Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Arrow Exterminating

Founded 1947 • With Angi since January 2006

4.7

(231) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

289 Broadway

Lynbrook, NY 11563

Description

Arrow Exterminating has been serving Long Islanders and New Yorkers for more than sixty years—since Bernard Stegman founded the company in 1947. Now under the management of his daughters; Jackie Grabin and Debby Tappan, Arrow is one of the largest pest control companies in the New York metropolitan area. There are several things that have always set Arrow apart: • We’ve always been willing to take on problems others won’t, and to do whatever it takes to help our clients. • We are always accessible. When Bernard Stegman founded the company, he gave clients his home phone number. We try to be just as accessible today, and always give free phone consultations. • We inspect every property carefully before deciding on treatment. We won’t just come in and spray chemicals indiscriminately. • We have a fulltime, board-certified entomologist on staff to help us understand the way insects behave, to make our treatments as effective as possible. • Our staff receives extensive training, and many have been with us for several decades. We know the quality of our staff determines the quality of our company, and we’re very proud of the team we have. Nassau County Consumer Affairs license: #HI84714....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/13/2020


MARGARET S.

Mr Martinez came over and answered all my questions and was very thorough. He kept me informed through the whole process. They got all the raccoons removed and I am very happy with their work. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I had raccoons in my shed.

Category animal removal

5.0

06/02/2019


Patricia M.

It went well. AJ, the serviceperson was very thorough & professional. I did have to call to ask that he come back as additional nest material came down when I turned on the vent fan. They had AJ return & he took care of it with no problem and no additional charge. Very satisfied with my experience with Arrow.

Description of Work
Birds nest removed from the 2nd story bathroom vent.

Category animal removal

5.0

08/17/2018


Leslie B.

Mariano is the technician whom I feel is the best. Very professional and I will continue to use them.

Description of Work
I have been using them for a several years for pest control treatments.

Category pest control

5.0

07/24/2018


Howard T.

I trust them more than just about any contractor of any kind that I have dealt with. They are honest and come on time, they always show up which is seemingly rare for many contractors in my area

Description of Work
They originally came to remove a wasp nest, I signed a contract with them and they have been doing regular service on my home ever since

Category pest control

4.0

11/10/2017


Leslie T.

I would consider using them again in the future.

Description of Work
Pest control.

Category pest control

5.0

10/03/2017


Allan M.

They come three to four times a year to check. We have termite traps in the yard. They come three to four times a year to verify there's no activity. We have an annual contract. We had any problem, they came and took care. They're price is reasonable. They have a good reputation. They were there when we needed them. We haven't had a problem since they started the fumigation.

Description of Work
They provide pest control and exterminating services.

Category pest control

5.0

10/02/2017


Fred R.

It went well. They caught the raccoons in a matter of days and took measures to prevent more from cneaking in.

Description of Work
I had to get rid of raccoons inside my garage.

Category pest control, animal removal

5.0

09/25/2017


Maureen R.

I did not have any complaints about their price. I had the same man for years.

Description of Work
Scheduled service.

Category pest control

4.0

08/29/2017


Kevin Paul C.

I've called them a couple of times for things and they have taken care of it. They were punctual. They came out on their scheduled dates. The service they offered was ongoing they had to keep monitoring the work they had done and they did that. They did solve the problem. They were successful in solving the pest problem if you want to call it that. I would recommend them, if someone else had a problem I would recommend them.

Description of Work
They were here probably around February to put out some rat traps. We have a yearly contract with them. The contract covers anything we need for the year.

Category pest control

5.0

08/22/2017


Rachelle P.

And then I ended up with the contract. I always have one bug a year so. So the contract basically, its like the same price to have them once then to have them regularly. It seemed prudent. Well yeah, they had a good policy. We had a baby under one and they um what do you call it, they didn't let us stay in the house. Even though they said other companies might, they didn't. It was annoying but also reassuring in some way.

Description of Work
They took care of ants.

Category pest control

5.0

07/31/2017


Brenda S.

