Earl B Feiden Appliance

Founded 1926 • With Angi since July 2006

3.3

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

785 US-9

Latham, NY 12110

Description

Family owned and operated since 1926; now operating in our fourth generation, and offering the best in home appliances at the best price. We sell nearly every brand of major appliances on the market, and operate one of the largest service departments in upstate New York. Servicing every appliance

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/13/2019


Laura G.

Very helpful and knowledgable service from Dan at their Clifton Park store when shopping for a range hood. It's great to get information and honest recommendations from a store representative who clearly knows and cares about the products.

Description of Work
range hood

Category appliance sales

2.0

04/03/2018


Ted H.

Beware of sales and they do not own up to their mistakes! This was my 3rd purchase from Earl B Feiden in Latham NY. First 2 experiences were fine and this was for a refrigerator. I went in and asked for a black whirlpool refrigerator and the salesman said they didn't have any in stock and would need to order one, but they had stainless. I said I needed black so we went and ordered one from the book. I had a bad water leak coming from the refrigerator and waited 4 days for delivery, only to receive a stainless refrigerator. It was Friday and I was getting ready for a vacation and explained it wasn't right to the service installer but that I need something installed right away so in it went. Meanwhile, the installer had an issue with the new water hookup and decided to add a new one next to the existing. I called the Latham office on a Friday to explain that I received the wrong refrigerator and was told I had to speak with my sales associate only and to call Saturday. Saturday morning I wake up to water in my basement due to the old water connection being left in place. So now I call asking about 1) a leak in my basement and 2) the wrong refrigerator. The salesman tells me the install was done right and that since I put food in the refrigerator there is nothing he can do. Further the salesman starts to tell me I ordered a Stainless refrigerator, to which I politely say "not a chance I would do that since all of my appliances are BLACK and I told you I needed BLACK." The service department came back Saturday and the guy who installed it then replaced the old water line valve with a new one, which isn't right, but at least it isn't leaking right now. The salesman, well he claimed he would contact "the Feiden's" and I never heard back from anyone. Needless to say I now am the proud owner of something that even Lowes or Home Depot would have fixed and that is a sad testament. I'll be shopping elsewhere and certainly not supporting this local establishment in a positive light.

Description of Work
Replace Leaking Refrigerator with New Refrigerator

Category appliance sales

5.0

04/17/2017


Diane Y.

Very well. Sales staff was helpful and we were happy with the entire process

Description of Work
Bought appliances

Category appliance sales

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!!!!
2.0

12/22/2016


VINCENT C.

The gentleman was fine. He reviewed the situation thoroughly and said parts would have to be ordered and that he would call us the following Monday with a cost of the parts. It has been over 1 week and we have heard nothing.

Description of Work
Refrig repair for a 6 yr old Samsung; ice building up in back wall; door gasket torn; and water dispenser arm broke.

Category appliance repair

3.0

10/30/2016


John T.

Our new refrigerator door was finally installed on Sept. 12, 2016. According to the folks at Feiden Appliance said they were at the mercy of Maytag for our refrigerator door. If this is the case they should not make promises regarding replacement times. Also, they should communicate with the customer regarding these delivery problems instead of leaving the customer with no idea as to what is happening. My recommendation to people who are purchasing new appliances is to never accept delivery if you have the slightest ding on a product. At least Feiden's did come through although I must say, not in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
We purchased all new stainless Maytag kitchen appliances on May 16, 2016. Delivery and set up went well except the left door of our refrigerator had a dent below the ice/water dispenser. Delivery person said that they could replace the dented door in 8-12 weeks. We accepted delivery believing that we could get the new door in 8-12 weeks. This turned out to be a big mistake!

Category appliance sales

1.0

08/27/2016


John T.

It is now August 28 and we have not had our new door delivered/installed. We have called several times and did go out to Latham to the store twice to check on the status of our door. They don't seem to know when the door will be delivered. I called Maytag customer service on the 26th of August and they said they had no record of a left door being ordered. We are now into 15 weeks and counting and we are less than pleased with the way we have been treated by Feiden Appliance of Latham, ny.

