Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Nationwide Estate Sales Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since October 2010

4.8

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1350 Lincoln Ave Suite 11

Holbrook, NY 11741

Description

Do you need to liquidate a loved one’s Estate? Are you downsizing and need help selling your items? At Nationwide Estate Sales Inc. we help you every step of the way. We are a fully insured, family owned and operated company. We are also proud members of the Better Business Bureau and an Accredited Member of The American Society of Estate Liquidators. Additional Contact- James Wallis...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/26/2016


Marion J.

They do not have a live person answering phones, and no one has returned my multiple voice messages.

Description of Work
I have tried calling them a few times about helping with my home.

Category jewelry appraisal

5.0

04/11/2016


Linda D.

After my mother moved into an assisted living facility, I was faced with the task of cleaning and organizing my parents' belongings left from over 60 wonderful years of living in that home. First I cleaned out many boxes of financial documents and other personal items, which took over 4 months. Then I was ready to call in a professional to help sell the furniture, art, books, jewelry and other remaining items. First I tried the "number one" company on this list, who turned out to be shady, rude and late for appointments so that was a no go. I was almost going to give up but noticed that Nationwide Estate Sales had fewer, but excellent reviews so decided to give them a call. Well what a great decision that was! Jim and Marilyn were punctual for all appointments, reasonably priced and scrupulously honest. Since I sold my home to a builder I didn't need a clean-out so only used Nationwide Estate Sales for the sale itself. Jim got top dollar for everything he sold and turned over the proceeds to me immediately afterward. Their assistants Kevin and Lauren were pleasant and helped to distract me during a difficult time. I recommend National Estate Sales very highly!

Description of Work
Organized and conducted an estate sale at my mother's home

Category auction services

1.0

09/15/2015


Mary L.

IT WENT HORRIBLY! I FEEL SO VIOLATED..... I WISH I COULD GET A TRUE ACCOUNTING OF WHAT WAS SOLD AND FOR HOW MUCH THAT DAY..... Many people couldn't find the house or even the street and Marilyn confessed that she didn't want to place the GOOD SIGNS where they were supposed to go because she was afraid they would be ROBBED! She thought it best to let people get lost instead of have them find the house. ( I have no idea, where she thought she was I live in a good neighborhood...actually so safe, I moved around the corner.... geez WHOLE PROCESS SHOULD BE MADE MORE FORMAL, WHEN YOU ENTER, YOU SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO SIGN IN, YOUR WALKING THROUGH SOMEONE'S HOME! TAKE YOUR ITEMS TO THE FRONT, GET CHECKED OUT - GET A RECEIPT AND LEAVE. THIS IS NOT A BACKYARD TAG SALE, NOR DOES MARILYN AND JIM. SOMEONE ACTUALLY TURNED OFF MY HEAT, SO WHEN STRANGERS ARE IN YOUR HOUSE, BEWARE! Having Marilyn and Jim work on a FLAT FEE vs. a percentage is also a BAD IDEA, because they have NO INCENTIVE TO SELL ITEMS FOR A HIGHER PRICE....... I WATCHED MARILYN SELL A $350.00 CRYSTAL BOWL (which) wasn't for sale for $20....She didn't give a d*** that I told her it wasn't for sale to begin with and continued to sell another Tiffany Crystal Ice Bucket for probably another $20. I can bet that between the two of them they sold some of the most expensive items like the Sharp Aquos 44" TV AND a similar TV plus the Snap On Tools, for pennies on the Dollar, even after I gave Jim a price list for the tools.... I should have come away with more money than I did. I also had to pay Nationwide another $1150 for the day. I listened to Jim tell me how I should feel sorry for the spanish couple who live in Hempstead just starting out, building a thrift store, they bought many kitchen items and Jim wanted me to reduce the prices on tools in the garage because the mechanics in Hempstead can't afford to pay much on the $25-30/hr salary they make!. Imagine that, no being able to afford the very things that you use to make that handsome salary, geez... guess I would make a deal with the Snap On guy like everyone else does, or pay for a good deal. I said to Jim, and the couple this is my lifes work ..... we all have a c ross to bare! The tools are not priced high, they can't be discounted anymore. They all got mad because I didn't fall for the sob story. AT THAT MOMENT, I WONDERED, WHO IS JIM WORKING FOR TODAY - THEM OR ME---- BET HE GETS A KICKBACK FOR ALL THOSE GOOD DEALS HE FINDS FOR THEM AND THEIR THRIFT STORE!! ...IF THEY ALL DON'T OWN IT TOGETHER.....

