Proctor Roofing

About

Founded 1994 • With Angi since October 2009

Additional DBA - Proctor Contracting Inc.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.4

(77) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

50

4

5

3

7

2

1

1

14

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.4

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.2

Read reviews by category

roofing (71)gutter repair (6)awnings (4)roof snow removal (3)roof cleaning (1)woodworking (1)
Showing 1-25 of 77 reviews
5.0

10/22/2022


Dale L.

In a word "EXCELLENT". Jerry Proctor responded to call promptly and professionally. The three man crew, Terry, Matt and Dave worked prefectly together and completed the tasks efficiently. There was never a mess. The next work that I will need will be done by a Proctor Enterprises Crew. If there was a spot for pictures I would add some.

Description of Work
complete house siding install.

Category awnings

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2022

Images

Review for Proctor Roofing - 2630 State Route 245, Gorham, NY - 39918674

+6 More

5.0

09/30/2022


Dale L.

You ask how did it go and my reply is GREAT. Last year I needed the barn roof replaced. Response from the Jerry was quick and after I had completed my portion of the preperation the roofing crew came in promptly. The work was completed in a professional and very efficient manner. Clean up by the crew was to the point where it appeared as though nothing had ever happened. I will call Proctor Enterprises for my next project. Note: I am not a good photographer !

Description of Work
A frame barn roofing

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2021

Images

Review for Proctor Roofing - 2630 State Route 245, Gorham, NY - 39892860

+4 More

1.0

11/18/2021


Michaela H.

We heard that Proctor was a great roofing company. Unfortunately that is not the case. Proctor came out at the end of September to give us a quote and we signed a contract October 4th. Twice we have been given dates for the project to be done and they both ended up being no call, no shows, and no apologies! We are currently on day 3 of waiting for a call back to reschedule but at this point will likely be taking our business elsewhere as we have now read multiple reviews and see this as a frequent way of business for this company. We have now been waiting about 6 weeks and still have a leak that is causing damage to a wall. Now that its mid November it will be very difficult to find a roofing company that will have time to do this before winter. Very disappointed and 100% recommend you look elsewhere.

Description of Work
Flashing Repair

Category roofing

Work Completed On 11/18/2021

3.0

08/26/2020


Megan F.

The initial call to this company was answered promptly and a representative came to give an estimate. The original proposal said that work would begin the week of July 13. On July 28th, a crew swarmed my home. They placed plastic tarps over my boxwood hedges, which, by the end of the hot day, burned the tops and turned them totally brown. They also broke the top off of my favorite vintage Chicago Peace rose bush, which has bloomed in front of my house for years before I bought it in 1999. They left in their wake my gutters, haphazardly reattached, leaking, filled with water and discarded water bottles, nails and asphalt debris from the old roof. In addition, they removed, without my authorization, a portion of gutter downspout that was routed through the gambrel roof and roofed over on the front while leaving a hole in the back. Since they left, I have had to pick up bags of lunch garbage and water bottles left on both my neighbor's and my property and in the street, as well as chicken wing bones, cheese, cigarette packs and butts, nails, large chunks of old asphalt singles and other debris. Our contract stated that a new gutter would be placed on our garage, but that did not happen until August 8th, after several phone calls. At that time, the gutters on the house were supposedly cleaned, repaired and reattached. I asked the contractor that day to please replace the downspout that was removed and covered over and was told with a wink that "I've been doing this for 30 years" and that my husband had told him it was OK to do what he did. My husband has subsequently told me that he did not give his authorization to do so. I asked the contractor that he at least cover the hole left on the back side of the gambrel roof so that animals and insects could not get in there and he said that he would do it, but he didn't. I can only imply that he said that to appease "the little woman," not knowing that "the little woman" was the one who wrote the check. You can be certain that "the little woman" will not be writing a check to this company in the foreseeable future. As a postscript, I owned a small cottage on Seneca Lake which needed a new roof. I called this company for help and was told that someone would come to give me a quote, but it never happened. Guess it wasn't a big enough job to bother with.

Description of Work
Replace asphalt roof

Category awnings, roofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2020

5.0

08/24/2020


John P.