Description of Work
We purchased a Maytag kitchen appliance package from Feiden Appliance in May of this year. Our pieces were delivered and installed on May 16, 2016, included were dishwasher, microwave oven, range and refrigerator all in stainless. The french door refrigerator had a dent on the left door below the ice dispenser. The set up man said we would have a new door delivered and installed in 8-12 weeks so we accepted the refrigerator.

Category appliance sales

1.0

08/26/2016


John T.

Delivery & hook up went well. We noticed a dent in the left door of the refrigerator under the ice maker. The delivery person told us we could have a new door installed in 8-12 weeks. It is now August 26, 2016 and we cannot pin Feidens down to a delivery date for replacement. After going over to the Latham store twice I decided to call Maytag customer service today. They said they have no order number for a replacement door for our french door refrigerator. Feiden service just tells us we will call you when the door comes in. We are very disappointed with Feiden's lack of service.

Description of Work
Delivered a Maytag kitchen appliance package in Stainless steel on May 16, 2016. Included were a dishwasher, range, microwave oven and french door refrigerator.

Category appliance sales

5.0

01/07/2016


Teo C.

Description of Work
Fixed our refrigerator. Ordered the needed part and did the repair. Works great!

Category appliance sales

5.0

09/22/2015


kathleen M.

.

Description of Work
.

Category appliance sales

5.0

08/16/2015


Ann Marie M.

My French door refrigerator died six months before a major renovation that would include new appliances on a Saturday. I went to Feiden's to find a solution since I was not sure of which fridge to buy with the new cabinets, etc. With the patient help of Ted I was able to troubleshoot the problem, identity a potential replacement but purchase a smaller unit to get us through the next six months and act as a garage backup soda/watermelon/beer unit after the renovation. They rearranged the delivery date and time first thing Monday morning to accommodate my emergency. Keith and Mark showed up early, were in and out in a flash. They were helpful answering questions about the unit, worked well together and left without a trace. They were patient and allowed me to clean out the area under the old fridge before installing the new one. In the end we have a good solution to our dilemma and I have time to make the right decision on the next appliance. .

Description of Work
Sold and delivered a refrigerator.

Category appliance repair, appliance sales

1.0

08/12/2014


Brian M.

Their salesman was good & very helpful. Their installation staff was terrible. They damaged our brand new granite counter top when installing the range. They did not level the range nor install it properly. When installing the fridge they ran a screw through a brand new kitchen cabinet panel. It was like they had no clue what they were doing. Feiden's did send another crew in to level the range and correct that, but we're still fighting with them (over 8 months) over reimbursement for the damage they did to the counter top and cabinet.

Description of Work
Sold and installed high end Wolf & Sub Zero kitchen appliances.

Category appliance repair

1.0

07/09/2013


Michael D.

When the dishwasher started leaking on our wood flooring, I called Feiden's. It was a Saturday afternoon and the repairman came out and shut off the water and said he would order the part from a local supplier. So far impressed. Then we were scheduled for repair on Monday afternoon (a week after the Saturday call). The tech said he would call for the time. No call. Trying to contact service at Feiden's takes more patience than I can muster. 11 calls all busy. When you do get voicemail on service, you leave a message only to hear "This user's voicemail is full!" The tech said we'd be the first on call for the next day. When I finally got through to service, I was told to wait a second; (5.5 minutes later!) they told me I am not on any service schedule. But they could come next week.

Description of Work
Replaced a broken and leaking valve on dishwasher.

Category appliance repair

2.0

06/14/2013


Jean R.

