Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

The Davey Tree Expert Company

4.7

(216) Verified Reviews

Founded 1880 • With Angi since July 2006

Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Company Contact

1 Runway Ave

Latham, NY 12110

Description

Call today for a free consultation. Our team of certified arborists provides expert tree services, trimming, removals, insect and disease prevention and more. All Davey Tree specialists are licensed, bonded and insured and committed to personalized client service and accomplishing your property goals. Contact us today to get started!...

Verified Reviews

4.7

(216) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

176

4

12

3

14

2

3

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

tree service (193)lawn treatment (24)lawn & landscaping (21)lawn care (17)mulch delivering (6)hardscaping (3)pest control (3)leaf removal (1)
Showing 1-10 of 216 reviews
3.0

11/20/2020


Lawrence K.

They do not work in my area, although your list said they did. So never was able to use them.

Description of Work
Stump Grinding

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 11/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback, [Member Name Removed] - We appreciate the information and will forward to the appropriate team.
5.0

08/24/2020


Marcia H.

Prompt service, mature tree, no treatment needed for insects present on/in tree, normal for age of tree. Sap problems noted due to fungus problem and fungicide spray done for that issue. Great that this long standing reputable company representative would not sell a service for an issue I saw, but was normal and untreatable. Other companies would have sprayed, treated, and charged me and I wouldn't have known that my money was wasted. Thank you Davey Trees

Description of Work
Evaluation for tree insect impact

Category tree service

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

1.0

05/24/2020


John M.

The contractor never responded to our request.

Description of Work
Tree work, stump removal

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 05/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi, [Member Name Removed] - we have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate team for follow up. Thank you!
5.0

05/09/2020


MICHAEL C.

Everything went well. Will hire again if the need arises.

Description of Work
Trees needing to be thinned out. Removal or 1 tree. Vines pulled out.

Category landscaping

Cost $650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2020

1.0

08/07/2019


Barbara S.

It did go well at all they never even contacted me.. along with 4 other company's i reached out to

Description of Work
tree trimming

Category tree service

Work Completed On 08/07/2019

5.0

04/10/2019


Eileen H.

Exceedingly well. Davey cares about the proper trimming of trees to ensure that trees stay healthy and thrive into the future. Company uses a horticultural approach to their work. They also detect potential disease issues and provide great advice. Staff are highly interactive, explain thought processes and recommendations. A tree lover’s company!!

Description of Work
Trimming of multiple trees including crab apples, pines, hemlock, beech and oak.

Category tree service

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2018

3.0

10/29/2018


Bill J.

Dis not perform services, price was twice as high as next closest of three quotes. I'm sure they have lots of employees and equipment, but their prices are completely out of line for the work.

Description of Work
Tree trimming and removal

Category tree service

Cost $8,688

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

3.0

10/25/2018


Dianne D.

The person who was scheduled to come out was a no show on the first scheduled date. He did arrive on the second scheduled date. I signed a proposal that wasn't sent to the office right away. I want to compliment Sara who works in the office at Daveys she was great and took steps to correct each issue. I really appreciated her professionalism and assistance.

Description of Work
Tree trimming and/or removal. No monies were paid because the work is scheduled for January or February

Category tree service

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

10/08/2018


Rob N.

I called twice and left messages regarding estimates for looking at our trees on a residential property, trimming and wrapping evergreens. Never bothered to return my call; apparently too busy? Very unprofessional to run a business that way.

Description of Work
called for tree trimming and company never responded

Category tree service

Work Completed On 09/05/2018

3.0

07/23/2018


Robert L.

I got a quote from Davey, just to see what the Rolls-Royce of tree removal would charge. They wanted $6,561. Then I asked for my local "mom & pop" tree guys what they would charge for the same job. Answer: $2,200. So I awarded the job to my local guys and even gave them a huge tip, for a total of $3,000. Over 50% less than Davey.

Description of Work
Remove 9 good sized trees.

Category tree service

Cost $3,000

Work Completed On 07/05/2018

Services Offered

Annual Tree Care Maintenance, Tree Removal, Tree Trimming, Shrub Pruning, Cabling & Bracing, Tree Planting, Tree Fertilization, Insect and Disease Management.

Services Not Offered

Lawn Care Services, Residential Snow Removal, and Residential Mowing

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
Senior Discount
Warranties
Yes