Description of Work
They were paid to place ads in the local papers and Penny Saver, Craigslist and other Free Papers Websites. etc to drive up interest and DIDN'T. They were PAID to Run a PROFESSIONAL ESTATE SALE and DIDN'T. What they did Run a Fancy INDOOR Yard Sale at MY EXPENSE! I find Marilyn and Jim to be nothing more than HIGHWAY ROBBERS! The day they came to set-up the put items in their car which I thought, they were going to research prices ....BUT NO, THOSE ITEMS WERE NEVER RETURNED. They brought THREE (3) Tables to stage items for a 5500 sq ft, home which left most items on the floor or squeezed on top of each other which made it impossible to see anything. YOU NEED, TABLES AND RACKS IF YOU EXPECT TO SELL ANYTHING, PEOPLE ARE DRAWN IN WHEN ITEMS ARE DISPLAYED PROPERLY!! As for pricing items, Marilyn walked around the house with me and asked me what I wanted for each item as if I had a crystal ball and knew what everything was worth! I asked? When are you checking the value of items, or using a depreciation list, so we can ask a fair price instead of me guessing what everything is worth now.... No , you'll do just fine!!! was the answer! What a crock of BS WHAT I FOUND MOST OUTRAGEOUS, IS THAT BOTH MARILYN AND JIM WERE COLLECTING MONEY IN LITTLE POUCHES AROUND THEIR WAISTS! NO RECEIPTS WERE USED WHATSOEVER, NO CASH REGISTER AND NO WAY FOR ME TO DETERMINE IF ANY MONEY WAS STOLEN, OR IF THEY PAID FOR THE ITEMS THAT THEY TOOK AND PUT IN THE CAR THROUGHOUT THE SALE THAT THEY CLAIMED THEY PURCHASED ..... this is obscene! SALE 9AM - 3PM.........I ASKED FOR 2 DAYS, she told me I didn't need it my house didn't warrant a second day! 5500 sq ft DOESN'T WARRANT A SECOND DAY!!! WHAT DOES WARRANT A SECOND DAY? NATIONWIDE BROUGHT --- THREE TABLES, AND THREE STAFF AND IT WAS TOTAL CHAOS, to the point that when I returned to my home on Sunday several of my neighbors came by to ask my who they were and where I hired them from because they were TERRIBLE!! and Where was the ADS PLACED, and the Street SIGNS.

Category antiques

5.0

10/18/2014


Joan M.

We had been in our home for nearly 42 years and had accumulated a lot of things. They met with us to go over their process and we made a date for sale. They came and took wonderful pictures of what we were selling, put it on their web site.. Two days before the sale they came and set up and put prices on items that had substantial value. They had also placed an ad in our local paper. Although the weather was a bit rainy, a nice crowed showed up and a lot was bought. Unfortunately when you have so much stuff, there is always a lot left offer. We hired them to remove the items we did not donate to a local charity.

Description of Work
Held a tag/garage sales on our premises

Category antiques

5.0

09/18/2014


Daniel A M.

In September, 2014 my wife and I decided to have an estate sale to sell the contents of my late mother-in-law's home. The three story house and garage had an enormous number of items. The contents of the house were in disarray and disorganized. We engaged the services of Nationwide Estate Sales, Inc. a company name we obtained from Angie's List. Nationwide came in and cleaned out the unsalable items, organized and displayed the items that could be sold and then advertized and ran the sale. The turnout of buyers was substantial and they sold a great many of the items. The sale was by all accounts a success. We found this company to be hardworking, competent, trustworthy, efficient and friendly and they worked closely with us in deciding what to put up for sale and at what price. They also gave us valuable advice in running this type of sale. For anyone considering running an estate sale, my wife and I would highly recommend Nationwide Estate Sales, Inc

Description of Work
Ran an estate sale

Category antiques

5.0

07/01/2014


Karen D.

My situation was a little different as house contents were in storage and I had decided rather quickly on a sale and a final clean-out. I was working with a tight deadline. Vendors were helpful with sales, advice and further referral. Items were sold but since this was done so quickly, I had less sales. I was concerned with the clean-out schedule as it was scheduled for the last day of the month, but it was done as promised and I had good communication with clean-out guy. Clean-out was done as scheduled, with remaining items reportedly donated. Was provided with an itemized receipt for items. Transaction went well. Good resource. Thanks Marilyn.

Description of Work
I spoke with Marilyn and explained what I wanted to do. She provided referrals to vendors to assist with sale & clean-out of house contents in storage. National Estate Sales was a helpful resource.

Category antiques

5.0

05/20/2014


carol Q.

They were very professional, courteous, and were the best workers I've ever had! I had absolutely no problem with them being in my home. I had lawn furniture outside and there was still snow on the ground, they even shoveled all of the snow around the lawn furniture for me. They went above and beyond my expectations! I would absolutely use them again in the future and their prices were very reasonable.

