Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ABS Foundation Services Inc

Founded 1991 • With Angi since April 2010

4.8

(79) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

765 East Ave

Hilton, NY 14468

Description

ABS Foundation Services, Inc. is a locally owned foundation repair, basement waterproofing and crawl space repair contractor. We serve Rochester and the Finger Lakes region. We are proud to be northwestern New York's authorized Basement Systems Premier Dealer. All of our warranties are backed by

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Michael R.
5.0
04/27/2021
The project went very smooth. Tim was the only one that brought up points that other contractors did not. 1. The window I already had was too close to an electric panel. Most contractors want to charge a lot extra to block it in to move new egress window over. Tim did not and said it would not be a big deal. 2. Had many good reasons why I should go with a slider for my particular situation. 3. Estimate received did not just had a price but listed the work to be done properly. Too many contractors skip the details. 4. One of the only contractors that would dig all the way to the footing. Most just dig a hole with a post hole digger for the drain and cut corners. The project had to be rescheduled a couple times but that all was smooth. Brandon, John and crew arrived on the start date and you could tell right away they had a smooth process for installing egress windows. No damage to the lawn because they lay boards down to protect it. Brandon addressed my concerns about the drain and after discussing with him I felt much more comfortable having a better understanding of it. Great communication. They were neat and tidy in the house. I had no idea what to expect having a hole cut in my foundation wall. However, it was suprisingly not that messy. All flashing details with the window were done properly. No complaints I would hire again. In a few years I will be calling about my garage floor.
Description of Work
Egress Window Dig Out and Installation
Category
concrete repair
Linda K.
5.0
07/07/2018
See review 2015 for part one of story. I found I stilled worried about water in the basement crawl space even though there was a big improvement with the 2015 fixes. So I called Tim again and talked about options. Since the full size part of the basement didn't seem to have any water problems we left that alone and concentrated on the crawl space. His crew punched holes along the bottom of the walls to let water flow out. They draped the holes to direct the water flow into a pipe that took the water to the sump pump. They sprayed the walls to kill any mold that had formed and draped them with a material that made them look better. They also covered the pipe with concrete. The crew was wonderful, Brandon in particular. They worked hard in very uncomfortable circumstances (hard pebbly floor surface, 3 ft height, and huge spiders). At the same time, they sprayed foam into the space between the rafters along the outside of the wall (no more huge spiders) to insulate. To prevent future problems they reinforced my back basement wall to prevent the horizontal crack at the freeze line from becoming bigger. I am thrilled with the results. Besides the bonus of being spider free, I have no water in my crawl space, ever. I can hear the sump pump working nonstop during heavy rains and big snow melts. I didn't know I had bought in a high water table area and that basement water was a common problem in the area. You sure can't tell by my basement any more.
Description of Work
Drying out and waterproofing basement plus other stuff
Category
basement waterproofing
Linda K.
5.0
07/07/2018
Bought a house in June 20015. Could tell there was some kind of water problem in basement but was clueless on the general subject. Picked Tim Case and his ABS Foundations company after doing the Angie's List and interview bit. The other companies wanted to waterproof the walls and had expensive solutions. Tim said, "Yes, you should be prepared for that possibility but let's start smaller and see if that works first." So he put in a better sump pump (the old one was rather corroded looking) and cover, and installed a heavy duty dehumidifier in the basement. He also put in window wells and under ground extensions on the downspouts as I didn't want the extensions on top. He wouldn't put top soil in to regrade the yard as it was going to be too late to grow grass (October) but strongly suggested I have it done the next spring by someone. His workers were all very respectful toward me, answered my questions, and did hard labor getting those window wells and extensions installed. Result: Big difference in the moisture in house on a daily basis. I no longer wondered if I had purchased a sauna. I also didn't have a huge pool of water in the crawl space during spring melt or heavy rains. I did, however, still have some water. See 2017 review for end of story.
Description of Work
Drying out and water proofing basement
Category
basement waterproofing
Mike M.
5.0
10/04/2017
Both jobs were well done and look great.
Description of Work
I've used ABS twice, once for a basement wall that was collapsing and second, to parge coat an old cinder block wall.
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Jonathan L.
5.0
09/26/2017
They came out and provided me an honest opinion that my job was a DIY job. He gave me clear instructions on how to complete the job on my own. I appreciate the honesty and the time he spent coming out to see me. I would absolutely call ABS again if I needed any work done as I am confident they are a fair and honest company.
Description of Work
Foundation repair
Category
foundation repair
Catherine R.
5.0
09/18/2017
The gentleman came, was very knowledgeable and professional. He definitely knew what he was talking about and we didn't need the work after all!
Description of Work
We had some cracks in which we thought was our foundation but was really something that just mortared over.
Category
basement waterproofing
Norman R.
5.0
01/03/2017
The job was done in phases of about a half a day each for 2 days over a couple of weeks waiting for a concrete pad to cure & holidays, which worked perfectly for them & us. Their crews are great, Very professional and very neat. Tim came after the crews left & I asked if we should add another beam to support the garage floor & he said he didn't feel it would be necessary buts lets recheck in the summer. I had asked him when he was quoting if we should excavate around the foundation the put drain tile in & he said no. If that ever had to be done he also had a much simpler way to do it. My experience is that Tim is not out to stick it to someone but to do what's best for you at a fair price. In my opinion that if you don't get a quote from Tim your making a serious mistake,
Description of Work
We have a uncommon open concrete full block room underneath our garage, The wall on the driveway side developed a slight bow & the underneath floor began flaking. It was recommended by a person who had done work for us that we tear the whole front wall down & tear our the garage floor. Tim Case came and explained exactly how they could place 3 steel beams upright on the bowed wall & place a post underneath the beams to add support to the garage floor and drill more weep holes in the concrete block to remove water. He also had ideas on what to do with the top of floor in the garage to protect it from the salt which has been the source of all our problems.
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Shannon O.
5.0
12/12/2016
The service was for an estimate on services, I believed I needed.
Description of Work
I did not need work done. The honesty was greatfully appreciated
Category
basement waterproofing
Michael W.
5.0
