Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DH Ferrarone Company LLC

Founded 1985 • With Angi since June 2007

4.5

(166) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6039 Singletree Lane

Jamesville, NY 13078

Description

Owner operated. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/24/2020


Robert L.

Dave, came out many times and we came up with a plan and price. He scheduled a start date. Out of no where he sends an email saying he is not doing the job. Would not return calls after. Very unprofessional.

Description of Work
Chimney work

Category chimney repair

1.0

01/24/2018


Melissa F.

David walked through the house with me on December 18 and said that it would take him a few days to get a complete estimate together for the inside of the house. He quoted $500 to cover the stain in the kitchen, move a light fixture and hang a ceiling fan, hang the microwave, and caulk the upstairs tub. He came and did the work on Dec 22. I had to ask him to come back and fix the ceiling job because you could see where there was speckling that was not smoothed out as well as paint that was too smooth. He said that he thought it was done, and he would come back on Dec 23 to finish, and at that time we could talk about the rest of the repairs. When he came, he had nothing to say about the rest of the repairs. On January 2, I still had no estimate for the rest, so I asked him if he had a quote for the rest of the inside work. On January 3, he said that he would get back to me the following day. He did not. I texted him on the 3rd to let him know that the ceiling also still did not blend. Five days later, he got back to me saying that he had had the flu, and he would get back to me the next day on the 10th. He did not. He also said that he would be by on the 11th to fix the ceiling again, and he did not show up. I left my door open all day, expecting that he would be there to do the work and lock up on his way out, as he did the first time. He did not show up. On January 16 he finally got back to me with an estimate for work on the roof leak, the fence gate, stairway, hall at the top of the stairway, and mudroom tiles, saying that he had been waiting for the snow to melt!!! I responded that the snow had nothing to do with it, I had been waiting for an inside estimate, it had been two days short of a month since he had walked through the house and the estimate included less than half of the inside work. I also told him that I had left my home unlocked all day on the 11th because he said that he was coming to do work and was a no show. His response was that he was giving me a great deal on the work that he quoted, I had asked him for an estimate on everything inside and out (I have texts to prove this is not true), I should have told him if I was leaving my door open, and most contractors would tell me to go pound salt. I told him that I had no idea if he was giving me a good deal because after a month of working on the ceiling stain it still did not look right. Also, I left the door open because that's how we did it the first time, and it's my understanding that whether someone is going to be home or not, you should call if your plans need to change and you are not coming. He knows that I have a job, so I must have been leaving the house unlocked- unless I wasn't supposed to believe him that he was coming??? I asked him to just finish the ceiling that I had already paid him for. It looks almost good now- some globs of paint in one small area, I am thinking about scraping off with a knife. Anyway, if you think that I am crazy and a month is a reasonable amount of time to wait for a partial estimate, and people are entitled to keep saying that they are going to do things and not doing them, then give this guy a call.

Description of Work
ceiling stain repair, install ceiling fan, hang microwave, caulk around tub, resurface walls in the stairway and in one bedroom, repair a large hole in another bedroom wall, replace pipe section in basement, replace kitchen counter top, replace ceiling tiles in mud room, repair fence, build deck, repair leak where addition roof meets home exterior, replace and repair wood around home exterior

Category decks, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, deck cleaning, house painters, interior painters

4.0

08/31/2017


JOHN V.

A O K //// PRICE WAS A LITTLE HIGH FOR JOB DONE ///

Description of Work
CHIMNEY REPAIR AND ROOFING

Category roofing, chimney repair

1.0

07/05/2017


Catherine B.

Initially was prompt & professional for our chimney parging job. Sadly the parging began to crack 10 short days after completion. Called Dave and was assured it would be fixed. Many phone calls, and promises - no repairs made. Thought maybe they had gone out of business. Reconnected this year when we saw DH Ferrarone on Angie's List was promised by Dave that they would "make it right". Was told repairs would done by the end of May 2017. Sadly today is 7/5/17 and after we have left several unreturned voicemails- NO REPAIRS have been made. First bad review I have ever had to post- disappointed , really had faith that DH Ferrarone would stand by their word.

Description of Work
We hired DH Ferrarone Co several times for chimney cleaning- was great. Hired them to reparge chimney- sadly with terrible results.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair

5.0

05/03/2017


Anthony P.

Awesome! HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Always on time, friendly and professional. This is concrete professional you are looking for. David did an amazing job as always. This was the third concrete/stone job he has completed at our home.

