Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Deck and patio Company

Founded 1992 • With Angi since March 2006

3.7

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

189 Broadway

Huntington Station, NY 11746

Description

Decks, Brick Paving Stone Patios, Waterfalls, Ponds, Swimming Pools, Spas, Long Island Landscaping ~ Beautiful Outdoor Living ~ Beautiful outdoor living can now be yours by opening the doors of your home to a wonderland of beauty. The Deck and Patio Company has been providing such pleasure for the last 20 years throughout Long Island and surrounding areas. Deck and Patio’s own designers, builders and installers insure quality workmanship in transforming your home into a private resort. We have won Local, Regional, National and International_Awards, from the National Pool and Spa Institute NPSI, the Northeastern Spa and Pool Association, and the Interlocking Concrete Paving Institute among others. These awards were earned for work on Long Island pool areas, decks, patios, landscaping, including ponds and waterfalls, for the overall transformation of a home. From start to finish, the Deck and Patio Company uses its own artisans, designers, project managers to oversee each installation in order to ensure your wishes are met....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

07/06/2020


A G.

These people are nice when you first meet them but getting them to perform what was contracted is quite another story. I call the office and Linda will tell me that Dave will call you back... Never happens. I'm waiting since April for irrigation issues to be fixed. The pots I have in which they were supposed to ant flowers are only half done.. And that's because I personally purchased some flowers and they planted those. They said their super was out of flowers!! Can you believe that?? Every nursery I've been to is loaded with stuff. The irrigation is half fixed and that's because I called several times a week--but the overall work where they come and check your system and fix what's broken, set the timers, etc has yet to be done despite weekly calls and emails asking when they'll be here for that. They do a good job cutting the lawn, but that's something you can get anywhere. The real upkeep is something they haven't bothered with yet. STAY AWAY!!!

Description of Work
Maintenance on landscaping and irrigation

Category landscaping

5.0

08/28/2017


david L.

They were terrific. Quality was super, and these guys really cared. Deck looks great and they helped us figure it all out. Also, and this really is important, they understand more than just carpentry--they know how to work with drainage and other landscape issues that a deck can affect--and that was important to us.

Description of Work
Dave and Parker designed and installed a new Timbertech deck with Trex railings.

Category decks

1.0

08/31/2016


Reed F.

To begin, we have never taken the time to write a negative review on any business until now. The frustration, deceit and unprofessionalism that we experienced working with the owners of Deck and Patio pushed us to the point that we felt we needed to warn others. About 3 1/2 years ago we hired Deck and Patio to design and install the ponds. The design and finished product did look good in the beginning. Unfortunately, that was the only pleasure we had with our dealings with this company. To start, we spent about $220000 on the design, ponds and equipment, which was more expensive than competitors, but we were sold on the premise that they called themselves "outdoor living experts" In the short period of time after completion, we experienced that the pumps that were installed were inadequate to operate and support the pond system They would constantly shut off, causing algae formation, and there were bubbles constantly forming in the vanishing edge pond. We were told at that time that the neighbors must be coming over and shutting down the pumps. We had leaks around the ponds and the pumps were suppose to have variable speeds, but this too never worked. These issues continued and got progressively worse. Most recently, the noise level from the ponds were so loud that the neighbors started to complain. There were attempts to repair the issues, however, without success. Weeks would go by, where we would leave emails, texts, and phone calls without any replies. The most recent issue was that the pumps were shutting down because they were tripping the circuit breakers. At our expense, an electrician replaced the breakers but that was not the problem, as they continued to trip. He told us that the pumps were not working properly and they were overheating and tripping the breakers. I alerted the company yet again, and did not hear from them for four weeks. When they finally responded, they told us that the pumps were not working because we were not using their weekly maintenance program. We are still wondering how that would have relieved the pump problem. But these are the type of answers we would get. They also suggested that we replace the pumps at our expense. The owner told us that he would charge us what he pays for the pumps. After another 2 weeks, he told me that the pumps would cost $1479 a piece and that he would put them in at no charge. We found the pumps on Amazon for $850 each. He would have made another $1300 on us had we purchased them through him. Weeks went by and we still to date have never heard from them. We felt that they should have at least split the cost of the pumps with us. After not hearing from them again, we decided to purchase the pumps and had another reliable company install them , and all is working well now. The bubbles are gone, and the pumps are running smoothly. Although a simple fix, if the pumps installed from the beginning were adequate, our summers would have been enjoyable. Bottom line is that they are the type of company that once they have your money, they want nothing to do with any issues. They do not communicate, have little integrity, do not stand behind their work and really are far from experts.