11/22/2016
Excellent work by friendly, professional workers. Our basement is cleaner and drier than ever before. The Sani-Dry Dehumidifier has improved the basement air quality.
Description of Work
Crawl space encapsulation and dehumidifier installed.
Category
basement waterproofing
Barbara E.
5.0
11/22/2016
Very very well! The crew arrived on schedule, were polite and efficient. The project supervisor gave me a detailed explanation of each day's work. They put down protective coverings on all floor surfaces leading up from the basement and out the front door. Can't say enough about how thorough they were; how concerned they were that I understood the process. Owner Tim Case was down to earth, explained everything & came back with a fair price.
Description of Work
I had extensive mold and leaks in a 6 foot crawl space in my basement as well as mold on walls around rest of basement. ABS recommended primarily inside work, killing the mold, applying a white wall surface around the basement cement block. They also recommended a new dehumidifier as well as placing additional compacted dirt up against the outside wall, under the deck.
Category
basement waterproofing, mold removal
Barbara E.
5.0
11/21/2016
Very very well! The crew arrived on schedule, were polite and efficient. The project supervisor gave me a detailed explanation of each day's work. They put down protective coverings on all floor surfaces leading up from the basement and out the front door. Can't say enough about how thorough they were; how concerned they were that I understood the process. Owner Tim Case was down to earth, explained everything & came back with a fair price.
Description of Work
I had extensive mold and leaks in a 6 foot crawl space in my basement as well as mold on walls around rest of basement. ABS recommended primarily inside work, killing the mold, applying a white wall surface around the basement cement block. They also recommended a new dehumidifier as well as placing additional compacted dirt up against the outside wall, under the deck.
Category
basement waterproofing, mold removal
Patricia D.
5.0
11/01/2016
They cut a long narrow trench in the floor, added stone for drainage to the sump and then put a cement skin over everything. Made a naturally messy job orderly and cleaned up afterward perfectly. They then tied the sump to the existing plumbing so it drained through it.
Description of Work
Needed a sump pump well dug and installed to solve a constant problem with foundation leaking.
Category
concrete repair, plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells, foundation repair
Rosalind C.
5.0
05/05/2016
One window was very tricky as it was right next to where the gas line entered the house. ABS worked with R,G&E in moving the gas line as needed. Tim Case gave great recommendations on the different options available and respected our choice on what to do. This was an extremely messy project and the entire job was handled with as much care and?professionalism?as possible. Clean up every?night and especially after the job was complete was very impressive. We are very satisfied with the project outcome.?
Description of Work
Installed three Rockwell egress windows and?waterproofed the entire basement of our 3300 s.f. ranch home.
Category
egress windows, basement waterproofing
Rosalind C.
5.0
05/05/2016
One window was very tricky as it was right next to where the gas line entered the house. ABS worked with R,G&E in moving the gas line as needed. Tim Case gave great recommendations on the different options available and respected our choice on what to do. This was an extremely messy project and the entire job was handled with as much care and?professionalism?as possible. Clean up every?night and especially after the job was complete was very impressive. We are very satisfied with the project outcome.?
Description of Work
Installed three Rockwell egress windows and?waterproofed the entire basement of our 3300 s.f. ranch home.
Category
egress windows, basement waterproofing
Rosalind C.
5.0
05/04/2016
One window was very tricky as it was right next to where the gas line entered the house. ABS worked with R,G&E in moving the gas line as needed. Tim Case gave great recommendations on the different options available and respected our choice on what to do. This was an extremely messy project and the entire job was handled with as much care and professionalism as possible. Clean up every night and especially after the job was complete was very impressive. We are very satisfied with the project outcome.
Description of Work
Installed three Rockwell egress windows and waterproofed the entire basement of our 3300 s.f. ranch home.
Category
egress windows, basement waterproofing
Cheryl W.
5.0
04/18/2016
They responded promptly to my call and explained how the work would be done. The patch was made and has held up well through the winter.
Description of Work
repair and patch concrete on corner of house foundation
Category
concrete repair, basement waterproofing, foundation repair
Ivonne Z.
5.0
04/12/2016
He was very knowledgeable. He gave lots of good information and was very helpful. He gave a good recommendation and advice. He really seems like he's honest and knows what he's doing.
Description of Work
Tim Case came to do an assessment of a potential project I need done.
Category
concrete repair
Partho S.
5.0
03/11/2016
There's an old adage which states that a person should always get a second and third opinion/estimate and hear out everyone's approach before making a final decision. I'm certainly grateful that I took the aforementioned advice. ABS was the final estimate I had sought and had previously resigned myself to embarking down a far more expensive and laborious path to fix the issue with the intermediate basement flooding we experienced whenever there was heavy rain or melting snow. Tim Case, who is the owner of ABS, looked everything over and within 2 minutes of him being down in the basement, I felt reassured about his approach to assessing and correcting the problem. He took the time to look things through and explain what the problems might be along with the various options we had available to us. Rather than provide us with the most expensive solution (which, it turns out, would have involved work we didn't need), he offered a well thought out plan which not only appears to have addressed our problem, but also did so at a cost far lower than the estimates offered by several of his competitors. He was an honest, professional, pragmatic and extremely pleasant man. While it took about three weeks to get everything scheduled and finished, he disclosed this to me upfront and set my expectations accordingly, so my wife and I didn't experience any impatience. The guys who did the work itself were fabulous; they explained what they were doing, did a thoroughly professional job and left everything in tip top shape prior to leaving. Though ultimately, time will tell whether or not the solution will hold in the long run, I would not hesitate to use ABS again for any basement work we need. After listening to three other companies who were more interested in selling the highest priced solution based on what we "told" them we'd been experiencing, it's incredibly refreshing to work with a company like ABS. Tim and his team run a first class operation and they receive my highest recommendation!
Description of Work
Installation of sump pump, sealed off existing drain; moved washer and dryer and provided/installed new and improved hook-ups for them.
Category
plumbing, water damage restoration, basement waterproofing, wells, basement remodeling
Deborah G.
5.0
11/09/2015
Very well -- well worth the money. Very friendly and punctual -- cleaned up everyday. They also tell you what you need with high pressure sales.
Description of Work