I called Frigidaire first to see if it would be covered and they said it was covered because it was under a year old and gave me Earl B. Feiden as one of their authorized service locations, which I thought was good because that is where I purchased the microwave and was very pleased with sales and installation. I called Feiden's service office I spoke to a woman and she said I would have to talk to parts about pricing. I told her, according to Frigidaire it was covered and she disagreed and became annoyed to the point I had to call Frigidaire back and try to get an authorization. They repeated it was not needed but gave me a complaint # they could use to verify. I called back and the same woman answered again I got attitude and she insisted I still needed to talk to Bob in parts. I quickly tried to give her my work number so they could call me back, she was rushing to hang up. A week went by and I heard nothing. I called and asked for Bob in parts directly from the operator (did not want to deal with the attitude from the woman in service) got his voicemail. Never heard from him. 2 days later someone called and left messages that the part was in and wanted to set an appointment. I was surprised because I was told I had to talk to Bob from parts first but I guess he just ordered it. It would have been nice if someone could have just let me know they were ordering the part. In addition, I guess the rude woman didn't write down my work number so I was too late for service the next day because I didn't get the message until after 5:00pm. I called them back on Wednesday and got a nice woman who was professional. She told me they could come Thursday, the tech would call with a 2 hour window and she verified they had my home # and cell # on file. I did not hear from them by 9am so I went to work and kept my cell phone nearby. By afternoon I found out he called my home got voicemail and did not try my cell. So I missed him. I called the office and the woman apologized and said they are suppose to call all listed numbers. So she put me on the schedule for Friday. The same tech called only my home phone again! Luckily I checked it from work and he gave me a 3 hour window from 12:30 to 3:30. He still had not shown up by 3:45pm, I called the office and they told me he was on the way. He finally showed up at 4:10. I took off a half day of work for nothing. The tech told me the wrong style door handle was ordered, it fit but was just a little different style, I told him it was fine. At this point I just wanted this to be over. I then told the tech about the issue with the woman in the office and the warranty. He said he was glad I said something because it was not on his sheet that there was no cost. He said he would have written up the parts, labor etc. So the rude woman at the root of this saga strikes again! As I mentioned I had a great sales and installation experience but Feiden's is severely lacking in the service department, it will definitely make me think twice before buying my next appliance there.

Description of Work
Replace a broken handle on my microwave.

Category appliance repair

1.0

04/19/2012


William D.

At our new house Feiden's installed new appliances in the kitchen and laundry room. The washing machine and dishwasher were installed incorrectly and they kept shorting out. We had a repair man tell us that if they had not been fixed soon it could have caused a fire and that it was incorrectly installed in the first place. Also the washing machine and dryer had continual problems. After the warranty they continued to have problems and Feiden didn't really care much to take care of it. I would not recommend them; they are not a very good service company in my opinion.

Description of Work
I used Earl B Feiden Appliance to install some appliances in my house.

Category appliance repair, appliance sales

1.0

09/14/2011


Liz Z.

I left a message with the Service Area Supervisor and store owner, very upset that the part was not installed after waiting all these months. On August 12 I spoke with the Supervisor. After he investigated the many repairs we've had and the years we've been working with them to repair it, he indicated that this was a known failure of the DCS range and that the repair would be expensive, but he would look into the matter and promised to get back to me by August 15th. He didn't. I left two messages between August 15th and September 7th as well with two messages with the owner of the store. On September 8th we spoke, he explained that they would credit me for the service calls made to date to repair this issue and that I would have to pay the difference between what I have paid out in service calls and the cost of the new part as well as labor. I said, that is not enough,given that they've failed to diagnose the problem correctly all these years and out of good customer relations they should offer more. He said he would check with the owner of the store. He came back to me shortly and said no as a matter of fact we will only come out and do the same cleaning that they did on August 11 and indicated to me that they would no longer even offer to replace the part and have me pay the difference. He said that they would just do the same cleaning as they did before and they would take it from there. He also changed the reason for the range's failure, saying it was due to spillovers. I advised that I had not had any spillover problem after the August 11 repair, so that is just not the case. I told him that I want to speak with the owner of the store because I am appalled of how they are treating a customer. As of today, September 14th, the owner has not attempted to call me. We purchased all our home appliances from this company spending about $8,000. Do not purchase from this company, they are non-responsive, unprofessional, and offer incompetent service.