Description of Work
The project consisted of installing 2 ponds and accompanying rock landscaping . One pond was a vanishing edge pond leading to the Long island Sound and the other larger pond was to be a useable pond for koi or even the ability to relax in.

Category pool cleaners,hardscaping

1.0

01/25/2016


Marilyn W.

RUN.....do NOT do business with this company unless you are looking for an unprofessional/unreliable company to throw your money to. Very expensive - waited 30 hours for them to show up for snow removal, one excuse after the other. Never showed and left us stranded after the blizzard - never called. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Description of Work
I had a contract with this company that they were supposed to shovel the snow

Category snow removal

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We understand you are upset, but you should at least start with the truth. The truth is your neighbor parked 2 cars in the end of your driveway preventing us from plowing your driveway at 10:03 pm Sunday night. We did notify you at that time by text and you did not respond. This unfortunate situation was not cause by you or us, but you are placing all of the blame on us. Both Dave and Bill tried by phone to speak with you but you just yelled and cursed and then hung up. When we called back you did not answer, we left you a message apologizing for not being able to service your driveway and offered solutions but no response.We told you we would refund all of your money and we did.. We are in constant contact with our customers by email text and sometime phone (limited because our staff is not in the office during blizzard conditions). This particular storm was the 3rd largest on record for [Member Information Removed] and plowing was challenging to say the least. Our goal is always 100% customer satisfaction, we are sorry you are unhappy, we hope you can find it in your heart to forgive us for not being able to satisfy you. We would ask for you to call our office and speak to Dave Stockwell or Bill Renter to see if there is anything we could do to make up for this unfortunate situation. Office is 631 549-8100 or email office@deckandpatio.com
4.0

07/23/2014


Raul G.

They're very good. I liked the good reviews that I read on Angie's List. The guy came and he was very nice. The bid was for $26000.

Description of Work
We had a quote with Deck and Patio Company.

Category decks,deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review.
5.0

07/09/2014


Stanley W.

Went well. Team was punctual, delivered on commitments as discussed. Quality of workmanship is high. Price is commensurate. Appears that deck was being installed using a new power tool, that might have been experimental. I have had no problems as yet, however, summer season has just started. I would recommend this deck contractor. Price is hefty, but ultimately quality high and promises are kept.

Description of Work
Removed old deck and installed new Trex deck, approximately 800 square feet.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your review. If you need anything now or in the future let us know. You were a pleasure to work for. Bill 631 549-8100
1.0

12/19/2012


Steven G.

I had a bad experience with them and we had a lot of problems. They graded our lawn and we had water coming at the house. Obviously after you re-grade you want the land to slope away from the house. They sloped the land towards the house and put in drains. It was a big mess. The retaining wall they put in is already gone. We already had it tore out and replaced because it was failing. I think they do good work but part of the problem is they do a lot of big, high end jobs and our piddle job was something they just kind of blew off. The last day they were out they gathered everything up and left. There was a lot of work to be done still and I kept calling. I had to pay almost another $8,000 or $9,000 to take down the wall and put it up properly. This was not a huge wall it was just done wrong, it was leaning forward. I kept calling them and they would say it was find and would last a hundred years. From the get go he showed us everything on the computer and it was great. Then when they started working, it turned out to not be what we decided on. They crew didn't know about the plans or anything and they barely spoke English. Thankfully I was home so I could tell them what was needed. We went with them even though they were more expensive because we wanted it done right. As soon as the check cleared, I could not get a hold of this guy.

Description of Work
I did use Deck and Patio Company about six or seven years ago. We had a big landscaping job with a retaining walls and re-did the whole back yard.

Category landscaping,masonry,hardscaping

5.0

09/05/2012


Beth S.