Repaired foundation cracks, installed air purifier, new sump pump with back-up battery, destroyed mold and covered walls.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells, foundation repair
Colleen C.
5.0
11/08/2015
Went well and looks great. No more water problem
Description of Work
Waterproofing in basement
Category
basement waterproofing
Linda K.
5.0
11/03/2015
When I first saw Tim, I really liked his attitude, which was along the lines of doing the obvious fixes first to see if that takes care of the problem. He took time to educate me on the construction of my new home and what to look for to make sure things were fixed. Others had acted like they were trying to sell me as many of their services as possible. The dehumidifier was installed the day after the contract was signed; the rest of the work was done a couple weeks later, about 2 weeks ahead of schedule due to another job taking less time than expected. Five young men converged on my house and started hand digging the trenches for the downspouts and window wells. The sixth one came in and installed the sump pump. In spite of the numerous tree roots and rocks the guys came across and that two window wells were under a cantilever 18 inches off the ground, they remained cheerful and worked industriously throughout the day. They were polite and easy going toward me. I felt like my sons and nephews were doing the work (that's a compliment). When they were done we shook hands, teased each other a bit more and off they went. Since then all components have worked wonderfully.
Description of Work
Installed sump pump, heavy duty dehumidifier, 5 lawnscape downspout gutter extensions 10 feet out into lawn, 6 deep window wells
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells
Erin J.
5.0
10/18/2015
They were fantastic; we can now rest easily when heavy rains pass through!!
Description of Work
Upgraded sump system, put in a drain system, and fixed part of the garage foundation.
Category
plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells, foundation repair
Marilyn C.
5.0
10/01/2015
I previously used ABS to install drain pots for my downspouts as part of a plan to dry up my basement. Then they installed a commercial sized dehumidifier. I had been running at least 2 dehumidifiers before and they were barely up to the job. At one point I used an in room air conditioner to dry the basement air. All this was due to a crawlspace connected to the basement that was not correctly sealed. I had closed it up years ago and insulated with fiberglass. There was a plastic sheet covering the ground and it was glued to the foundation block, but it was too thin, not really sealed and after crawling around on it to do repairs and install lines, it was allowing a lot of ground moisture and odor to get into the basement. We put off doing a proper crawlspace repair because of the cost and inconvenience. After updating our kitchen we got tired of the battle of the basement and decided to tackle the back room/basement/crawlspace problem. First the change from having a real dehumidifier, was kind of amazing. No continuous running, as with the small home units, and it cleared up a lot of the odor and moisture the first day. I had intentions of digging out the dirt myself and even cut up a large section of the floor. I didn't even remove one bucket before I realized some jobs are best left to groups of younger men with all the tools. A lot of small roots, hard dirt and climbing in and out of the space between floor joists. Brendan and 2 helpers had it cut up and carted away in one day. It was the old type of tiles that either had asbestos in the tiles or the adhesive, not a job for an unskilled, unprepared homeowner. Because the ground in the crawlspace was uneven, ABS ended up removing about a foot of dirt to give clearance to all parts of the space. Unfortunately for them there were a lot of roots and rocks, so even with room to stand after the floor was removed, it was really hard work. On that day I think there were about 6 men working. Some digging, loading and one or two carting wheelbarrows of dirt all around to the low spots in our yard. Maybe 3+ tons by the time they were done, but probably seemed like a whole lot more to them. Hard, dirty, work, but they did it all and removed a course of block from the crawlspace entrance that goes into the basement. After the space was leveled they pinned pink, rigid insulation around the exterior walls and foamed insulation onto the irregular areas above and over the old vent window. This was covered by a super thick, ripstop, cover that went over the insulation and covered the floor. That was glued to the lower edge of the crawlspace entrance sealing the dirt/ground once and for all. We avoided this project for years. You adapt to things and you ignore things out of sight, but we already enjoy the results. Space for storage, a cleaner, dry, basement, no musty odors on a humid day and a new solid floor. The old sub-floor was 'soft' in well trafficked areas. Tim explained all this, but I wanted an easier, less costly way. I eventually realized you don't really save any money in the long run and you don't solve the problems unless you fix them. ABS had the experience, equipment and people to solve this problem. They showed up on time, worked hard and smart, cleaned up after and did the kind of job I wanted to do. You can't beat experience and it seems like everyone knew their job and most importantly took pride in their job. I'm impressed by each of them. Lots of people could move a wheelbarrow of dirt, but very few could do it all day, put the dirt where you want it and be happy doing a hard job. Some people know how to foam insulation or prepare a floor or a wall, but few do the kind of job they would be proud to show. Many would be tempted to cut a corner here or there, to get out of the job as quickly as possible. I didn't see that on this project. We are happy and can't think of many things we would change, except to do all this years earlier instead of waiting till now.
Description of Work
Installed commercial sized dehumidifier. Removed old flooring, removed dirt in crawlspace, insulated and lined crawlspace, and installed a new sub-floor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, basement waterproofing
Omari M.
5.0
09/19/2015
Inspected the foundation of a property I was looking at buying. Apparently the foundation was in terrible shape. They saved me thousands.
Description of Work
Inspected the foundation of a property I was looking at buying. Apparently the foundation was in terrible shape. They saved me thousands.
Category
foundation repair
Frances T.
5.0
08/06/2015
The owner Tim was very responsive and was there each day to check the work. My estimate is what I paid. It was not the lowest estimate but I think it was worth every penny and right from the start I had a good feeling about this company. In the past I have not had great luck with contractors. The crew was exceptional and worked hard every minute of the day. They were professional, friendly and easy to deal with regarding the work.They did a very nice clean up and went over and above doing a great job. They also did a lot of little things like bringing in my containers on garbage day and checking my CO alarm etc. At the end of each day they explained the work that was done and the plan for the next day. I am very pleased and would hire them again in a heartbeat. I don't have enough adjectives to say how pleased I am with ABS.
Description of Work
The provider repaired my foundation at the back of my house that fell into the crawl space - about 10-12 ft of wall.The repair took 2.5 days and was a lot of hard work.
Category
basement waterproofing, foundation repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    PuroClean of NorthWest Rochester