I think he is going to come back in November. He was here right on time. It wasn't that long to put traps down. Before I knew it, he said he put them all down. He showed me where they were and it really wasn't that long. All they really had to do is stick them on the ground. Nothing complicated. The communication and interaction were very good. We talked about the termites in the house, what they use nowadays. They just eat it and they can't shit and they suffocate to death. There's no toxins or anything like that he said. They come out in the spring and they have wings and fly around. He showed me these grainy yellow trails. I didn't realize what it was. He said that was the trail that they leave. I didn't realize that...Oh My God. A crusty little trail of something in the boiler room. That's their trail, they leave a trail, I guess when they crawl around.

Description of Work
We had termites and he put down those little green things and is supposed to come back in six months.

Category pest control

5.0

05/05/2017


S K.

We have used 3 exterminationg companies for various reasons over the last 30 years in multiple locations. We had an emergency and started using Arrow back on March 2016. They did an excellent job. So well that we signed up for yearly service. We weren't required to use the yearly service, but due to the situation we had to make sure there was no reoccurence down the road. They eradicated the problem in one treatment. It has been a little over a year since we started using this company and they have always been quick to respond. The staff is easy to work with and pricing has been in line with who we used in the past. They are a sizable firm that appears to have good focus on there customers. They have maintained this level of service with everyone that we have spoken with in the company. We hope to stay with them long term and would recommend them to the best of our friends.

Description of Work
Numerous pests control

Category pest control

5.0

01/26/2017


Doris W.

They're reliable and respect that if I get up in the morning and I see a bug, they'll come the same day. I do appreciate that because I don't like bugs. I'm very satisfied with them. I have used them for many years. I also use them for my termite inspection every year too. They always send a card when they're coming and they always show up.

Description of Work
They provided exterminating both inside and outside. We don't do a monthly service, we do every three months.

Category pest control

5.0

12/02/2016


Renee K.

They are very effective. Whatever pest we've had they've been able to get rid of. One year it was crickets, one year it was a yellow jacket.

Description of Work
.

Category pest control

1.0

10/03/2016


Mark G.

Exterminator never entered home, never rang doorbell, even when I called the office and asked that he call before appointment he never did. Office staff is friendly but they simply did not provide the service I have been paying them for. Have requested a refund.

Description of Work
Service contract for insect control.

Category pest control

4.0

10/01/2016


Elizabeth G.

Because of a tree, I get carpenter ants in the garage. They did a good job. I haven't had any other problems.

Description of Work
They come quarterly to do pest control over the exterior of the property.

Category pest control

5.0

09/07/2016


John L.

I was first visited by Mike White who inspected the house, confirmed a carpet beetle infestation in various parts of the house (varied beetle in son's room from an exterminated bees nest located in wall voids) and black/furniture carpet beetle in the basement, living room, entrance. Mike gave me information on how carpet beetles are incredibly difficult to get rid of and are given the same treatment as bed bugs. He was able to accommodate for my difficult financial situation, was super supportive, responded even to texts out of work hours and really helped us get through our (scary) situation. We purchased a ~$4k package which included a thorough vacuum and spray of the entire house. A team of technicians came armed like ghostbusters (I kid you not) (Dave, Malikh and Kai )and pulled out drawers, unhooked baseboards, turned over sofas and vacuumed almost every crack and crevice in the house. They did miss the baseboard behind the front door and had a follow up service to treat that area. We found live larvae, spiders, silverfish and other creatures crawling around the house after treatment but the varied carpet beetles were gone from my son's room. The black carpet beetle stuck around for another 2.5 months in the entrance and moved to the kitchen but as part of our 3 month coverage, Pedro and James came a few more times afterwards to thoughtfully treat an area of our garage and parts of the house. It turns out that the carpet beetles kept migrating around the house but finally after 3 months, I'm not seeing the larvae or adults around anymore. Great job guys!

Description of Work
I had a carpet beetle infestation in various parts of the house and needed them exterminated.

Category pest control

5.0

08/09/2016


Andrea R.

My brother had already trapped the raccoon alive and we were not sure what to do with it. By the time the technician arrived, the animal was dead probably from heat exhaustion. The tech removed the body, returned our trap and provided a quote for full service. While we thought over over options, he gave recommendations for how to make there weren't more 'visitors'.

