Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dutchess Awnings

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2012

5.0

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1075 Route 82 Ste 7

Hopewell Junction, NY 12533

Description

We are a full service awning company offering custom awnings for all commercial and residential needs. We assemble the awnings and sew the fabric to our customer's specifications. We are currently offering a free motor and remote control with all patio retractable awnings. Please call before visiting our showroom as the showroom hours may vary....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/23/2020


Bernard S.

Excellent job . Very neat job & polite technicians.

Description of Work
Installed Awnings

Category awnings

5.0

06/23/2020


Bernard S.

This is a very friendly company that does excellent professional work. I was so happy with my awning I installed a 2nd one a few years later. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed deck awnings.

Category awnings

5.0

08/23/2017


Bernard S.

Excellent work even though I wasn't home at the time.

Description of Work
A 2nd awning was installed.

Category awnings

5.0

11/17/2015


Mark S.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on your window awnings. We do appreciate the positive review and we are glad you are pleased.
5.0

09/15/2015


Karen B.

Dutchess Awnings installed a new awning on the rear of my home by my pool and it is amazing! Joe helped me pick out the color and the model that I ended up with. My awning goes in and out via remote control. It is super sturdy and looks amazing. Thank you Joe!

Description of Work
Installed a new awning on back deck

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

/we are delighted you are pleased with your new awning. I am certain you will enjoy it for many years to come.
5.0

08/28/2015


Thomasina M.

Description of Work
Awning repair

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for placing your trust in our company. We appreciate the favorable review.
5.0

07/20/2015


scott M.

Description of Work
Joe recommended an awning for my deck and gave a good price [I had several estimates]. He went out of his way to accommodate my schedule, meeting at his shop after hours to select fabric. Installation was as promised and on time.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Mr. [member name removed]: It was a pleasure working with you and I am sure you will enjoy your awning for many years to come. Joe Monte
5.0

06/22/2015


Peter G.

.

Description of Work
Installed an awning

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

We are so happy you are pleased with your awning. You will receive many years of dependable service. If, however, at any time in the future if you have a question or concern about your awning, we are just a phone call away. Thank you so much for choosing Dutchess Custom Awnings!
5.0

05/21/2015


Diane G.

Description of Work
We originally called to order new fabric for our existing awnings expecting to have a large expense! Luckily, we were told the awnings were in decent shape and just needed a repair on the valances! We were happy the owner was so honest! He was so helpful that we ordered another awning! It came in quick and we were scheduled for immediate installation and we couldn't be happier! Would definitely recommend to anyone!!

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. Here at Dutchess Awnings we always strive for customer satisfaction; so glad we succeeded!
5.0

10/15/2014


j peter S.

See above.

Description of Work
Joe and his assistant showed up earlier than scheduled and replaced one of those retractable awnings over my back deck with the "Sunbrella" fabric we had chosen about two weeks earlier. Couldn't be happier with the results. He helped us pick out a fabric that matched the color of our seat cushions, nice stripes that go with the rest of the house, too. As a favor he was also willing to take down an unsightly disc antenna on the side of the roof we didn't need any more. All in all, a super experience. He's the guy to use in this part of the world.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you on this project. We at Dutchess Awnings are always happy to help out a customer and we are so glad you are pleased.
5.0

09/04/2014


Gale Z.

Joe Monte installed my porch awning last April. I was very impressed with his professionalism, hard work, and knowledge. When I called for an estimate, Joe arrived as expected. He provided an estimate for two awnings for me. The patio awning was installed as expected about two weeks later. Joe was very helpful and neat when installing the new awning. In addition, he provided another estimate for an awning for under the porch. Since Joe is knowledgeable, he thought it was necessary to have a contractor look at the porch railing to determine if additional posts/brackets would be needed for the new awning. He called the contractor and came back out to the house with him to discuss what additional structure work might be needed. Joe could have very easily avoided this step and just installed the other awning. Instead, he proceeded to do this the right way and consulted with a contractor about the porch structure. I did receive the contractor's recommendation, and decided to postpone the installation of this awning for now. I really appreciate Joe's honesty. It is not about getting a job done but getting the job done right. I would certainly recommend Dutchess Awnings based upon Joe's knowledge, integrity and hard work.

Description of Work
Joe Monte estimated the work to install a new patio awning and he very efficiently installed it. He also provided another estimate for an awning attached to the porch railing.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your very positive review. We assure you that, should you decide to proceed with another awning, we will be certain you are pleased with our work and will never disappoint you.
5.0

09/03/2014


Abdul K A.

We already read excellent reviews and saw wonderful work that Dutchess Awning provide for its customers. We went to Dutchess Awning store and met the lovely and friendly Vadi. She showed/demo types of awning, material and options, and all the information we need. We choose the type, color and length of the awning and set an appointment to meet with Joe at our home. Joe met us the same day and gave good recommendations with details on our options. That night, we contacted Dutchess Awning and decided to proceed with the awning we choose. Joe estimated 1 to 2 weeks to get it ready and install. A week later he surprised us by installing it on Friday before the labor day weekend. My wife and I are so happy with Dutchess Awning service. We love the awning and already spent several breakfasts, lunches and dinners under the shade. Thanks Joe, Vadi and the Dutchess Awning team.