    PuroClean, a leader in property emergency services, helps families and businesses overcome the devastating setbacks caused by water, fire, mold and other conditions resulting in property damage. Each of our independently owned franchises pledge to do whatever it takes to respond, restore and rescue properties in all of the communities we serve. Puroclean franchises perform services in Water Damage Restoration, Fire Damage Restoration, Mold Remediation and Biohazard. In returning damaged property to its pre-existing condition, Puroclean also provides dry-walling, painting, carpet cleaning, deodorizing and other services. Puroclean Property Paramedics is based in Northwest Rochester NY and aims to serve Monroe County with focus on Greece, North Greece, Charlotte, West Irondequoit, Irondequoit, Spencerport, Hilton, Brockport, Hamlin and Gates but we are available to serve surround areas. Why Puroclean? Because we bring a higher level of PROFESSIONALISM to Emergency Services. CERTIFIED. TRAINED. INSURED. 24/7. HIGHEST CUSTOMER SATISFACTION.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Comprehensive Mold Management LLC

    We are an A+ rated BBB accredited business that has been on the job since 2006, specializing in mold remediation and basement waterproofing. We will come to your home, evaluate your problem area, and provide you a free estimate. We offer a Lifetime Warranty* (Some Restrictions May Apply) and offer Financing Options.  