Description of Work
Removal of a raccoon

Category animal removal

5.0

07/12/2016


Joan B.

They are wonderful, and I cannot say enough about them. They do pet friendly work and are professional.

Description of Work
I have used them for ten years now. They have gotten rid of carpenter ants and a multitude of other creatures.

Category pest control

4.0

06/11/2015


Amandia S.

The provider arrived on time for the inspection with a flash light to inspect the property. I felt like he was talking very fast and not really focusing on what needed to be done. Once he finished walking around the property I felt like there was a hestitation in providing the estimate. The estimated was as shocker at more than double the other 2 estimates I received from other reputable companies.

Description of Work
Used for inspection only, did not go this provider, the cost was too high.

Category pest control

4.0

06/10/2015


Sal L.

I Had a water bug issue after 40 years out of the blue. Called a private exterminator who charged $190 flat fee including follow up but although I was catching them in his glue pads they never quite went away for good. Heard all this hoopla about Arrows 68 years in business and how nice they are so I decided to go with the best to resolve this once and for all. The sales rep said I could buy a 6 mos service package for $445.37 or a year at $890.73 but either would cover EVERYTHING including spraying outside and follow-ups though out the summer for ants, wasps ect....I initially went for the year thing and paid the $445.37 out of my monthly budget debit card and gave them a credit card to bill the remainder 30 days later. They missed the first appointment but after my reminder call the man came and did a complete spray inside and outside and left glue pads. The very next day I called the sales rep to change my mind about the year thing and told him the $445.37 for 6 mos would be fine because I never see bugs in the winter anyway. He wasn't happy but did comply with my request. I haven't seen a Water Bug!!(TG) but of course it's June now and the ants and ghats wanna move in my 10 room house so I called for a follow-up spray and was told I wasn't eligible cause I downgraded my package, I told Lucille the company came ONE time and although I downgraded It was still to be for 6 months. She said they would just come if I see a Water bug but refused to come to my home for any other ant follow-up. I didn't like that what so ever and would never call them again!!! $445 for one treatment! I went to the Depot and purchased ant spray and haven't seen any. Don't believe everything you hear! UPDATE: The owner called and resolved the issue! No more bugs for now!!

Description of Work
Exterminated my home for Water Bugs(them big black roaches yuk!)

Category pest control

5.0

04/27/2015


Maziely C.

They were great. They kept calling and following up. They would leave letters mentioning what they did during the day and they would call and follow it up. They were just in general very very helpful. Pricing was also reasonable.

Description of Work
They caught some raccoons.

Category animal removal

5.0

04/16/2015


Mrs S.

Excellent Manager/Inspector Michael White inspected all of our property and wrote up our contracts. He was very informative and answered all of our concerns regarding the safety of the products being applied. We started to see a few black ants in our crawlspace in the basement and we wanted to catch and resolve the situation early. Michael White reassured us that Arrow would return as many times as needed to resolve the ant issue. He left us with in depth printed material on all off the products which were to be applied. All products met federal safety standards for humans and pets. The Sentricon termite baits will be checked by the Arrow techs to see if any termites have taken the bait and to refill the bait if necessary during the contract year. Their office staff, especially Pat, was most pleasant and professional from day one. Following immediately were emails from owner, Jackie Grabin, making sure that I was contacted quickly by the office staff regarding my original Angie's List online inquiry. Tom Jordan was very helpful by phone when we had a few questions regarding ant application. Thank you for the resolve! Arrow's techs Johan and Mariano were very pleasant and professional and arrived very neatly dressed with an ID BADGE which indicated the name of the company and their name. They drove clean well-equipped ARROW vans and they worked with good quality and safe high extension ladders. Johan and Mariano worked very carefully respecting our home and property. We felt that they did a very thorough job. Fernando, who installed the Dow SENTRICON Tubes, arrived in his own car and was very carefull drilling into the soil not to damage our sprinkler system. He explained the working of the tubes and placed them very neatly around the property. We have no active termites and trust that this system will be a great preventive measure for the future. Fernando was very pleasant, professional and courteous. He indicated that the tubes have a microchip built into them, so that the techs can locate them promptly upon inspection. Owner, Jackie Grabin, left me a follow-up voice mail today to be sure that all of our services went well. Yes, they did Jackie. Thanks for the call. We were with another competitive Exterminator For 33 years...they said the contract didn't cover ants. We used to have to call them on our own for annual termite inspections, otherwise we never heard from them, except when they wanted to be paid their annual exorbitant fee.....so we started researching a new company that would meet our needs. One with higher standards for its customers.....one with a legacy of customer satisfaction. This we found, so far, with Arrow Exterminating.....a family owned Long Island business. Thank you to all who serviced our home and property this week!

