DM Contracting & Restoration Inc

About

Founded 2008 • With Angi since August 2013

DM Contracting & Restoration specializes in residential and commercial masonry, in addition to home remodeling, renovation and repair services. Our team of experienced professionals, personally supervised by the owner's on every project, are dedicated to providing our clients with the highest standards of service and beautiful results. We have grown steadily as a result of our excellent reputation and the referrals of our satisfied customers....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+11 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(73) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

68

4

2

3

1

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (23)drywall (23)concrete repair (19)masonry (18)tile installation (14)basement remodeling (9)hardscaping (7)plastering (7)decks & porches (7)countertop installation (7)marble & granite (6)concrete driveways (6)
Showing 1-25 of 73 reviews
5.0

11/22/2021


Jamie S.

I will start out by saying I interviewed 12 contractors for this job. Working with Danny was easy from the very start. Not only did he give me a fair bid, he was also very helpful with directing me to cabinet, countertop, and tile suppliers who had wonderful prices. His guys showed up every single day and worked quickly and efficiently. Danny was always available to answer any questions or discuss making corrections as well. I would definitely use him again and I have already referred him to friends!

Description of Work
Kitchen and bathroom gut renovated

Category home remodeling

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2021

5.0

11/03/2021


Brian W.

I did extensive research on an honest well priced contractor in my area. I found Danny along with a few other contractors. After receiving a fee price quotes my wife and I decided to go with Danny. We made a great decision. He was very detailed and gave us full description on the scope of work to be done. His team fully changed my old kitchen to a wonderful modern one. His workers were polite and proffesional throughout the project. The price was very fair and the project came out great. I would use again and highly recommend. Please email if you would like to see pictures.

Description of Work
Full Kitchen renovation

Category ceramic tile, countertops, home remodeling

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2021

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 39530724

+3 More

5.0

10/31/2021


William R.

We were looking to have an upstairs bathroom redone in our home. After doing our homework and interviewing several contractors and getting estimates, and still not feeling comfortable choosing the right contractor, we finally came across Danny from DM Contracting & Restoration, Inc. Danny came to our home and gave us an estimate, thoroughly explaining all the details pertaining to the job, costs, and timeline. We immediately felt we could trust Danny, call it instinct, but we felt comfortable with Danny and after speaking with him felt that he was the right contractor to do the job. He had excellent credentials, he was licensed, and he and his crew had excellent reviews. We can say with all honesty that the crew from D & M were excellent, hard-working talented craftsmen that are a rare find in today’s climate. They never stopped working for a minute and were on time each day and even worked longer than planned some days. Their work was far beyond our highest expectations and we couldn’t have been happier with the beautiful remodeling of our bathroom. The workers from D & M were respectful, honest, neat, and skillful beyond words. We were so happy with the bathroom remodeling that we decided to have Danny and his crew put pavers in our backyard. Of course, we had the same excellent outcome when the pavers were completed by the crew – perfect job and another beautiful addition to our home! At that point, we decided to have Danny and his crew replace all the hardwood floors on the first floor in our home. That was another perfect job – no more squeaks when we walked on the floors and it completed transformed the look of our home! DM Contracting pulled up the old floors and did it the right way instead of just putting the new wood over the old floors. They do not take shortcuts but will always remodel your home with skill and precision so that you get many years of wear and lasting enjoyment. We are going to have Danny and his crew come back in the spring to put all new wood flooring on the second floor of the house, as that is how much we liked the results of the job they did on the first floor! DM Contracting & Restoration, Inc.'s prices are very fair if you are working on a budget and you are certainly getting quality at the same time. We highly recommend Danny and his crew to do your remodeling job if you are looking for a high-quality remodeling job done by a high-quality contracting firm who are licensed and honest. Danny follows all the codes and does not cut corners and we were extremely happy with the performance of this great contracting company and would highly recommend them for all your remodeling projects. This was truly a worry-free experience, and the job was started and completed on the timeline stated by Danny. When hiring a contractor in the future we will always use this reputable company. We can't thank Danny and his crew enough for the excellent renovations on our home!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling, Concrete Pavers, New Wood Floor Installation

Category remodeling, home remodeling, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2021

5.0

11/10/2020


BOB & CLARE K.

Very well. Contractor performed good quality workmanship in a timely manner, to accommodate our schedule. Looks great, and they cleaned up the area well.