Description of Work
Estate sale.

Category moving companies,jewelry appraisal,furniture sales,auction services

5.0

01/30/2014


Richard B.

I think Jim and his team (including members of his family) did a very good job in terms of holding the sale. The tag sale was advertised in Newsday as well as on the web, and also with signs around the neighborhood. Jim and his team arrived an hour early and priced/marked all of the items as well as setting up for the sale. They set-up a checkout stand in the living room, with a big sign including the “rules of the sale.” They taped off bathrooms, closets, and other places we didn't want buyers to go into with yellow tape. At 9 am sharp we opened the doors. The sale went well. There were a lot of people who came through the house, and most of the smaller items were sold during the six hour sales period. Unfortunately much of the larger furniture didn’t sell. The furniture was all in showroom condition, so my only concern would be that the furniture was priced too high. During the course of the day we started marking down the furniture, but much of it still didn't sell. At the end of the sale I sat down with Jim and his mom, and they counted out the money collected. There was really very little control over the cash, but I believe they were completely honest throughout the sale. There was a minimum commission of $900 which is the equivalent to 30% of $3,000. If I hadn't sold the minimum, Nationwide would still collect $900. We did sell enough to get over the $3,000 minimum, and we split the money according to our agreement at the conclusion of the sale. I can recommend Nationwide, Jim and his team without hesitation, and would certainly use them again.

Description of Work
Nationwide held a tag sale at my residence on a Saturday, attempting to sell furniture, artwork, dishes, glassware, kitchen appliances, etc. during a one day, six hour event. I had sold the house and was closing with the buyer the following Monday and needed to clean out the house of all the furniture and accessories.

Category jewelry appraisal,furniture sales,antiques

5.0

11/19/2013


Barbra M.

They brought prime vendors to my house who purchased large quantities of items for cash, were lovely to the customers, even wrapped items with white wrapping paper. Helped put items out on display and offered guidance to best prices in order to sell. Surprisingly made me go up in price sometimes and got more than I asked for. They were just lovely people and it was a very harmonious day all and all. They did everything to make it go smoothly. Very very happy with this company. Far surpassed the competition I interviewed who were all about high end only. I had a mix and both ends sold. It all adds up.

Description of Work
Jim arrived to appraise the sale for initial interview. Guesstimate was accurate. Came back to put things out on display. Arrived an hour early the day of sale with cones to block off driveway, sale signs distributed around the neighborhood, team of lovely workers including a bouncer, ran ads and online pictures of merchandise. Showed up with serious vendors that follow them with cash in hand.

Category jewelry appraisal,antiques

    Other local Pros in your area

    U Santini Moving & Storage Inc

    Based in Brooklyn, New York, U.Santini is a family-owned and operated moving and storage company serving the metropolitan area for more than three generations. We are a trusted and reliable moving and logistic company specializing in local and long distance moves, corporate relocation and storage.  

    Small Moves Long Island

    At this time, we are only doing moves within Nassau and Suffolk Counties. For fastest response, please call our office at (631) 828-1687. Whether you are moving just a few items or the contents of an apartment, small home or small office, loading or unloading a storage unit we have affordable rates with professional service. We also offer labor only services for loading/unloading PODS and trucks or help with moving furniture within the home or out to the curb.  

    Offers by Small Moves Long Island on Angi
    TDY Moving And Storage

    We at TDY Moving & Storage New York are a family owned & operated moving company that has been running from generation to generation, serving our customers in the same professional manner. Our staff have many years of experience in the moving and storage business, offering you peace of mind through all of our services. We offer storage, local moves, international shipping, and packing supplies. We also handle antiques, pianos & valuable art work. Call us today for a free quote! 347-535-3131 or feel free to email us at info@tdymoving.com  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by TDY Moving And Storage on Angi
    Antiques
    Real Estate Auctions
    Furniture - Sales
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Estate Sales, Antiques, Tag Sales, Liquidations, Clutter Removal, Junk Removal, Estate Clean Outs

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Nationwide Estate Sales Inc

    How is Nationwide Estate Sales Inc overall rated?

    Nationwide Estate Sales Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Nationwide Estate Sales Inc open?

    Nationwide Estate Sales Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Nationwide Estate Sales Inc provide

    Nationwide Estate Sales Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Nationwide Estate Sales Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Nationwide Estate Sales Inc?

    Yes, Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offer?

    Nationwide Estate Sales Inc offers the following services: Estate Sales, Antiques, Tag Sales, Liquidations, Clutter Removal, Junk Removal, Estate Clean Outs