    Angi Certified

    Clutch Clean

    Clutch Clean is an owner-operated Carpet Cleaning/Water Damage Restoration Service located in Rochester, NY. We specialize in both Residential and Commercial carpet cleaning, as well as provide a 24/7 water-damage restoration service. With a combination of our top-of-the-line equipment and dedicated cleaning professionals, we make sure our customers are 100% satisfied before leaving any and all jobs. When you need us, we come in CLUTCH!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Financing Available, Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Foundation repair. Waterproofing basement. Crawl space repair. Humidity control & air purification. Basement finishing.

    Services Not Offered

    Mudjacking.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ABS Foundation Services Inc

    How is ABS Foundation Services Inc overall rated?

    ABS Foundation Services Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are ABS Foundation Services Inc open?

    ABS Foundation Services Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does ABS Foundation Services Inc provide

    ABS Foundation Services Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Financing Available, Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does ABS Foundation Services Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, ABS Foundation Services Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does ABS Foundation Services Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ABS Foundation Services Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ABS Foundation Services Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, ABS Foundation Services Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by ABS Foundation Services Inc?

    Yes, ABS Foundation Services Inc offers warranties.

    What services does ABS Foundation Services Inc offer?

    ABS Foundation Services Inc offers the following services: Foundation repair. Waterproofing basement. Crawl space repair. Humidity control & air purification. Basement finishing.

    Are there any services ABS Foundation Services Inc does not offer?

    Mudjacking.