Description of Work
*House, Garage and Property Inspection inside and out by Manager *Signing onto Arrow Exterminating for Preventive Termite Contract for one year *Signing onto Arrow Exterminating for Preventive Black Ant Contract for one year *Techs drilled every 8 feet or so into the soil surrounding our house and garage and inserted green DOW SENTRICON tubes with termite bait as a preventive measure to keep our property and home free of termites *Techs applied a black ant deterrent into all the crevices in our basement where the cinder blocks meet the wooden sills, and also same was applied very carefully with a puffer tool along the siding and windows and corners of the two story roof lines.

Category pest control

5.0

03/12/2015


stephanie P.

They have been excellent. I was shocked by the price but they let me pay it over time. They were very easy to work with and very accommodating.

Description of Work
Treatments for carpenter ants, bees. and bed bugs.

Category pest control

5.0

01/12/2015


Maryann L.

They were very good! They put out traps and inspected my place. Very thorough! They did end up catching the animal.

Description of Work
I thought I had a mouse and needed to have it caught. (It ended up being either a vole or a shrew)

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Magic Exterminating

    Magic stands by its mission statement: "We endeavor to exemplify quality, professionalism, and respect for all our customers and team members in all our daily functions. Our objective is to instill value in our services through quality and support by working as a team with a single goal...Customer Satisfaction!"  

    E Z Pest Management Inc

    Here at E Z Pest Management INC, we pride ourselves on professionalism, attention to detail, and a dedication to our clients wants and needs. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We will not leave a project until you are 100 percent satisfied. Feel free to give us a call!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Exterminex Pest Control Inc

    Residential & Commercial Pest Control. Exterminex Pest Control,Inc is your leading commercial/residential provider of pest management.From ants to raccoons we are your one stop shop.Our service area includes Nassau,Suffolk and the entire New York metro area. In addition to traditional chemical methods we offer a Go-Green Program which uses non-chemical approaches as the primary tool to control pests.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Termites, carpenter ants, bed bugs, birds, all ants, fleas, ground beetles, pill bugs, sow bugs, crickets, millipedes, cluster fly, carpenter bee, boxelder bug, earwigs, carpet beetle, wasps & bees, rodents including rats & mice, squirrels & raccoons, pantry pests, spiders, roaches, waterbugs. Weekly, bi monthly, monthly, every other month & seasonal.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Arrow Exterminating

    How is Arrow Exterminating overall rated?

    Arrow Exterminating is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Arrow Exterminating open?

    Arrow Exterminating is open:

    Sunday: 6:30 AM - 2:00 PM

    Monday: 6:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 6:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:30 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Arrow Exterminating provide

    Arrow Exterminating accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Arrow Exterminating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Arrow Exterminating offers free project estimates.

    Does Arrow Exterminating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Arrow Exterminating offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Arrow Exterminating offer a senior discount?

    No, Arrow Exterminating does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Arrow Exterminating offer emergency services?

    Yes, Arrow Exterminating offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Arrow Exterminating?

    No, Arrow Exterminating does not offer warranties.

    What services does Arrow Exterminating offer?

    Arrow Exterminating offers the following services: Termites, carpenter ants, bed bugs, birds, all ants, fleas, ground beetles, pill bugs, sow bugs, crickets, millipedes, cluster fly, carpenter bee, boxelder bug, earwigs, carpet beetle, wasps & bees, rodents including rats & mice, squirrels & raccoons, pantry pests, spiders, roaches, waterbugs. Weekly, bi monthly, monthly, every other month & seasonal.