10 stars! WOW!!! SO impressed!! They came in like gang busters and had our roof done in half a day!! Very affordable, professional & excellent job!! Thank you so much! Love our new roof! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Description of Work
A new roof job

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

1.0

05/02/2019


Adrienne C.

Was looking to have a new roof and was quoted a reroof application. The re-roof estimate came in higher then a new roof along with additional repairs needed. (The day prior already had one estimate done.) Warranty on workmanship was not close to the previous quote. He didn't even bother quoting for a new roof. When I explained to him that I had other companies coming in to give their quotes he exploded. My daughter whom I don't think he was aware was home was in complete disbelief at how disrespectful he was. He expected me to sign his contract right then and now. He knew nothing about me if I was single or married in which case I still would have needed time to speak with my spouse. The fact was I recently lost my husband and wanted a repair so I could put the house up for sale. His rude behavior made me wish my spouse and bring me to tears. I'm not a weak woman but I wondered if he would have treated my husband in the same manner.

Description of Work
Roofing estimate

Category roofing

Work Completed On 05/02/2019

Service Provider Response

We as a company would first off like to sincerely apologize to Ms. [Member Name Removed], as well as any other members offended by this review. As easily viewable, we have an A+ rating for workmanship and quality and professionalism. In this particular case, It was error based on a new employee. We had recently hired this salesmen just a few months back. He stated how he had been in sales his whole life and has worked for many other roofing companies, in which we decided to hire him based on his seemingly good impression. We at Proctor Enterprises do not tolerate this sort of behavior. As soon as the office caught wind of what had happened based on the customer's voicemail, Jerry Proctor (Owner) terminated this salesmen's duties within 2 hours of this situation. We have been in business over 20 years and do not present ourselves in such a way, which is why this situation was handled so responsively. Again, we deeply apologize for this situation, and have handled it in the best manner we know how.
5.0

01/21/2019


Kevin F.

Perfect. Great people. Hard workers

Description of Work
New roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/21/2019

5.0

09/20/2017


Joseph U.

Fast, efficient. Good clean up. I would hire again.

Description of Work
Put a second roof over a 20 year old roof. Fast, efficient. Good clean up. I would hire again.

Category roofing

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2017

1.0

06/28/2017


kirby H.

Work never started. Scheduled for morning of 6/24/17 and nobody showed. I called @ 9 am and talked to Jerry (owner) and was told he would check schedule and have someone let me know what was happening. I never received a call back. Despite two more calls to Jerry and his office, I received no reply. I called and cancelled the job. I can understand scheduling mix ups, but not unresponsiveness.

Description of Work
New gutters/down spouts/leaf guards.

Category gutter repair

Cost $900

Work Completed On 06/24/2017

5.0

06/19/2017


Kim A.

Awesome-our roof was 400 squares and it was completed all in one day along with the shed roof and repairs made at our son's house as well.

Description of Work
Proctor roofing did a complete tear-off and roof replacement on our home,( went over the roof on our shed so the roofs would match), and then went to our son's house in Fairport and replaced some missing shingles, removed a satellite dish and repaired the area and put a vent pipe in that vents out through the roof now rather than the attic.

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2017

5.0

05/25/2017


Calvin B.

Very professionally done with a large crew that even cleaned up the grounds afterwards so there was no evidence of them being here.

Description of Work
Replacement of entire 2300 ft2 flat roof including all bad sheathing and new gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2017

4.0

02/28/2017


kerry M.

the job was done as promised. just took several weeks before they came and did the job. did a nice clean up.

Description of Work
had a roof torn off and new shingles put on.

Category roofing

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2016

1.0

12/01/2016


George H.

Mr Proctor arrived promptly Monday October 17 as he said and gave a reasonable quote, which I signed. When asked when the work would be done he said he had a crew close by and the job would be done that Friday. I didn't notice till later that he didn't sign the quote himself. There was a big rain storm that week so I wasn't surprised that they didn't show when promised. It's been 7 weeks, there has been plenty of good weather, still nothing. I wanted to hire Mr Proctor's company because he is a former neighbor and I like to use local independent companies. This is the second time this has happened with Proctor roofing. A contractor I hired to do renovations on a previous home contacted Mr Proctor to get a quote to install a metal roof. A price was agreed on but no one ever showed up to do the work. Fortunately no money was paid up front. Apparently Mr Proctor isn't able to say no if he doesn't want to do a job. If he doesn't sign your quote, don't expect to have the work done. It's a shame because my daughter was planning on contacting him to do a full roof replacement on her home. That won't happen now.