Description of Work
Remove and replace existing cement patio, steps and railing. Repair brickwork and install drains

Category concrete repair, decks, masonry, patios

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2020

5.0

11/09/2020


Maggie F.

Danny and his crew were fantastic!! The reno included removing walls to add insulation, gutting the kitchen and existing bath, adding a new bathroom, installing new cabinets/appliances, painting the whole house, install a new entry door and new flooring. Danny was easy to talk to and whenever a problem arose, Danny was able to resolve it using his years of experience. The quality people he works with are top-notch. Danny was reassuring and very patient, understanding that this was our first major reno. Throughout the project he kept us well-informed and even sent us pictures. We found his upfront pricing fair with no gimmicks. We are very pleased with the work done by DM Contracting and will surely use them again for future projects.

Description of Work
Full house renovation

Category remodeling, basement waterproofing

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2020

5.0

10/16/2020


Thomas M.

This is the second project we've hired DM Contracting & Restoration Inc for and it won't be our last. We feel very fortunate to finally have found a company we can trust and get the results we envisioned. For this project, we combined two apartments into one, which required a kitchen removal, a door installation (to create a bedroom), and removal of the doors/walls leading to each individual apartment. Danny and his crew carefully worked with us, troubleshooting as we went, and when we changed the scope of the project based on things we found during the demolition - didn't miss a beat. Danny was more than willing to help us make our entryway even better than we envisioned initially. I don't hesitate to recommend this company.

Description of Work
Interior door and wall removal, Kitchen removal, Tile repair

Category remodeling

Cost $9,660

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2020

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 38954652
5.0

09/02/2020


Peter C.

I have a rental property in Rockaway that I’ve been managing for the past 20 years. Unfortunately for me, one of the exteriors walls of the brick house was bowing and in danger of collapsing, so I had to have the entire wall - measuring 60 feet by over 20 feet - replaced. It was a big job so I met with a lot of contractors to scope out the project. I was impressed with Danny from DM Contracting from the start and I’m happy I went with DM for the job. I can tell you that the new wall looks great and it was a pleasure dealing with Danny and the rest of the DM team over a number of months to get the job completed, even with all the extra NYC measures for Covid 19. Danny and his team at DM are definitely 5 star contractors. Everyone in Rockaway should be using them for their brick/cement work. He’s a real professional and does great work with attention to detail. He was always reasonable with add-ons and more than fair in the pricing as well.

Description of Work
Replacement of Exterior Brick Wall

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

5.0

06/25/2020


Tera G.

Very well. The contractor is timely, responsive, within budget. Work was neat, tidy, and cleaned up nicely at the end.

Description of Work
Removal of second floor fence and deck covering roof, replacement of roof, re-installation of deck and fence. Interior drywall repair due to previous roof leak.

Category decks, drywall, fencing, roofing

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2020

5.0

12/08/2019


Eric S.

We had a dirt backyard where we had a semi inground pool installed and needed to refinish the entire yard (approx 1000sqft) in pavers to prevent the muddy mess the kids' were making. We also decided it was time to replace the 100 year old cracked concrete "strip"/dirt combo driveway (approx 1000sqft) and the crooked concrete steps and finish it with a matching paver walkway (approx 120sqft). After doing a ton of research on Angie's List, Yelp, Google reviews, Houzz etc and getting an idea of what a fair price would be for this type of job, I called several contractors to come in person and give me written estimates. Danny and Marie Carr of DM Contracting were by far the easiest to communicate with and the most accommodating to some unique aspects of my job (pain in the *** neighbors, narrow streets, alternate side, tenants with a newborn). While we had a general idea of what we wanted there were many details that we hadn't thought about and Danny had the solutions rather easily after seeing the property in person. He also seemed to foresee some potential issues and was experienced enough to ask us questions before the work began. This big project took approx two months to complete but it was weather dependent and I never felt like my job was being neglected. Danny regularly communicated with us to let us know what was happening next and checked up on what had already been done. His crew assigned to my job varied in size depending on the day's work but all of the men were professionals and a special thanks to Osman and Jose who definitely did the lion's share of the job. Due to personal circumstances I was home during the entire project but felt completely comfortable leaving the men to do their work without having to supervise them and quite often I left them unattended with access to the interior of my house and I never worried about any shenanigans going on. The work was completed as per our written agreement with no hidden costs and Danny even went above and beyond the written contract to do and finish the job right when some issues arose after the work started. Of all the estimates, Danny's wasn't the most expensive or the cheapest. It was completely fair based on my prior research and expectations. Again communication and honesty can go a long way. Now, also importantly, did the job go perfectly? No. Workers are human and mistakes are made but I felt comfortable enough to point them out to Danny and without denial or deflecting blame just had the mistakes corrected. That's service. An example was a couple of badly stained pavers were installed on the cement base which looked completely out of place. I pointed them out and Danny had the pavers chipped out and new ones installed. No drama. My property has been completely transformed from one of the smaller ignored houses on the block to one of the most admired. Neighbors who wouldn't even say hello before now stop me to talk about the hardscaping, design and contractor. Weird. I highly recommend DM Contracting and Restoration and feel like I definitely got great value for my money. I look forward to other future projects with Danny, Marie and their crew. Don't hesitate, call them.

