Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Certified Chimney Service Inc

4.5

(155) Verified Reviews

Founded 1996 • With Angi since January 2012

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

1600 N Ocean Ave

Holtsville, NY 11742

https://www.certifiedchimneyny.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Thank you for viewing our business profile. We are certified by the CHIMNEY SAFETY INSTITUTE of AMERICA (csia.org) and are A rated by the BETTER BUSSINESS BUREAU. Owner, Charles McCarthy, is the longest CSIA CERTIFIED MASTER TECHNICIAN, and LICENSED MASTER SWEEP, by the NATIONAL CHIMNEY SWEEP GUILD, and NATIONAL FIRE PROTECTION ASSOCIATION. Certified Chimney is a full-service chimney cleaning company. No job is too big or too small. We offer 24/7 Emergency Service. We are experts in everything and anything related to your chimney. Our family-owned business has been in the chimney industry for over 25 years. We pride ourselves on offering premium customer service to our valued customers along with professional advice. We stay current on safety codes and regulations, as well as innovative tools and products for chimneys and fireplaces, so we can recommend the very best for our customers. We service residential as well as commercial. We offer free written estimates on any kind of repair. Currently we service Nassau County, Suffolk County and the 5 Boroughs of NYC, Westchester, and Fairfield County. ...

Verified Reviews

4.5

(155) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

111

4

19

3

9

2

6

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

chimney repair (130)chimney sweep (75)chimney cap repair (33)fireplace services (9)masonry (6)gutter cleaning (3)dryer vent cleaning (2)roofing (2)
Showing 1-10 of 155 reviews
1.0

12/06/2021


Bernard D.

They were supposed to come on Friday 12/3 between 1 and 4. Never showed. Called office at 5 and was told they were not coming. Left work to be home. No call no apology no solution.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Work Completed On 12/06/2021

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], We apologize for the unfortunate experience you had with our company. We will be happy to make it right if you choose to give us another chance. Unfortunately, emergencies do come up and we try to do the best we can and accommodate all our customers. Again our apologies, we are happy to do what we can to help and make this right. We wish you a happy and healthy holiday.
5.0

10/22/2021


Demos D.

Fantastic. Polite, explaining work needed, and clean. I recommend highly. Great Job Dillon, Tyler and Austin!!

Description of Work
Brick pointing, new flue and mechanism, clean debris from chimney, new crown, replace missing bricks, new cap. Instructions on use. Cleaned up work area.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our work keeping our customers safe and happy.
5.0

10/08/2020


PATRICIA J.

Workers were very professional and did a good job.

Description of Work
Chimney caps originally but I needed more extensive work on my chimney.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our work keeping our customers safe and happy.
5.0

07/08/2020


Michael S.

I highly recommend Certified Chimney of Holtsville. A lightning strike caused damage to my chimney. I needed a new liner as well as a new cement crown and other work done to bring my chimney back up to snuff. The owner, Charles and his two associates (Christian and Christopher) did an outstanding job. They are extremely professional, neat and friendly. They completed the job quickly and the most important thing is that I was given a very decent price. If you need chimney work done, don’t hesitate to call them.

Description of Work
New liner, cement crown, chimney caps and exterior brick work.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our work keeping our customers safe and happy.
5.0

05/14/2020


Anthony H.

Workers were efficient and cleaned up afterwards well.

Description of Work
Sweep chimney

Category chimney sweep

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our work keeping our customers safe and happy.
5.0

01/22/2020


Lloyd T.

The company was quick to respond and do the service. They were thorough in their determination of the problem as well as courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Cap and damper installation and cleaning

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our work keeping our customers safe and happy.
5.0

11/27/2018


Lynn B.

I was very pleased with the work that was done by this company. Initially I thought that I only needed a chimney cap installed, but after a careful inspection of my chimney, it was found that a crumbling and deteriorating lining of my chimney interior wall had occurred leaving a potentially dangerous situation in my house. I was actually shown the damage so I could determine for myself the extent of the problem. The company installed a new lining and chimney cap in a short period of time, leaving a clean work area. The workmen were extremely polite and answered all my questions thoroughly. I would definitely recommend them for chimney work.

Description of Work
chimney cap and repair

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We take great pride in our work keeping our customers safe and happy.
5.0

11/25/2018


Amanda B.

We contacted this company to get a quote on inserting a stainless steel liner in the chimney of our newly purchased home. On inspection, they showed that the flue at the base of the chimney was nearly blocked & advised immediate installation of a liner, which they were able to do that day. Unfortunately, as the liner was being inserted, the chimney began to disintegrate from the roofline up due to lack of maintenance by the prior owners. Charles & Dylan were able to get the liner fully inserted and the boiler & hot water heater reconnected without issue. Jeanette in the office was able to work with us during a week of very iffy weather to get Fred the mason back to the property (on a Saturday, no less!) to rebuild the chimney. Everyone at the company was very honest & straightforward with us when it came to issues and pricing. I've already begun recommending them to anyone that mentions they're having chimney issues and would happily use them again!

Description of Work
Stainless steel liner & chimney rebuild

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $3,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review :) your kind words mean so much.
4.0

10/11/2018


Tabitha J.

Fine. However he forgot to turn boiler back on. After cleaning the chimney

Description of Work
Chimney cleaned

Category chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review :)
5.0

10/01/2018


ursula N.

Rob and Fred were unbelievable professionals who diagnosed the problems quickly and did expert work. Their pricing was very fair. They were kind and very professional

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and replace cap

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review :) it was our pleasure servicing you.

Services Offered

Oil & Gas Heating System Chimney Flues Cleaning, Wood & Gas Fireplace Services, Chimney Caps Masonry Repairs Chimney Rebuilds, Inspections, Certifications.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Certified Chimney Service Inc

How is Certified Chimney Service Inc overall rated?

Certified Chimney Service Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

What days are Certified Chimney Service Inc open?

Certified Chimney Service Inc is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

What payment options does Certified Chimney Service Inc provide

Certified Chimney Service Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

Does Certified Chimney Service Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, Certified Chimney Service Inc offers free project estimates.

Does Certified Chimney Service Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Certified Chimney Service Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Certified Chimney Service Inc offer a senior discount?

No, Certified Chimney Service Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Does Certified Chimney Service Inc offer emergency services?

Yes, Certified Chimney Service Inc offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Certified Chimney Service Inc?

Yes, Certified Chimney Service Inc offers warranties.

What services does Certified Chimney Service Inc offer?

Certified Chimney Service Inc offers the following services: Oil & Gas Heating System Chimney Flues Cleaning, Wood & Gas Fireplace Services, Chimney Caps Masonry Repairs Chimney Rebuilds, Inspections, Certifications.