Description of Work
There has been a failure in my left burner in my range since 2007. The starter doesn't turn off, so there is a clicking sound. We've had about 5 service calls since 2007 to repair the problem. (We would've had more if Feiden's responded to our numerous requests for service.) They have done everything from clean the valves, replacing the relay mechanism, etc. Every time they repair it, it fails again. In November 2010, the serviceman determined that the part that feeds the gas was faulty, and so he would order a new one, thinking that somehow, the way this piece was machined was making the valve get dirty and fail. After numerous phone calls, requests for them to check on whether or not this part had come in, they finally showed up on August 11, 2011. I was not at home when the new repairman they sent determined that he would not put the part in, and instead decided to clean it again, The repair failed the next morning with us not having used the range since the repair.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

I am writing in response to the letter we recently received from your Angie’s List member. Our records indicate that Member’s DCS range, purchased by B. Bartlett on February 2004, is out of warranty. Our service technician first went to service this range in November 2007. According to this service history, the orifices of this range are repeatedly being plugged due to spillovers during cooking. In this case, the orifices must be cleared by the technician. This service was performed on Member’s range. When this continued to happen, we were contacted several more times by our customer for service. At Member’s request, we sent a different tech, who agreed with the initial diagnosis. On August 11, 2011, our technician Tom was sent to service Member’s range for the same issue. He cleaned the orifices and told her that he would order parts for the range, including a new orifice. Member agreed to order the parts and have Tom come back to install them. She told Tom not to charge her credit card which she had provided for that call that day, because she would only stop payment on the charge. Since receiving the parts on August 18, 2011, we have left four voicemails for Member to please call to schedule installation of these parts. To date, we have not heard back from this customer. We are more than willing to work with Member and to repair her DCS range. This customer has requested free labor and credit for all past service calls and is willing to pay for parts. Unfortunately, when a range is nearly 8 years old, it is well out of warranty. At this time, we have no choice but to charge Member for parts and labor on any services provided on this range. Earl B. Feiden, Inc
5.0

07/25/2011


Deborah A.

We buy appliances from them when we can, this is the second appliance we bought from them. The sales man was very knowledgeable and really understood what I wanted. He was extremely helpful in price. I think we got a very square deal from them. It was delivered on time and the installation people were very good. The whole experience was both professional and gratifying because we got what we wanted at a price we thought was good.

Description of Work
I bought a gas range from E B Feiden Appliances.

Category appliance sales

1.0

07/29/2010


Howard F.

Prices were good. All downhill from there. Salesman did not return calls for days. When appliances were delivered to be installed, installer did not know what was to be installed. When calling for help from salesman he left the phone and did not return. Very confused company. Price on extended warranty was more than that agreed on, so we cancelled extended warranty.

Description of Work
Purchase and installation of range, dishwasher and microwave for kitchen remodel.

Category appliance sales

4.0

11/16/2009


Joellyn K.

They do what they say they are going to do. There is no bait and switch. I will continue to consider them when looking at prices and appliances.

Description of Work
I have purchased appliances from Earl Feiden Appliance.

Category appliance sales

5.0

10/17/2009


Audrey W.

They are great. They always treat me well when I go into the shop. Everyone in the shop is very nice. I will continue to use Earl Feiden in the future. I think that they are all A+ for their service!

Description of Work
I have purchased a variety of appliances through Earl Feiden Appliance. I have worked with Earl Feiden Appliance for a number of years.

Category appliance sales

5.0

01/08/2007


SUSAN S.

I ordered the dryer I wanted over the phone. They delivered on a day convenient for me, set it up with new venting and insulation in 1/2 hour time and hauled away the old dryer! They never complained about the narrow stairway and nothing was a big deal. It just doesn't get any better than that! Thank you so much to Angie's List for making the selection of Feiden Appliances soooooo easy! I only wish everything in life went like this!

Description of Work
Purchase of new clothes dryer.

Category appliance sales

5.0

10/03/2006


POLLY F.

Excellent experience. The sales rep we dealt with was pleasant and professional. Gave us good advice and delivered a good product.

Description of Work
We purchased 2 through the wall air conditioner units from this store. The sales rep was very pleasant, took the time to discuss what we needed and considered a variety of alternatives. He even suggested options that would have resulted in our not buying anything from the store. That sort of honest interest in our getting the right a/c system for our home impressed me. We ordered two a/c units from them. They were delivered quickly and both work well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, appliance sales

4.0

08/02/2006


Donna H.