Description of Work
Paver backyard & front walkway, new steps, new concrete/paver driveway

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping

Cost $53,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2019

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 38274484

+5 More

5.0

10/04/2019


Felice S.

Dan was a pleasure to work with. His workers were pleasant and efficient. They always arrived on time and left the site clean. They built a beautiful patio with bluestone steps leading up from the backyard. They broke through a wall and put in sliding glass doors. The railings are beautiful. They added lighting and did painting and plastering inside the guestroom. It was a big project and Dan made sure that every detail was perfect. He promptly relied to all of my questions, no matter how trivial. I am so pleased with how beautiful everything is.

Description of Work
Dan and his workers did a beautiful job building a porch from our house into the backyard.

Category concrete repair, decks, fencing, remodeling, replacement windows, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 38155479

+5 More

5.0

07/19/2019


Miriam S.

This is the second project we've done with Danny. The first was an outside job of brick fencing around our property. This one was inside work which included our living room, dining room, staircase hallway, second floor landing, and both entrance ways. It involved replacing the sheet rock throughout, painting, and the replacement of a window. We are very happy with the result and would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Sheet rock replacement, painting, window replacement

Category drywall, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2018

5.0

05/26/2019


Dan C.

This company was the best. Very patient and cooperative as well as fair. Never had any problems communicating with any of them and Danny was great to work with. He is clear, concise and never has any surprises which you don’t get from most contractors. He kept me in the loop of everything and planned things very well and always made sure to run it by me to ensure satisfaction and that to me was what a great contractor does. I would recommend these guys for anything because of their professionalism, level of detail and great all around level of work they can do.They will never steer you wrong and treat you like family. Thanks Danny and Marie and crew for being so accommodating to our needs and following through on every aspect of this project. I will definitely consider you guys for future projects.

Description of Work
Insulation and drywall for two floors with extra careful details.

Category drywall

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2019

5.0

05/23/2019


Odette R.

We had a great experience with Danny and crew who was professional and very pleasant to work with. They started and finished the job on schedule. Was reliable and responsive. The finish work is exceptional. We are very happy and impressed with the level of detail. Everything turned out as planned. We now have a beautiful bathroom.

Description of Work
5x4 Bathroom renovation

Category home remodeling

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2019

5.0

05/21/2019


L M.

Completely happy. From calling for an estimate to completion of project, all was made easy by DM Contracting & Restoration. Responsive, professional and knowledgeable, what was promised was delivered. Dan is generous with his time and answered all questions easily. The company’s Super Service Award on Angie’s List is well deserved . I would recommend to family and friends.

Description of Work
Concrete Work

Category concrete repair, remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2019

5.0

05/07/2019


Mohendra I.

My review is way overdue since they did some outdoor work for me about a year ago. Now that the weather is warming up again I can enjoy DM Contracting's work. 1st off, they are a very professional family company and are a real pleasure to work with. The team of workers I had at my house were smart, efficient, and hardworking. One of my neighbors even hired DM after seeing the work, but the nice thing was, they kept focused on my job until completion instead of getting distracted by the other job. Would be happy to work with DM again in the future.

Description of Work
Garage floor, pavers in patio, and rebuilt step

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, masonry, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2018

5.0

05/01/2019


ruby W.