They were very patient, responsive and professional. They listened to what we said was important to us and it was reflected in their actions. They used quality materials from the start. A few little glitches at the end - were fixed properly and immediately. A pleasure to work with and I can say 3+ years later - Our pool area and waterfall is beautiful, we LOVE it and would use them again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
renovated our pool and deck area. Built a waterfall that flows directly into pool. Landscaping to compliment the hardscape.

Category decks,landscaping,pool cleaners

5.0

07/03/2012


Anthony F.

They were phenomenal. They actually worked wonderfully with True Blue to make sure the project was done timely and within budget. It was incredible work that went into this deck. We had delicate tiles installed as well, so there was lots of work that went into the deck. They were terrific to work with.

Description of Work
I used Deck & Patio Co to install a deck.

Category decks,woodworking

4.0

04/30/2011


Tom M.

The overall quality of the work was good. I am currently working out on some issues that I had with them directly. I would use their service in the future too.

Description of Work
I used Deck & Patio Co service for a deck. I last used their service in November.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Milestone Restoration & Roofing Inc

    A BBB ACCREDITED COMPANY Milestone Restoration Inc specializes in Masonry Restoration, Brick Pointing, Brick Restoration, Cement stucco ,Flat Roofing Installations & Repair, Slate Roofing Repairs, and work related to Hanging Scaffolding and Pipe Scaffolding Services. With good reputation and over 30 years combined experience, we know how to give homes and businesses that "like-new" appearance while ensuring your Safety. Our basic categories include: brick tuck pointing, brick siding, scaffolding work , natural slate roofs,and flat roofs (our specialty). We don't use sub contractors because we like to monitor and complete all projects ourselves. DCA License #1405707 Exp. 02/28/2023 2014 Angie's List Super Service Award Winner - 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 2018 and 2019  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    ERIC JANSSEN MASONRY CONTRACTOR LLC

    Eric Janssen Masonry is a classic small business, owner operated and with one long term employee. Eric specializes in the small jobs and repairs that other companies don't. You will be working with Eric from start to finish. He is present on the job site during all phases of job, from initial estimate to clean up. Most of our company's work is obtained by recommendation or referral only.  

    Long Hill Masonry Corp

    **We have now expanded our Foundation Services**Long Hill Masonry has been providing a tradition of expert craftsmanship, quality and service for over 30 years. The company is owned and operated by Joseph Tavella, who himself comes from generations of masons. It is our goal to achieve the highest standard of quality in every project. We guarantee our workmanship for one full year, and most projects are payable upon completion of job take a look at our website at www.longhillmasonry.com  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    DECKS, PATIOS, POOLS, SPAS, PONDS, WATERFALLS, NATURAL WOOD DECKING, MANUFACTURED DECK MATERIALS, TREX DECKING, ADVANTAGES OF TREX COMPOSITE DECKING, CEDAR DECKING, IRON WOODS DECKING, OUTDOOR KITCHENS, PAVING STONES, PATIOS, DRIVEWAYS, SWIMMING POOLS, SPAS SURROUNDS, PONDS, WATERFALLS, RAINWATER HARVESTING SYSTEMS

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Deck and patio Company

    How is Deck and patio Company overall rated?

    Deck and patio Company is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Deck and patio Company open?

    Deck and patio Company is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Deck and patio Company provide

    Deck and patio Company accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal

    Does Deck and patio Company offer free estimates?

    No, Deck and patio Company does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Deck and patio Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Deck and patio Company offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Deck and patio Company offer emergency services?

    Yes, Deck and patio Company offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Deck and patio Company?

    Yes, Deck and patio Company offers warranties.

    What services does Deck and patio Company offer?

    Deck and patio Company offers the following services: DECKS, PATIOS, POOLS, SPAS, PONDS, WATERFALLS, NATURAL WOOD DECKING, MANUFACTURED DECK MATERIALS, TREX DECKING, ADVANTAGES OF TREX COMPOSITE DECKING, CEDAR DECKING, IRON WOODS DECKING, OUTDOOR KITCHENS, PAVING STONES, PATIOS, DRIVEWAYS, SWIMMING POOLS, SPAS SURROUNDS, PONDS, WATERFALLS, RAINWATER HARVESTING SYSTEMS