Description of Work
Install a retractable 15 x 12 motorize with Somfy remote awning Sattler Straight Valence Roof mounted with hood Drop screen 5' Hand crank

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your words of praise. It is always our policy to make certain each and every one of our customers is satisfied with our product(s) and service. We are just a phone call away should you have any questions or concerns.
5.0

04/25/2014


Darlene Z.

The estimater was a little early to the appointment. He took pictures and measurements to show to his boss. They called me within less than 24 hours to let me know that installing an awning on my home would not be safe or possible. They were very honest and professional.

Description of Work
The estimater came out to see if it would be possible to install an awning on my home.

Category awnings

5.0

02/15/2014


Elizabeth T.

Dutchess Awnings has been servicing our awning for several years now and we couldn't be happier with Joe and his company. Our extra large awning must be taken down before the winter/snow months and reinstalled in the spring. Dutchess Awnings has always been happy to accommodate us, even on short notice. Twice, when we had early snow in October, Joe and his crew were able to rush over to take down our awning before the snow hit. If it wasn't for them, the awning could have been damaged by the weight of the snow. They work quickly and carefully and always keep appointments, which are scheduled at OUR convenience. We wish every service company we use could be as customer oriented as Dutchess Awnings. They do great work, they're pleasant and professional, prompt and very reasonably priced!

Description of Work
We have a large stationary awning over our deck which needs to be taken down for the winter months.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your praise. We strive to please each and every customer and we're glad you're happy with the work we do for you.
5.0

08/05/2013


Robin G.

We went to the Dutchess Awning showroom to see a retractable awning for our deck and to look at the fabrics. Joe spent a lot of time with us answering our questions, and scheduled a visit to our house to measure for an awning and to give us an estimate. He arrived on time at our home. He had found the fabric which matched our current window awnings. We ordered the retractable awning during his visit. He told us how long it would be until it was ready. He contacted us when it was done, within the time promised, and scheduled an installation date to accommodate our needs. Once at our house, he installed the awning and demonstrated its use to us. Throughout our experience, he was most professional and helpful. We look forward to using the retractable awning, our first. It was just installed today. We would definitely recommend Joe to our friends.

Description of Work
We purchased a retractable awning from Dutchess Awning.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review. You can be sure we strive for customer satisfaction so we're a phone call away should you ever have a concern or question regarding your new awning.
5.0

06/29/2013


Loretta V.

After looking at the roof line, Joe informed me that the awing I would have liked would not be possible. And, what would be possible would be something too small and he would not recommend doing it. He was very kind to let me know that I would be spending money for something that I would not be happy with when all was completed. He recommended an offset umbrella instead. I greatly appreciated his professionalism and honesty!

Description of Work
Joe came and looked at the deck area that I was hoping to cover with a retractable awing.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We always strive to give our customers the best service possible.
5.0

05/12/2013


Gale Z.

I learned of Dutchess Awnings from Angie's List. When I called to find out how I would obtain an estimate, I found out that I didn't have to go to the showroom. The owner, Joe Monte would stop by my house to provide an estimate. On April 14th, Joe came to provide the estimate. Joe was so knowledgeable of the awning products he installs. He explained the different types of awning and various sizes I could choose. There was a huge selection of fabric to choose from. He answered all of my questions and demonstrated what an exceptional businessman he is. He carefully explained all of the warranties to the various aspects of the awning. He even explained the kind of noise I may hear, and the wind gusts the awning can withstand. He provided the estimate on April 14th and the awning was installed on April 26th (less than 2 weeks later). The day of installation, Joe arrived with another worker to do the installation. It was nice that he installed the awning since he knew of all of my specifications from the estimate he provided. He and his worker were extremely neat and the porch was so clean after the work was done.

Description of Work
An awning was installed over my porch

Category awnings

5.0

04/29/2013


Bernard S.

This company rated an "A" from us starting with our first contact. We stopped in at their showroom without an appointment. The woman in the store was cheerful & extremely helpful. When we told her the aproximate sizeof he awning we wanted she took out the book & gave us the price without our asking. No funny stuff here! Totally upfront! She showed us how they work & what would be best for our circumstances We made an appointment for Joe, the owner, to come to our home & finalize the deal. He was personable & exactly on time. He helped us decide exactly where it should go and even dissuaded us from buying an option we thought we might need, saying we should wait & if we decide we want it it could always be put on later. He said our awning would take 2-3 weeks to arrive. Joe called 2½ weeks later to say it was in & would a Sunday installation be okay. We said sure, he showed up on time & he & his crew installed out awning in about an hour. We couldn't be happier with the whole transaction. Everything went perfectly.The people are great, the price was right & I must say they use very high quality materials. Our new awning is beautiful and comes with the backing of a company we trust. We were very impressed by the way this company does business. We highly recommend Dutchess Awnings if you want any type of awning installed. It was really a very pleasurable experience & we are very happy with our new awning.

