in's and out's of the Gutter trade. Many companies do many other things and are "Jack of All Trades" which in our opinion waters down the end products, Where at Capital Gutters we are Jack of one Trade Gutters. Also serving Niskayuna, Rexford, Clifton Park, Ballston Lake, Ballston Spa, Malta, Saratoga, Glenville & Burnt Hill.  

DD Electrical

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

DD Electrical

DD Electrical is locally owned and operated providing all types of general electrical services. We are a true One-Stop Electrical service! I have over 5 years of general electrical experience and I pride my company on our quality work. Give us a call or click for an estimate today!