Description of Work
Multiple locations of cinderblock needed repair due to water damage

Category concrete repair

5.0

03/27/2017


Fred P.

Excellent response,. Professional results. Fair pricing

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

1.0

03/18/2017


Christopher B.

My wife and I contracted DH Ferrarone to do some foundation work on a house in Syracuse we had put on the market. David was very pleasant, and quickly put together a thorough estimate, so we put down a $2000 deposit and were told the work would start on a Monday. On the preceding Friday, we received an offer on the house and a request that no work be done. We called David and found that he was already at the house preparing to begin work, and that he had already ordered supplies. We found it odd that he would start ahead of schedule without warning us, but didn't really have a problem with it. We asked him not to do any work and offered to reimburse the supplies he had already ordered (and leave them to him). Since the contract did not say that the deposit was nonrefundable, he could simply deduct the supplies and send us the rest of our deposit back. He agreed this was fair and said he'd refund us the difference. At this point, we had a very positive impression of the company - David had been responsive and pleasant every time. After a couple of weeks without hearing from him, on November 1st 2016, I emailed to ask what the status was. He asked for my postal address so he could mail a check, and I sent him my address the same day. Two more weeks went by without any word, so I emailed again. No response. Called and left voicemail. No response. This went on for several weeks - I would attempt to communicate and get nothing but silence in return. In early December, I sent an email. Here is its exact content: "I've called and emailed several times about this and haven't heard back from you. We found you on Angie's List and contacted you because you had such great ratings. I really don't want to leave a negative review, but it's getting hard not to. You asked for my address on November 1st to send us a check, and I provided it the same day. Could you please confirm that you intend to send the check and tell us when to expect it?" After a couple more days, I called one more time in the hopes of reconciling things. David answered and proceeded to become upset, telling me I'd threatened him, that I needed to "relax," and that he had only just received the invoice from his supplier, so he could only now determine what refund we were owed and send us a check. I remained calm and professional, apologized for upsetting him, but told him I'd found the lack of communication worrying and that I didn't want to leave a bad review and would much rather resolve the situation. He told me the check would arrive before Christmas. No check has arrived. It's now the middle of March. I have sent emails at least twice and called many, many times. I always go to voicemail, I always leave a professional and courteous message, and I never get my calls returned. I've offered to have someone come pick up the check so that he wouldn't even have to mail it. I even had a relative call him five times, in case he's blocked my number. None of those calls were answered. The cost in both money and time of pursuing this legally in small claims court is not worth it, but I have no choice but to leave this review. I don't expect to ever receive the money I'm owed, but I want to make sure that no one else does business with this company without knowing what they're getting into. We have no idea what happened, but DH Ferrarone is clearly no longer a reliable contractor, and we lost two thousand dollars to find this out. We cannot recommend them to anyone else for any reason.

Description of Work
Repair crack in foundation and fix garage floor to eliminate pressure and reduce foundation bowing.

Category foundation repair

2.0

02/18/2017


Ryan R.

Did come out to inspect the work to be asset but never followed up after two weeks nothing. I called and left a voicemail to call me with a est and a week goes by and nothing back. Very unprofessional

Description of Work
In law addition foundation pushed in from water retained

Category foundation repair

4.0

12/12/2016


Eleanor P.

He corrected the problem, but was expensive. I'm not sure if someone else would have charged as much, but I was able to have a fire that night.

Description of Work
I had typed in "chimney sweep" and this company came up. Come to find out, he is a contractor, NOT a CS. Please adjust your information! On another note, he did correct the problem. The wood insert didn't need to be cleaned and he diagnosed the problem AND was able to fix it. So I did like him and am glad he came.

Category landscaping

1.0

11/08/2016


dawn H.

never showed to do work never called

Description of Work
flashing on chimney repaired

Category chimney repair

5.0

10/07/2016


Andrew W.

They were very eager to please. Dave is a very flexible, helpful guy. These guys have a great reputation for a reason. There were several issues not related to the foundation that Dave agreed to do on the fly after he was already here doing the foundation work. He was able to come up with some really creative, inexpensive solutions for issues that I thought were going to be costly.

Description of Work
It started out as just a foundation repair (fixing cracks and deteriorating foundation). We had several other things that needed to get done that Dave and his crew did in addition. They ended up doing some gutter, and carpentry repairs in addition.

Category decks, gutter repair, handyman service, masonry, woodworking, foundation repair

1.0

09/08/2016


Caroline S.