Description of Work
I needed a simple repair in the front of my garage roof.

Category roofing

Work Completed On 10/17/2016

5.0

11/11/2016


Ed N.

Beyond expectations. Showed up with a 15 man crew, stripped 2 layers and reinstalled new and gone in 4 hours. Couldn't even find a piece of paper in rhe yard when they left.

Description of Work
Remove 2 layers of shingles and replace

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2016

1.0

04/29/2016


Don E.

When they put it on, the roof is up very high that we as the home owner were really unable to get up there and watch what they were doing. Within the first three or four months, we lost multiple layers of shingles. They really did not nail everything down properly. It was not aligned properly. We ended up with roof leaks. We are still trying to get our money back from them.

Description of Work
For roofing, I used Proctor Roofing.

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2011

5.0

08/02/2015


Jeffrey S.

It was about a month after I submitted my signed proposal that they came to complete my roof. I assume that this is because they are extremely busy during the summer. We spoke to the owner via e-mail and confirmed a date. They came during the day while I was at work and completed the job. By the time I returned home from work at 4 pm the new roof was complete and they left my property without a trace. I feel that they did a great job on my roof and would recommend them to a friend. Their price was the lowest I was quoted out of 5 local roofing companies and they provide quick, clean and professional service. I plan on getting my garage roof replaced by Proctor in the spring to match my home. Highly recommended. Thanks Jerry and everyone else at Proctor!

Description of Work
Proctor Roofing did a full tear off and re shingle of my home in 1 day.

Category roofing

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2015

1.0

06/19/2015


Jana W.

I called this company at least three times, leaving voice mail messages each time. I spaced out my calls a week or two, and I never received a call back. I was quite concerned, as I wondered what would happen if I had used them to fix my roof and there was an emergency--would they ignore those phone calls too? This company lost my business due to their lack of responsiveness.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category roofing

Work Completed On 06/09/2015

3.0

05/10/2015


Jill B.

I am very disappointed that i never received a call from Jerry or anyone. I used them several times and use to praise them for reliability and quality. I've read similar reviews so I am glad it wasn't personal. Jerry if your reading this I hope you take this seriously. I really thought your business had more integrity than the other contractors. Even the small jobs are important.

Description of Work
Over the years they put a metal roof on my barn, and have done tears offs and repairs to my porch and home roofs as well as gutter installation. I use to recommend them to everyone. I called last summer and got an estimate for a porch demo. I called three days later to confirm the service and they never showed up. I made a total of three calls to the office and each time I was told it would be about a week. I just stopped calling and they never showed up.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2014

5.0

04/28/2015


John T.

It went well. The roof went well but sometimes getting them to respond such as getting estimate they do not always follow through on. They did honor the Angie's List discount listed.

Description of Work
Roofing job.

Category roofing

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2014

1.0

10/25/2014


Karen R.

Called for a small repair, they came out immediately to quote the job but never showed up to make the repair after months of waiting. Will never use them and I had additional work to be done but wanted to see how it worked for this job. They failed. I would never recommend them.

Description of Work
Scheduled the job but never showed up after months of asking when the job would be done.

Category roofing

Cost $250

Work Completed On 10/25/2014

5.0

10/11/2014


Don W.

They arrived first thing in the morning. Unlike many roofing contractors they use a large crew and perform the work in one day. They do not cut corners. They are thorough and professional. Obviously with a complete tear off there is a large mess but they do a great job cleaning up when they are done.

Description of Work
They did a complete tear off. Re-sheeted, moister barrier and put on architectural shingles. Also put in roof vents.

Category roofing

Cost $10,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2014

5.0

12/13/2013


Greg C.

The were punctual. Showed up with 19 workers and worked very hard the entire day, with the foreman being the hardest worker. Once finished they circled the house for 20 minutes picking up every possible scap they could find. They even repair some damaged siding for us. The job could not have gone smoother.

Description of Work
Tore off existing roof and replaced with new roof

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2013