Description of Work
In the showroom they showed us what type of awnings were available for different situations & how they worked. Came to our home to finalize sale & then installed awning when it arrived.

Category awnings

5.0

04/28/2013


Mark S.

I received a call from Dutchess Awning that my awning was ready (ahead of schedule). An appointment was made to have the awning installed. On the day of the install, the owner (Joe) arrived with his helper, exactly on time. The awning was installed and fit perfectly. The install team was courteous, professional and very neat. Before the install team left, they insured I was 100% satisfied with the installation and awning. I was reassured that if there were any concerns or questions, to give Dutchess Awning a call immediately. Overall, I felt like I was working with a family member or very close friend. The company is very customer oriented and wants your business. As mentioned before, there is no "hard sell" or pressure. Dutchess Awning is an honest, reliable, ethical company, that is proud of their work and reputation.

Description of Work
I needed to replace my worn stationary awning cover, so my Wife and I stopped by Dutchess Awning's showroom. The office manager was very helpful and very friendly. During our visit we looked through material samples and got ideas on cost. There was no "high pressure" to buy.....just a very pleasant experience. We asked if someone could come to our house to inspect and measure our awning framing. We were told we would receive a call from their technician, before days end, to set-up a firm date and time for the on-site visit. Within two hours we received a call from their technician (who is also the owner) and scheduled an appointment for the next day. The owner (Joe) arrived exactly on time........he was very friendly, gave me a thorough explanation of what the new "recover" would look like and answered all questions I had. There was NO "hard sell" at all. All measurements were taken, material was selected and a deposit was made.....just a very smooth, easy transaction. At that time, I was given an estimate of when the awning would be manufactured and ready for install.

Category awnings

5.0

04/17/2013


Robert G.

arrived exectly as promased for the estimate and for the work.

Description of Work
Outstanding experience with Joe of Dutchess Awning. I used Angies List to locate this vednor, after calls to my usual vendor were not returned. The awning is about 23 years old, and I expected to have to replace it. Joe thought there might be an alternaitve, and proceeded to check it out, and then offered me 2 choices, flipping it for $270 or replacing it for $1800. No quesiton. Given the price I upped my order by adding a motor to the retractable awning. The idea of flipping it, from back to front never crossed my mind, so he could have easily taken advantage of my ignorance, but did not. I know I won't get 23 years out of the flipped awning, but I may be good for another 2-3 years. worth trying.

Category awnings

5.0

08/16/2012


Wes S.

A great experience from stopping at the store to the completion of the installation. Joe was excellent to deal with and very informative. Definitely interested in the customer and their plans versus just getting the sale. Informative on pros and cons of awning size, features, etc. Installation was done by Joe and 2 others and went perfectly! The awning - looks great and we are amazed at the difference it makes both outside and in the house.

Description of Work
Installed retractable awning

Category awnings

5.0

06/19/2012


Virginia P.

After having a tree cut down, I wanted a retractable awning to help block the summer sun from a large living room window. I stopped at the Dutchess Awnings showroom on Clove Branch Road in Hopewell Junction and was given all the materials and answers I needed, including ways to save money. Several days later, Joe came to my home, measured and gave me a free estimate. A couple of days after that I made a down payment and now, about 4 weeks later the awning is in place. I was concerned about having an awning put on my home because it is brick, but he and his workman were knowledgeable and did a skillful job. I also benefited from a summer coupon special getting a free motor and remote control for the awning. Although I purchased the awning primarily to block the sun's rays, I find that I am really enjoying sitting in its shade on my patio even more! Dutchess Awnings have all kinds of awnings and lots and lots of fabric patterns from which to choose. I can recommend Dutchess Awnings without any reservation and would most definitely use them again if the need arises.

Description of Work
When I stopped at Dutchess Awnings (without an appointment) the office manager took lots of time with me showing me the different kinds of awnings and answering all my questions and concerns. I was given paperwork to take home and read over too. A day or so later, Joe came and did specific measurements at my home, gave me a free estimate and answered further questions. I made a down payment, chose the fabric pattern and the awning was ordered immediately. As soon as it came (approx. 3 weeks) I was called, an appointment was made and he and his workman came and installed and adjusted the awning, removing all the packing materials and washing all the brick dust from my patio.

Category awnings

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Custom stationary, retractable and fixed awnings for commercial & residential. Pergolas Solar Shades Phantom Screen Doors

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Dutchess Awnings

    How is Dutchess Awnings overall rated?

    Dutchess Awnings is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Dutchess Awnings open?

    Dutchess Awnings is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Dutchess Awnings provide

    Dutchess Awnings accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Dutchess Awnings offer free estimates?

    Yes, Dutchess Awnings offers free project estimates.

    Does Dutchess Awnings offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Dutchess Awnings offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Dutchess Awnings?

    Yes, Dutchess Awnings offers warranties.

    What services does Dutchess Awnings offer?

    Dutchess Awnings offers the following services: Custom stationary, retractable and fixed awnings for commercial & residential. Pergolas Solar Shades Phantom Screen Doors

    Are there any services Dutchess Awnings does not offer?

    Ask for details.