After reading the reviews for this company, it sounded like when they actually show up, people are pleased with the work. I contacted this company over six months ago, didn't hear back, and let it slide. Called again a couple of weeks ago, and sent an email as well. On my third call, they guy picked up, and set an appointment to give me a bid to rip out an existing garage floor and replace it with concrete. I took off of work to meet him here, and no one showed up. How unprofessional and disrespectful is that!? I contacted another contractor who came out the SAME DAY and started work the very next day. Head over to John Burgen at Pioneer Masonry if you want someone who is professional to work with you!

Description of Work
Garage floor replacement

Category concrete repair

5.0

08/31/2016


Zach S.

David came out and did an estimate within a day. He noted the holes and missing block due to erosion ( gutters matter). His crew arrived the next week and hand dug trenches along the block, pinned and cored the holes and parged the entire length of wall on both sides of the garage. They even removed and then replaced the stone walkways that were alongside the foundation, after they tamped the fill back in. The crew was professional, courteous and and worked diligently to compete the task.

Description of Work
Repair block wall foundation of attached garage.

Category concrete repair, masonry, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

1.0

07/18/2016


Robin K.

He never did the work. He came by to look at the job, and I I waited a week for him to contact me with an estimate, but he never did. I tried calling him a few times, but he did not return my calls.

Description of Work
chimney repair

Category chimney repair

5.0

06/12/2016


Chuck J.

If I could give higher scores than an A I would. Everything was done above and beyond expectations in a pleasant and responsive manner. He volunteered to call the Stickley historian to come view the house. He offered names of real estate agents. My wife called him a God-send.

Description of Work
Get house ready to sell. Stucco repair, porch repair, fix broken windows, cleaned basement, attic, other rooms as needed, removed overgrown vines, installed new toilets. Whatever we asked and was needed. Moved contents of house to apartment and storage. Took junk to wherever junk goes.

Category decks, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, handyman service, landscaping, replacement windows, stucco, house painters

5.0

09/29/2015


LANCE H.

Dave accessed the problem with the foundation wall and then explained what needed to be done in terms we could easily understand. He provided a written contract with agreed upon work to be done, the time needed to do the job and the cost. The job started and finished as agreed. The job site was cleaned up every nite and at job completion it looked like they were never even here...Nice! As the wall was being completed I asked Dave if he could do something about the unlevel dinning room floor and the dusty unusable basement floor. Shortly, after we talked, the dinning room floor was level...Wow! Dave said he would come up with a plan to address the basement floor problem. Next day he explained the plan to us. We agreed with the plan and the price. Dave and his crew did an excellent job and we now have a useable basement floor for our laundry room. We are very happy with the work performed. I highly recommend Dave and his crew: Bill and Dexter, for any foundation work.

Description of Work
Repair and rebuild rear foundation wall.

Category chimney repair

1.0

08/06/2015


Carrie G.

I was so disappointed given his rave reviews. He didn't show up for the estimate and did not call. I called back several weeks later and he said he couldn't find my address on his phone map. I spelled out my street name. Tons of people find my address using their phones. He didn't show up for his second appointment. So disappointed.

Description of Work
Called and asked for an estimate to repair my concrete front step.

Category concrete repair

5.0

07/21/2015


Sharon R L.

David was very thorough during estimate, asking questions and giving advice about many areas of concern after foundation was damaged by many years of water issues. He prioritized items that were most important. Workers were prompt and friendly, even careful with my two young children around the house, sharing ice cream with them during a lunch break. David took pictures took the chimney so I could see what was being done close up. Job looks good and site was cleaned up throughly, including a repair of an accidentally broken window without a complaint. We'd definitely use again.

Description of Work
Foundation repair, chimney repair, new garage floor, basement water control and repair, yard drainage

Category chimney repair

4.0

07/02/2015


Bill N.

Everything went smoothly, though it times it was hard to get ahold of him.

Description of Work
The brick work on the crown of the chimney was a mess, so he replaced the bricks with a new concrete top, and painted and tarred everything. Looks great.

Category concrete repair, masonry, chimney repair

2.0

06/20/2015


Kate C.