All of our friends who worked with contractors couldn't recommend one to us because of negative experiences. We met with nine contractors before deciding on DM Contracting (and they were the ninth). From the start Danny took his time, asked the right questions, always explained exactly what would be done and was helpful with suggestions. Their quote was in the mid-range of the nine we received. After he gave us a quote, I asked if Danny could give us some examples of additional costs that may come up during the renovation. He said "The price is the price. Unless you decide down the line to change something major, like taking down a wall, the price won't change." They definitely kept their word on that. A number of things came up during renovation outside of DM's control, and they went out of their way to resolve those issues professionally. For instance, we had a plumbing issue, and they reopened and resealed the tile wall twice for no charge. Any time we were unclear on anything or had concerns throughout the process, Danny would schedule a time to talk and go through everything with us, sometimes speaking with us for an hour or more. He worked well with our co-op board and super, kept a clean worksite, and most importantly, delivered great work for us. Whenever someone came over outside of DM (people measuring for our cabinets, or painter companies giving us quotes) they would make comments on the quality of the work being done and the cleanliness of the site. The crew on our job was mainly Marco and Angel, and any time I came over to check on things or point out any issues they were resolved right away. Hiring a contractor is inherently stressful, but we couldn't imagine having had selected a better company. We would recommend DM to anyone.

Description of Work
Complete gutting/renovation of kitchen and bathroom including cabinet installation. Sanded/finished wood floors. Replaced door frames, painted entire apartment, replaced light fixtures. Created pass through window in kitchen. Sealed up old door and created a new one. Installed baseboards, and closet shelving.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $43,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 37855026

+6 More

5.0

04/19/2019


Maria C.

Hiring DM Contracting and Restoration to do a total renovation of a 2 bedroom apartment was a great move. Danny and his crew took hold of this neglected, run down apartment and rebuilt it from the floor beams up. I could not be happier with the craftsmanship, professional manner, and honest timeline to turn this apartment into the beautiful space that it is now. Thank you.

Description of Work
A total renovation of a 2 bedroom apartment

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, picture framing, masonry, plastering, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/18/2019

5.0

02/23/2019


bibi S.

Excellent it was a pleasure working with DM construction and restoration. The whole entire process was amazing beyond my expectations and everything came out perfect.

Description of Work
Kitchen, living and dinning room

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $120,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2019

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 37728884

+5 More

5.0

02/08/2019


Thomas M.

We will absolutely hire this company again. Danny was wonderful to work with - answered all of our questions, gave educated recommendations once construction started for alternatives if it looked possible, and was incredibly forthright with what materials would be used. The people doing the work were on time and meticulous in their work. This was a job that spanned several weeks and if there was going to be a rain delay, we were notified in advance. Additionally we had an issue unrelated to the project - after our project wrapped up - and Danny sent his guys out immediately to help us. Honestly, it is so hard to find excellent contractors in NYC - ones that do what they say they will do and do what is actually best for the building as well as meeting your vision. They may be a little more expensive than others but it is so worth it to have confidence in the job done. As someone who has searched high and low for a company to trust, we're thrilled we have found them. Note: I've included a picture of our terrace right after the railing was installed (pardon the sawdust). For comparison, I've also included what the terrace used to look like.

Description of Work
Back Terrace waterproofing and stonework resurfacing

Category concrete repair, decks, masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Images

Review for DM Contracting & Restoration Inc - 163-15 86th St, Howard Beach, NY - 37703150

+1 More

5.0

12/19/2018


Carlos C.

It went great. The company is very responsible with their work and they are always available by phone/text when you need them. They are experienced contractors and they also provide suggestions/recommendations when needed.

Description of Work
Replace wood floors, replace ceiling and wall insulation/sheet rock, run electrical outlets and high hats, install bay window, built 2 closets and built custom mantel for fireplace.

Category drywall, picture framing, plastering, remodeling, stucco

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2018

5.0

11/26/2018


Daniel G.

excellent work, very responsive, punctual arrival, and was able to complete job within timeframe and met or exceeded all of my expectations

Description of Work
basement renovation

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, drywall, picture framing, remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2018

5.0

10/22/2018


Miriam S.

We live in a corner house and were seeking to replace the fence that closed off the backyard with a fence that provides privacy. We chose a brick fence which also extended further along the side of the house to close in more of the yard, giving us more usable space. Danny and his crew did a good job from start to finish. They worked well with the landscapers as well as with the iron worker who made and installed the gates. The price was great as we got several quotes and this was by far the best quality work at the best price. We will hire him again.

Description of Work
Brick fence for backyard

Category concrete repair, fencing, masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2018