THEY DID THE JOB AND THEY GOT IT FIXED. IT WAS REASONABLY PROMPT. THE PRICE WAS A LITTLE BIT EXPENSIVE, BUT IT WASN'T OUTRAGEOUS. THEY WERE RESPONSIVE.

Description of Work
IT WAS A HOME VISIT TO REPAIR A WASHING MACHINE.

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/21/2006


ROBERT S.

IT WAS EXCELLENT. I CALLED ONE DAY AND THE NEXT DAY THEY WERE HERE FIXING THE PROBLEM. THEY TOLD US HOW TO MAINTAIN THE DISHWASHER SO THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD NOT BE NECESSARY AGAIN.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED THE COILS AND FIXED A CALCIUM BUILD UP AND REPLACED A PART ON MY DISHWASHER.

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Central Appliance Repair LLC

    Central Appliance Repair LLC was incorporated in 2013. We provide repair services on major household appliances within the capital region of New York and South Florida. Those appliances include Refrigerators, Ovens, Ranges, Washing Machines, Dishwashers, Dryers and Freezers. Our technicians are highly trained and duly qualified. There level of professionalism is second to none. We offer excellent service with excellent prices. Senior citizens and veterans benefit from our discounts. Call us today for all your appliance repair needs at 786-374-3877  

    Angi Certified

    Adams Heating & Cooling Inc

    Here at Adams Heating & Cooling, we believe in giving you the best quality product with the best quality service. Whether you're looking for a new furnace, repairs to that rattling AC, or ridding your air ducts of germs and debris, we've got you covered with cost-effective, energy-efficient solutions. Because we're family-owned and operated, Adams is dedicated to a different kind of doing business: Family thinking: We want to know how we can help you. Whether you're looking to repair or replace, a highly trained technician will talk with you about what you need for your home or office to find a real solution that lasts. Nothing short-term and nothing you don't need. Know what you're getting: At Adams, we want our customers to know exactly what they're buying. That's why we have an Education Room at our centrally located warehouse, where you can see and hear for yourself the difference our quality heating and cooling products will make. The service you deserve: Adams Heating & Cooling offers the best HVAC Services in the business. We offer service plans for a single visit, annual diagnostic, or seasonal, six-part inspections. We can tailor any plan to meet your needs and with our fully stocked warehouse and workshop, we can promise you'll never need to wait on a part. Peace of mind: Being part of a community means being there when your customers need you. That's why Adams has a 24-hour emergency line, so our customers know they can reach a real, live person, anytime, day or night.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Allied Heating

    We are Heating And cooling Experts. Our Mission Statement and Promise to you is, quality work and transparent service. We back our work with a satisfaction guarantee, to continue working until we know the project is safe, complete and to your liking. We also promise to treat your home and /or business as our own.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Ranges, microwaves, dishwashers, refrigerators, air conditioners, dehumidifiers, washers, dryers, patio heaters, grills, service bars, warming dryers, wine storage, unique, specialty appliances.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Earl B Feiden Appliance

    How is Earl B Feiden Appliance overall rated?

    Earl B Feiden Appliance is currently rated 3.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Earl B Feiden Appliance open?

    Earl B Feiden Appliance is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Earl B Feiden Appliance provide

    Earl B Feiden Appliance accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Earl B Feiden Appliance offer free estimates?

    Ask Earl B Feiden Appliance for details on free project estimates.

    Does Earl B Feiden Appliance offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Earl B Feiden Appliance offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Earl B Feiden Appliance offer a senior discount?

    No, Earl B Feiden Appliance does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Earl B Feiden Appliance?

    No, Earl B Feiden Appliance does not offer warranties.

    What services does Earl B Feiden Appliance offer?

    Earl B Feiden Appliance offers the following services: Ranges, microwaves, dishwashers, refrigerators, air conditioners, dehumidifiers, washers, dryers, patio heaters, grills, service bars, warming dryers, wine storage, unique, specialty appliances.