Dave is a kind person and likely does a great job with basic repairs. The expertise needed for my projects were not his specialty. Stucco is difficult and, although he brought in another to work with him, the repair (on my very old home) is not holding up very well. I needed to be informed that (possibly) an entire section of wall should have been replaced instead of patched. Clearly there had been water damage and, not being a pro myself, I assumed (wrongly) that the section below the window, including the wooden frame would be enough. Now I have a bulge inside my wall from moisture or water seepage. Even before they left, I had to remind them of the original gap that had broken away on the front of the house. Patched, but shoddily. Driveway expansion seemed to go well, as he brought in young guys to dig out the grass, then spread gravel on the sides, as requested. For some strange reason they then spread grass seed on top of the gravel...defeating the whole purpose. They returned and sprayed to kill the grass, yet seasons later it still sprouts. Darn it, Dave, I wanted to give you a great review, yet know that more basic jobs are likely your forte'. You were polite and apologetic when things went downhill. I have a tough house!

Description of Work
Stucco repair, window rot, expand driveway.

Category landscaping, replacement windows, basement waterproofing, chimney repair, stucco

2.0

05/18/2015


Bessie T.

Never got response, no work done.

Description of Work
Came out and gave a verbal estimate. He was on time, friendly, professional, said he would email me a written estimate by the end of the week. Its been since 5/6/15 and no response from him. I sent an email to him the following week followed by a phone call a couple of days letter. No response to either. I have moved on to someone else.

Category foundation repair

5.0

04/26/2015


Kathryn R.

Dave and his colleagues' excellent work speaks for itself. He went above and beyond what was expected, patching up a few areas on our steps that weren't even outlined in the work order. He expertly repaired a damaged cabinet and wall in our kitchen, removing any evidence of a prior problem. He also re-framed a door that had more than a 1/4 of an inch gap between the door and the frame, which we both thought would be tough to complete without a full overhaul (and maybe even a new door). Again, unless you knew previous to the fact, there was no evidence of a problem once Dave was done. The price was fair and the work was done quickly. I will recommend Dave to anyone in the CNY area without hesitation. He's also one of the nicest people, not just contractors, I've come across.

Description of Work
Mason work on steps and landing, fixed kitchen cabinet, re-framed a previously poorly installed door (not done by his company).

Category drywall, chimney repair, woodworking, doors

5.0

04/03/2015


maurice M.

Excellent did exactly as he said and on time

Description of Work
Shored up property next to sea wall.

Category chimney repair

5.0

12/18/2014


thomas j S.

Gave me the cost and did the necessary work. Since he was working at a height (240 laws) I confirmed he carried comp insurance. He used mountain climbing type equipment since he was at heights for safety. Completed work in a timely and neat manner. Five years later and there are no problems.

Description of Work
Repaired top of chimney which cracks in and loosening of bricks.

Category drywall, chimney repair

1.0

10/20/2014


Jerry A.

Good luck.Provider made an appointment with me to survey my roof and give me a cost estimate for a fireplace chimney flashing repair. I took time off from work, and waited and waited. He never showed up and never called me. I called several times, and just got his voice mail. Never heard from him again. Good luck.

Description of Work
Scheduled an appointment with me.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

    Other local Pros in your area

    Reyes Interior Painting

    At Reyes Painting. Our mission is simple, to provide high-quality services for our valued clients. Our goal is the satisfaction of the client in each project.  

    Emerald City Window Cleaning

    Our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service in the industry. At Emerald City Window Cleaning we are focused on providing quality services with the highest levels of customer satisfaction – we will do everything we can to meet your expectations. With a variety of offerings to choose from, we’re sure you’ll be happy working with us. We offer window cleaning, gutter cleaning, gutter brightening, vinyl siding washing, and solar panel cleaning services. We are a firefighter, family, and locally owned, Syracuse based company. You can always trust that you'll get a professional, experienced, and friendly person when you call us.  

    Revs Power Washing

    I specialize in power washing sidewalks, driveways, decks, and house siding. I also clean gutters, removing all debris that build up in them. I am an army veteran so I support the military with military discounts. Estimates vary depending on size and how much you want cleaned. For additional information, please reach me anytime at 315-506-8157  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    General contractor services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DH Ferrarone Company LLC

    How is DH Ferrarone Company LLC overall rated?

    DH Ferrarone Company LLC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are DH Ferrarone Company LLC open?

    DH Ferrarone Company LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does DH Ferrarone Company LLC provide

    DH Ferrarone Company LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does DH Ferrarone Company LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, DH Ferrarone Company LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does DH Ferrarone Company LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, DH Ferrarone Company LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DH Ferrarone Company LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, DH Ferrarone Company LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does DH Ferrarone Company LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, DH Ferrarone Company LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by DH Ferrarone Company LLC?

    Yes, DH Ferrarone Company LLC offers warranties.

    What services does DH Ferrarone Company LLC offer?

    DH Ferrarone Company LLC offers the following services: General contractor services